DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 08/05/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 05/19/2026. Independent claims 1, 11 and 20 are amended. Claims 3 and 13 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-20 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALEKI et al. (2024/0284233), MALEKI hereinafter, in view of Zhu490 et. al. (WO 2023/009490, as submitted in IDS, same assignee, but, published more than a year from the EFD of the instant application), Zhu490 hereinafter, further in view of Niu et al. (2025/0167952), Niu hereinafter.
Re. claim 1, 11 and 20, MALEKI teaches a method (Fig. 2-5 & ¶0020/¶0022/¶0133/¶0134/ ¶0141-¶0144/¶0169 ) of wireless communication (Fig.1-2) performed by a first network entity (Fig. 2, Wireless Device 22/ WDs 22 as disclosed throughout ), a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 2, 54) having code (Fig., 2 & ¶0110-¶0111) for wireless communication (Fig.1-2) stored (Fig. 2, 54 & ¶0110-¶0111) thereon that, when executed by a first network entity (Fig. 2, Wireless Device 22), and a first network entity (Fig. 2, Wireless Device 22) for wireless communication (Fig.1-2), comprising: a processing system (Fig. 2, 50) configured to: receive a first synchronization signal block (SSB) from a second network entity, wherein the first SSB is received via a first SSB beam, and wherein communication between the first network entity and the second network entity is based on measurements of the first SSB obtained in accordance with a current SSB measurement periodicity; (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0133 - FIG. 4 is a flowchart of an example process in a wireless device 22 <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> for receiving an SSB configuration and performing at least one measurement …. wireless device 22 such as by one or more of processing circuitry 50 (including the WD adaptation unit 26), processor 52, and/or radio interface 46. Wireless device 22 < i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> is configured to receive (Block S104) a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration including a first set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a first set periodicity and a second set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a second set periodicity. Each SSB of the second set of SSBs is configurable to be transmitted periodically at an SSB periodicity. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0134 - the SSB configuration includes a first SSB time window. The first SSB time window is configured to occur periodically at a first time window periodicity and is a first time interval that includes at least one SSB of the first set of SSBs. The first time window periodicity being the first set periodicity. The SSB configuration further includes a second SSB time window. The second SSB time window is configured to occur periodically at a second time window periodicity and is a second time interval that includes at least one SSB of the second set of SSBs. The second time window periodicity is the second set periodicity. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0141 - the SSB configuration includes a plurality of SSB spatial configurations defining a plurality of wireless signal beams. At least one SSB of first set of SSBs corresponds to at least a first wireless signal beam of the plurality of wireless signal beams. At least one SSB of second set of SSBs corresponds to at least a second wireless signal beam of the plurality of wireless signal beams. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0142 - The at least one SSB of the second set of SSBs corresponds to the at least second wireless signal beam. The at least second wireless signal beam is selected by the network node 16 <i.e., “second network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > to transmit the signaling. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0144 - the SSB periodicity of at least one SSB of the second set of SSBs is different from one of the first set periodicity and the periodicity of at least another SSB of the second set of SSBs. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0164 - an SSB 60, a set of SSBs 62, and/or an SSB time window 64 may be configured to have a periodicity 66, which may refer to one or more periodicities such as periodicity 66a, 66b, 66c. For example, SSB time window 64a (and/or SSB 60 and/or the first set of SSB 62a) may have a periodicity 66a equal to 20 ms, and SSB time window 64b (and SSB time window) may have a periodicity 66b equal to 80 ms. Periodicity 66, such as periodicities 66a and 66b, are not limited being equal to 20 ms and 80 ms and may have any other value. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0165 - network node 16 < i.e., “second network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > may determine/configure a first set of SSBs 62a by configuring parameters such as ssb-PositionsInBurst/ssb-PeriodicityServingCell parameters for a certain cell, e.g., for a serving cell associated with the network node 16. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0168 - for a serving cell, a plurality of sets of ssb-PeriodicityServingCell/ssb-PeriodicityServing parameter combinations may be configured. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0169 - network node 16 <i.e., “second network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > may provide a configuration, including a configuration indicating SSB time window, e.g., via higher-layer signaling such as Managed Information Block (MIB) or System Information Block (SIB) broadcasting, …and/or RRC configuration. For example, network node 16 <i.e., “second network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > may only configure a group of SSB time windows such as second, third, and fourth SSB time windows for selected WDs 22 <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application>.. The WD 22 <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application>.. may then determine whether to perform at least one measurement, e.g., one or more RRM measurements, ,,,, based on the SSBs 60 in other SSB time windows 64, e.g., in the third SSB time window 64c. Also, See, S104 in Fig. 4 Also, see claims 16/25); and obtain measurements of one or more second SSBs while the first network entity is in communication with the second network entity, wherein the one or more second SSBs are received via respective second SSB beams (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0020 - methods, systems, and apparatuses for adaptation of SSB periodicity. …. in which a network node <<i.e., “second network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > may configure SSBs with individual/respective periodicities. The network node may configure multiple sets of SSBs, where the first set provides cell coverage for legacy WDs and/or initial access at a first periodicity, e.g., 20 ms. Additional SSB sets may have other periodicities, e.g., shorter/longer periods. … The additional SSB sets may be utilized for a predetermined process, e.g., for higher-resolution beam establishment or neighbor-cell RRM measurements. SSBs may be transmitted covering an entire cell area and/or covering cell regions/with expected UE presence or measurement relevance. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0022 - network node <i.e., “second network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > includes processing circuitry configured to determine a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration including a first set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a first set periodicity and a second set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a second set periodicity. Each SSB of the second set of SSBs is configurable to be transmitted periodically at an SSB periodicity. A radio interface in communication with the processing circuitry is configured to transmit the SSB configuration to the WD <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> , where the transmitted SSB configuration triggers the WD <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> to perform at least one measurement associated with at least one SSB of any one of the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0031 - determine that one of the WD is located within the fraction of the coverage area and the WD <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application > is moving in a direction that indicates neighbor-cell measurements are expected; select the at least one SSB of the second set of SSBs corresponding to the at least second wireless signal beam. … The second wireless signal beam is usable to transmit signaling to the WD while one of the WD <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> is located within the fraction of the coverage area and the WD is moving in the direction that indicates neighbor-cell measurements are expected.. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0169 - The WD 22 <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application>.. may then determine whether to perform at least one measurement, e.g., one or more RRM measurements, ,,,, based on the SSBs 60 in other SSB time windows 64, e.g., in the third SSB time window 64c. Fig. 1-6 & ¶0178 - methods and/or mechanisms used by WD 22 are describe and may include selecting one or more SSBs (e.g., appropriate SSBs) for measurement purposes. Also, See, ¶0220/¶0224 along with S106 in Fig. 4, Also, see claims 16/25),
Yet, MALEKI does not expressly teach wherein a target SSB measurement periodicity for collection of the measurements of the one or more second SSBs via the respective second SSB beams is based on a mobility associated with the first network entity.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu490 explicitly discloses wherein a target SSB measurement periodicity for collection of the measurements of the one or more second SSBs via the respective second SSB beams is based on a mobility associated with the first network entity. (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0076 - based on a mobility of the UE 115-a <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application >, one or more beams may be selected for measurement at more frequent intervals than would be provided if using the codebook hierarchy alone. In some cases, the UE 115-a may experience relatively high mobility (e.g., relatively fast movement or rotation relative to beam directions of the base station 105-a), and beam measurements for certain beams may be stale or relatively infrequent, and thus may not identify a beam that may be the most suitable for communications. In some cases, the UE 115-a <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> may identify one or more beams that are to be measured at a same cadence as the serving beam. For example, a first beam may be identified as having a RSRP that exceeds other beams (e.g., a beam from a subset of beams that are prioritized such as based on the codebook hierarchy), and the first beam may be measured at a same cadence as the serving beam (e.g., on a per-SSB basis). In some cases, the serving beam (e.g., VSUEb) may be maintained on per-SSB basis… By measuring the first beam (and optionally one or more other beams having measurements that meet a threshold criteria), consistent sampling and filtering for the top one or more beams that compete with the serving beam may be provided, which may allow for a more even comparison of beams when evaluating beam switch criteria. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0079 - a serving beam may have serving beam measurement occasions 305 that may occur on a per-SSB basis (e.g., providing serving beam measurement occasions 305-a through 305-e) and thus have a serving beam periodicity 310. Further, one or more beams may be identified for measurement at a same periodicity as the serving beam, as discussed herein. For example, the UE may keep up to N candidate beams (e.g., N = 3 in the example of FIG. 3) that are at least X dB below the serving beam (e.g., within 1 dB below VSUEb) in a prioritized subset of beams (e.g., in a second subset of beams, which may include beams within or outside of a first subset of beams identified based on a codebook hierarchy). Each of the identified prioritized candidate beams may be scheduled for measurement with the same cadence as the serving beam update, such that the serving beam and each identified prioritized candidate get updated after each round 315 of scheduling. Also, see steps, 410,440,445, 415,420, 430,435 in Fig.4. Also, see claims 1, 3 & 9, For example, “A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) < i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application>, comprising: measuring first channel characteristics of a serving beam according to a first periodicity associated with transmission of one or more reference signals using the serving beam; selecting one or more candidate beams from a set of available beams for measurement according to the first periodicity, the one or more candidate beams selected based at least in part on a signal strength of beams of the set of available beams; measuring second channel characteristics of each of the one or more candidate beams according to the first periodicity; and triggering a beam switch to a first candidate beam of the one or more candidate beams based at least in part on the first channel characteristics of the serving beam being below a threshold value, wherein the measuring the first channel characteristics for the serving beam and the second channel characteristics for each of the one or more candidate beams comprises: measuring the channel characteristics of each respective beam on a per synchronization signal block (SSB) basis, wherein the selecting of the one or more candidate beams is based at least in part on a detected mobility of the UE exceeding a threshold mobility value.”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MALEKI’s invention of a system and a method for adaptation of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity in a wireless communication system to include Zhu490’s invention of a system and a method for beam selection at a user equipment (UE) based on measurement periodicities in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in selecting one or more candidate beams by the UE, are based on a detected mobility of the UE exceeding a threshold value, in turns, provides a higher likelihood of being suitable for a fast moving UE communicating with a serving base station, thus, enhances performance and reliability of the fast moving UE communications with serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (Fig.2, ¶0074, Zhu490).
Yet, MALEKI and Zhu490 do not expressly teach wherein the mobility is associated with a scaling factor and the target SSB measurement periodicity is based on application of the scaling factor to the current SSB measurement periodicity.
However, in the analogous art, Niu explicitly discloses wherein the mobility is associated with a scaling factor and the target SSB measurement periodicity is based on application of the scaling factor to the current SSB measurement periodicity. (Fig. 1-9 & ¶0043 - a scaling factor K may be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g. RRC) or may be predefined (e.g. K=number of RRHs), for beam failure detection (BFD) interval and/or radio link monitoring (RLM) interval. The beam failure detection interval may be defined as max{2 ms, minimal scaled periodicity of BFD reference signals (RSS)}, where the scaled periodicity for SSB is calculated as K*T, and where T is the periodicity of SSB. The radio link monitoring interval may be defined as max{10 ms, minimal scaled periodicity of BFD RSs}, where the scaled periodicity for SSB is calculated as K*T, and where T is the periodicity of SSB. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0044 - The network may configure the inter-RRH TCI state not in the active TCI state list. Thus, the UE performs additional SSB acquisition when TCI state switching is between RRHs. The delay for L1-RSRP measurement for receive (Rx) beam refinement (i.e. TBM_Measurement_Period_SSB) to determine the TCI activation delay … may be determined by scaled SSB periodicity (e.g. K*T, where K is the scaling factor configured by gNB or predefined and T indicates the SSB periodicity). Fig. 1-9 & ¶0065 - the method 700 further includes using a scaling factor K for at least one of beam failure detection (BFD) interval and radio link monitoring (RLM) interval. The BFD interval comprises max{2 ms, minimal scaled periodicity of BFD reference signals (RSS)}, wherein the scaled periodicity for the SSBs is calculated as K*T, and wherein T comprises a periodicity of the SSBs. The RLM interval comprises max{10 ms, minimal scaled periodicity of BFD reference signals (RSs)}, wherein the scaled periodicity for the SSBs is calculated as K*T, and wherein T comprises a periodicity of the SSBs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MALEKI’s invention of a system and a method for adaptation of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity in a wireless communication system and Zhu490’s invention of a system and a method for beam selection at a user equipment (UE) based on measurement periodicities in a wireless communication system to include Niu’s invention of a system and a method for Layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement and transmission configuration indication (TCI) state switching and generating of synchronization signal block (SSB) index configuration for the plurality TRPs for a plurality transmission reception points (TRPs) configured for high speed train (HST) communication using millimeter wave (mmWave) signals in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in minimizing propagation delay between the plurality transmission reception points (TRPs) configured for high speed train (HST) communication using millimeter wave (mmWave) signals in the wireless communication system. (¶0007/¶0025, Niu)
Re. Claims 2 and 12, MALEKI, Zhu490 and Niu teach claims 1 and 11.
Yet, MALEKI does not expressly teach adjust the target SSB measurement periodicity based on a change in the mobility associated with the first network entity.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu490 explicitly discloses adjust the target SSB measurement periodicity based on a change in the mobility associated with the first network entity. (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0076 - based on a mobility of the UE 115-a <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application >, one or more beams may be selected for measurement at more frequent intervals than would be provided if using the codebook hierarchy alone. In some cases, the UE 115-a may experience relatively high mobility (e.g., relatively fast movement or rotation relative to beam directions of the base station 105-a), and beam measurements for certain beams may be stale or relatively infrequent, and thus may not identify a beam that may be the most suitable for communications. In some cases, the UE 115-a <i.e., “first network entity” as per the definition of the claimed feature as defined at least at ¶0032 of the instant application> may identify one or more beams that are to be measured at a same cadence as the serving beam. For example, a first beam may be identified as having a RSRP that exceeds other beams (e.g., a beam from a subset of beams that are prioritized such as based on the codebook hierarchy), and the first beam may be measured at a same cadence as the serving beam (e.g., on a per-SSB basis). In some cases, the serving beam (e.g., VSUEb) may be maintained on per-SSB basis… By measuring the first beam (and optionally one or more other beams having measurements that meet a threshold criteria), consistent sampling and filtering for the top one or more beams that compete with the serving beam may be provided, which may allow for a more even comparison of beams when evaluating beam switch criteria. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0079 - a serving beam may have serving beam measurement occasions 305 that may occur on a per-SSB basis (e.g., providing serving beam measurement occasions 305-a through 305-e) and thus have a serving beam periodicity 310. Further, one or more beams may be identified for measurement at a same periodicity as the serving beam, as discussed herein. For example, the UE may keep up to N candidate beams (e.g., N = 3 in the example of FIG. 3) that are at least X dB below the serving beam (e.g., within 1 dB below VSUEb) in a prioritized subset of beams (e.g., in a second subset of beams, which may include beams within or outside of a first subset of beams identified based on a codebook hierarchy). Each of the identified prioritized candidate beams may be scheduled for measurement with the same cadence as the serving beam update, such that the serving beam and each identified prioritized candidate get updated after each round 315 of scheduling. Also, see steps, 410, 440, 445, 415, 420, 430,435 in Fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MALEKI’s invention of a system and a method for adaptation of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for Layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement and transmission configuration indication (TCI) state switching and generating of synchronization signal block (SSB) index configuration for the plurality TRPs for a plurality transmission reception points (TRPs) configured for high speed train (HST) communication using millimeter wave (mmWave) signals in a wireless communication system to include Zhu490’s invention of a system and a method for beam selection at a user equipment (UE) based on measurement periodicities in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in selecting one or more candidate beams by the UE, are based on a detected mobility of the UE exceeding a threshold value, in turns, provides a higher likelihood of being suitable for a fast moving UE communicating with a serving base station, thus, enhances performance and reliability of the fast moving UE communications with serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (Fig.2, ¶0074, Zhu490).
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALEKI, in view of Zhu490, in view of Niu, further in view of Zhu et al. (2021/0345260, same assignee, but, published more than a year from the EFD of the instant application), Zhu260 hereinafter.
Re. Claims 4 and 14, MALEKI, Zhu490 and Niu teach claims 3 and 13.
Yet, MALEKI, Zhu490 and Niu do not expressly teach determine the scaling factor based on a detection status of the one or more second SSBs, wherein the detection status includes detected SSBs and undetected SSBs, and wherein the current SSB measurement periodicity is indicated to the first network entity for detected SSBs, and the current SSB measurement periodicity is estimated by the first network entity for undetected SSBs.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu260 explicitly discloses determine the scaling factor based on a detection status of the one or more second SSBs, wherein the detection status includes detected SSBs and undetected SSBs, and wherein the current SSB measurement periodicity is indicated to the first network entity for detected SSBs, and the current SSB measurement periodicity is estimated by the first network entity for undetected SSBs. (Fig. 4-10 & ¶0076 - At 910, the UE 902 may determine a subset of SSBs that were received in the set of SSBs transmitted from the base station 904. The UE 902 may determine the subset of SSBs based on exclusion of the undetected SSBs from the set of SSBs. At 912, the UE 902 may determine to perform a subsequent measurement operation that is based on measuring less than 4 symbols per SSB. For example, a serving cell measurement may be performed based on measuring 1 symbol per SSB, a neighbor cell measurement may be performed based on measuring 3 symbols per SSB. Fig. 4-10 & ¶0077 - At 916, the UE 902 may measure each SSB received in the subset of SSBs through less than 4 symbols that, for example, correspond to the determined measurement operation at 912. Fig. 4-10 & ¶0079 - The set of SSBs may be determined to include SSBs associated with a cell search and to exclude SSBs that are undetected based on a cell search. For example, referring to FIG. 4, the UE 402 may perform a cell search for a cell that includes the base station 404, where detected SSBs in one or more of the plurality of beams 1-16 may be included in the set of SSBs and undetected SSBs may be excluded from the set of SSBs. Fig. 4-10 & ¶0080 - At 1004, the UE may determine a subset of SSBs of the set of SSBs for which less than the four symbols associated with the SSBs are to be used for measurement of the SSBs. Fig. 4-10 & ¶0082 - At 1006, the UE may determine a number of symbols less than four for measuring each SSB of the subset of SSBs, where each SSB of the set of SSBs is measured based on the determined number of symbols for the SSB. For example, referring to FIG. 7, the UE may determine that some use cases included in the table 700 may be associated with measuring a number of symbols per SSB that is less than four symbols per SSB (e.g., 0-3 symbols per SSB). Fig. 4-10 & ¶0083 - each SSB of the subset of the SSBs may include a first subset of symbols including the x symbols (e.g., the less than 4 symbols) and a second subset of symbols including remaining symbols of each SSB (e.g., the symbols other than the less than 4 symbols). The remaining symbols may include y symbols, where y=4−x.). Fig. 4-10 & ¶0085 - At 1012, the UE may measure each SSB of the subset of the SSBs through less than the four symbols associated with the SSB. For example, referring to FIGS. 7-8, the table 800 indicates that 2 SSBs (e.g., a subset of the set of 16 SSBs) may be measured by the UE based on use cases included in the table 700 that correspond to measuring a number of symbols per SSB that is less than four symbols (e.g., 0-3 symbols). Also , see claims 1-2, 4 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MALEKI’s invention of a system and a method for adaptation of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity in a wireless communication system and Zhu490’s invention of a system and a method for beam selection at a user equipment (UE) based on measurement periodicities in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for Layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement and transmission configuration indication (TCI) state switching and generating of synchronization signal block (SSB) index configuration for the plurality TRPs for a plurality transmission reception points (TRPs) configured for high speed train (HST) communication using millimeter wave (mmWave) signals in a wireless communication system to include Zhu260’s invention of a system and a method for applying a zero element beam (ZEB) in a search and measurement procedure for power savings in 5G/new radio (NR) millimeter wave (mmW) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption for millimeter wave (mmW) transmissions for the UE operating in the 5G/new radio (NR) millimeter wave (mmW) wireless communication system. (¶0025-¶0027, Zhu260).
Re. Claims 5 and 15, MALEKI, Zhu490, Niu and Zhu260 teach claims 4 and 14.
Yet, MALEKI, Zhu490 and Niu do not expressly teach wherein the scaling factor is a per-SSB user equipment (UE) scaling factor based on the detection status of the one or more second SSBs being detected SSBs.
However, in the analogous art, Zhu260 explicitly discloses wherein the scaling factor is a per-SSB user equipment (UE) scaling factor based on the detection status of the one or more second SSBs being detected SSBs. (Fig. 4-10 & ¶0082 - At 1006, the UE may determine a number of symbols less than four for measuring each SSB of the subset of SSBs, where each SSB of the set of SSBs is measured based on the determined number of symbols for the SSB. For example, referring to FIG. 7, the UE may determine that some use cases included in the table 700 may be associated with measuring a number of symbols per SSB that is less than four symbols per SSB (e.g., 0-3 symbols per SSB). Fig. 4-10 & ¶0083 - each SSB of the subset of the SSBs may include a first subset of symbols including the x symbols (e.g., the less than 4 symbols) and a second subset of symbols including remaining symbols of each SSB (e.g., the symbols other than the less than 4 symbols). The remaining symbols may include y symbols, where y=4−x.). Fig. 4-10 & ¶0085 - At 1012, the UE may measure each SSB of the subset of the SSBs through less than the four symbols associated with the SSB. For example, referring to FIGS. 7-8, the table 800 indicates that 2 SSBs (e.g., a subset of the set of 16 SSBs) may be measured by the UE based on use cases included in the table 700 that correspond to measuring a number of symbols per SSB that is less than four symbols (e.g., 0-3 symbols)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MALEKI’s invention of a system and a method for adaptation of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity in a wireless communication system and Zhu490’s invention of a system and a method for beam selection at a user equipment (UE) based on measurement periodicities in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for Layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement and transmission configuration indication (TCI) state switching and generating of synchronization signal block (SSB) index configuration for the plurality TRPs for a plurality transmission reception points (TRPs) configured for high speed train (HST) communication using millimeter wave (mmWave) signals in a wireless communication system to include Zhu260’s invention of a system and a method for applying a zero element beam (ZEB) in a search and measurement procedure for power savings in 5G/new radio (NR) millimeter wave (mmW) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption for millimeter wave (mmW) transmissions for the UE operating in the 5G/new radio (NR) millimeter wave (mmW) wireless communication system. (¶0025-¶0027, Zhu260).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALEKI, in view of Zhu490, in view of Niu, further in view of Yan et al. (2023/0032356), Yan hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10, MALEKI, Zhu490 and Niu teach claim 3.
Yet, MALEKI, Zhu490 and Niu do not expressly teach wherein the current SSB measurement periodicity is estimated by the first network entity for undetected one or more second SSBs based on using a cell timing and a timing offset associated with each of the undetected one or more second SSBs.
However, in the analogous art, Yan explicitly discloses wherein the current SSB measurement periodicity is estimated by the first network entity for undetected one or more second SSBs based on using a cell timing and a timing offset associated with each of the undetected one or more second SSBs. (Fig. 1-14 & ¶0050 - during the active state cycle, the UE is in an active state that enables it to receive a reference signal, such as an SSB as illustrated in FIG. 2…. The UE wakes up to receive the SSB for the purpose of frequency and timing tracking. Such tracking is usable for facilitating the paging mechanism. The time window during which the UE wakes up .. can be pre-configured. … this time window can be an SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0055 - UE can determine a relatively low coverage quality (e.g., based on SNR and/or RSRP measurements determined based on one or more SSBs). … the UE needs to wake up a few times for better frequency and timing offset estimation quality. Generally, good frequency and timing estimates are needed for satisfactory paging message decoding. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0056 - Because of the relatively lower coverage quality, the UE wakes up a higher number of times (relative to the illustration of FIG. 2) to receive multiple SSBs which in order to improve the frequency and timing tracking. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0074 - PDCCH monitoring and/or the PDSCH decoding for the paging can be carried out separately and independently over multiple SSB beams or by combining LLRs over the multiple SSB beams. Also because the UE 602 is located between the coverage of the SSB0 beam and the SSB2 beam, the SSB1 beam is a much weaker beam than these two SSB beams. In this case, the weaker SSB beams or undetected SSB beams (e.g., such as the SSB1 beam) can be eliminated from the PDCCH monitoring and/or the PDSCH decoding over the multiple SSB beams. As illustrated with the “X” mark in the timing diagram 600, the PDCCH monitoring and/or the PDSCH decoding are performed on the SSB0 beam and the SSB2 beam but not the SSB1 beam. The paging message is successfully received as long as one of the PDSCHs can be successfully decoded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine MALEKI’s invention of a system and a method for adaptation of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) periodicity in a wireless communication system and Zhu490’s invention of a system and a method for beam selection at a user equipment (UE) based on measurement periodicities in a wireless communication system and Niu’s invention of a system and a method for Layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement and transmission configuration indication (TCI) state switching and generating of synchronization signal block (SSB) index configuration for the plurality TRPs for a plurality transmission reception points (TRPs) configured for high speed train (HST) communication using millimeter wave (mmWave) signals in a wireless communication system to include Yan’s invention of a system and a method for decoding paging messages based on multiple beams operating in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient paging mechanism in reducing power consumption for a user equipment (UE) by reducing number of times the UE needs to wake up, the reduction is achieved by using a single beam when beam coverage permits and, otherwise, using at least two beams for the paging mechanism operating in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0047, Yan)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 & 16 - wherein: the per-SSB UE scaling factor is equal to a maximum value of one or a value of a mathematical floor function of a dwell time associated with a respective SSB of the one or more second SSBs divided by a quantity of the respective second SSB beams used for scheduling, and the dwell time comprises a time in which the first network entity communicates using the respective SSB.
Claims 7 & 17 - wherein the scaling factor is a minimum value of a per-SSB user equipment (UE) scaling factor or a per-SSB network entity scaling factor based on a detection status of the one or more second SSBs being undetected SSBs.
Claims 8 & 18 – Depends on claims 7 & 17 respectively.
Claims 9 & 19 – Depends on claims 7 & 17 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Earlier claim objections for claims 1, 11 and 20 have been withdrawn following amended claim languages as submitted on 08/05/2026.
Regarding remarks on pages 8-10 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Fujimura et al. (2022/0322122 [Wingdings font/0xF3] Old reference) fails to teach, “wherein the mobility is associated with a scaling factor and the target SSB measurement periodicity is based on application of the scaling factor to the current SSB measurement periodicity.” See at least on page 8 of remarks as submitted on 08/05/2026.
Examiner agrees with the applicant, however, in the analogous art, Niu (2025/0167952 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference) discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALEKI, in view of Zhu490, further in view of Niu.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 1 and 11, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467