DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Brien (8711566). With respect to claim 1, O’Brien discloses an electronic device (102, 202, 302) comprising: a main body (110); a slider (112) slidably moved to the main body (110), wherein the slider (112) is at least partially inserted to the main body (110) and is at least partially withdrawn from the main body (110); a flexible display (104) comprising a first area (218) and a second area (220), wherein the first area (218) is exposed when the slider (112) is fully inserted to the main body (110), and wherein the second area (220) of the flexible display (104) is inserted to the main body (110) when the slider (112) is fully inserted to the main body (110); a flexible support member (230, 234) disposed at a bottom face of the flexible display(104); and a smoothness maintaining device coupled to the flexible support member. With respect to claim 2, O’Brien discloses the device (102, 202, 302) of claim 1, wherein tension is applied to the flexible support member (230, 234) while the slider (112) slidably moves to the main body (110). With respect to claim 11, O’Brien discloses the device (102, 202, 302) of claim 2, wherein the flexible support member (230, 234) comprises: a flexible film (224) including a first face disposed at the bottom face of the flexible display (104), and a second face facing the first face; and a plurality of protrusions (210, 316) disposed on the second face of the flexible film (224). With respect to claim 12, O’Brien discloses the device (102, 202, 302) of claim 11, wherein an area in which the plurality of protrusions (210, 316) are disposed is corresponding to the second area. With respect to claim 13, O’Brien discloses the device (102, 202, 302) of claim 11, wherein the plurality of protrusions (210, 316) are configured to be spaced apart from each other, or are configured integrally to be disposed with an equal interval.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as to claims 3-10 and 15, patentability resides, at least in part, in the smoothness maintaining device further comprises: a first roller rotatably disposed at a first position of the main body, and a second roller rotatably disposed at a second position of the main body, and a wire connected to the flexible support member, wherein a first end of the wire is connected to a third end of the flexible support member and a second end of the wire is connected to a fourth end of the flexible support member, and wherein the first roller and the second roller are surrounded by the connection member wire and the flexible support member which are connected each other as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully; as to claim 14, patentability resides, at least in part, in the cross section of the plurality of protrusions being isosceles trapezoidal, and wherein the plurality of protrusions is integrated with the flexible film as claimed and including all of the other limitations of the base claim(s) respectfully.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-02-20