DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “the conductor” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “the conductor” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All subsequent dependent claims 29 & 30 are also rejected under 112 2nd.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13, 15-20, 24-28, & 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0050142).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Zhang teaches:
A power module, comprising
a semiconductor power circuit (Fig. 2 Element 500. See paragraph 0035.),
a conductor for conducting a primary current to and/or from the semiconductor power circuit (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraph 0037.), the conductor having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraph 0037.),
a first core part being (Fig. 3 Elements 65. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) arranged at the first side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) such that if a second core part (Fig. 3 Elements 66. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) is placed at the second side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Element 62. See paragraph 0037.), the first core part and the second core part together (Fig. 3 Elements 65 66. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) form a core at least essentially surrounding the conductor (Fig. 3 Element 62. See paragraph 0035.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the first core part comprises a first interface surface (Fig. 3 Element 68. See paragraphs 0048-0055.) and a second interface surface (Fig. 3 Element 67. See paragraphs 0048-0055.), the first interface surface (Fig. 3 Element 68. See paragraphs 0048-0055.) and the second interface surface (Fig. 3 Element 67. See paragraph 0047.) being suitable for being positioned in close proximity of corresponding interface surfaces of the second core part (Fig. 3 Element 66. See paragraph 0047.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the first interface surface and the second interface surface are coplanar (See Examiner amended Fig. 3 Elements 67 & 68 below. See para.0047.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the first core part has a U-shape in cross section (Fig. 3 Element 65. See highlighted feature of element 65. See paragraph 0047.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the conductor has a first notch and a second notch, wherein the first core part protrudes through the first notch and through the second notch (See examiner amended Fig. 3 below.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the first notch and the second notch are arranged at opposite trans-verse sides of the conductor (See examiner amended Fig. 3 above wherein the notches are through the thin axis of the conductor and there are several along the long axis of the conductor.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 5, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the notches abut the first core part and define its position in one or two directions (See examiner amended Fig. 3 above wherein the notches are through the thin axis of the conductor and there are several along the long axis of the conductor.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the conductor has, at least adjacent to the first core part a constant width (Fig. 3 element 62 wherein it is uniform in thickness so as to be effectively sandwiched between elements 65 & 66.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the semiconductor power circuit comprises at least one means for switching current in a controlled manner (Fig. 2-3 Element 71. See paragraph 0044.).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 13, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches a current switched by the means for switching current is conducted by the conductor (Fig. 2-3 Element 71 wherein all elements are connected through the PCB. See paragraph 0044.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the first core part has one or more protrusions (Fig. 3 Element 67. See paragraphs 0046-0048.), wherein the conductor has one or more recesses (Fig. 3 Element 62. See paragraphs 0046-0048. See examiner amended Fig. 3 above wherein the notches are through the thin axis of the conductor and there are several along the long axis of the conductor.), and wherein each protrusion engages in one recess such that it is closely engaged in the recess so as to define the position and/or orientation of the first core part relative to the conductor (Fig. 3 & 4 Elements 62 & 67 wherein these elements all must align and conform to be sandwiched together. See paragraphs 0046-0048.); and/or wherein the conductor has one or more protrusions (Fig. 3 Element 62 and the recesses noted above in the amended figure. See paragraphs 0046-0048.), wherein the first core part has one or more recesses, and wherein each protrusion engages in one recess such that it is closely engaged in the recess so as to define the position and/or orientation of the first core part relative to the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 65, 67, & 68. See paragraphs 0046-0048.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the first side of the conductor is a flat side, and/or wherein the second side of the conductor is a flat side (Fig. 3 element 62 wherein it has two flat surfaces as perhaps labeled top & bottom.).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches a second core part being arranged at the second side of the conductor such that the first core part and the second core part together form a core surrounding the conductor (See Fig. 3-4 Elements 65 & 66 wherein they surround the conductor 62.).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the core has a first clearance being arranged between the first core part and the second core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65, 66, 67, & 68 wherein all elements have spaces or clearances between them. Any distance is a clearance. See paragraph 0047.).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 19, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the core has a second clearance being arranged between the first core part and the second core part, the second clearance being different from the first clearance (Fig. 3 Elements 65, 66, 67, & 68 wherein all elements have spaces or clearances between them. No space is perfectly uniform, therefore there are necessarily two different clearances at different points of interaction. See paragraph 0047.).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the second core part and/or the magnetic sensor are arranged in one housing (See Fig. 4 wherein the entire system is one integrated piece and Fig. 16 wherein the element of Fig. 4 is incorporated into a larger system housing.).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 24, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the housing is secured to the rest of the power module by click fixing (See Fig. 4 wherein the entire system is one integrated piece and Fig. 16 wherein the element of Fig. 4 is incorporated into a larger system housing. Dedicated circuit boards are ubiquitously clicked into motherboards in electronic systems.).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 24, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches an evaluation device operatively connected with the magnetic sensor and being arranged in the housing, and/or further comprising at least one electrical sensor connection passing through the housing and/or extending from the housing (Fig. 16 Element 1606 wherein a bulk capacitor senses electrical signals.).
Regarding Independent claim 27, Zhang teaches:
A method of manufacturing a power module, the method comprising the following steps:
providing a first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65.),
providing a power module base (Fig. 2 Element 500.),
fixing the first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65.) to the power module base (Fig. 2 Element 500.), and then
fixing the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63.) to the power module base (Fig. 2 Element 500.) such that the first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65.) is arranged at a first side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62.).
Regarding Independent claim 28, Zhang teaches:
Method of manufacturing a power module, the method comprising the following steps:
providing a first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65. See paragraphs 0047-0052.),
providing a power module base (Fig. 2-4 Element 5, the PCB. See paragraphs 0034-0037, 0043, 0061, & elsewhere.),
fixing the first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) to the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) such that the first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) is arranged at a first side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraphs 0047-0052.), and then
fixing the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 65.) to the power module base (Fig. 2-4 Element 5. See paragraphs 0034-0037, 0043, 0061, & elsewhere.).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 27, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches a power module is manufactured, wherein the power module comprises: a semiconductor power circuit (Fig. 2 Element 500. See paragraph 0035.), a conductor for conducting a primary current to and/or from the semiconductor power circuit (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraph 0037.), the conductor having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraph 0037.), a first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) being arranged at the first side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) such that if a second core part (Fig. 3 Elements 66. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) is placed at the second side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Element 62. See paragraph 0037.), the first core part and the second core part together (Fig. 2-4 Elements 65 66. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) form a core at least essentially surrounding the conductor (Fig. 3 Element 62. See paragraph 0035.).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang teaches:
A method of manufacturing a power module, the method comprising the following steps:
providing a power module (Fig. 2 Element 500. See paragraph 0035.) wherein the power module comprises:
a semiconductor power circuit (Fig. 2 Element 500. See paragraph 0037.),
a conductor for conducting a primary current to and/or from the semiconductor power circuit (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraph 0037.), the conductor having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (Fig. 3 Elements 62 & 63. See paragraph 0037.),
a first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) being arranged at the first side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) such that if a second core part (Fig. 3 Elements 66. See paragraphs 0047-0052.) is placed at the second side of the conductor (Fig. 3 Elements 62. See paragraphs 0037 & 0047-0052.), the first core part (Fig. 3 Elements 65.) and the second core part (Fig. 3 Elements 66.) together form a core at least essentially surrounding the conductor (Fig. 3 & 4 Elements 62, 65, & 66.); and/or manufactured, not yet having a second core part,
providing a second core part (Fig. 3 Elements 66.),
fixing the second core part on the power module such that the first core part and the second core part together form a core (Fig. 3 & 4 Elements 62, 65, & 66.).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 31, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the power module is manufactured, such that the power module further comprises: a second core part being arranged at the second side of the conductor such that the first core part and the second core part together form a core surrounding the conductor (Fig. 2, 3, & 4 Elements 62, 65, & 66.)..
Regarding claim 33, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 31, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang teaches the second core part is provided in a housing, the housing further encompassing an evaluation device (See Fig. 4 & 16. See Fig. 16 wherein Element 1609 wherein the entire system is one integrated onto one board 1609.) and/or a magnetic sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 14, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0050142).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the first core part is permanently fixed within the power module.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to permanently fix the first core part within the power module because, as much as anything can be permanently fixed to any other thing, it would allow for a durable and reliable device that could be used without fear of physical failure due to detachment.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 13, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the means for switching current comprises one or more MOSFETs and/or IGBTs.
Zhang teaches all elements of claim 13, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the means for switching current comprise one or more MOSFETs and/or IGBTs because these are ubiquitously used transistor switching elements that are cheap, reliable, and durable. They are designed and built to be switches in semiconductor electronic devices.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the second core part is embodied mirror invertedly to the first core part.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the second core part be embodied mirror invertedly to the first core part because this would allow for symmetry and affordability in constriction because the pieces would be complimentary.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0050142) in view of Tsuzaki et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0096542).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach a magnetic sensor being arranged between the first core part and the second core part, the core and the magnetic sensor together forming a current sensor for measuring a current flowing in the conductor.
Tsuzaki teaches a magnetic sensor being arranged between the first core part and the second core part (Fig. 16 Elements 20a, 21a, 20b, 21b, 20c, 21c, 40a, 41a, 42a, 50a, 50b, & 50c. See paragraph 0036.), the core and the magnetic sensor together forming a current sensor for measuring a current flowing in the conductor (Fig. 16 Elements 20a, 21a, 20b, 21b, 20c, 21c, 40a, 41a, 42a, 50a, 50b, & 50c. See paragraph 0036.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Tsuzaki to the teachings of Zhang such that a magnetic sensor being arranged between the first core part and the second core part, the core and the magnetic sensor together forming a current sensor for measuring a current flowing in the conductor because this would allow for both better control of the device and for protection against possible overcurrent faults.
Regarding claim 23, Zhang & Tsuzaki teach all elements of claim 22, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor.
Tsuzaki teaches the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor (Fig. 16 Elements 20a, 21a, 20b, 21b, 20c, 21c, 40a, 41a, 42a, 50a, 50b, & 50c. See paragraph 0036.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Tsuzaki to the teachings of Zhang such that magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor because Hall sensors are common, well-known, reliable, dependable forms of current sensors.
Claims 10-12, 29, & 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0050142) in view of Nakatsu et al (U.S. PGPub # 2006/0232942).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the first core part is molded within a mold material and/or a gel and/or is pot-ted in the power module.
Nakatsu teaches the first core part is molded within a mold material and/or a gel and/or is pot-ted in the power module (See paragraphs 0115-0116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Nakatsu to the teachings of Zhang such that the first core part would be molded within a mold material and/or a gel and/or is pot-ted in the power module because these are common, well-known, reliable techniques used to attach electronic device to one another.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the semiconductor power circuit is molded within a mold material and/or a gel and/or is potted in the power module.
Nakatsu teaches the semiconductor power circuit is molded within a mold material and/or a gel and/or is potted in the power module (See paragraphs 0115-0116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Nakatsu to the teachings of Zhang such that the semiconductor power circuit would be molded within a mold material and/or a gel and/or would be potted in the power module because these are common, well-known, reliable techniques used to attach electronic device to one another.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the first core part and the semiconductor power circuit are molded with-in the same portion of mold material.
Nakatsu teaches the first core part and the semiconductor power circuit are molded with-in the same portion of mold material (See paragraphs 0115-0116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Nakatsu to the teachings of Zhang such that the first core part and the semiconductor power circuit would be molded with-in the same portion of mold material because this would allow for cost savings and more efficient production as well as being a common, well-known technique.
Regarding claim 29, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 27, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach a step of molding and/or potting the first core part in the power module base.
Nakatsu teaches a step of molding and/or potting the first core part in the power module base (See paragraphs 0115-0116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Nakatsu to the teachings of Zhang such that one would perform a step of molding and/or potting the first core part in the power module base because these are common, well-known, reliable techniques used to attach electronic device to one another.
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 31, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang does not explicitly teach a step of molding the power module with a mold material and/or a gel.
Nakatsu teaches a step of molding the power module with a mold material and/or a gel (See paragraphs 0115-0116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Nakatsu to the teachings of Zhang such that one would perform a step of molding the power module with a mold material and/or a gel because these are common, well-known, reliable techniques used to attach electronic device to one another.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by Applicant.
Regarding claim 35, Zhang teaches all elements of claim 34, upon which this claim depends.
Zhang & Nakatsu do not explicitly teach the conductor is provided as part of a lead frame, and wherein outer parts of the lead frame are removed after the step of molding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858