DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi et al. (US Patent Application Publication Takeuchi et al.).
As per claim 1, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, comprising: a first housing 70 including: a connector port 71 including a socket (along 71) configured to receive a conductive element 30 of a cable 40; and a wall (of 70) including an outer surface (along outer surface of 71); and a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) including: an actuation tab 51 positioned on the outer surface (along outer surface of 71) of the wall (of 70) of the first housing 70; a locking arm 53 extending into the connector port 71 and movably coupled to the first housing 70; and a frame member 522 coupling the actuation tab 51 to the locking arm 53.
As per claim 2, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the connector port 71 includes a retention channel 524 configured to engage a cable connector (along 30), wherein a bifurcation wall 527 is positioned between the socket (along 71) and the retention channel 524.
As per claim 3, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the locking arm 53 is movable from a release position (shown in figure 3(A)) on the first housing 70 to a locking position (figure 7) within the connector port 71 of the first housing 70 to engage a cable connector (along 30).
As per claim 4, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the wall (of 70) of the first housing 70 includes an inner surface (along 25), wherein a slot 73 extends through the inner surface (along 25) and the outer surface (along outer surface of 71) of the wall (of 70), and wherein the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) is slidably coupled with the slot 73.
As per claim 5, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) includes a locking pin 531 positioned in the connector port 71 of the first housing 70.
As per claim 6, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the locking pin 531 abuts a retention tab 523 positioned on the bifurcation wall 527 when the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) is in a release position (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the retention tab 523 prevents actuation (see paragraph 35) of the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)).
As per claim 7, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the bifurcation wall 527 of the first housing 70 is positioned between the tongue 532 and the locking pin 531 in the locking position (figure 7).
As per claim 8, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the locking arm 53 of the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) is urged upon receiving the conductive element 30 of the cable 40 within the socket (along 71), wherein the locking pin 531 is disengaged from the retention tab 523 upon receiving the conductive element 30 of the cable 40 within the socket (along 71).
As per claim 9, Takeuchi teaches an electronic module 60, wherein the locking arm 53 includes a tongue 532, wherein the tongue 532 is configured to engage the cable connector (along 30) in a locking position (figure 7).
As per claim 10, Takeuchi teaches a system (shown in figure 3(A)), for securing a cable assembly 10 to an electronic module 60, the system (shown in figure 3(A)) comprising: a first housing 70, including: a connector port 71 including a socket (along 71) and a retention tab 523, and a wall (of 70) including an outer surface (along outer surface of 71); a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) movably coupled to the first housing 70, the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) including an actuation tab 51 positioned on the outer surface (along outer surface of 71) of the wall (of 70) and a locking arm 53 extending into the connector port 71; and a cable 40 including a conductive element 30 and a locking member 25, wherein the conductive element 30 is received in the socket (along 71).
As per claim 11, Takeuchi teaches a system (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the first housing 70 includes a slot 73 extending through the wall (of 70), wherein the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) extends through the wall (of 70) and is movable along the slot 73 of the first housing 70.
As per claim 12, Takeuchi teaches a system (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) is movable from a release position (shown in figure 3(A)) to a lock position (figure 7) within the connector port 71 of the first housing 70 to engage the locking member 25 of the cable 40.
As per claim 13, Takeuchi teaches a system (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the outer surface (along outer surface of 71) of the wall (of 70) includes a detent 24 to engage the actuation tab 51 of the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) in the lock position (figure 7).
As per claim 14, Takeuchi teaches a system (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the locking member 25 of the cable 40 is positioned between a tongue 532 of the locking arm 53 and the retention tab 523 of the first housing 70 to lock the cable assembly 10 to the electronic module 60 in the lock position (figure 7).
As per claim 15, Takeuchi teaches a system (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein receiving the cable 40 within the socket (along 71) flexes the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) to move a locking pin 531 of the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) into the socket (along 71).
As per claim 16, Takeuchi teaches a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)), for an electronic module 60, the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) comprising: an actuation tab 51, an intermediate tab 521 oriented parallel to the actuation tab 51, a dividing member 526 positioned between the actuation tab 51 and the intermediate tab 521, and a locking arm 53 including a tongue 532 and a locking pin 531 forming a receiving slot 533 therebetween, and a frame member 522 connecting the locking arm 53 to the intermediate tab 521.
As per claim 17, Takeuchi teaches a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the frame member 522 is flexible in a direction away from the intermediate tab 521.
As per claim 18, Takeuchi teaches a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the receiving slot 533 is configured to receive a locking member 25 of a cable 40 therebetween.
As per claim 19, Takeuchi teaches a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the actuation tab 51 is slidable on an outer surface (along outer surface of 71) of the electronic module 60 to move the connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)) between a release position (shown in figure 3(A)) and a locking position (figure 7).
As per claim 20, Takeuchi teaches a connector position assurance device (shown in figure 3(A)), wherein the actuation tab 51 includes a flexible biased member (along 522) to engage an outer surface (along outer surface of 71) of the electronic module 60.
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831