DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-16, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberge (2021/0207537) in view of Davies (2019/0257209) and Kawai et al (2020/0158019) and either Fontvieille et al (2012/0016602) and/or Lemieux et al (2016/0153684) and optionally in view of Muldoon (2023/0250754) and optionally in view of Klees (4,294,068) and Coffinberry et al (2012/0000205) and for claim 11 further in view of Yada et al “Thomas/Alford Force on a Partial-Admission Turbine for
the Rocket Engine Turbopump.” Roberge teaches An assembly for an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a fluid source 210 including a fluid regulator 212 or 218; a first heat exchanger 248; a [fuel] turbine 234 including a rotational assembly and a plurality of turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source 210, the first heat exchanger 248, and the [fuel] turbine 234 sequentially form a portion of a fluid flow path through the assembly, and the fluid regulator 212 or 218 is configured to direct a fluid through the first heat exchanger 248 and the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path; a mechanical load 224, 212 coupled to the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly, the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor 22, 42 [¶ 0036 teaches the power transfer shaft 220 is coupled to any shaft including 40 to transfer power to or receive power from that shaft 40; and shaft 40 is coupled to the blade propulsor in Fig. 1. Note that this limitation “includes a bladed propulsor rotor” does not require that the mechanical load be only driving a bladed propulsor rotor, and it is clear that other elements are disclosed, including the electric generator as the load (claim 7) and other driven load elements, see applicant’s specification ¶ 0016-0017, 0061]; and a control assembly including a controller 202, the controller includes a processor [¶ 0030] connected in signal communication with memory [¶ 0030] containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine characteristics of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 234; determine a rotation speed of the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly [¶ 0030]; control one or both of the fluid regulator 212 or the first heat exchanger 248; and control both of the mechanical load 42, 224, 212 and the first heat exchanger 248 to maintain the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0037, 0038; note first heat exchanger 248 is controlled by at least the speed of the pump 212, flow rates, pressures, etc. through the pump and serially connected first heat exchanger 248]. (2) a combustor 56, the combustor includes a combustion chamber 56, the combustor is connected in fluid communication with the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path, the [fuel] turbine 234 is configured to direct the fluid to the combustion chamber along the fluid flow path, and the fluid is a fuel. (3) wherein the fuel is a hydrogen fuel 210 [¶ 0034]. (13) wherein the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor 22, 42. (4) a gas turbine engine core assembly, the gas turbine engine core assembly includes a combustor section 26, a turbine section 28, and an exhaust section [after 28], and the combustor section, the turbine section, the exhaust section, and the first heat exchanger 248 form a core flow path [C Fig. 1B] for a combustion gas from the combustor section. (7) a generator 224, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator. (11) An assembly for an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a gas turbine engine including an engine rotational assembly 30, a turbine section 28, and an exhaust section [after 28], the engine rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about an engine rotational axis of the gas turbine engine, the engine rotational assembly includes an engine bladed turbine rotor 46 for the turbine section, the turbine section and the exhaust section form a combustion gas flow path [C Fig. 1B]; a turbine assembly including a fluid source 210, a first heat exchanger 248, and a [fuel] turbine 234, the fluid source includes a fluid regulator 212 or 218, the first heat exchanger 248 forms a portion of the combustion gas flow path, the [fuel] turbine 234 includes a rotational assembly mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the turbine 234, the fluid source 210, the first heat exchanger 248, and the [fuel] turbine 234 sequentially form a portion of a fluid flow path, and the fluid regulator 212 or 218 is configured to direct a fluid through the first heat exchanger 248 and the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path; a mechanical load 224, 212 coupled to the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly; and a control assembly including a controller 202, the controller includes a processor [¶ 0030] connected in signal communication with memory [¶ 0030] containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine characteristics of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 234; determine a rotation speed of the [fuel turbine] rotational assembly [¶ 0030]; control one or both of the fluid regulator 212 or 218 or the first heat exchanger 248; and control one or both of the mechanical load 224, 212 or the first heat exchanger 248 to maintain the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range by controlling a rotational loading of the rotational assembly [¶ 0037, 0038]. (12) wherein the mechanical load 224, 212 is further coupled to the engine rotational assembly. (14) a generator 224, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator. (15) wherein the gas turbine engine further includes a combustor section 26, the combustor section includes a combustor forming a combustion chamber 56, the combustor is connected in fluid communication with the [fuel] turbine 234 along the fluid flow path, the [fuel] turbine 234 is configured to direct the fluid to the combustion chamber along the fluid flow path, and the fluid is a fuel. (16) wherein the fuel is a hydrogen fuel 210 [¶ 0034]. Roberge teaches a [fuel turbine] but does not teach the [fuel] turbine is a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source, the first heat exchanger; nor (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; nor (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; nor (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; nor (11) wherein the partial-admission turbine comprises a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a stator vane stage and a plurality of flow blocking structures except for one of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, and the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis. Davies teaches a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly 34 and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages 30, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor 30, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages 30, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage 30 of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage 38 and at least one flow blocking structure 28; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages [Fig. 4], and the at least one flow blocking structure 28, 28a of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [Figs. 4, 8, 10, 11]; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure 28 has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [see Fig. 4; also compare Fig. 8 with Fig. 10 where the span decreases in the downstream direction; see also ¶ 0044, 0012 which teaches each nozzle 28 increases the admission to the next stage, which requires the blocking span to decrease as shown in Fig. 4]. (11) wherein the partial-admission turbine comprises a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [see Fig. 4], each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a stator vane stage 38 and a plurality of flow blocking structures 28 except for one of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [last stage, see Figs. 4 and 9], . Davies teaches his partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the fuel turbine of Roberge a partial-admission turbine, including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, (11) wherein the partial-admission turbine comprises a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a stator vane stage and a plurality of flow blocking structures except for one of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, as taught by Davies, as the partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. For claim 11, the prior art do not teach the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis. Yada et al teach that it is well known in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis - see Fig. 9, and e.g. 2/4 admission where the black area is the area of the flow blocking structures [see paragraphs preceding and after Fig. 9]. Table 3 teaches the 2/4 admission balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis, i.e. to make the blocking members generally symmetric about the axis, as taught by Yada et al, in order to balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor.
Roberge does not teach … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine in claim 1]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the [partial admission in claim 11] rotational assembly [using a rotation speed of the partial-admission rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine, in claim 11]; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control (1) both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; nor (11) control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; nor (21) wherein the corrected rotation speed is determined using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and the inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine. (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine.
Muldoon teaches the controller 228 [¶ 0046] … determine a [fuel] turbine inlet 226, 228 flow rate of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 320; determine a [fuel] rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 316 or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] turbine inlet flow within an inlet [fuel] flow threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; and control both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] and the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; control one or both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; (22) wherein the controller 228 is configured to control the fluid regulator 316 or 228 to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at turbine and maintain the turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet flow threshold range [see [¶ 0046, 0061, which teaches controlling the pressure from the flow regulator to within the maximum range accepted by the turbine].
Fontvieille et al [¶ 0027-0029] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine 2 [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine in claim 1, see ¶ 0054]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 3 or valves 11, 12 or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] or the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027]; control both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] and the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027]: (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator 3 or valves 11, 12 to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range [see ¶ 0046-00-47, which teaches that the corrected turbine flow rate is graphed as a function f4 in Figs. 9 & ¶ 0054 teaches the input pressure is also controlled as part of the corrected turbine inlet flow rate]. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine [¶ 0054]. Lemieux et al [¶ 0166-0169] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid 237 at the turbine 235 [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine in claim 1, see equation 5.8, ¶ 0166-0193]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly [using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the turbine in claim 11, see equation 5.9, ¶ 0166-0193]; control one or both of the fluid regulator [231 or 266, Fig. 2.3] or the first heat exchanger 204 to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 231 or the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; control both of the mechanical load 231 and the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; (21) wherein the corrected rotation speed is determined using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and the inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the turbine [see equation 5.9, ¶ 0166-0193]. (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator 231 or 266 to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine [see equation 5.8, ¶ 0166-0193].
Lemieux et al teach using the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies [¶ 0060] and is operable with a jet engine / gas turbine 201. While Lemieux et al specifically use air as the turbine flow, he teaches how to adopt existing turbines and compressors/pumps used for e.g. turbochargers [e.g. ¶ 0041] for other uses aboard an aircraft [e.g. ¶ 0060-0061], and would similarly be applicable to adapting the turbine of Davies for fuel expansion operation aboard an aircraft.
Klees teaches determining and controlling the corrected turbine inlet flow rate [see e.g. col. 9, lines 15-45; col. 13, lines 22-39]. controller includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine 30, 32 using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine [col. 9, lines 15-45]; control one or both of the fluid regulator [compressor or bypass valve] or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range [substantially constant, col. 13, lines 22-39]; (22) wherein the controller [Fig. 5] is configured to control the fluid regulator [compressor or bypass valve] to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine [see above].
Coffinberry teaches controlling based on the corrected turbine speed of 52, note that the corrected turbine speed and corrected compressor speed are the same as they are on the same shaft [¶ 0036]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine in claim 1]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the [partial admission in claim 11] rotational assembly [using a rotation speed of the partial-admission rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine, in claim 11]; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, and control both of the mechanical load and the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, and (21) wherein the corrected rotation speed is determined using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and the inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine; (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range; (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine as taught by Fontvieille et al or Klees [for the corrected turbine inlet flow rate using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine] and/or Coffinberry to teach controlling based on the corrected turbine speed and/or Lemieux et al [for both the corrected rotation speed using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine and corrected rotation speed using a rotation speed of rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine], in order to in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output or to utilize the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies, and where Muldoon et al, may be optionally applied to teach controlling turbine inlet flow and turbine speed for fuel flow. As for the corrected flow threshold range, this is typical of gas turbine control signals, as evidenced by Kawai, who teach controlling to within an acceptable threshold/deadband range [¶ 0025-0026, 0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control to within a threshold / deadband range, for the flow threshold range and speed threshold range, as taught by Kawai et al, as typically done in the gas turbine art to utilize an acceptable range of operations.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-16, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf et al (3,690,100) in view of in view of Davies (2019/0257209) and either Fontvieille et al (2012/0016602) and/or Lemieux et al (2016/0153684) and Kawai et al (2020/0158019) and optionally in view of Muldoon (2023/0250754) and optionally in view of Klees (4,294,068) and Coffinberry et al (2012/0000205) and optionally in view of Roberge (2021/0207537) and optionally in view of Wolf et al (3740949) and for claim 11 further in view of Yada et al “Thomas/Alford Force on a Partial-Admission Turbine for the Rocket Engine Turbopump.” Wolf et al ‘100 teach An assembly for an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a fluid source [tank] including a fluid regulator [pump or valve]; a first heat exchanger [heat exchanger]; a turbine [turbine] including a rotational assembly and a plurality of turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the turbine [shaft, unlabeled], the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source [tank], the first heat exchanger, and the turbine sequentially form a portion of a fluid flow path through the assembly, and the fluid regulator [pump or valve] is configured to direct a fluid through the first heat exchanger and the turbine along the fluid flow path; a mechanical load [pump / air compressor] coupled to the rotational assembly, the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor [first stage of air compressor, which is consistent with applicant’s spec. Alternately, see first stage of air compressor 42 of Wolf et al ‘949 which clearly shows the air compressor is a bladed propulsor rotor in the context disclosed by applicant. To extent not already inherent, it would have been obvious to make the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor, as taught by Wolfe et al ‘949, as the environment in which the propulsion unit of Wolf et al ‘100 is utilized and illustrated only schematically]; and a control assembly including a controller 10, the controller 10 includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to [virtually inherent or obvious in light of conventional controllers]: determine a turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine [col. 1, lines 60-col. 2, line 15]; determine a rotation speed [speed sensing means, col. 2, lines 29-38] of the rotational assembly; control both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the turbine inlet flow within an inlet flow threshold range; and control both of the mechanical load [pump / compressor] and the first heat exchanger [heat exchanger] to maintain the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range. (2) a combustor [combustor], the combustor includes a combustion chamber, the combustor is connected in fluid communication with the turbine [turbine] along the fluid flow path, the turbine is configured to direct the fluid to the combustion chamber along the fluid flow path, and the fluid is a fuel. (3) wherein the fuel is a hydrogen fuel [fuel becomes hydrogen, see col. 3, lines 25-30]. (13) wherein the mechanical load includes a bladed propulsor rotor [first stage of air compressor, which is consistent with applicant’s spec.]. Wolf et al ‘100 teach a [fuel turbine] but does not teach the [fuel] turbine is a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; the fluid source, the first heat exchanger; nor (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; nor (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; nor (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages. Davies teaches a partial-admission turbine including a rotational assembly 34 and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages 30, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor 30, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages 30, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage 30 of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage 38 and at least one flow blocking structure 28; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages [Fig. 4], and the at least one flow blocking structure 28, 28a of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [Figs. 4, 8, 10, 11]; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure 28 has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages [see Fig. 4; also compare Fig. 8 with Fig. 10 where the span decreases in the downstream direction; see also ¶ 0044, 0012 which teaches each nozzle 28 increases the admission to the next stage, which requires the blocking span to decrease as shown in Fig. 4]; Davies teaches his partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the fuel turbine of Wolf et al a partial-admission turbine, including a rotational assembly and a plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, the rotational assembly is mounted for rotation about a rotational axis of the partial-admission turbine, the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor, the bladed turbine rotor includes a plurality of rotor blade stages, and each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a respective rotor blade stage of the plurality of rotor blade stages; (8) wherein each of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages further includes a stator vane stage and at least one flow blocking structure; (9) wherein the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages includes a first stage and a plurality of downstream stages, and the at least one flow blocking structure of each of the downstream stages is clocked in a rotational direction relative to the at least one flow blocking structure of an immediately upstream stage of the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages; (10) wherein the at least one flow blocking structure has a circumferential span, and the circumferential span decreases sequentially for the plurality of partial-admission turbine stages, as taught by Davies, as the partial-admission turbine has higher efficiency, increased longevity due to reduced stresses, reduced size, space and manufacturing costs [¶ 0009-0010, 0053, 0003]. For claim 11, the prior art do not teach the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis. Yada et al teach that it is well known in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis - see Fig. 9, and e.g. 2/4 admission where the black area is the area of the flow blocking structures [see ¶ preceding and after Fig. 9]. Table 3 teaches the 2/4 admission balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the plurality of flow blocking structures arranged opposite to each other about the partial-admission rotational axis, i.e. to make the blocking members generally symmetric about the axis, as taught by Yada et al, in order to balances the blade force on opposite sides of the turbine rotor.
Wolf does not teach … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine in claim 1]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the [partial admission in claim 11] rotational assembly [using a rotation speed of the partial-admission rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine, in claim 11]; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control (1) both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; nor (11) control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; nor (21) wherein the corrected rotation speed is determined using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and the inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine. (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine.
Muldoon teaches the controller 228 [¶ 0046] … determine a [fuel] turbine inlet 226, 228 flow rate of the fluid at the [fuel] turbine 320; determine a [fuel] rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 316 or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] turbine inlet flow within an inlet [fuel] flow threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; and control both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] and the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; control one or both of the mechanical load [e.g. pump/controller 228 or generator 322, ¶ 0046, 0053] or the first heat exchanger 324 to maintain the [fuel] rotation speed within a [fuel] rotation speed threshold range [¶ 0046, 0083]; (22) wherein the controller 228 is configured to control the fluid regulator 316 or 228 to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at turbine and maintain the turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet flow threshold range [see [¶ 0046, 0061, which teaches controlling the pressure from the flow regulator to within the maximum range accepted by the turbine].
Fontvieille et al [¶ 0027-0029] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine 2 [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine in claim 1, see ¶ 0054]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly; control one or both of the fluid regulator 3 or valves 11, 12 or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] or the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027]; control both of the mechanical load 3 [pump/compressor] and the first heat exchanger 13 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output [¶ 0023, 0027]: (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator 3 or valves 11, 12 to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range [see ¶ 0046-00-47, which teaches that the corrected turbine flow rate is graphed as a function f4 in Figs. 9 & ¶ 0054 teaches the input pressure is also controlled as part of the corrected turbine inlet flow rate]. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine [¶ 0054].
Lemieux et al [¶ 0166-0169] teaches the controller … determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid 237 at the turbine 235 [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine in claim 1, see equation 5.8, ¶ 0166-0193]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the rotational assembly [using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the turbine in claim 11, see equation 5.9, ¶ 0166-0193]; control one or both of the fluid regulator [231 or 266, Fig. 2.3] or the first heat exchanger 204 to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load 231 or the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; control both of the mechanical load 231 and the first heat exchanger 204 or 232 to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range; (21) wherein the corrected rotation speed is determined using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and the inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the turbine [see equation 5.9, ¶ 0166-0193]. (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator 231 or 266 to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine [see equation 5.8, ¶ 0166-0193].
Lemieux et al teach using the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies [¶ 0060] and is operable with a jet engine / gas turbine 201. While Lemieux et al specifically use air as the turbine flow, he teaches how to adopt existing turbines and compressors/pumps used for e.g. turbochargers [e.g. ¶ 0041] for other uses aboard an aircraft [e.g. ¶ 0060-0061], and would similarly be applicable to adapting the turbine of Davies for fuel expansion operation aboard an aircraft.
Klees teaches determining and controlling the corrected turbine inlet flow rate [see e.g. col. 9, lines 15-45; col. 13, lines 22-39]. controller includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: determine a corrected turbine inlet flow rate of the fluid at the turbine 30, 32 using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine [col. 9, lines 15-45]; control one or both of the fluid regulator [compressor or bypass valve] or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range [substantially constant, col. 13, lines 22-39]; (22) wherein the controller [Fig. 5] is configured to control the fluid regulator [compressor or bypass valve] to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range. (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine [see above].
Coffinberry teaches controlling based on the corrected turbine speed of 52, note that the corrected turbine speed and corrected compressor speed are the same as they are on the same shaft [¶ 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ [using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine in claim 1]; determine a corrected rotation speed of the [partial admission in claim 11] rotational assembly [using a rotation speed of the partial-admission rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine, in claim 11]; control one or both of the fluid regulator or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within an inlet corrected flow threshold range; and control one or both of the mechanical load or the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, and control both of the mechanical load and the first heat exchanger to maintain the corrected rotation speed within a corrected rotation speed threshold range, and (21) wherein the corrected rotation speed is determined using a rotation speed of the rotational assembly and the inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine; (22) wherein the controller is configured to control the fluid regulator to control the inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine and maintain the corrected turbine inlet flow rate within the inlet corrected flow threshold range; (23) wherein the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is determined using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, the inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine as taught by Fontvieille et al or Klees [for the corrected turbine inlet flow rate using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine] and/or Coffinberry for controlling the corrected turbine speed and/or Lemieux et al [for both the corrected rotation speed using an inlet fluid mass flow rate, an inlet fluid temperature, and an inlet fluid pressure of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine and corrected rotation speed using a rotation speed of rotational assembly and an inlet fluid temperature of the fluid at the partial-admission turbine], in order to in order to predictably control the turbine speed and output or to utilize the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed to control the speed of the turbine and heat exchanger performance while maintaining high efficiencies, and where Muldoon et al, may be optionally applied to teach controlling turbine inlet flow and turbine speed for fuel flow. As for the corrected flow threshold range, this is typical of gas turbine control signals, as evidenced by Kawai, who teach controlling to within an acceptable threshold/deadband range [¶ 0025-0026, 0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control to within a threshold / deadband range, for the flow threshold range and speed threshold range, as taught by Kawai et al, as typically done in the gas turbine art to utilize an acceptable range of operations.
Wolf et al do not teach (7) a generator, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator. Muldoon et al teach (7) a generator 322/314, and the mechanical load includes a generator rotor of the generator [see ¶ 0073]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a generator for the mechanical load driven by the partial-admission turbine, in order to produce additional electricity as desired. As for the controller, includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to…, this limitation is typical of controllers used aboard aircraft and is also evidenced by Roberge et al, whose teachings are incorporated from earlier. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a controller, includes a processor connected in signal communication with memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to…, as taught by Roberge et al, as typical of processors utilized aboard aircraft including aircraft engines.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 & 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/13/2026 focus on the new limitations added by amendment, reciting how the corrected turbine inlet flow rate and corrected rotation speed are calculated. Both of these are already taught by Lemieux et al. Moreover, the corrected turbine inlet flow rate is clearly taught by Muldoon.
Applicant’s arguments incorporate those of 4/13/2026, arguments concerning the high “inlet density condition” described in Davies is not persuasive. Davies merely teaches that was a limitation of the prior art [¶ 0010], but that this invention alleviates this in ¶ 0011, with advantages described e.g. in ¶ 0058-0065.
“[0011] It is an object of the present invention to overcome at least some of the above-mentioned problems or to provide the public with a useful alternative by providing multi-stage axial flow turbine adapted to operate at low steam temperatures that can be operated in an apparatus as described in the applicants Australian patent application 2016222342 whose contents are incorporated by reference herein.”
“[0058] The reader will now appreciate the advantages of the present invention. The 10-stage partial admission turbine offers many advantages over conventional turbine designs.
“[0059] Maximum efficiency is realized at lower shaft speeds (RPM) due to the special characteristic of partial admission stages for reaching peak efficiency at lower speed than the same stage with full admission. The nozzles and blades experience reduced stress levels due to:
[0060] (a) Smaller operating loads provided by reduced pressure drops per stage,
[0061] (b) Small heights required to pass lower volume flows, and
[0062] (c) And lower operating speeds required for maximum efficiency.
[0063] Reduced blade height variations from turbine inlet to exhaust results in a relatively smaller last stage diameter and enables the rotor to fit within a smaller casing diameter. The overall length is reduced due to close spacing of stages required for partial admission designs. Reduced manufacturing costs and machining times result due to:
[0064] (a) Reduced tool path depth required to machine the passages of the smaller blade heights, and
[0065] (b) ability to use common nozzle and blade profiles in most stages.”
Accordingly, applicant’s arguments argue the point without any context, since Davies already teaches his invention addresses the issues of the prior art.
Contrary to applicant’s assertions Fontvielle teaches a corrected turbine inlet flow rate, not just a compressor side correction. [see ¶ 0046-00-47, which teaches that the corrected turbine flow rate is graphed as a function f4 in Figs. 9 & ¶ 0054 teaches the input pressure is also controlled as part of the corrected turbine inlet flow rate]. Contrary to applicant’s assertions, Fontvielle does control the corrected turbine inlet flow rate [see ¶ 0021, 0061 and controlling to function f4 in Fig. 4, not just estimating the data ¶ 0061].
Even if in arguendo, Fontvielle and Lemieux were not actually controlling based on the corrected values of turbine inlet flow rate and turbine rotation speed, this line of reasoning is not persuasive as the base reference already teaches the bladed propulsor and controlling the rotation speed within a rotation speed threshold range and flow rates to the desired flow rates, e.g. Roberge, already teaches that the rotational speed of the fuel turbine is already being controlled to the desired flow rates and speed / range. Roberge merely lacks the specific way of formulating the speed and flow rates as being corrected turbine inlet flow rate / with threshold, corrected speed with threshold range. The applied secondary references listed above teach the turbine rotational assembly driving a mechanical load, and the variable controlled is the corrected versions of the listed variables above. Muldoon also teaching controlling turbines requires the controlling the generic turbine inlet flow rate and turbine rotation speed.
Applicant’s arguments alleging a deficiency in Roberge is necessary for modification is not persuasive. Rather, the teachings of using corrected values by either Fontvielle and Lemieux rather than non-corrected variables, are what the rejection is based on.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Wolf are additionally not persuasive for analogous reasons as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
August 8, 2026