DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 9-11 depend from an apparatus claim 8. Claims 9-11 should recite the system as in claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mann (2002/0007510).
Regarding claim 8, Mann discloses a system comprising: a toilet 800 arranged in an environment (Figs. 8, 8A, 8B, 8C); a proximity sensor 800A arranged in the environment (restroom) and configured to detect proximity data associated with a proximity of a person to the toilet; at least one controller 170 configured to: determine, based on the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet, whether the person is standing in front of the toilet or sitting on the toilet; determine, based on whether the person is standing in front of the toilet or sitting on the toilet, an adjusted amount of water for a flush of the toilet; and modify, based on the adjusted amount of water for the flush, an amount of water used during the flush of the toilet (a person standing is followed by a brief flush, a person sitting is follow a long flush, see paragraph [00153]).
Regarding claim 9, the proximity sensor 800A includes an infrared (IR) sensor (paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 10, the toilet 800 includes the proximity sensor 800A and a communication device (network intelligence, optically wired connection, paragraph [0069], internet, see paragraph [0071]) configured to transmit the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet.
Regarding claim 11, the controller 170 is further configured to: receive, from of a plurality of urinals 200 arranged in in the environment, a frequency of flushes associated with the plurality of urinals arranged in the environment (paragraph [0069]), wherein the adjusted amount of water for the flush of the toilet is further determined based on the frequency of flushes associated with the plurality of urinals arranged in the environment.
Regarding claim 1, Mann discloses a system that provides a method comprising: receiving, with at least one controller 170, from a proximity sensor 800A arranged in an environment, proximity data associated with a proximity of a person to a toilet 800 arranged in the environment (Figs. 8, 8A, 8B, 8C); determining, with the at least one controller 70, based on the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet 800, whether the person is standing in front of the toilet or sitting on the toilet; determining, with the at least one controller, based on whether the person is standing in front of the toilet or sitting on the toilet, an adjusted amount of water for a flush of the toilet; and adjusting, with the at least one controller, based on the adjusted amount of water for the flush, an amount of water used during the flush of the toilet (a person standing is followed by a brief flush, a person sitting is follow a long flush, see paragraph [00153]).
Regarding claim 2, the method provides the proximity sensor 800A including an infrared (IR) sensor (paragraph [0150]).
Regarding claim 3, the method provides the toilet 800 including the proximity sensor 800A and a communication device (network intelligence, optically wired connection, paragraph [0069], internet, see paragraph [0071]) configured to transmit the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet.
Regarding claim 4, the method provides step comprising: receiving, with the at least one controller 170, from of a plurality of urinals arranged in in the environment, a frequency of flushes associated with the plurality of urinals arranged in the environment, wherein the adjusted amount of water for the flush of the toilet is further determined based on the frequency of flushes associated with the plurality of urinals arranged in the environment.
Regarding claim 12, the toilet 800 includes the at least one controller 170.
Regarding claim 13, the method provides a urinal 200 of the plurality of urinals includes the at least one controller 170
Regarding claim 14, the method provides the at least one controller 170 includes a central controller (a client server remotely controls the smart bathrooms over the internet, see paragraphs [0071]remote from the first toilet and the plurality of urinals (paragraph [0069]).
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrett, Sr. et al. (5,187,818).
Regarding claim 8, Barrett, Sr. et al. disclose a system 10 comprising: a toilet 12 arranged in an environment; a proximity sensor 30 arranged in the environment (restroom)and configured to detect proximity data associated with a proximity of a person to the toilet (col. 3, lines 22+, Figs. 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B); at least one controller40 configured to: determine, based on the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet, whether the person is standing in front of the toilet (Fig. 5A) or sitting on the toilet (Fig. 5B); determine, based on whether the person is standing in front of the toilet or sitting on the toilet, an adjusted amount of water for a flush of the toilet; and modify, based on the adjusted amount of water for the flush, an amount of water used during the flush of the toilet (controller 30 determines and actuates a short flush or long flush, col. 7, 40+, col 8, lines 1-62).
Regarding claim 9, the proximity sensor 30 includes an infrared (IR) sensor (col. 7, line 45).
Regarding claim 1, Barrett, Sr. et al. discloses a system that provides a method comprising: receiving, with at least one controller 40, from a proximity sensor 30 arranged in an environment, proximity data associated with a proximity of a person to a toilet arranged in the environment; determining, with the at least one controller 40, based on the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet 12, whether the person is standing in front of the toilet (Fig. or sitting on the toilet; determining, with the at least one controller, based on whether the person is standing in front of the toilet or sitting on the toilet, an adjusted amount of water for a flush of the toilet; and adjusting, with the at least one controller, based on the adjusted amount of water for the flush, an amount of water used during the flush of the toilet.
Regarding claim 2, the proximity sensor 30 includes an infrared (IR) sensor (col. 7, line 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett, Sr. et al. (5,187,818) in view of Mann (2002/0007510).
Regarding claims 3-7 and 10-14, Barrett, Sr. et al. do not teach a communication device configured to transmit the proximity data associated with the proximity of the person to the toilet and a plurality of urinals. Attention is directed to Mann which teaches a smart bathroom systems comprising a plurality of urinals 200 (Figs. 2, 5) and toilets (paragraphs [0012, 0013]) including proximity sensors and a communication device configured to transmit the proximity data associated with a user near each toilet to another toilet to a control server (control system 170) via an optical network (paragraph [0069]) or over the internet (paragraph [0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skilled in the art to employ a restroom comprising a plurality of urinals and toilets and a communication device with Barrett Sr. et al. system in view of Mann to transmit the proximity data associated with a user near each urinal to a controller (server) in order to conveniently control urinal from a remote location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hsu, Parson et al. and Guler et al teach a toilet system comprising a proximity sensor for detecting a user standing in front of a toilet or sitting on a toilet and a controller connected to a sensor for control the amount of flush water based on the position of the user being either standing or sitting.
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754