DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 12 – 17 and 22 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doherty et al. (US 2021/0317326).
(Claim 1) Doherty et al. teach a device comprising:
a patterned surface (5);
wherein the patterned surface comprises a plurality of pattern elements (5),
a plurality of LED light sources (2) each optically coupled and/or radiationally connected to at least one pattern element of the plurality of pattern elements (5), and
wherein the plurality of pattern elements (5) comprise at least one optically active material (6, paragraph 110) and a photoresist material (7, paragraph 110, binder material, paragraphs 58, 61, 88, 170).
(Claim 2) Doherty et al. teach wherein the patterned surface comprises a patterned film (5, paragraph 110).
(Claim 3) Doherty et al. teach wherein at least one pattern element (5) of the plurality of patterned elements are sized less than or equal to 250 microns (paragraph 96).
(Claim 5) Doherty et al. teach wherein the plurality of LED light sources comprise mini-LEDs (paragraphs 3, 116).
(Claim 6) Doherty et al. teach wherein at least one pattern element (5) of the plurality of patterned elements are sized less than or equal to 50 microns (paragraph 96).
(Claim 7) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material (6, phosphor) has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 3 microns (paragraph 25).
(Claim 8) Doherty et al. teach wherein the plurality of LED light sources comprise micro-LEDs (paragraphs 3, 116).
(Claim 9) Doherty et al. teach wherein each of the plurality of LED light sources comprise a UV emitting LED or a blue emitting LED (paragraph 116).
(Claim 10) Doherty et al. teach a patterned film comprising:
at least one optically active material (6, phosphor, paragraph 110) and a photoresist material (7, paragraph 110, binder material, paragraphs 58, 61, 88, 170),
the patterned film (5) comprising a plurality of film elements (5) sized less than or equal to 250 microns (paragraph 96).
(Claim 12) Doherty et al. teach wherein the plurality of film elements are sized less than or equal to 50 microns (paragraph 96).
(Claim 13) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 3 microns (paragraph 25).
(Claim 14) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material comprises at least one of a phosphor material, a luminescent material, or a scattering aid (paragraph 88).
(Claim 15) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material comprises a phosphor material, the phosphor material comprising a Mn4+ doped phosphor of formula 1, Ax[MFy]:Mn4+ ;
where A is Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, or a combination thereof; M is Si, Ge, Sn, Ti, Zr, Al, Ga, In, Sc, Y, La, Nb, Ta, Bi, Gd, or a combination thereof; x is the absolute value of the charge of the [MFy] ion; and
y is 5, 6 or 7 (paragraph 45).
(Claim 16) Doherty et al. teach wherein the Mn4+ phosphor of formula I is K2SiF6:Mn4+ or Na2[SiF6]:Mn4+ (paragraph 45).
(Claim 17) Doherty et al. teach a method comprising:
depositing a composition onto a substrate (3) comprising a plurality of light sources (2),
wherein the composition comprises at least one optically active material (6, paragraph 110) and a photoresist material (7, paragraph 110, binder material, paragraphs 58, 61, 88, 170), and
exposing (paragraph 61) at least one portion of the composition to light to create a patterned film comprising a plurality of film elements sized less than or equal to 250 microns (paragraph 96).
(Claim 22) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material 6) has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 3 microns (paragraph 25).
(Claim 23) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material comprises at least one of a phosphor material, a luminescent material, or a scattering aid (paragraph 88).
(Claim 24) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material comprises a phosphor material, the phosphor material comprising a Mn4+ doped phosphor of formula 1, Ax[MFy]:Mn4+ I
where A is Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, or a combination thereof; M is Si, Ge, Sn, Ti, Zr, Al, Ga, In, Sc, Y, La, Nb, Ta, Bi, Gd, or a combination thereof; x is the absolute value of the charge of the [MFy] ion; and
y is 5, 6 or 7 (paragraph 45).
(Claim 25) Doherty et al. teach wherein the Mn4+ phosphor of formula I is K2SiF6:Mn4+ or Na2[SiF6]:Mn4+ (paragraph 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US Patent 2021/0317326).
(Claim 4) Doherty et al. lack wherein the at least one optically active material has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 20 microns.
However, Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material (6, phosphor) has a D50 particle size from about 0.1 microns to about 15 microns (paragraph 25) for the benefit of achieving high color quality lighting and displays (paragraph 28).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2104.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range for the benefit of achieving high color quality lighting and displays.
(Claim 11) Doherty et al. lack wherein the at least one optically active material has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 20 microns (paragraph 25).
However, Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material (6, phosphor) has a D50 particle size from about 0.1 microns to about 15 microns (paragraph 25) for the benefit of achieving high color quality lighting and displays (paragraph 28).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2104.05 (I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference for the benefit of achieving high color quality lighting and displays.
(Claim 20) Doherty et al. teach wherein the at least one optically active material (6) has a D50 particle size from about 0.5 microns to about 20 microns (paragraph 25).
(Claim 21) Doherty et al. teach wherein the patterned film comprises a plurality of film elements (5) sized less than or equal to 50 microns (paragraph 96).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doherty et al. (US Patent 2021/0317326) in view of Wyatt (US 2021/0097943).
(Claim 18) Doherty et al. lack wherein the light is ultraviolet (UV) light.
However, Wyatt teaches wherein the light is ultraviolet (UV) light (paragraph 649) for the benefit of color rendering in an eye-safe manner (paragraph 646).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference for the benefit of color rendering in an eye-safe manner.
(Claim 19) Doherty et al. lack the method, further comprising placing a photolithographic mask over the composition before exposing the at least one portion of the composition to light.
However, Wyatt et al. teach the method, further comprising placing a photolithographic mask over the composition before exposing the at least one portion of the composition to light (paragraph 649) for the benefit of color rendering in an eye-safe manner (paragraph 646).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reference for the benefit of color rendering in an eye-safe manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 – 30 are allowable, because prior art does not render obvious:
(Claim 26) where the at least one first solvent comprises a first boiling point and a first surface tension,
where the at least one second solvent comprises a second boiling point and a second surface tension, and where the first boiling point is less than the second boiling point and the first surface tension is higher than the second surface tension..
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 July 21, 2026