DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0408546 A1, Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”)*.
*Cited in IDS.
Regarding claims 1 and 10
Kim teaches an electronic device (e.g., mobile electronic device such as a camcorder, a mobile phone, a laptop computer, etc.) [para. 0003], comprising an electrochemical device (corresponding to lithium secondary battery 100) [Fig. 1 and para. 0033], the electrochemical device (100) comprising:
a negative electrode plate (corresponding to anode 200) [Figs. 1-2 and para. 0033], wherein the negative electrode plate (200) comprises a negative current collector (corresponding to anode current collector 210), a first layer (corresponding to first anode active material layer 222), and a second layer (corresponding to second anode active material layer 224) [Figs. 1-2, para. 0058], and the first layer (222) is located between the negative current collector (210) and the second layer (224) [Fig. 2 and para. 0058]; and
the first layer (222) and the second layer (224) both comprise graphite [para. 0061], a ratio of an intensity of a D peak to an intensity of a G peak in a Raman spectrum of the graphite in the first layer is A (corresponding to ID/IG ratio of the first anode active material 222), A ranges from 0.05 to 0.3 (0.1 to 0.4) [paras. 0068-0069];
a ratio of an intensity of a D peak to an intensity of a G peak in a Raman spectrum of the graphite in the second layer is B (corresponding to ID/IG ratio of the second anode active material 224), B ranges from 0.4 to 0.8 (0.4 to 1.5) [para. 0070]; and
0.2≤B−A≤0.5 (0.3 ≤B−A≤ 1.1; 0.4-0.4 = 0.3; 1.5-0.4 = 1.1) [paras. 0068-0070].
Kim, Fig. 2
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 2 and 11
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein B ranges from 0.5 to 0.8 (0.4 to 1.5) [para. 0070].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 3 and 12
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein A ranges from 0.05 to 0.2 (0.1 to 0.4) [paras. 0068-0069].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 4 and 13
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein B ranges from 0.4 to 0.7 (0.4 to 1.5) [para. 0070], A ranges from 0.1 to 0.2 (0.1 to 0.4) [para. 0069], and 0.3≤B−A≤0.45 (0.3 ≤B−A≤ 1.1; 0.4-0.4 = 0.3; 1.5-0.4 = 1.1) [paras. 0068-0070].
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 5 and 14
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the second layer to a thickness of the first layer ranges from 0.1 to 1.
Regarding claims 6 and 15
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the second layer (224) to a thickness of the first layer (222) ranges from 0.1 to 0.67 (a thickness of the second anode active material layer 224 may be from about 3% to 70% of a total thickness of the anode active material layer 220, resulting in a ratio of 0.03 to 2.33) [para. 0100].
R
=
s
e
c
o
n
d
l
a
y
e
r
t
h
i
c
k
n
e
s
s
1
-
s
e
c
o
n
d
l
a
y
e
r
t
h
i
c
k
n
e
s
s
R
1
=
0.03
1
-
0.03
=
0.03
0.97
=
0.0309
R
2
=
0.70
1
-
0.70
=
0.70
0.30
=
2.333
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 7 and 16
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the second layer (224) to a thickness of the first layer (222) ranges from 0.1 to 0.43 (a thickness of the second anode active material layer 224 may be from about 3% to 70% of a total thickness of the anode active material layer 220, resulting in a ratio of 0.03 to 2.33) [para. 0100].
R
=
s
e
c
o
n
d
l
a
y
e
r
t
h
i
c
k
n
e
s
s
1
-
s
e
c
o
n
d
l
a
y
e
r
t
h
i
c
k
n
e
s
s
R
1
=
0.03
1
-
0.03
=
0.03
0.97
=
0.0309
R
2
=
0.70
1
-
0.70
=
0.70
0.30
=
2.333
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding claims 8 and 17
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein the graphite comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite and natural graphite (“[t]he graphite particle may include an artificial graphite and a natural graphite.”) [para. 0061].
Regarding claims 9 and 18
Kim teaches the electronic and electrochemical devices as set forth above, wherein the first layer (222) and the second layer (224) both comprise the artificial graphite and a binder (“the first anode active material layer 222 may include a first negative active material and a first binder including an acrylate-styrene butadiene copolymer. For example, the second anode active material layer 224 may include a second anode active material and a second binder including an acrylate-styrene butadiene copolymer.”) [para. 0059].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0253553 A1, Ahn et al. teaches an electronic device (e.g., mobile phones, laptop computers, and electric vehicles) [para. 0003], comprising an electrochemical device (corresponding to a lithium secondary battery) [para. 0008-0011], the electrochemical device comprising:
a negative electrode plate [Fig. 1 and para. 0029], wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a negative current collector (3), a first layer (5), and a second layer (7) [Fig. 1 and para. 0029], and the first layer (5) is located between the negative current collector (3) and the second layer (7) [Fig. 1 and para. 0029]; and
the first layer (5) and the second layer (7) both comprise graphite [paras. 0014-0018, 0038, 0051 and 0053], wherein a thickness ratio of the first active material layer to the second active material layer may be about 1:1 to 1.5:1 [para. 0013].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721