DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted 5/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant is respectfully reminded of the duty to disclose 37 C.F.R. 1.56 all pertinent information and material pertaining to the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention, by continuing to submitting in a timely manner PTO-1449, Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) with the filing of applicant’s application or thereafter.
Specification
The specification filed on 5/03/2024 has been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claim 6, 16, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 (also applicable to claim 18), the limitation reading “and the SBI access key in the WTRU context…” lacks proper antecedent basis. The underlined term has not been positively recited previously. The terms recited are “a WTRU context management function” and “a new WTRU context”, yet the underlined term poises doubt if it is a different WTRU context or if it is related to one of the already positively recited terms. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret as follows: “and the SBI access key in the new WTRU context…”
Claim 16, the limitation reading “and sending, to the WTRU, the end-to-end security mode command complete SBI message” is unclear as to what the inventor regards as the invention. Claim 16 initially states that it is receiving from the WTRU, a fourth SBI message comprising an end-to-end security mode command complete SIB message. Then, the limitation above states that the base station will send back (again) to the WTRU, the same message. This limitation is not clear as the message came from the WTRU, therefore it seems in error that the same message be sent back to the WTRU. In the specification, paragraph [0095] states that the end-to-end SBI message is sent to the AAF 606. Therefore, appropriate correction is required.
For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as follows: “and sending, to the , the end-to-end security mode command complete SBI message”.
Claim Rejections - Examiner's Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by *Salkintzis et al. (WO 2023/198297 A1, hereinafter “Salkintzis”).
*Provided in Applicant submitted IDS
Regarding claim 1, Salkintzis teaches:
1. A base station comprising:
a transceiver; and
a processor,
wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to transmit information in a system information block (SIB) (Fig. 1, par 62, 80), wherein the information comprises an indication that the base station (i.e. NSWO) is configured to operate as a service based interface (SBI) gateway between one or more (fig. 1, par 40, number of remote units 105) wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) (i.e. UE [or remote unit 105]) and an SBI capable core network (i.e. AUSF via SBI interface) (par 62, 80, NSWO is a proxy of the SBI interface between UE and AUSF; par 62; i.e. NSWO provides internetwork functionality that enables communication between the WLAN network and the AUSF, see also par 53, different communication protocols are used depending on the access network communication links, see par 76),
wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive, from a WTRU (fig. 2A, UE) of the one or more WTRUs, a first radio resource control (RRC) message (i.e. registration request), wherein the first RRC message comprises an end-to-end SBI registration request message for the SBI capable core network (fig. 2A, step 25), and wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to send a first SBI message (fig. 2B, 27a via AMF and 26b), to an authentication and authorization function (AAF) of the SBI capable core network (fig. 2B, AUSF 207), wherein the first SBI message comprises the end-to-end SBI registration request message (fig. 2B, step 26B, Registration Request is embedded in message) and an indication of a type of authentication and authorization requested (fig. 2B, step 27a, par 81: “the NSWO NF sends an authentication request message, e.g., the Nausf UEAuthentication Authenticate Request message, containing the SUCI, a Serving Network Name (e.g., an Access Network Identity, as defined in 3GPP TS 33.501) and a NSWO indicator towards the AUSF . Here, the indicator NSW O indicator is used to indicate to the AUSF that the authentication request is for Non-Seamless WLAN Offload purposes”).
Regarding claim 2, Salkintzis teaches:
2. The base station of claim 1, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive a second SBI message, from the AAF, wherein the second SBI message comprises an end-to-end SBI authentication request message (par 84, EAP-Request/AKA Challenge message “The AUSF sends the EAP -Request/ AKA'-Challenge message to the NSWO NF”) that comprises one of a request for an identity of the WTRU to be authenticated or a challenge to authentication of the WTRU (par 84, EAP-Request/AKA Challenge message “The AUSF sends the EAP -Request/ AKA'-Challenge message to the NSWO NF” is sent for UE authentication).
Regarding claim 3, Salkintzis teaches:
3. The base station of claim 2, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: receive, from the AAF, a third SBI message, wherein the third SBI message comprises an end-to-end security mode command SBI message intended for the WTRU (fig. 2B, step 29a, initiated from AUSF in step 28a), wherein the end-to-end security mode command SBI message is protected using a first security key (fig. 2B step 28b, ) derived from an SBI access key that was derived by the WTRU and the AAF (fig. 2B, par 115-116) during authentication (fig. 2B, step 27b), and send, to the WTRU, the end-to-end security mode command SBI message (fig. 2B, step 29a).
Regarding claim 4, Salkintzis teaches:
4. The base station of claim 3, wherein the processor and the transceiver are further configured to: receive a fourth SBI message from the WTRU (fig. 2C, step 30a from UE to NSWO), wherein the fourth SBI message comprises an end-to-end security mode command complete SBI message (fig. 2C, step 30a, Security Mode Complete), wherein the end-to-end security mode command complete SBI message is confidentiality protected using a second security key derived from the SBI access key and is integrity protected using the first security key (fig. 2C, par 120: “the UE 201 creates a Security Mode Complete message and integrityprotects this message by using its own version of the NAS security context”), and send, to the AAF, the end-to-end security mode command complete SBI message (fig. 2C, step 30b).
Regarding claim 5, Salkintzis teaches:
5. The base station of claim 1, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive, from the AAF, a fifth SBI message (fig. 2B, step 28a), wherein the fifth SBI message comprises an indication of successful authentication of the WTRU (par 114-115: “the UE 201 is authenticated via the provided MAC1 value…the MAC1 is successfully verified, … In turn, the AUSF 207 derives the KAUSF key from MSK (e.g., by using the 256 most significant bits of MSK) and it also derives the KSEAF key…. the AUSF 207 responds to the AMF 211 with a message that contains the SUPI of the UE 201, the KSEAF key”), a WTRU identifier (ID) for the WTRU, and a security context comprising an indication of the first security key, the second security key, and the SBI access key (fig. 2B, steps 27b, 28a, par 115: “the AUSF 207 responds to the AMF 211 with a message that contains the SUPI of the UE 201, the KSEAF key and a (second) NSWO Container element (see messaging 239). The NSWO Container element provided by the AUSF 207 comprises of the pseudo-random number (denoted “UNonce”) created by the UE 201, another pseudo-random number (denoted “TNonce”) created by the AUSF 207, and a second Message Authentication Code (denoted “MAC2”)”).
Regarding claim 9, Salkintzis teaches:
9. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (fig. 1, UE [remote unit 105]) comprising:
a transceiver; and
a processor,
wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to decode a system information block (SIB) (fig. 1, par 53-54, UE communication with core network comprises different communication protocols are used depending on the access network communication links via interworking function 135), wherein the SIB comprises an indication that a base station is configured to operate as a service based interface (SBI) gateway between one or more wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) and an SBI capable core network (fig. 1, par 62, 80, NSWO is a proxy of the SBI interface between UE and AUSF; par 62; i.e. NSWO provides internetwork functionality that enables communication between the WLAN network and the AUSF, see also par 53-54, different communication protocols are used depending on the access network communication links), and
wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to transmit, to the base station (fig. 2A, 209), a first radio resource control (RRC) message (i.e. registration request), wherein the first RRC message comprises an end-to-end SBI registration request message for the SBI capable core network (fig. 2A, step 25).
Regarding claim 10, Salkintzis teaches:
10. The WTRU of claim 9, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive, from the base station, an end-to-end security mode command SBI message (fig. 2B, step 29b, initiated from AUSF in step 28a via AMF step 29a), wherein the end-to-end security mode command SBI message is protected using a first security key (fig. 2B step 28b, ) derived from an SBI access key that was derived by the WTRU and an authentication and authorization service function (AAF) (fig. 2B, par 115-116) during authentication (fig. 2B, step 27b).
Regarding claim 11, Salkintzis teaches:
11. The WTRU of claim 10, wherein the processor and the transceiver are further configured to: receive a second RRC message from the base station (fig. 2B, step 29b, initiated from AUSF in step 28a via AMF step 29a), wherein the second RRC message comprises an end-to-end security mode command SBI message (fig. 2B, step 29a), wherein the end-to-end security mode command SBI message is confidentiality protected using a second security key (fig. 2B step 28b, ) derived from the SBI access key (fig. 2B, par 115-116) and is integrity protected using the first security key (par 119), and send, to the base station, a third RRC message, wherein the third RRC message comprises an end-to-end security mode complete SBI message (fig. 2C, step 30a).
Regarding claim 12, Salkintzis teaches:
12. The WTRU of claim 9, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive, from the base station, a fourth RRC message, wherein the fourth RRC message comprises an end-to-end SBI registration accept message (fig. 2C, step 35a, containing the registration accept).
Regarding claim 13, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over *Salkintzis et al. (WO 2023/198297 A1, hereinafter “Salkintzis”) in view of Official Notice.
*Provided in Applicant submitted IDS
Regarding claim 6, Salkintzis teaches:
6. The base station of claim 5, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: send a request, to a WTRU context management function (UCF) (i.e. AMF, par 61, AMF is responsible for security context management and mobility management; although the claims recite a second entitiy “UCF”, Salkintzis teaches the AMF also is responsible for security context management), to create a new WTRU context for the WTRU (fig. 2C, step 30b), store the first security key, the second security key, and the SBI access key in the WTRU context (par 120: “The AMF 211 applies its own version of the NAS security context to verify the integrity of the Security Mode Complete message. If the verification is successful, then both the UE 201 and AMF 211 share the same NAS security context”), and receive, from the UCF, a temporary ID for the WTRU (fig. 2C, step 31; N3IWF Key).
Salkintzis discloses the claimed invention except for a WTRU context management function (UCF). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the AMF device of Salkintzis, which device handles also security context management, since it has been held that forming in one piece of hardware, which is currently in two pieces of hardware and then put together, involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Salkintzis teaches:
7. The base station of claim 5, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: send a registration request message to a registration and mobility management function (RMF) (FIG. 2b, AMF 211, par 61, AMF is responsible for security context management and mobility management; although the claims recite a second entitiy “RMF”, Salkintzis teaches the AMF also is responsible for mobility management)) (fig. 2B, step 26B), wherein the registration request message comprises the end-to-end SBI registration request message (fig. 2A, step 25, containing Registration Req), and receive, from the RMF, a registration response message, wherein the registration response message comprises an end-to-end SBI registration accept message that is protected by the UCF (fig. 2C, step 35a, containing the registration accept).
Salkintzis discloses the claimed invention except for a registration and mobility management function (RMF). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the AMF device of Salkintzis, which device handles also mobility management, since it has been held that forming in one piece of hardware, which is currently in two pieces of hardware and then put together, involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the claims have been set forth and rejected as it has been discussed in claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior art of record teaches the following:
*Salkintzis et al. (WO 2023198297 A1) teaches apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for registering with a core network after NSWO authentication. One apparatus (500) includes a processor (505) coupled to a transceiver (525), the processor (505) configured to cause the apparatus (500) to connect (705) to a WLAN AN using credentials associated with a network, including performing a first authentication procedure without registering the apparatus (500) with the network. The processor (505) determines (710) to register with the network and the transceiver (525) sends (715) a first message including a first container derived based on information generated during the first authentication procedure, where the first message initiates registration with the network. The transceiver (525) receives (720) a second message including a second container derived based on information generated during the first authentication procedure. The processor (505) registers (730) with the network based on validating (725) the second container.
Park et. al. (WO 2020/071689 A1) teaches a method for registering a user equipment in a second network via a first network, the method comprising: receiving, from the user equipment, a registration request message including at least one of identification information of the first network, identification information of the user equipment in the first network, identification information of the second network, and identification information of the user equipment in the second network; selecting an AUSF of the first network to perform a first authentication procedure for service subscription authentication of the user equipment in the first network, and performing the first authentication procedure with the AUSF of the first network and a UDM of the first network; on the basis of a result of the first authentication procedure, determining whether to perform a second authentication procedure for service subscription authentication of the user equipment in the second network; on the basis of a result of the determining, performing the second authentication procedure with an AUSF of the second network and a UDM of the second network; and transmitting a registration approval message.
Ryu et al. (WO 2020/185949 A2) teaches a wireless device sends a first request to an access and mobility management function (AMF). The first request includes a paging cause value in a paging message. The paging message is received by the wireless device and comprises the paging cause value. Based on the paging message, a second request for a connection setup is sent.
However, none of the prior art of record teach by themselves or in any combination nor would have anticipated nor render obvious by combination the claimed invention of the present invention at or before the time it was filed. The prior art of record is silent on " [claim 1] A base station comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to transmit information in a system information block (SIB), wherein the information comprises an indication that the base station is configured to operate as a service based interface (SBI) gateway between one or more wireless transmit/receive units (WTRUs) and an SBI capable core network, wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive, from a WTRU of the one or more WTRUs, a first radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the first RRC message comprises an end-to-end SBI registration request message for the SBI capable core network, and wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to send a first SBI message, to an authentication and authorization function (AAF) of the SBI capable core network, wherein the first SBI message comprises the end-to-end SBI registration request message and an indication of a type of authentication and authorization requested; [claim 5] wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to receive, from the AAF, a fifth SBI message, wherein the fifth SBI message comprises an indication of successful authentication of the WTRU, a WTRU identifier (ID) for the WTRU, and a security context comprising an indication of the first security key, the second security key, and the SBI access key; [claim 7] wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: send a registration request message to a registration and mobility management function (RMF), wherein the registration request message comprises the end-to-end SBI registration request message, and receive, from the RMF, a registration response message, wherein the registration response message comprises an end-to-end SBI registration accept message that is protected by the UCF; [claim 8/20] wherein the transceiver and the processor are further configured to: send a request, to the UCF, for an access stratum (AS) session key, register, with the UCF, as a last known serving base station, subscribe, to the UCF, for WTRU-related notifications, perform security establishment with the WTRU to secure radio resource control (RRC) transmissions, and send, to the WTRU, a second RRC message, wherein the second RRC message comprises the end-to-end SBI registration accept message.", in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
(1) US 11,917,412 B2 teaches AMF reallocation handling using UE exceptions to security context.
/LIZBETH TORRES-DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/January 9, 2026/
/ltd/