The current application relates to a Foreign Application Priority IN2024-11022275 filed on 03/22/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, cites “… precise landing guidance” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how and what manner the “precise landing guidance" is recognized by the computer and/or an apparatus.
Claims 14 & 20 have same issue above.
Claims 2-13 & 15-19 depend upon rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrmantraut (20220028289).
With regard to claim 1, Ehrmantraut discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
generating initial landing guidance for a vehicle respective to a landing site based on location data associated with the vehicle (an aircraft 30 includes a navigational computer 22 which generates a navigating landing based on received sensor data, see [0025]-[0027]+);
rendering a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising the initial landing guidance on a display of a computing device associated with controlling the vehicle (an HMI 1040 coupled to a processor 1032 of the aircraft system 1030 that allows a user to interact directly with. The HMI capable of accepting commands or input from the user and transmitting the entered input to the processor 1032, see [0058]-[0059], wherein the HMI is interprets as the GUI);
detecting an ultra-wideband (UWB) signal from at least one of a plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site via communication between at least one UWB transceiver of the vehicle and the plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site (The aircraft 12 receives infrared beacons signals, wherein the beacons are located around the landing site 32, see [0024]-[0025]+) ;
in response to detecting the UWB signal, generating precise landing guidance for the vehicle respective to the landing site based at least in part on the UWB communication between the UWB transceiver of the vehicle and the plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site (the navigational computer 22 guiding the aircraft towards the landing site based on detecting the infrared beacons signals, see [0047]+); and
updating the rendering of the GUI based at least in part on the precise landing guidance, wherein the precise landing guidance instructs navigation of the vehicle to the landing site (The navigational computer continuously updated the aircraft’s location based on received the infrared beacons, see [0025]+. While the aircraft receiver 20 is searching for the infrared beacons signals, the navigational computer 22 determines and provides the updated heading to a pilot or control system that redirects the aircraft 12 based on the updated heading on HMI, see [0035]-[0036]+, [0055] & [0059]+).
Although Ehmantraut’s disclosure is not described as same world languages but Examiner interprets the aircraft including a computer system 1030 which providing landing guidance on HMI that is equivalent as the GUI. For this reason, Ehmantraut is obvious suggestively, if not anticipatory, of the claimed subject matter.
With regard to claims 14 & 20, Ehrmantraut an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one non-transitory memory having computer-coded instructions stored thereon that, in execution with at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
generate initial landing guidance for a vehicle respective to a landing site based on location data associated with the vehicle (an aircraft 30 includes a navigational computer 22 which generates a navigating landing based on received sensor data, see [0025]-[0027]+);
render a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising the initial landing guidance on a display of a computing device associated with controlling the vehicle (an HMI 1040 coupled to a processor 1032 of the aircraft system 1030 that allows a user to interact directly with. The HMI capable of accepting commands or input from the user and transmitting the entered input to the processor 1032, see [0058]-[0059], wherein the HMI is interprets as the GUI);
detect a UWB signal from at least one of a plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site via communication between at least one UWB transceiver of the vehicle and the plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site (The aircraft 12 receives infrared beacons signals, wherein the beacons are located around the landing site 32, see [0024]-[0025]+) ;
in response to detecting the UWB signal, generating precise landing guidance for the vehicle respective to the landing site based at least in part on the UWB communication between the UWB transceiver of the vehicle and the plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site (the navigational computer 22 guiding the aircraft towards the landing site based on detecting the infrared beacons signals, see [0047]+); and
updating the rendering of the GUI based at least in part on the precise landing guidance, wherein the precise landing guidance instructs navigation of the vehicle to the landing site (The navigational computer continuously updated the aircraft’s location based on received the infrared beacons, see [0025]+. While the aircraft receiver 20 is searching for the infrared beacons signals, the navigational computer 22 determines and provides the updated heading to a pilot or control system that redirects the aircraft 12 based on the updated heading on HMI, see [0035]-[0036]+, [0055] & [0059]+).
Although Ehmantraut’s disclosure is not described as same world languages but Examiner interprets the aircraft including a computer system 1030 which providing landing guidance on HMI that is equivalent as the GUI. For this reason, Ehmantraut is obvious suggestively, if not anticipatory, of the claimed subject matter.
Claim(s) 2-13 & 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrmantraut (20220028289) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goossen (20140018979).
With regarding claim 2, Ehrmantraut discloses the claimed subject matter but fails to teach that the GUI comprising the initial landing guidance comprises a mapping of an area comprising a current location of the vehicle based at least in part on the location data.
Goossen discloses a system for generating a graphical user interface including a 3D virtual containment space for flight of an UAV (see the abstract). The GUI presents the landing guidance comprising a map of an area including the aircraft current location, see [0065]-[0066]+.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ehrmantraut by including a mapping area with the aircraft’s current location on the GUI for landing guidance as taught by Goossen for improving the aircraft’s operation.
With regarding claim 3, Goossen teaches that the method of claim 2, wherein: a rendering of the precise landing guidance on the GUI comprises a three-dimensional mapping of a second area comprising an updated current location of the vehicle, the landing site, and a plurality of structures (see [0004]-[0006]+).
With regard to claim 4, Ehrmantraut teaches that the method of claim 3, further comprising: generating the updated current location of the vehicle and the precise landing guidance based at least in part on: the UWB communication between the UWB transceiver of the vehicle and the plurality of UWB beacons; and additional location data associated with the vehicle (infrared beacons 24, and an inertial measurement unit 34, and infrared cameras, see [0025]-[0026]+).
With regard to claim 5, Ehrmantraut teaches that the method of claim 4, further comprising: applying a first weight value to respective UWB data associated with the UWB communication between the UWB transceiver of the vehicle and the plurality of UWB beacons; and applying a second weight value to the additional location data associated with the vehicle, wherein the first weight value represents a greater impact value than the second weight value (the navigational computer 22 determines the landing site by comparing the site code indicated by the infrared site signal with a site code data store, see [0022]. The navigational computer 22 also determines a current location of the aircraft 12 based on the inertial measurements data collected, see [0025]. The computer uses either one of the collected types of information to aid the aircraft landing, therefore the weight value of the collected information depended on the situation the aircraft’s computer need for aiding the landing).
With regarding claim 6, Goossen teaches that the method of claim 3, wherein: the rendering of the precise landing guidance on the GUI further comprises a trajectory through the second area, wherein: the trajectory directs to a respective surface of a subset of the plurality of structures that comprises the landing site and at least a subset of the plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site (see [0045]+).
With regarding claim 7, Goossen teaches that the method of claim 6, wherein: updating the GUI based at least in part on the precise landing guidance comprises rendering the subset of the plurality of structures in a particular color to indicate at least one of i) a presence of the landing site, or ii) the subset of the plurality of UWB beacons located proximate to the landing site (see Fig.2, [0067]+).
With regard to claim 8, Ehrmantraut teaches that the method of claim 1, wherein: the location data comprises satellite-based location data (GPS systems are commonly used in aircraft, see [0003]+).
With regard to claims 9-10, Ehrmantraut teaches that the method of claim 1, wherein: the location data comprises compass data (the aircraft includes an inertial measurement unit 34 which enables to measure compass data, location data, see [0025]+).
With regard to claims 11-13, Goossen teaches that the wireless interface used to communicate information about the detected obstruction to the air traffic control system. Wherein the information uncludes size, location, shape, type, images, movement characteristics, etc. which meets the scope of the claims of the vehicle’s “passenger count”, “type” and “weight”.
With regard to claims 15-16, Goossen teaches that the apparatus of claim 14, wherein: the precise landing guidance comprises a landing speed and a landing angle (see [0064]+ & [0133]+)
With regard to claims 17, Goossen teaches that the apparatus of claim 14, wherein: the initial landing guidance comprises a topographic map of an area comprising the landing site; and the precise landing guidance comprises a photogrammetry map of a subset of the area, wherein the subset of the area comprises the landing site (the 3D coverage map used to identify coverage gaps above the ground in the coverage area, see [0054]+).
With regard to claims 18, Goossen teaches that the apparatus of claim 17, wherein: the photogrammetry map further comprises light detection and ranging (LiDAR) data associated with the subset of the area (the UAV equipped with radar to provide radar data, see [0125]+).
With regard to claim 19, Ehrmantraut teaches that the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions, in execution with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to: generate the precise landing guidance further based at least in part on the location data, wherein: the location data comprises at least one of satellite-based location data, compass data, or inertial measurement data (the aircraft includes an inertial measurement unit 34 which enables to measure compass data, location data, see [0025]+).
Prior Arts Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ortman (20220397915) discloses a system for service drone landing zone (see the abstract).
Henderson (20170212528) discloses an apparatus of autonomously landing an aerial vehicle (see the abstract).
Conclusion
NGA X. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/NGA X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662