DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending on this application. Claims 1, 11, and 17 are in independent forms.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 05/03/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-7, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koorapati et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0207929 (hereinafter Koorapati) in view of Tamayo-Rios et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0067243 (hereinafter Tamayo).
Regarding claim 1, Koorapati discloses an apparatus, comprising:
“an input device” (Fig. 7, input device 745, par. 0231, computing system 700 includes an input device 745, which can represent any number of input mechanisms, such as a microphone for speech, a touch-sensitive screen for gesture or graphical input, keyboard, mouse, motion input, speech, etc.);
“a processor” (Fig. 7, processor 710, par. 0230, Processor 710 can include any general purpose processor and a hardware service or software service, such as services 732, 734, and 736 stored in storage device 730, configured to control processor 710 as well as a special-purpose processor where software instructions are incorporated into the actual processor design); and
a memory (Fig. 7, Memory 715) on which is stored machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
“determine that an input data has been received from or collected by the input device” (see Koorapati par. 0090, Content storage interface 206 can receive content requests (e.g., downloads, uploads, etc.) from client device 150, authenticate client device 150 via authentication service 212, communicate with authorization service 132 to determine if client device 150 (and/or the request from client device 150) is authorized to upload or download the content to or from content storage 142 (e.g., based on permissions in access control list 145), and interact with content storage 142 to download or upload the content associated with the content requests from client device 150); Koorapati does not explicitly discloses determine that the input data is to be synced with data stored on a remote apparatus; and based on a determination that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus: encrypt the input data; and output the encrypted input data.
However, in analogues art, So discloses determine that the input data is to be synced with data stored on a remote apparatus (see Tamayo par. 0017, if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device. An enterprise entity can also specify policies to prevent personal data, which may be sensitive, from synchronizing with the device. If the device is determined to be a non-enterprise device, enterprise data may not be synchronized to the device unless a user indicates, either implicitly or explicitly, that such synchronization is allowed); and based on a determination that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus:
encrypt the input data (see Tamayo par. 0053, Step 400 receives encrypted user data via a computing device. For example, encrypted user data can be received from the encrypted data 132 as part of the data storage 130); and
output the encrypted input data (see Tamayo par. 0054, Step 406 synchronizes the encrypted user data from the computing device to another device. For example, the encrypted user data can be transmitted to the data storage 130 and saved to the encrypted data 132).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tamayo in to the system of Koorapati in order to include if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device (see Tamayo par. 0005).
Regarding claim 2, Koorapati in view of Tamayo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Koorapati further discloses wherein the input device comprises a sensor, a counter, a keyboard, a touchscreen display, a global positioning system device, a microphone, a camera, and/or a touchpad (see Koorapati par. 0231, computing system 700 includes an input device 745, which can represent any number of input mechanisms, such as a microphone for speech, a touch-sensitive screen for gesture or graphical input, keyboard, mouse, motion input, speech, etc.).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 18, Koorapati in view of Tamayo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the method of claim 11, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17,
Tamayo further discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: determine whether the input data comprises a type of data that is to be synced with the data stored on the remote apparatus; and determine that the input data is to be synced with the data stored on the remote apparatus based on a determination that the input data comprises a type of data that is to be synced with the data stored on the remote apparatus (see Tamayo pars. 0064-0065, Techniques discussed herein can enable a user's data to be securely synchronized to a variety of devices associated with the user. In some scenarios, however, it can be desirable to control to which of the user's devices certain types of data get synchronized. For example, synchronization of enterprise data can be limited to devices with enterprise-type permissions and/or policies. This can prevent sensitive work-related data from being synchronized from an enterprise device to a personal device unless there is an indication that such synchronization is permitted. Examples of enterprise data include business data, work-related data, and so on. Similarly, the types of data that get synced to a particular device can be controlled).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tamayo in to the system of Koorapati in order to include if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device (see Tamayo par. 0005).
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 19, Koorapati in view of Tamayo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the method of claim 11, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17,
Koorapati further discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: determine whether the input data comprises data that has been changed from a prior synchronization event; and determine that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus based on a determination that the input data comprises data that has been changed from the prior synchronization event (see Koorapati par. 0052, When synchronizing from content management system 110 to client device 150, a mount, modification, addition, deletion, move of a content item recorded in server file journal 148 can trigger a notification to be sent to client device 150 using notification service 117. When client device 150 is informed of the change a request changes listed in server file journal 148 since the last synchronization point known to the client device. When client device 150 determines that it is out of synchronization with content management system 110, client synchronization service 156 requests content item blocks including the changes, and updates its local copy of the changed content items).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Koorapati in view of Tamayo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the method of claim 11,
Tamayo further discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: determine that the apparatus is wirelessly connected to the remote apparatus; and output the encrypted input data to the remote apparatus based on a determination that the apparatus is wirelessly connected to the remote apparatus (see Tamayo par. 0079, Device 800 includes communication devices 802 that enable wired and/or wireless communication of device data 804 (e.g., received data, data that is being received, data scheduled for broadcast, data packets of the data, etc.). The device data 804 or other device content can include configuration settings of the device, media content stored on the device, and/or information associated with a user of the device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tamayo in to the system of Koorapati in order to include if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device (see Tamayo par. 0005).
Regarding claims 6, 15, and 20, Koorapati in view of Tamayo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the method of claim 11, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17,
Tamayo further discloses wherein the instructions cause the processor to: encrypt the input data in a manner to prevent a server from being able to decrypt the input data; and output the encrypted input data to the server via a network, wherein the remote apparatus is to obtain the encrypted input data from the server (see Tamayo pars. 0028, 0053, the computing device 102 is a security module 122 which includes and/or makes use of security keys 124. The security module 122 is representative of functionality to encrypt and decrypt data for the computing device 102 and/or other entities. The security keys 124 include encryption and/or decryption keys that can be used by the security module 122 to implement encryption and decryption operations).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tamayo in to the system of Koorapati in order to include if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device (see Tamayo par. 0005).
Regarding claim 7, Koorapati in view of Tamayo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Koorapati further discloses wherein the apparatus comprises smart glasses, a smartwatch, a smartphone, a virtual reality headset, an augmented reality headset, a tablet computer (see Koorapati par. 0238, Devices implementing methods according to these disclosures can comprise hardware, firmware and/or software, and can take any of a variety of form factors. Typical examples of such form factors include servers, laptops, smart phones, small form factor personal computers, personal digital assistants, and so on. Functionality described herein also can be embodied in peripherals or add-in cards).
Regarding claim 11, Koorapati discloses a method of syncing input data on an apparatus with data stored on a remote apparatus, the method comprising:
“receiving or collecting, by a processor, an input data” (see Koorapati par. 0090, Content storage interface 206 can receive content requests (e.g., downloads, uploads, etc.) from client device 150, authenticate client device 150 via authentication service 212, communicate with authorization service 132 to determine if client device 150 (and/or the request from client device 150) is authorized to upload or download the content to or from content storage 142 (e.g., based on permissions in access control list 145), and interact with content storage 142 to download or upload the content associated with the content requests from client device 150);
Koorapati does not explicitly discloses determining, by the processor, whether the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus; and based on a determination that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus: encrypt the input data; and output the encrypted input data.
However, in analogues art, So discloses determine that the input data is to be synced with data stored on a remote apparatus (see Tamayo par. 0017, if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device. An enterprise entity can also specify policies to prevent personal data, which may be sensitive, from synchronizing with the device. If the device is determined to be a non-enterprise device, enterprise data may not be synchronized to the device unless a user indicates, either implicitly or explicitly, that such synchronization is allowed); and based on a determination that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus:
encrypting, by the processor, the input data (see Tamayo par. 0053, Step 400 receives encrypted user data via a computing device. For example, encrypted user data can be received from the encrypted data 132 as part of the data storage 130); and
outputting, by the processor, the encrypted input data (see Tamayo par. 0054, Step 406 synchronizes the encrypted user data from the computing device to another device. For example, the encrypted user data can be transmitted to the data storage 130 and saved to the encrypted data 132).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tamayo in to the system of Koorapati in order to include if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device (see Tamayo par. 0005).
Regarding claim 17, Koorapati discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed instructs a processor to:
“receive or collect, by an input device of an apparatus, an input data” (see Koorapati par. 0090, Content storage interface 206 can receive content requests (e.g., downloads, uploads, etc.) from client device 150, authenticate client device 150 via authentication service 212, communicate with authorization service 132 to determine if client device 150 (and/or the request from client device 150) is authorized to upload or download the content to or from content storage 142 (e.g., based on permissions in access control list 145), and interact with content storage 142 to download or upload the content associated with the content requests from client device 150);
Koorapati does not explicitly discloses determine whether the input data is to be synced with data stored on a remote apparatus; and based on a determination that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus: encrypt the input data; and output the encrypted input data.
However, in analogues art, So discloses determine whether the input data is to be synced with data stored on a remote apparatus (see Tamayo par. 0017, if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device. An enterprise entity can also specify policies to prevent personal data, which may be sensitive, from synchronizing with the device. If the device is determined to be a non-enterprise device, enterprise data may not be synchronized to the device unless a user indicates, either implicitly or explicitly, that such synchronization is allowed); and based on a determination that the input data is to be synced with data stored on the remote apparatus:
encrypt the input data (see Tamayo par. 0053, Step 400 receives encrypted user data via a computing device. For example, encrypted user data can be received from the encrypted data 132 as part of the data storage 130); and
output the encrypted input data (see Tamayo par. 0054, Step 406 synchronizes the encrypted user data from the computing device to another device. For example, the encrypted user data can be transmitted to the data storage 130 and saved to the encrypted data 132).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Tamayo in to the system of Koorapati in order to include if a device is determined to be an enterprise device (e.g., it is associated with enterprise policies and/or permissions), enterprise data may be synchronized to the device (see Tamayo par. 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 8-10 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shi et al. (US 2004/0128327 A1): discloses A system for synchronizing data of wireless devices includes an application server (103), a communication tower (105), and a plurality of mobile terminals (101). Each mobile terminal includes a data type distinguishing module (305), a data filter generating module (303), and a data transferring module (307). The server includes a domain managing module (405) for executing a data filter received from any mobile terminal, and for generating a sync response. A related method includes the steps of: (a) identifying a type of data to be synchronal; (b) generating a sync request in accordance with the type of data to be synchronal, and sending the sync request to the server; (c) generating a sync response based on data stored in the server, and sending the sync response to the mobile terminal; and (d) updating data stored in the mobile terminal in accordance with the sync response.
So (US 2006/0200596 A1): discloses Disclosed is a SyncML data sync system and a data exchanging method thereof for data exchange between clients. A sync server receives data to be provided to another client and authentication of a target client to which the data is provided from a first client, and transmits a signal reporting that the data has been provided to the target client. A second client according to the authentication information of the target client transmits its own authentication information to the remote sync server if it receives the signal reporting that the data has been provided. The sync server receives the authentication information of the second client, authenticates whether the second client is the target client, and provides the data to the second client. Accordingly, the data can be exchanged between a certain client and another client.
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433