DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed with the written response received on 10 October 2025 have been considered and an action on the merits follows. No claims were amended. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in this application with an action on the merits to follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christensen US 20090095358.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Christensen discloses a filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14 #1300) for an article of footwear (Abstract), comprising: a housing (Figs. 13-14 #1310); an incoming fluid inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1330) extending through the housing (¶0069); an incoming fluid outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1309) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0069); a filter (Figs. 13-14 #1311) for filtering incoming fluid before the incoming fluid reaches the incoming fluid outlet (¶0069); a pumped fluid inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1338) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0067-0068); a pumped fluid outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1328) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0067-0068), wherein the pumped fluid inlet and the pumped fluid outlet are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (¶0067); and a first foot support bladder port (Figs. 13-14 #1100) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14); and a second foot support bladder port (Figs. 13-14 #1324) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the first foot support bladder port and the second foot support bladder port are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the incoming fluid outlet, the pumped fluid inlet, and the second foot support bladder port align with one another along a straight line at one surface of the housing (Figs. 13-14).
Examiner notes that italicized limitations in the Prior Art rejections are functional and do not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead require the ability of the structure to perform and/or function. As the Prior Art of Christensen discloses the structure of the manifold with filter, there would be a reasonable expectation for the manifold with filter to perform such functions as explained after each functional limitation.
Regarding Claim 2, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 1, further comprising a fluid release port (Figs. 13-14; #1336) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0070).
Regarding Claim 4, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 1, wherein the filter forms at least 50% of a surface area of one exposed outer surface of the housing (Fig. 13 shows the filter #1311, which covers 100% of the outer surface of that one particular area of the outer surface of the housing).
Regarding Claim 5, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 1, further comprising: a first fluid container port (Figs. 13-14 #1306 end) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14); and a second fluid container port (Figs. 13-14 #1305 end) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the first fluid container port and the second fluid container port are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (Figs. 13-14), and wherein the second fluid container port is located at said one surface of the housing and is aligned along the straight line with which the incoming fluid outlet, the pumped fluid inlet, and the second foot support bladder port are aligned (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 6, Christensen discloses an article of footwear, comprising: the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 5; a foot support bladder (Figs 13-14 #1300); a first fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1330/1322/1326/1324/1328/1309 all create a fluid line) connecting the foot support bladder to the second foot support bladder port of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14); a pump system (Figs. 13-14, #1310/1300 make a pump system) including an inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1311/1342) and an outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1334/1338/1336); a second fluid line (Figs. 13-14 show the structures within #1306 create a fluid line) connecting between the incoming fluid outlet of the filtered fluid flow connector and the inlet of the pump system (Figs. 13-14); a third fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1340/1346) connecting between the outlet of the pump system and the pumped fluid inlet of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14); a fluid container (Figs. 13-14 #1302); and a fourth fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1305) connecting the fluid container to the second fluid container port of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 7, Christensen discloses an article of footwear, comprising: the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 1; a foot support bladder (Figs 13-14 #1300); a first fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1330/1322/1326/1324/1328/1309 create a fluid line) connecting the foot support bladder to the second foot support bladder port of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14); a pump system (Figs. 13-14, #1310/1300 make a pump system) including an inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1311/1342) and an outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1334/1338/1336); a second fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #the structures within 1306 create a fluid line) connecting between the incoming fluid outlet of the filtered fluid flow connector and the inlet of the pump system (Figs. 13-14); a third fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1340/1346) connecting between the outlet of the pump system and the pumped fluid inlet of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 8, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 1, wherein the pump system includes two compressible bulb pumps arranged in series (¶0070).
Regarding Independent Claim 9, Christensen discloses a foot support system (Abstract; Figs. 13-14 #1300/1310/1307), comprising: a housing (Figs. 13-14 #1310); ); an incoming fluid inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1330) extending through the housing (¶0069); an incoming fluid outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1309) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0069); a filter (Figs. 13-14 #1311) for filtering incoming fluid before the incoming fluid reaches the incoming fluid outlet (¶0069); a pumped fluid inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1338) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0067-0068); a pumped fluid outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1328) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0067-0068), wherein the pumped fluid inlet and the pumped fluid outlet are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (¶0067); and a first fluid container port (Figs. 13-14 #1306 end) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14); and a second fluid container port (Figs. 13-14 #1305 end) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the first fluid container port and the second fluid container port are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the incoming fluid outlet, the pumped fluid inlet, and the second fluid container port align with one another along a straight line at one surface of the housing (Figs. 13-14)
Regarding Claim 10, Christensen discloses the foot support system according to claim 9, further comprising a fluid release port extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14 #1342).
Regarding Claim 12, Christensen discloses the foot support system according to claim 10, wherein the filter forms at least 50% of a surface area of one exposed outer surface of the housing (Fig. 13 shows the filter #1311, which covers 100% of the outer surface of that one particular area of the outer surface of the housing).
Regarding Claim 13, Christensen discloses the foot support system according to claim 10, the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 9; a pump system (Figs. 13-14, #1310/1300 make a pump system) including an inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1311/1342) and an outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1334/1338/1336); a first fluid line (Figs. 13-14 show the structures within #1309 create a fluid line) connecting between the incoming fluid outlet of the filtered fluid flow connector and the inlet of the pump system (Figs. 13-14); a second fluid line (Figs. 13-14 show the structures within #1306 create a fluid line) connecting between the outlet of the pump system and the pumped fluid inlet of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14); a fluid container (Figs. 13-14 #1302); a third fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1340/1346) connecting between the outlet of the pump system and the pumped fluid inlet of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 14, Christensen discloses the foot support system according to claim 9, wherein the pump system includes two compressible bulb pumps arranged in series (¶0070).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Christensen discloses a filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14 #1300) for an article of footwear (Abstract), comprising: a housing (Figs. 13-14 #1310); a pumped fluid inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1338) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0067-0068); a pumped fluid outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1328) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14; ¶0067-0068), wherein the pumped fluid inlet and the pumped fluid outlet are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (¶0067); a filter (Figs. 13-14 #1311) for filtering incoming fluid before the incoming fluid reaches the pumped fluid inlet (¶0069); a first foot support bladder port (Figs. 13-14 #1100) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14); a second foot support bladder port (Figs. 13-14 #1324) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the first foot support bladder port and the second foot support bladder port are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (Figs. 13-14); a first fluid container port (Figs. 13-14 #1306 end) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14); and a second fluid container port (Figs. 13-14 #1305 end) extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the first fluid container port and the second fluid container port are in fluid communication with one another through the housing (Figs. 13-14), wherein the pumped fluid inlet, the second foot support bladder port, and the second fluid container port align with one another along a straight line at one surface of the housing (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 16, Christensen discloses the foot support system according to claim 9, further comprising a fluid release port extending through the housing (Figs. 13-14 #1342).
Regarding Claim 18, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 15, wherein the filter forms at least 50% of a surface area of one exposed outer surface of the housing (Fig. 13 shows the filter #1311, which covers 100% of the outer surface of that one particular area of the outer surface of the housing).
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Christensen discloses an article of footwear (Abstract; ¶0009-0010), comprising: the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 15; a foot support bladder (Figs. 13-14 #1300); a first fluid line (Figs. 13-14 altogether #1330/1322/1326/1324/1328/1309 create a fluid line) connecting the foot support bladder to the second foot support bladder port of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14); a pump system (Figs. 13-14, #1310/1300 make a pump system) including an inlet (Figs. 13-14 #1311/1342) and an outlet (Figs. 13-14 #1334/1338/1336); a second fluid line (Figs. 13-14 show the structures within #1306 create a fluid line) extending between the housing of the filtered fluid flow connector and the inlet of the pump system (Figs. 13-14); a third fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1340/1346) connecting between the outlet of the pump system and the pumped fluid inlet of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14); a fluid container (Figs. 13-14 #1302); and a fourth fluid line (Figs. 13-14 #1305) connecting the fluid container to the second fluid container port of the filtered fluid flow connector (Figs. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 20, Christensen discloses the article of footwear according to claim 19, wherein the pump system includes two compressible bulb pumps arranged in series (¶0070).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bennett US 20150096445.
Regarding Claim 3, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 1, wherein the filter includes a surface (Fig. 13) positioned to form or cover at least a portion of an exterior surface of the housing (¶0069) and to cover the incoming fluid inlet (¶0069).
Christensen does not expressly disclose that the surface of the filter is an area of at least 50 mm2.
Bennett teaches a filter (Figs. 2-3 #17) for a housing (Figs.1-2 #12) that is an area of at least 50 mm2 (¶0032).
Both Christensen and Bennett teach analogous inventions in the art of pumps with housings and filters. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Christensen with the teachings of Bennett such that the filter would be at least 50 mm2 to allow the, “pump to operate without significant restriction to the airflow” (Bennett ¶0032).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Bennett.
Regarding Claim 11, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 9, wherein the filter includes a surface (Fig. 13) positioned to form or cover at least a portion of an exterior surface of the housing (¶0069) and to cover the incoming fluid inlet (¶0069).
Christensen does not expressly disclose that the surface of the filter is an area of at least 50 mm2.
Bennett teaches a filter (Figs. 2-3 #17) for a housing (Figs.1-2 #12) that is an area of at least 50 mm2 (¶0032).
Both Christensen and Bennett teach analogous inventions in the art of pumps with housings and filters. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Christensen with the teachings of Bennett such that the filter would be at least 50 mm2 to allow the, “pump to operate without significant restriction to the airflow” (Bennett ¶0032).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christensen as applied to claim 15 above, further in view of Bennett.
Regarding Claim 17, Christensen discloses the filtered fluid flow connector according to claim 15, wherein the filter includes a surface (Fig. 13) positioned to form or cover at least a portion of an exterior surface of the housing (¶0069) and to cover the incoming fluid inlet (¶0069).
Christensen does not expressly disclose that the surface of the filter is an area of at least 50 mm2.
Bennett teaches a filter (Figs. 2-3 #17) for a housing (Figs.1-2 #12) that is an area of at least 50 mm2 (¶0032).
Both Christensen and Bennett teach analogous inventions in the art of pumps with housings and filters. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Christensen with the teachings of Bennett such that the filter would be at least 50 mm2 to allow the, “pump to operate without significant restriction to the airflow” (Bennett ¶0032).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10 October 2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-16, and 18-20 and the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 3, 11, and 17 have been considered but not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-16, and 18-20 and the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 3, 11, and 17, Applicant argues:
Christensen does not anticipate “the incoming fluid outlet, the pumped fluid inlet, and the second foot support bladder port align with one another along a straight line at one surface of the housing.” (Remarks Pg. 8-14)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in Christensen Annotated Fig. 14 below, the incoming fluid outlet #1309, the pumped fluid inlet #1338, and the second foot support bladder port #1324 all align along the bottom/underside surface #1316 of the manifold #1310. The upper surface of #1309 aligns with parts of structure #1324 and #1338 along the bottom/underside surface of #1316, as seen in Fig. 14. When viewed from the side, these structures would align in a straight line along a transverse plane at the bottom/underside surface of #1316. The Applicant has not claimed that all structures must be in contact with the one surface of the housing nor that the structures must all align in all directions along the same plane. See 35 USC § 102 rejection above.
Applicant submits that the dependent claims are patentable based on their dependencies from claim(s) 1, 9, and 15; however, as discussed in the rejection and in the arguments above, claim(s) 1, 9, and 15 are not allowable over the prior art. Therefore, these arguments have not been found convincing and the rejections of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 have been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAQUEL M. WEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732