DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claims 1 and 14, applicant argues that Porter fails to teach a “linkage step of, when the start of the call between the user and the customer is detected in the detection step, transmitting, to the CRM system, a request for storing call data concerning the call with the customer in association with the customer”. Examiner respectfully traverses this argument.
Examiner notes that the call start time that is sent by the user/agent workstation 110 to database 400 for storage requires a chronologically causal relationship between the start of the call and the transmission of the call start time. It is the examiner’s belief that this chronologically causal relationship reads on a broad by reasonably interpretation of the limitation “when the start of the call between the user and the customer is detected in the detection step, transmitting, to the CRM system, a request for storing call data concerning the call with the customer in association with the customer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0044170 (Porter et al.) in view of US 2020/0111485 (Copeland).
As to claim 1, Porter teaches an information processing system (100, fig 1) for storing call data concerning a call between a user and a customer (see paragraph 55) in an external CRM system (300/350/400, figs 3-5 and paragraphs 60-64), in an information processing system that comprises a processing circuitry and a storage (see paragraph 60) and provides a call service between the user and the customer, wherein the processing circuitry perform:
a detection step of detecting a start of the call with the customer stored in the CRM system (see paragraphs 55, 61-65 and 70-74, system 100 detects starts of calls between users/agents and customers); and
a linkage step of transmitting, to the CRM system, a request for storing call data concerning the call with the customer in association with the customer (see paragraphs 61-65 and 70-74, call related information are sent by user/agent workstation 110/350 to database 400 for storage in conjunction with CRM data).
What is explicitly lacking from Porter is the external CRM system managed by a business operator that provides a CRM service.
In analogous art, Copeland teaches an external CRM system managed by a business operator that provides a CRM service (see Copeland, paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to Porter so as to enhance the commercial viability of the CRM system.
As to claim 14, Porter teaches an information processing system (100, fig 1) that comprises a processing circuitry and a storage (see paragraph 60) and provides a call service between a user and a customer (see paragraph 55), an information processing method for storing call data concerning a call between the user and the customer in an external CRM system (300/350/400, figs 3-5 and paragraphs 60-64), wherein the processing circuitry performs:
a detection step of detecting a start of the call with the customer stored in the CRM system (see paragraphs 55, 61-65 and 70-74, system 100 detects starts of calls between users/agents and customers); and
a linkage step of transmitting, to the CRM system, a request for storing call data concerning the call with the customer in association with the customer (see paragraphs 61-65 and 70-74, call related information are sent by user/agent workstation 110/350 to database 400 for storage in conjunction with CRM data).
What is explicitly lacking from Porter is the external CRM system managed by a business operator that provides a CRM service.
In analogous art, Copeland teaches an external CRM system managed by a business operator that provides a CRM service (see Copeland, paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to Porter so as to enhance the commercial viability of the CRM system.
As to claim 2, Porter further teaches wherein the detection step includes a step of the user originating a call to a telephone number of the customer stored in the CRM system or a step of the user receiving a call from the telephone number of the customer stored in the CRM system, and the start of the call with the customer being regarded as the detection of the start of the call with the customer (see paragraphs 70-73, call start time detected by user/agent workstation 110 so that it can be sent to database 400 for storage).
As to claim 3, Porter further teaches wherein the linkage step includes: a first linkage step of transmitting, to the CRM system, a request for storing a first call data concerning the call with the customer in association with the customer when the start of the call between the user and the customer is detected in the detection step (see paragraphs 70-73, call start time sent by user/agent workstation 110 to database 400 for storage).
As to claim 4, Porter further teaches wherein the linkage step includes: a second linkage step of transmitting, to the CRM system, a request for storing second call data concerning the call with the customer in association with the customer when an end of the call is detected (see paragraphs 70-73, call end time sent by user/agent workstation 110 to database 400 for storage).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 and 15 allowed.
Claims 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641