Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 12, 2024; September 23, 2024; December 16, 2024 and April 11, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, line 3 of claim 17, “the image sensor” is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,036,284 in view of Lyons et al (WO 2018/106675).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18 Lyons et al is silent as to: The method of claim 1, wherein the image 210 comprises a marker displayed by the touch screen display of the second device 255, wherein relative 3D position and orientation of the second device 255 to the first device 160-1/184/270 is determined based on the marker. With respect to claim 1 U.S. Patent No. 11,036,284 sets forth: obtaining an image of a physical environment using the image sensor, the image comprising a marker displayed on a second display of a second device; determining a relative position and orientation of the second device to the first device based on the marker; and generating a control signal based on the relative position and orientation of the second device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide Lyons et al with obtaining an image of a physical environment using the image sensor, the image comprising a marker displayed on a second display of a second device; determining a relative position and orientation of the second device to the first device based on the marker; and generating a control signal based on the relative position and orientation of the second device as set forth in U.S. Patent No. 11,036,284. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to obtain an image of a physical environment using the image sensor, the image comprising a marker displayed on a second display of a second device; determining a relative position and orientation of the second device to the first device based on the marker; and generating a control signal based on the relative position and orientation of the second device so as to provide a simplified way of tracking a device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lyons et al (WO 2018/106675).
As per claim 1 Lyons et al discloses: A method comprising:
at a first device 160-1/184/270 comprising a processor 172, a computer-readable storage medium 176 {figure 1}, an image sensor 175 { [0036] In an exemplary embodiment, sensor 175 may be at least an audio sensor such as a microphone, a visual sensor such as a camera (video or picture) . . . }, and a first display:
obtaining an image 210 of a physical environment 250 using the image sensor 175, the physical environment 250 comprising a second device 255 different than the first device 160-1/184/270, the second device 255 having a touch screen display;
displaying, on the first display, a view of an environment based on the image 210, the view comprising a representation 215 of the second device 255 with a user interface object positioned at a location corresponding to the location of the touch screen display { [0052] According to the present disclosure, the physical device 255 does not need to match the virtual devices 215 and 220; only the interface of the physical device 255 matches the interface of a virtual device (215 or 220) when the physical device 255 is coupled to the respective virtual device (215 or 220). For example, the physical device 255 may be a tablet, the first virtual device 215 may be a remote control and the second virtual device 220 may be a smart phone. In this example, when the physical device 255 is coupled to the first virtual device 215, the user interface of the physical device 255 matches the buttons of the remote control 215. And when the physical device 255 is coupled to the second virtual device 220, the user interface of the physical device 255 matches the user interface of the smart phone 220.};
obtaining data indicative of a touch event on the second device 255 corresponding to the location of the user interface object {figure 2A}; and initiating a user interface interaction associated on the first device 160-1/184/270 based on the touch event on the second device 255 {[0049] As a result, the user is able to interact with the virtual world through the physical device, experiencing a sense of touch and utilizing the physical device as a user interface. As the user moves to select a second virtual device, the VR system dynamically and automatically warps or transforms the VR scene to better align the physical device with the second virtual device and couples the physical device with the second virtual device. The user is then allowed to interact with the second virtual device through the physical device.}.
As per claims 5 and 13 Lyons et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the environment is a computer-generated reality (CGR) environment {[0050] FIG. 2A also illustrates a virtual space 210 representing a VR scene displayed by HMD 270 including two virtual devices (a first virtual device 215 and a second virtual device 220) and a virtual arm/hand 225 corresponding to the user's arm 265 in the physical space.}
As per claims 6 and 14 Lyons et al discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the interaction corresponds to an interaction with the CGR environment. {[0050] FIG. 2A also illustrates a virtual space 210 representing a VR scene displayed by HMD 270 including two virtual devices (a first virtual device 215 and a second virtual device 220) and a virtual arm/hand 225 corresponding to the user's arm 265 in the physical space.}
As per claims 7 and 15 Lyons et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the data indicative of the touch event comprises the first device 160-1/184/270 receiving the data from the second device 255, the second device 255 sending the data based on detecting a touch screen input {figure 1 & [0052] In this example, when the physical device 255 is coupled to the first virtual device 215, the user interface of the physical device 255 matches the buttons of the remote control 215.}..
As per claims 8 and 16 Lyons et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface object comprises a button {[0052] In this example, when the physical device 255 is coupled to the first virtual device 215, the user interface of the physical device 255 matches the buttons of the remote control 215.}.
As per claim 9 Lyons et al discloses: A first device 160-1/184/270 comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 176 {figure 1}; and
one or more processors 172 coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 176, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 176 comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors 172, cause the first device 160-1/184/270 to perform operations comprising:
obtaining an image 210 of a physical environment 250 using the image sensor 175 { [0036] In an exemplary embodiment, sensor 175 may be at least an audio sensor such as a microphone, a visual sensor such as a camera (video or picture) . . . }, the physical environment 250 comprising a second device 255 different than the first device 160-1/184/270, the second device 255 having a touch screen display;
displaying, on the first display, a view of an environment based on the image 210, the view comprising a representation of the second device 255 with a user interface object positioned at a location corresponding to the location of the touch screen display { [0052] According to the present disclosure, the physical device 255 does not need to match the virtual devices 215 and 220; only the interface of the physical device 255 matches the interface of a virtual device (215 or 220) when the physical device 255 is coupled to the respective virtual device (215 or 220). For example, the physical device 255 may be a tablet, the first virtual device 215 may be a remote control and the second virtual device 220 may be a smart phone. In this example, when the physical device 255 is coupled to the first virtual device 215, the user interface of the physical device 255 matches the buttons of the remote control 215. And when the physical device 255 is coupled to the second virtual device 220, the user interface of the physical device 255 matches the user interface of the smart phone 220.};
obtaining data indicative of a touch event on the second device 255 corresponding to the location of the user interface object {figure 2A}; and
initiating a user interface interaction associated on the first device 160-1/184/270 based on the touch event on the second device 255 {[0049] As a result, the user is able to interact with the virtual world through the physical device, experiencing a sense of touch and utilizing the physical device as a user interface. As the user moves to select a second virtual device, the VR system dynamically and automatically warps or transforms the VR scene to better align the physical device with the second virtual device and couples the physical device with the second virtual device. The user is then allowed to interact with the second virtual device through the physical device.}.
As per claim 17 Lyons et al discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 176 {figure 1} storing program instructions executable via one or more processors 172 to perform operations comprising:
obtaining an image 210 of a physical environment 250 using the image sensor 175 { [0036] In an exemplary embodiment, sensor 175 may be at least an audio sensor such as a microphone, a visual sensor such as a camera (video or picture) . . . }, the physical environment 250 comprising a second device 255 different than the first device 160-1/184/270, the second device 255 having a touch screen display;
displaying, on the first display, a view of an environment based on the image 210, the view comprising a representation of the second device 255 with a user interface object positioned at a location corresponding to the location of the touch screen display { [0036] In an exemplary embodiment, sensor 175 may be at least an audio sensor such as a microphone, a visual sensor such as a camera (video or picture) . . . };
obtaining data indicative of a touch event on the second device 255 corresponding to the location of the user interface object {figure 2A}; and initiating a user interface interaction associated on the first device 160-1/184/270 based on the touch event on the second device 255 {[0049] As a result, the user is able to interact with the virtual world through the physical device, experiencing a sense of touch and utilizing the physical device as a user interface. As the user moves to select a second virtual device, the VR system dynamically and automatically warps or transforms the VR scene to better align the physical device with the second virtual device and couples the physical device with the second virtual device. The user is then allowed to interact with the second virtual device through the physical device.}.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD