DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species of figures 1-2 including claims 1-15 and 19-20 in the reply filed on 01/13/2026 is acknowledged. However, claims 15-20 are not read on elected species of figures 1-2, therefore these claims are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-14 are examined.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/13/2026. Claims 1-14 are examined
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeder, III (Pat# 9,575,091) in view of Warner (Pat# 6,731,217).
As to claim 1, Reeder, III discloses An electrical outlet diagnostic device as shown in figures 1- 2, comprising: a transmitter device (210) configured to electrically couple to an electrical outlet (205) and transmit an electrical signal, the transmitter device comprising: a housing; a user interface (260,240); a first electrical outlet interface comprising a first conductive pin, a second conductive pin, and a ground pin (220); a receiver device (290) configured to detect electromagnetic signals, the receiver device (290) comprising: a gripping portion; a sensor; and an indicator; wherein when the sensor of the receiver device detects an electromagnetic signal corresponding to the electrical signal, the indicator provides an indication. It is noted that Reeder , III do not disclose a second electrical outlet interface, distinct and separate from the first electrical outlet interface, the second electrical outlet interface comprising a third conductive pin and a fourth conductive pin.
Warner discloses an electrical tester as shown in figure 1 having a transmitter (12) having a first electrical outlet interface comprising a first conductive pin (26), a second conductive pin (30), and a ground pin (28); a second electrical outlet interface, distinct and separate from the first electrical outlet interface, the second electrical outlet interface comprising a third ( conductive pin (36,38) and a fourth conductive pin (36,38) for electrical coupling to a different component.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a second electrical outlet interface, distinct and separate from the first electrical outlet interface, the second electrical outlet interface comprising a third conductive pin (38) and a fourth conductive pin (38) as taught by Warner to the device of
Reeder, III for the purpose of connecting the transmitter to a different component for testing the defect of that component.
As to claim 2, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 1 ,wherein the first electrical outlet interface (220) is configured to electrically couple to a three-prong electrical receptacle (and wherein the first electrical outlet interface extends outward from a first face of the housing and the second electrical outlet interface extends outward from a second face of the housing. Reeder, III in view of Warner do not explicitly mention about the second electrical outlet interface is configured to electrically couple to a two-prong electrical receptacle. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to couple a third conductive pin (38) and a fourth conductive pin (38) of the second outlet interface in the device of Reeder ,III in view of Warner to the two prongs electrical receptacle for the purpose of testing the electrical receptacle when the first electrical outlet interface (220) is not in used.
As to claim 3, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claims 1-2 but does not show the pins of the second electrical outlet interface are in a NEMA 1-15 plug configuration. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the third pin (36.38) and fourth pin (36,38) with NEMA 1-15 plug configuration for the purpose of connecting these pins to a two prongs receptacle. Furthermore, the shapes of the pins would be considered as obvious design choice since the shape does not change the operation of the apparatus. (see In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As to claim 4, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 1, wherein the user interface (240,260) of the transmitter device comprises a screen. It would have been well-known for one of ordinary skill in the art to have screen in the device of Reeder, III in view of Warner as an LCD screen since LCD screen consuming less energy and less expensive.
As to claim 5, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device shown in figure 2 as mentioned in claim 1. In figure 1, Reeder, III mentions about the user interface including a plurality of LED indicators (130) located on the edge of the housing and a selector (160) including one or more knobs, buttons, switches, or the like, or any combination thereof (see column 9, lines 1-15). It would have been well-known in the art to consider that the user interface in figure 2 would include LED indicators and a plurality of actuators as taught by Figure 1.
As to claim 6, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device shown in figure 2 as mentioned in claim 1. In figure 1, Reeder, III mentions about the user interface including a plurality of LED indicators (130) located on the edge of the housing such that a portion of each LED indicator extends along a front surface of the housing and a portion of each LED indicator extends along a bottom surface of the housing and a selector (160) including one or more knobs, buttons, switches, or the like, or any combination thereof (see column 9, lines 1-15). It would have been well-known in the art to consider that the user interface in figure 2 would include LED indicators located on the edge of the housing such that a portion of each LED indicator extends along a front surface of the housing and a portion of each LED indicator extends along a bottom surface of the housing as taught by Figure 1.
As to claim 7, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 1. Reeder, III mentions that the receiver (290) triggers an audio alert the indication provided by the receiver device (290) is an audio output/sound (see column 14, lines 41-56).
As to claim 8, Reeder, III in view of Warner disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 1. Reeder, III mentions that the receiver (290) triggers an audio alert the indication provided by the receiver device (290) is an audio output/sound (see column 14, lines 41-56) and the indication is a repeated sound.
Claims 9,10,12,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeder, III (Pat# 9,575,091).
As to claim 9, Reeder, III discloses an electrical outlet diagnostic device as shown in figure 2 , comprising: a circuit transmitter (210) configured to electrically couple to an electrical outlet (205) and transmit an electrical signal, the transmitter comprising: a housing; a user interface comprising a digital display (240); a first electrical outlet interface comprising a first conductive pin and a second conductive pin (220); a circuit breaker finder receiver (290) configured to detect electromagnetic signals, the receiver comprising: a gripping portion and an indicator (a display on a hand held computer “290”); wherein when the sensor of the receiver device detects an electromagnetic signal corresponding to the electrical signal, the indicator provides an indication. It is noted that Reeder, III does not explicitly mention about the receiver (290) include a sensor. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the receiver (290) inherently includes a sensor for the purpose of receiving electromagnetic signal from an antenna of the transmitter (210).
As to claim 10, Reeder, III disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 9 including a digital display (240) but Reeder, III does not mention about the digital display is an CLD screen. However, it would have been well known in the art to have the display in Reeder, III as an LCD since LCD screen would use less energy.
As to claim 11, Reeder, III discloses an electrical outlet diagnostic device shown in figure 2 as mentioned in claim 1. In figure 1, Reeder, III mentions about the user interface including a plurality of LED indicators (130) located on the edge of the housing and a selector (160) including one or more knobs, buttons, switches, or the like, or any combination thereof (see column 9, lines 1-15). It would have been well-known in the art to consider that the user interface in figure 2 would include LED indicators and a plurality of actuators as taught by Figure 1.
As to claim 12, Reeder, III disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 9 including three pins as shown in figure 2. It would have been well-known in the art that one of the pins (220) is a ground pin and is configured to electrically couple to a three-prong electrical receptacle.
As to claim 14 Reeder, III disclose an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 9 but does not explicitly mention about wherein the indication provided by the receiver is a repeated sound and/or repeated emitted light that increases in frequency of repetitions as an intensity of the electromagnetic signal detected by the sensor increases. Reeder, III discloses an electrical outlet diagnostic device as mentioned in claim 9. Reeder, III mentions that the receiver (290) triggers an audio alert the indication provided by the receiver device (290) is an audio output/ repeated sound (see column 14, lines 41-56).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeder, III (Pat# 9,575,091) as applied to claim 9,12 above, and further in view of Warner (Pat# 6,731,217).
As to claim 13, Reeder, III discloses an electrical outlet diagnostic device shown in figure 2 as mentioned in claims 9 and 12 but does not disclose transmitter further comprises a second electrical outlet interface, distinct and separate from the first electrical outlet interface, the second electrical outlet interface comprising a third conductive pin and a fourth conductive pin, the second electrical outlet interface being configured to electrically couple to a two-prong electrical receptacle; and wherein the first electrical outlet interface extends outward from a first face of the housing and the second electrical outlet interface extends outward from a second face of the housing.
Warner discloses an electrical tester as shown in figure 1 having a transmitter (12) having a first electrical outlet interface comprising a first conductive pin (26), a second conductive pin (30), and a ground pin (28); a second electrical outlet interface, distinct and separate from the first electrical outlet interface, the second electrical outlet interface comprising a third ( conductive pin (36,38) and a fourth conductive pin (36,38) for electrical coupling to a different component.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a second electrical outlet interface extends outward from a second face of the housing, distinct and separate from the first electrical outlet interface, the second electrical outlet interface comprising a third conductive pin (38) and a fourth conductive pin (38) as taught by Warner to the device of Reeder, III for the purpose of connecting the transmitter to a different component for testing the defect of that component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dushane et al (Pat# 5,109,200) disclose Electrically Self-adjusting, Compact And Light-weight Remote Circuit Tester.
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858