DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberge (2021/0207537) in view of Davies (2019/0257209) and Kawai et al (2020/0158019) and either Fontvieille et al (2012/0016602) or Lemieux et al (2016/0153684) and optionally in view of Muldoon (2023/0250754) and for claim 11 further in view of Yada et al “Thomas/Alford Force on a Partial-Admission Turbine for
the Rocket Engine Turbopump.” Roberge teaches An assembly for an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a fluid source 210 including a fluid regulator 212 or 218; a first heat exchanger 248; a [fuel] turbine 234 including a rotational assembly and a plurality of turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source 210, the first heat exchanger 248, and the [fuel] turbine 234 sequentially form a portion of a fluid flow path through the assembly, and the fluid regulator 212 or 218 is configured to direct a fluid through the first heat exchanger 248 and the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path; a mechanical load 224, 212 coupled to the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly, the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor 22, 42 [¶ 0036 teaches the power transfer shaft 220 is coupled to any shaft including 40 to transfer power to or receive power from that shaft 40; and shaft 40 is coupled to the blade propulsor in Fig. 1. Note that this limitation “includes a bladed propulsor rotor” does not require that the mechanical load be only driving a bladed propulsor rotor, and it is clear that other elements are disclosed, including the electric generator as the load (claim 7) and other driven load elements, see applicant’s specification ¶ 0016-0017, 0061]; and a control assembly including a controller 202, the controller includes a processor [¶ 0030] connected in signal communication with memory [¶ 0030] containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine characteristics of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 234; determine a rotation speed of the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly [¶ 0030]; control one or both of the fluid regulator 212 or the first heat exchanger 248; and control both of the mechanical load 42, 224, 212 and the first heat exchanger 248 to maintain the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0037, 0038; note first heat exchanger 248 is controlled by at least the speed of the pump 212, flow rates, pressures, etc. through the pump and serially connected first heat exchanger 248]. (2) a combustor 56, the combustor includes a combustion chamber 56, the combustor is connected in fluid communication with the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path, the [fuel] turbine 234 is configured to direct the fluid to the combustion chamber along the fluid flow path, and the fluid is a fuel. (3) wherein the fuel is a hydrogen fuel 210 [¶ 0034]. (13) wherein the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor 22, 42. (4) a gas turbine engine core assembly, the gas turbine engine core assembly includes a combustor section 26, a turbine section 28, and an exhaust section [after 28], and the combustor section, the turbine section, the exhaust section, and the first heat exchanger 248 form a core flow path [C Fig. 1B] for a combustion gas from the combustor section. (7) a generator 224, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator. (11) An assembly for an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a gas turbine engine including an engine rotational assembly 30, a turbine section 28, and an exhaust section [after 28], the engine rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about an engine rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the engine rotational assembly includes an engine bladed turbine rotor 46 for the turbine section, the turbine section and the exhaust section form a combustion gas flow path [C Fig. 1B]; a turbine assembly including a fluid source 210, a first heat exchanger 248, and a [fuel] turbine 234, the fluid source includes a fluid regulator 212 or 218, the first heat exchanger 248 forms a portion of the combustion gas flow path, the [fuel] turbine 234 includes a rotational assembly mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the turbine 234, the fluid source 210, the first heat exchanger 248, and the [fuel] turbine 234 sequentially form a portion of a fluid flow path, and the fluid regulator 212 or 218 is configured to direct a fluid through the first heat exchanger 248 and the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path; a mechanical load 224, 212 coupled to the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly; and a control assembly including a controller 202, the controller includes a processor [¶ 0030] connected in signal communication with memory [¶ 0030] containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine characteristics of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 234; determine a rotation speed of the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly [¶ 0030]; control one or both of the fluid regulator 212 or 218 or the first heat exchanger 248; and control one or both of the mechanical load 224, 212 or the first heat exchanger 248 to maintain the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range by controlling a rotational loading of the rotational assembly [¶ 0037, 0038]. (11) wherein the mechanical load 224, 212 is further coupled to the engine rotational assembly. (14) a generator 224, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator. (15) wherein the gas turbine engine further includes a combustor section 26, the combustor section includes a combustor forming a combustion chamber 56, the combustor is connected in fluid communication with the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path, the [fuel] turbine 234 is configured to direct the fluid to the combustion chamber along the fluid flow path, and the fluid is a fuel. (16) wherein the fuel is a hydrogen fuel 210 [¶ 0034]. Roberge teaches a [fuel turbine] but does not teach the [fuel] turbine is a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source, the first heat exchanger; nor (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; nor (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; nor (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; nor (11) wherein the partial-admission turbine comprises a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a stator vane stage and a plurality of flow blocking structures except for one of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, and the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis. Davies teaches a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly 34 and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages 30, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor 30, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages 30, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage 30 of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage 38 and at least one flow blocking structure 28; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages [Fig. 4], and the at least one flow blocking structure 28, 28a of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [Figs. 4, 8, 10, 11]; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure 28 has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [see Fig. 4; also compare Fig. 8 with Fig. 10 where the span decreases in the downstream direction; see also ¶ 0044, 0012 which teaches each nozzle 28 increases the admission to the next stage, which requires the blocking span to decrease as shown in Fig. 4]. (11) wherein the partial-admission turbine comprises a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [see Fig. 4], each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a stator vane stage 38 and a plurality of flow blocking structures 28 except for one of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [last stage, see Figs. 4 and 9], . Davies teaches his partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the fuel turbine of Roberge a partial-admission turbine, including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, (11) wherein the partial-admission turbine comprises a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a stator vane stage and a plurality of flow blocking structures except for one of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, as taught by Davies, as the partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. For claim 11, the prior art do not teach the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis. Yada et al teach that it is well known in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis - see Fig. 9, and e.g. 2/4 admission where the black area is the area of the flow blocking structures [see paragraphs preceding and after Fig. 9]. Table 3 teaches the 2/4 admission balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis, i.e. to make the blocking members generally symmetric about the axis, as taught by Yada et al, in order to balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor.
Roberge does not teach … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control (1) both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; nor (11) control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range.
Muldoon teaches the controller 228 [¶ 0046] … determine a [fuel] turbine inlet 226, 228 flow rate of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 320; determine a [fuel] rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 316 or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] turbine inlet flow within an inlet [fuel] flow threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; and control both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] and the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; control one or both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083].
Fontvieille et al [¶ 0027-0029] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine 2; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 3 or valves 11, 12 or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] or the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027]; control both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] and the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027].
Lemieux et al [¶ 0166-0169] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid 237 at the turbine 235; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 231 or the first heat exchanger 204 to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 231 or the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; control both of the mechanical load 231 and the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range.. Lemieux et al teach using the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies [¶ 0060] and is operable with a jet engine / gas turbine 201. While Lemieux et al specifically use air as the turbine flow, he teaches how to adopt existing turbines and compressors/pumps used for e.g. turbochargers [e.g. ¶ 0041] for other uses aboard an aircraft [e.g. ¶ 0060-0061], and would similarly be applicable to adapting the turbine of Davies for fuel expansion operation aboard an aircraft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine; a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, and control both of the mechanical load and the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range as taught by either Fontvieille et al or Lemieux et al, in order to in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output or to utilize the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies, and where Muldoon et al, may be optionally applied to teach controlling turbine inlet flow and turbine speed for fuel flow. As for the corrected flow threshold range, this is typical of gas turbine control signals, as evidenced by Kawai, who teach controlling to within an acceptable threshold/deadband range [¶ 0025-0026, 0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control to within a threshold / deadband range, for the flow threshold range and speed threshold range, as taught by Kawai et al, as typically done in the gas turbine art to utilize an acceptable range of operations.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al (3,690,100) in view of in view of Davies (2019/0257209) and either Fontvieille et al (2012/0016602) or Lemieux et al (2016/0153684) and Kawai et al (2020/0158019) and optionally in view of Muldoon (2023/0250754) and optionally in view of Roberge (2021/0207537) and optionally in view of Wolf et al (3740949). Wolf et al ‘100 teach An assembly for an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a fluid source [tank] including a fluid regulator [pump or valve]; a first heat exchanger [heat exchanger]; a turbine [turbine] including a rotational assembly and a plurality of turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the turbine [shaft, unlabeled], the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source [tank], the first heat exchanger, and the turbine sequentially form a portion of a fluid flow path through the assembly, and the fluid regulator [pump or valve] is configured to direct a fluid through the first heat exchanger and the turbine along the fluid flow path; a mechanical load [pump / air compressor] coupled to the rotational assembly, the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor [first stage of air compressor, which is consistent with applicant’s spec. Alternately, see first stage of air compressor 42 of Wolf et al ‘949 which clearly shows the air compressor is a bladed propulsor rotor in the context disclosed by applicant. To extent not already inherent, it would have been obvious to make the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor, as taught by Wolfe et al ‘949, as the environment in which the propulsion unit of Wolf et al ‘100 is utilized and illustrated only schematically]; and a control assembly including a controller 10, the controller 10 includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to [virtually inherent or obvious in light of conventional controllers]: determine a turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine [col. 1, lines 60-col. 2, line 15]; determine a rotation speed [speed sensing means, col. 2, lines 29-38] of the rotational assembly; control both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the turbine inlet flow within an inlet flow threshold range; and control both of the mechanical load [pump / compressor] and the first heat exchanger [heat exchanger] to maintain the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range. (2) a combustor [combustor], the combustor includes a combustion chamber, the combustor is connected in fluid communication with the turbine [turbine] along the fluid flow path, the turbine is configured to direct the fluid to the combustion chamber along the fluid flow path, and the fluid is a fuel. (3) wherein the fuel is a hydrogen fuel [fuel becomes hydrogen, see col. 3, lines 25-30]. (13) wherein the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor [first stage of air compressor, which is consistent with applicant’s spec.]. Wolf et al ‘100 teach a [fuel turbine] but does not teach the [fuel] turbine is a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source, the first heat exchanger; nor (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; nor (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; nor (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages. Davies teaches a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly 34 and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages 30, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor 30, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages 30, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage 30 of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage 38 and at least one flow blocking structure 28; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages [Fig. 4], and the at least one flow blocking structure 28, 28a of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [Figs. 4, 8, 10, 11]; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure 28 has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [see Fig. 4; also compare Fig. 8 with Fig. 10 where the span decreases in the downstream direction; see also ¶ 0044, 0012 which teaches each nozzle 28 increases the admission to the next stage, which requires the blocking span to decrease as shown in Fig. 4]; Davies teaches his partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the fuel turbine of Wolf et al a partial-admission turbine, including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, as taught by Davies, as the partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. For claim 11, the prior art do not teach the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis. Yada et al teach that it is well known in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis - see Fig. 9, and e.g. 2/4 admission where the black area is the area of the flow blocking structures [see ¶ preceding and after Fig. 9]. Table 3 teaches the 2/4 admission balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis, i.e. to make the blocking members generally symmetric about the axis, as taught by Yada et al, in order to balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor.
Wolf does not teach … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control (1) both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range.
Muldoon teaches the controller 228 [¶ 0046] … determine a [fuel] turbine inlet 226, 228 flow rate of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 320; determine a [fuel] rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 316 or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] turbine inlet flow within an inlet [fuel] flow threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; and control both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] and the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; control one or both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083].
Fontvieille et al [¶ 0027-0029] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine 2; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 3 or valves 11, 12 or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] or the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027]; control both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] and the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027].
Lemieux et al [¶ 0166-0169] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid 237 at the turbine 235; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 231 or the first heat exchanger 204 to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 231 or the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; control both of the mechanical load 231 and the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range.. Lemieux et al teach using the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies [¶ 0060] and is operable with a jet engine / gas turbine 201. While Lemieux et al specifically use air as the turbine flow, he teaches how to adopt existing turbines and compressors/pumps used for e.g. turbochargers [e.g. ¶ 0041] for other uses aboard an aircraft [e.g. ¶ 0060-0061], and would similarly be applicable to adapting the turbine of Davies for fuel expansion operation aboard an aircraft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine; a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, and control both of the mechanical load and the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range as taught by either Fontvieille et al or Lemieux et al, in order to in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output or to utilize the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies, and where Muldoon et al, may be optionally applied to teach controlling turbine inlet flow and turbine speed for fuel flow. As for the corrected flow threshold range, this is typical of gas turbine control signals, as evidenced by Kawai, who teach controlling to within an acceptable threshold/deadband range [¶ 0025-0026, 0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control to within a threshold / deadband range, for the flow threshold range and speed threshold range, as taught by Kawai et al, as typically done in the gas turbine art to utilize an acceptable range of operations.
Wolf et al do not teach (7) a generator, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator. Muldoon et al teach (7) a generator 322/314, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator [see ¶ 0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a generator for the mechanical load driven by the partial-admission turbine, in order to produce additional electricity as desired. As for the controller, includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to…, this limitation is typical of controllers used aboard aircraft and is also evidenced by Roberge et al, whose teachings are incorporated from earlier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a controller, includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to…, as taught by Roberge et al, as typical of processors utilized aboard aircraft including aircraft engines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the secondary references: Roberge, Fontvielle, Lemieux, Muldoon boil down to an argument that since the mechanical load driven by those turbines / rotational assemblies are not a bladed propulsor rotor, they are not applicable. In rebuttal, applicant’s claim 1 only requires “a mechanical load coupled to the rotational assembly, the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor …” “and control both of the mechanical load and the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range.” Note that claim 1 is not specifically directed to controlling the blade propulsor rotor, but rather controlling the mechanical load of which the propulsor rotor is only one of the loads driven – see e.g. claim 7 for the mechanical load being an electrical generator. Applicant’s argument relies the mechanical load being only the bladed propulsor. However, it is clear that other elements are disclosed as part of the mechanical load, including the electric generator as the load and other driven load elements, see applicant’s specification ¶ 0016-0017, 0061. Furthermore, claim 7 renders it explicitly clear that the mechanical load is not ONLY the propulsor rotor. Accordingly, as Roberge specifically teaches that the bladed propulsor rotor is one of the mechanical loads that is driven, he meets the requirements that the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor 22, 42 [¶ 0036 teaches the power transfer shaft 220 is coupled to any shaft including 40 to transfer power to or receive power from that shaft 40; and shaft 40 is coupled to the blade propulsor in Fig. 1. Furthermore, each of the applied secondary references listed above teach the turbine rotational assembly driving a mechanical load, and the variable controlled is the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s arguments that the secondary references would not be applied since they drive a different mechanical load, i.e. not a bladed propulsor, are additionally not persuasive because the base reference already teaches the bladed propulsor and controlling the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range and flow rates to the desired flow rates, e.g. Roberge, already teaches that the rotational speed of the fuel turbine is already being controlled to the desired flow rates and speed / range. Roberge merely lacks the specific way of formulating the speed and flow rates as being corrected turbine inlet flow rate / with threshold, corrected speed with threshold range. The applied secondary references listed above teach the turbine rotational assembly driving a mechanical load, and the variable controlled is the corrected versions of the listed variables above.
Applicant’s argument that there is no teachings in any of the cited references that controlling both of the mechanical load (i.e. a bladed propulsor rotor) and the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range would predictably maintain high efficiencies as alleged on pages 9-10 of the Office Action is not persuasive. Lemieux already teach the maintaining the high efficiencies. Furthermore, Fontvielle teach these are predictable variables used to control the speed and output. Applicant’s argument moreover neglects the first half of the motivation statement, which is ironically quoted earlier in the remarks:
“in order to in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output or to utilize the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies, and where Muldoon et al, may be optionally applied to teach controlling turbine inlet flow and turbine speed for fuel flow."
Accordingly, applicant’s arguments fail to persuade as there are multiple options, ignoring the first listed option, and the prior art already teach the maintaining high efficiency and using the predictable variables.
Regarding claim 11, Davies teaches all the amended features of claim 11 except for the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis and which is taught by Yada et al “Thomas/Alford Force on a Partial-Admission Turbine for the Rocket Engine Turbopump.”
Applicant’s arguments regarding Wolf are additionally not persuasive for analogous reasons as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
February 11, 2026