Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-10 and 27-36), without traverse, in the reply filed on 8/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-26 and 37-52 (Groups II-V) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 27, 28-31, 33, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ming-Fang Huang et al. (US 20200124735), hereinafter ‘Huang’.
With regards to Claim 1, Huang discloses
A system, comprising:
a mobile vehicle (Fig.1(A), Vehicle 103.1) comprising a geolocator (Fig.1(A), GPS 103.4) and at least one active acoustic source configured to generate acoustic wave energy (Fig.1(A), Vibration source) directed toward a fiber optic network comprising one or more fiber optic cables and at least one distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) interrogator communicably coupled to at least one of the one or more fiber optic cables (such distributed sensing/data collection may include any of a variety of technologies including distributed vibration sensing (DVS) and/or distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) operating via optical fiber cable(s) such as that illustrated in the figure [0029]; Fig. 1(A), fiber sensing interrogator, distributed sensing) ; and
comprising:
acquiring a signal from the at least one DAS interrogator in response to the acoustic wave energy generated from the at least one active acoustic energy source during movement of the mobile vehicle on or above the terranean surface; determining a geolocation of the mobile vehicle from the geolocator during or subsequent to acquisition of the signal from the at least one DAS interrogator ((Fig.1(B); Based on coordinates determined from vibration source(s), GPS information associated with source vehicle, a location of the cable may be determined thereby realizing our smart cable positioning [0046]; Subsequent to any frequency identification from mobile vibrational source/accelerometer and fiber sensing interrogator, the source is located relative to a length of the cable from an intensity measurement. With this data—taken in conjunction with coordinate information received from GPS co-located with mobile vibrational source on vehicle, a physical location and fiber length may be determined and subsequently mapped collectively [0039]); and
determining a location of the at least one fiber optic cable based on the determined geolocation of the mobile vehicle during acquisition of the signal from the at least one DAS interrogator (Fig. 1(B); Based on coordinates determined from vibration source(s), GPS information associated with source vehicle, a location of the cable may be determined thereby realizing our smart cable positioning [0046]; Once received, (4) data cloud pairs the GPS data and the dynamic-OTDR distance data—which are collected simultaneously—and saves the paired data into a database. A GUI (graphical user interface) can be employed to show a fiber location on a geographic map based on a given OTDR distance [0050]).
However, Huang does not specifically disclose a control system configured to perform operations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to use a control system configured to perform multiple functions including data acquisition, storage, and data processing that are performed by a computer system as known in the art (a number of known data processing/collection/storage/retrieval facilities—including computer programs [0049]).
With regards to Claim 2, Huang further discloses determining a characteristic of the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator in response to the acoustic wave energy generated from the at least one active acoustic energy source during movement of the mobile vehicle on or above the terranean surface; and based on the characteristic, determining a defect in the at least one fiber optic cable (From OTDR and vibrational data received by that interrogator and subsequently analyzed, fault or other information pertaining to the optical cable may be advantageously determined [0038]); network operation teams will be able to pinpoint fiber fault(s) quickly and accurately based on dynamic-OTDR measurement results. Of further importance and distinction, our method will greatly enhance operation teams work efficiency when diagnosing, searching, and subsequently fixing/repairing fiber problems existing in-field [0047]; Fig.1(b).
With regards to Claim 3, Huang further discloses wherein the operations comprise determining a location of the defect in the at least one fiber optic cable based on the determined geolocation of the mobile vehicle during acquisition of the signal from the at least one DAS interrogator (During operation, the vehicle may advantageously be moving (driving or being driven) along the entire cable route thereby providing great flexibility and, of course, mobility to precisely and accurately survey the length of the cable and precisely locate any faults within that cable [0032]; The collected GPS location data and corresponding dynamic-OTDR distance data are paired and saved into a database. With this new method, operation teams of telecom network service providers can determine any location of a fiber fault on deployed fiber cable [0058]).
With regards to Claim 4, Huang further discloses wherein the characteristic comprises an amplitude or a frequency of the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator (sensing data so received including both frequency and/or vibration data is then processed from which the cable position at which the vibrations are applied are mapped and subsequently provided as output. The vibration signals, in conjunction with OTDR measurements made concurrently and/or simultaneously, advantageously provide length and location information that may be mapped for further reference [0048]; Fig. 1(b)).
With regards to Claim 5, Huang further discloses wherein the acoustic wave energy is operable to penetrate through a terranean surface into a subsurface volume that encloses the fiber optic network (operators may employ trace wire, ground penetrating radar (GPR), and/or ground penetrating sonar (GPSon) technologies to identify the physical location of underground cables and/or conduits in which they are frequently placed [0026]; As illustrated therein, distributed fiber sensing data is collected along a length of the fiber whether that cable be underground, aerial, or an in-building fiber cable [0046]; Fig. 2(c).
With regards to Claims 7 and 8, Huang further discloses acquiring a plurality of signals from the at least one DAS interrogator in response to the acoustic wave energy generated from the at least one active acoustic energy source during movement of the mobile vehicle on or above the terranean surface, wherein the operations comprise: determining a plurality of geolocations of the mobile vehicle from the geolocator during or subsequent to acquisition of the plurality of signals from the at least one DAS interrogator and associating each geolocation of the plurality of geolocations with a particular signal of the plurality of signals acquired from the at least one DAS interrogator (Operationally, systems, methods and structures according to the present disclosure are useful for determining any location on a deployed fiber cable from an optical time domain reflectometry (OTDR) curve using a movable mechanical vibration source to stimulate tiny vibration of fiber in deployed fiber cable along the cable route and a fiber sensing system at a central office to detect the vibration(s). Latitude and longitude of the location(s) of the vibration source is measured with a GPS device and a dynamic-OTDR distance is measured at central office (CO) simultaneously. The collected GPS location data and corresponding dynamic-OTDR distance data are paired and saved into a database. This saved data may be processed to graphically overlie a map thereby providing exact cable location on the map thereby providing carriers/service providers the ability to improve fiber fault location on a deployed fiber cable much faster and more accurately than presently possible using methods available in the art [0006]; a vehicle that is capable of moving or otherwise relocating such that measurements may be made at different physical locations along a suspected/known fiber pathway [0036]; Based on coordinates determined from vibration source(s), GPS information associated with source vehicle, a location of the cable may be determined thereby realizing our smart cable positioning [0046]).
With regards to Claim 27, Huang as modified discloses the claim limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
With regards to Claim 28, 29, 30, 31, 33, and 34, Huang as modified discloses the claim limitations as discussed above in Claim 27 and Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, and 8, respectively.
Claims 6, 9, 32, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Thomas Elboth et al. (US 20250180768), hereinafter ‘Elboth’.
With regards to Claim 6, Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the operations comprise generating, at least partially based on the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator, an image of the subsurface volume.
Elboth discloses generating, at least partially based on the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator, an image of the subsurface volume (processing the collected data to build up an image of or extract information about the subsurface area of interest, wherein the method comprises collecting the data during activation of an external acoustic source. The survey may be a refraction seismic survey [0045]; The present invention can employ one or more dark fibers fitted with a DAS interrogator, or one or more custom-made optical-fiber based seismic sensors, in a seismic survey of a region of the subsurface of the earth [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Elboth to generate, at least partially based on the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator, an image of the subsurface volume as known in the art to improve understanding of cable condition/location (build up an image of the subsurface or derive subsurface information that can help build up an improved geological understanding, Elboth [0029]).
With regards to Claim 9, Huang discloses wherein the acoustic wave energy is operable to penetrate through a terranean surface into a subsurface volume that encloses the fiber optic network, as discussed in Claim 5.
Huang in view of Elboth discloses generating, at least partially based on the acquired plurality of signals from the at least one DAS interrogator, an image of the subsurface volume as discussed in Claim 6.
Elboth further discloses generating a dynamic image of the subsurface volume during movement of the mobile vehicle (The activation of the source can be continuous or intermittent depending on the type of source used. An air-gun, for example, will be activated periodically. A marine or land vibrator will also be activated periodically (once per shot), but the output will be longer in duration in the form of a sweep which may vary in frequency with time. The vibrator output may be near continuous or even continuous. The source can be steered by way of a marine vessel or a land-based vehicle such as a truck [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Elboth to generate, at least partially based on the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator, an image of the subsurface volume as known in the art to improve understanding of cable condition/location while driving/surveying.
With regards to Claim 32 and 35, Huang in view of Elboth discloses the claim limitations as discussed above in Claim 27 and Claims 6 and 9, respectively.
Claims 10 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Elboth, and further in view of Keith Elder et al. (US 20170357019), hereinafter ‘Elder’.
With regards to Claim 10, Huang in view of Elboth discloses generating a dynamic image of the subsurface volume during movement of the mobile vehicle as discussed in Claim 9.
However, Huang is silent on the operations comprise projecting the dynamic image of the subsurface volume at the mobile vehicle during movement of the mobile vehicle.
Elder discloses projecting the dynamic image of the subsurface volume at the mobile vehicle during movement of the mobile vehicle (a vibrating energy source vehicle may be used. A vibrating energy source vehicle is a vehicle designed for creating vibrations in the ground. Typically, a vibrating energy source vehicle will create a vibration in one location for a short period of time (e.g., fifteen or twenty seconds). Then, the vehicle may move to another location nearby and immediately begin generating another vibration [0012]; The processing step may include a number of methods for manipulating the seismic data (e.g., filtering, summing, synchronizing, displaying, etc.). Generally, the processing step involves manipulating the raw seismic data by a computing system into a form that is useful for analysis. As an example, the output of the processing step may display a 3D image of a subsurface geologic structure on a suitable display device [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Elboth, and Elder to project the dynamic image of the subsurface volume at the mobile vehicle during movement of the mobile vehicle as known the art to improve understanding of a survey results (interpreting the seismic data to identify the characteristics of one or more subsurface geologic structures, Elder [0045]).
With regards to Claim 36, Huang in view of Elboth, and Elder discloses the claim limitations as discussed above in Claim 27 and Claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andrey Bakulin et al. (US 20190195066), hereinafter ‘Bakulin’ discloses generating, at least partially based on the acquired signal from the at least one DAS interrogator, an image of the subsurface volume (The present disclosure describes an integrated land seismic imaging system that uses distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) in a grid of shallow boreholes is proposed (“smart DAS boreholes”). This system allows simultaneous land near-surface characterization and subsurface imaging in a cost-efficient manner [0091]; Fig. 15).
Paul Bodin, “How fiber-optic cables can be used for seismic monitoring: A primer”, Blog, August 2022, https://pnsn.org/blog/how-fiber-optic-cables-can-be-used-for-seismic-monitoring-a-primer discloses schematic of fiber-optic DAS technology basics (Fig.1).
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857