DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15, and 17 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 15, and 17 being independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/14/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8, filed 03/22/2026, with respect to claim 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) rejection of claim 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8-9, filed 03/22/2026, with respect to claims 13, 14, and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 13, 14, and 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Examiner has not correctly identified all features that Christmas (EP 3839638) lacks, mapping missing features.
Examiner replies: Examiner agrees that the cited portions of Christmas are directed to real-time vector/map-based distortion correction. However, Christmas expressly discloses calculating and applying a displacement mapping using displacement vectors/arrays and a fitted displacement map to distort images before hologram calculation, including that “images are distorted before hologram calculation” (Christmas Par. 0122), displacement arrays “may be represented by vectors” (Christmas Par. 0113-0114), a fitted surface “may be referred to… as a displacement map” (Par. 0115), and “a new x- and y- coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y” (Christmas Par. 0124). Takiguchi (US 20140036180) is relied upon for the missing temperature-based parameterization of this distortion correction, including “a temperature sensor generating a temperature signal” and stored temperature-indexed correction data (Takiguchi Par. 0008), and selecting temperature groups bracketing “current temperature value Ts” and “performing an interpolation calculation (Takiguchi Par. 0115). Wengierow (US 20210191321) teaches a pre-processing step that uses displacement vectors and include processing the image using multiplication (Par. 0054).
The applied references are not directed to unrelated features, rather, Christmas provides the displacement map/vector coordinate correction used to distort an image prior to hologram calculation (Christmas Par. 0113-0115, Par. 0122, and Par. 0124), and Takiguchi provides the temperature acquisition and temperature-dependent interpolation between predetermined temperature calibration points (Takiguchi Par. 0008 and Par. 0115), which supplies the claimed temperature-based computation used to update the correction in Christmas’s pipeline. The rejection is based on the combined teachings and rationale to incorporate the temperature-based compensation taught by Takiguchi into the distortion-correction pipeline of Christmas. Further, Wengierow expressly teaches a pre-processing step that uses displacement vectors and may include multiplication (Par. 0054), and it would have been obvious to apply the temperature-derived scaling factor/weighting from Takiguchi’s interpolation by multiplying the displacement vector by the scaling factor to output a scaled displacement vector.
The rejection maps each limitation of claim 1 to the applied references and expressly identifies the limitations not taught by Christmas as supplied by Takiguchi and Wengierow. Applicant does not identify any specific limitation of claim 1 that is not taught by the applied combination.
Applicant argues: Takiguchi (US 20140036180) does not disclose “determining a scaling factor…” for use in hologram calculation and further asserts Takiguchi merely measures temperature, looks up a stored phase correction pattern, and adds it to a desired phase pattern, and is a different approach than scaling positional vectors/distortion maps.
Examiner replies: Takiguchi does not merely disclose selecting a single stored correction at a measured temperature. Takiguchi expressly discloses determining a current temperature value Ts, selecting coefficient value groups corresponding to temperature values immediately high and lower than Ts, and then “performing an interpolation calculation based on the two coefficient value groups” (Takiguchi Par. 0115). This interpolation is a temperature-dependent computation that uses the relationship of Ts to the bracketing determined temperature values, thereby corresponding to determining a temperature-dependent weighting (i.e., a scaling factor) based on the difference between the current temperature and predetermined temperature values (Takiguchi Par. 0115). Takiguchi further teaches stored correction information corresponding to temperature values (Takiguchi Par. 0008; storage means storing…correction patterns…corresponds to…temperature values), which provides calibration data across temperature conditions. Accordingly, Takiguchi teaches the temperature-driven computation for generating a correction corresponding to the current temperature (Takiguchi Par. 0008, 0115), which is incorporated into Christmas’s map/vector distortion correction workflow (Christmas Par. 0113-0115, 0122, 0124).
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, “scaling factor” encompasses a temperature-dependent weight used to compute an intermediate correction between calibration points. Takiguchi expressly teaches computing intermediate correction data “by performing an interpolation calculation” (Takiguchi Par. 0115) after it “selects two coefficient value groups… immediately higher and lower than” Ts (Takiguchi Par. 0115). That interpolation is necessarily based on the relative difference between Ts and the bracketing predetermined temperature values, and the output correction is therefore “based on the current temperature”. Therefore, Takiguchi discloses the claimed “scaling factor” and calculating a modified map “based on the current temperature”.
Applicant argues: Wengierow (US 20210191321) does not teach multiplying each vector of an array of vectors by a temperature-based scaling factor, and further asserts Wengierow discloses a generic statement and that pre-processing may include multiplication.
Wengierow only mentions “multiplication” generically and does not teach “multiplying each vector of an array of vectors by the scaling factor.
Examiner replies: Wengierow expressly discloses “determining a displacement vector… at each location of the plurality of locations on the replay plane. The plurality of displacement vectors may subsequently be used to process (such as distort) at least one image for projection before the hologram corresponding to the image is determined or calculated…” (Par. 0024). Wengierow further discloses that determining each displacement vector comprises x- and y- direction components (Par. 0027) and that the pre-processing may comprise “multiplication (Par. 0054). Takiguchi provides the temperature-dependent weighting/interpolation concept for determining correction corresponding to the current temperature (Takiguchi Par. 0115). Therefore, in view of Takiguchi’s temperature-dependent interpolation/weighting, it would have been obvious to apply that temperature-derived scaling factor by multiplying the displacement vector components used to displace the pixel coordinates, thereby outputting scaled displacement vectors for pre-processing.
Applicant argues: The claimed approach uses a single calibrated map and scales/modifies that map for current temperature, which is contrary to the conventional LUT approach exemplified by Takiguchi. Takiguchi is fundamentally different because it adds a correction to an already-calculated hologram/phase patter.
Examiner replies: Claim 1 does not exclude storing multiple temperature-indexed calibration data sets, nor does it require that only a single correction pattern exist in memory. Claim 1 recites receiving a calibrated map and receiving vectors representing calibrated change over a predetermined temperature range, and calculating a modified map based on the current temperature. Takiguchi expressly teaches correction information corresponding to temperature values (Par. 0008) and generating correction corresponding to current temperature through interpolation between coefficient groups that bracket the current temperature (Par. 0115). Christmas expressly teaches using displacement vectors/arrays and a displacement map to distort images before hologram calculation (Par. 0113-0115, 0122, 0124). Combining Takiguchi’s temperature-based correction computation with Christmas’s image distortion pipeline is a predictable modification to maintain distortion compensation accuracy under temperature variation while using known temperature-calibration techniques. Further, Wengierow confirms that such pre-processing modification may include multiplication operations prior to hologram calculation.
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christmas et al. (EP 3839638), hereinafter referred to as “Christmas”, in view of Takiguchi et al. (US 20140036180), hereinafter referred to as “Takiguchi”, and in further view of Wengierow et al. (US 20210191321), hereinafter referred to as “Wengierow”.
Regarding claim 1, Christmas discloses a method of calculating a map in real-time, the map being for distorting a target picture to be projected by a holographic projector (Fig. 7a, Fig. 7b; displacement map, and Par. 0121-0123; fitted surfaces…Figures 7A and 7B…before hologram calculation…target/input image for projection and the output is distorted/modified…a hologram of the distorted image is calculated…each pixel of the input image is effectively displaced on the array of pixels of the display device…) and to compensate for changes (Par. 0122; compensate for any distortions, such as chromatic distortions, caused by e.g. optics),
receiving a calibrated map comprising a plurality of mappings (Fig. 7A, Fig. 7B, and Par. 0115; surface is fitted to the measured data…displacement map. Par. 0122; images are distorted before hologram calculation), each mapping for transforming a respective two-dimensional coordinate of an array of two-dimensional coordinates (Par. 0122; Each image, including the input image, comprises an array of image pixels) to compensate for distortion (Par. 0122; compensate for any distortions, such as chromatic distortions, caused by e.g. optics)
receiving an array of vectors comprising a vector for each two-dimensional coordinate,
each vector representing a calibrated change of each respective two-dimensional coordinate (Par. 0113-0114; The first array of first displacement values may be represented by vectors on a x-y plane…The second array of second displacement values may be also represented by vectors on a x-y plane…A vector is associated with each blue light spot…represents △x) ,
calculating a modified map , for each coordinate of the array of two-dimensional coordinates (Par. 0113; A first array of first displacement values is determined, wherein each first displacement value represents the positional offset between the second colour light spot and the corresponding first colour light spot in a first (e.g. x) direction. A second array of second displacement values is determined wherein each second displacement value represents the positional offset between the second colour light spot and the corresponding first colour light spot in a second (e.g. y) direction. Par. 0124; a new x- and y-coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y to the corresponding x and y coordinate),
and applying the scaled vector to the respective mapping of the calibrated map (Fig. 7A, 7B and Par. 0114-0115),
outputting the modified map (Par. 0122; output is a distorted/modified image. Par. 0138; the hologram processor calculates and outputs the computer-generated holograms in real-time).
However, Christmas does not disclose to compensate for changes in the current temperature of the holographic projector, to compensate for distortion at a predetermined temperature, over a predetermined temperature range, receiving a current temperature of the holographic projector, determining a scaling factor based on the difference between the current temperature and the predetermined temperature, calculating a modified map based on the current temperature, and multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the array of two- dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector.
In the same art holography, Takiguchi to compensate for changes in the current temperature of the holographic projector (Par. 0007; spatial light modulation device…suppressing distortion in a phase distribution according toa temperature change in a spatial light modulator), to compensate for distortion at a predetermined temperature (Par. 0008-0009; N correction patterns…which are created so as to correspond to N temperature values of the spatial light modulator in order to correct phase distortion of the spatial light modulator…N temperature values), over a predetermined temperature range (Par. 0008-0011; N correction patterns…correspond to N temperature values. Par. 0114; two coefficient value groups corresponding to temperature values immediately higher and lower than the temperature value Ts from among the N coefficient value groups), receiving a current temperature of the holographic projector (Par. 0008; temperature value indicated by the temperature signal. Par. 0010; temperature acquisition step of acquiring a temperature signal. Par. 0114; determines a current temperature value Ts), determining a scaling factor based on the difference between the current temperature and the predetermined temperature (Par. 0114-0115; two coefficient value groups corresponding to temperature values immediately higher and lower than the temperature value Ts from among the N coefficient value groups…performing an interpolation calculation based on the two coefficient value groups…), calculating a modified map based on the current temperature by (Par. 0114; determines a current temperature value Ts…The correction pattern reconstruction unit 29 reconstructs one correction pattern P1 from the coefficient value group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Takiguchi’s temperature-based correction into Christmas’s hologram distortion pipeline. Christmas provides a real-time vector correction method for producing a modified map to compensate for any distortions, such as chromatic distortions, caused by e.g. optics. Therefore, applying Takiguchi’s teaching that temperature/heat affects holographic reconstruction to the parameterization of Christmas’s existing map so that a holographic projector continues to output real-time corrected reconstructions as temperature variation is obvious. Doing so allows suppressing distortion based on, not just chromatic distortions, but also temperature change while suppressing delay (Takiguchi Par. 0006-0009; suppressing distortion in a phase distribution according to a temperature change in a spatial light modulator while suppressing a delay in operation), yielding predictable results in providing a suitable system that is affected by temperature factors.
Christmas in view of Takiguchi does not disclose multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the array of two- dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector.
In the same art of holography, Wengierow discloses multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the array of two- dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector (Par. 0054; The term “pre-processing” may be used to reflect that this processing or modifying step occurs before the hologram is calculated…The pre-processing may comprise processing the image using simple addition, subtraction, multiplication or division).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Wengierow’s arithmetic operations including multiplication into Christmas and Takiguchi’s system. Doing so allows efficient implementation of temperature-based scaling/interpolation computation within the hologram-generation workflow, yielding straightforward results in improved scaling operations.
Regarding claim 2, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, Christmas does not disclose wherein the scaling factor has a linear dependence on temperature.
Takiguchi discloses wherein the scaling factor has a linear dependence on temperature (Par. 0115; the relationship between the coefficient value k.sub.1 and the temperature value t (a straight line B1 in the graph) is expressed by: k.sub.1(t)=a.sub.1t+b.sub.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Takiguchi’s linear dependence of correction parameters on temperature into Christmas’s hologram distortion pipeline. Doing so yields simple, predictable results in temperature-to-correction relationship for computing temperature-based correction values, allowing the system to adjust the corrections in linear relationship with temperature changes.
Regarding claim 5, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 1, and further discloses further comprising the step of receiving the array of two-dimensional coordinates (Christmas Par. 0113; A first array of first displacement values…in a first (e.g. x) direction…A second array of second displacement values…in a second (e.g. y) direction. Par. 0124; Each pixel of the target image has an x-coordinate value and a y-coordinate value).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 1, and further discloses applying the modified map to the array of two-dimensional coordinates to output a modified array of two-dimensional coordinates (Christmas Par. 0124 and FIG. 8A-8C; a new x- and y-coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y to the corresponding x and y coordinate).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 1, and further discloses receiving a target picture comprising a plurality of image points, wherein each two- dimensional coordinate of the array of two-dimensional coordinates corresponds to one or more image points of the target picture (Christmas Par. 0122-0124; Each image, including the input image, comprises an array of image pixels…each pixel of the target image has an x-coordinate value and a y-coordinate value),
and pre-distorting the target picture based on the modified array of two-dimensional coordinates (Christmas Par. 0122; images are distorted before hologram calculation. The input to this process is an undistorted, target/input image for projection and the output is a distorted/modified image).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 1, and further discloses further comprising calculating a hologram of the pre-distorted target picture (Christmas Par. 0122; The distorted image is input to the hologram engine…a hologram of the distorted image is calculated).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the target picture is a first target picture the array of two-dimensional coordinates is a first array of two-dimensional coordinates, the calibrated map is a first calibrated map, the array of vectors is a first array of vectors and the modified map is a first modified map (Christmas Par. 0112; first colour channel. Par. 0121-0122; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions…target/input image. Examiner's note: first instance/channel for the target picture),
wherein the method further comprises calculating a second map for distorting a second target picture to be projected by the holographic projector by (Christmas Par. 0112; second light channel. Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions. Examiner's note: target/input image is being processed per channel, such that the image processed for the first colour channel is the first target picture, and the second light channel is the second target picture, consistent with differently-coloured holographic reconstructions):
receiving a second calibrated map comprising a plurality of second mappings, each second mapping for transforming a respective two-dimensional coordinate of a second array of two-dimensional coordinates each two-dimensional coordinate corresponding to one or more image points of a target picture (Christmas Par. 0115; surface is fitted…surface may be referred to herein as a displacement map. Par. 0121-0122; fitted surface…used to process images (e.g. blue and red images) before hologram calculation. Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image. Par. 0118; Separate holograms of the calibration image may be provided, for respective illumination by each of two or more colours of light - e.g. red light, green light and blue light - and the resulting holographic reconstructions may be aligned to one another, by positioning the corresponding image regions of each colour to be coincident with one another using similar techniques to those described above in relation to Figures 5A to 7B. Examiner's note: displacement mapping is used in the multi-colour context, mapping is applied as a distinct second map corresponding to the second channel),
receiving a second array of vectors comprising a vector for each two-dimensional coordinate, each vector of the second array representing a calibrated change of each respective two-dimensional coordinate (Christmas Par. 0113-0114; The first array of first displacement values may be represented by vectors on a x-y plane…The second array of second displacement values may be also represented by vectors on a x-y plane…A vector is associated with each blue light spot…represents △x…a second array of vectors (not shown) is used to represent the measured values of △y at the sixteen locations of the blue light spots. Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image)
calculating a second modified map , for each coordinate of the second array of two-dimensional coordinates (Christmas Par. 0113; A first array of first displacement values is determined, wherein each first displacement value represents the positional offset between the second colour light spot and the corresponding first colour light spot in a first (e.g. x) direction. A second array of second displacement values is determined wherein each second displacement value represents the positional offset between the second colour light spot and the corresponding first colour light spot in a second (e.g. y) direction. Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image. Par. 0124; a new x- and y-coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y to the corresponding x and y coordinate):
applying the scaled vector to the respective mapping of the second calibrated map (Christmas Fig. 7A, 7B and Par. 0114-0115. Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image.)
outputting the second modified map (Christmas Par. 0122; output is a distorted/modified image. Par. 0138; the hologram processor calculates and outputs the computer-generated holograms in real-time).
Christmas does not disclose to compensate for distortion at a predetermined temperature, over a predetermined temperature range, calculating a second modified map based on the current temperature, and multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the array of two- dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector.
Takiguchi discloses to compensate for distortion at a predetermined temperature (Par. 0008-0009; N correction patterns…which are created so as to correspond to N temperature values of the spatial light modulator in order to correct phase distortion of the spatial light modulator…N temperature values), over a predetermined temperature range (Par. 0008-0011; N correction patterns…correspond to N temperature values. Par. 0114; two coefficient value groups corresponding to temperature values immediately higher and lower than the temperature value Ts from among the N coefficient value groups), and calculating a modified map based on the current temperature by (Par. 0114; determines a current temperature value Ts…The correction pattern reconstruction unit 29 reconstructs one correction pattern P1 from the coefficient value group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Takiguchi’s temperature-based correction into Christmas’s multi-image hologram distortion pipeline. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that applying the same distortion-mapping workflow to the additional channel necessarily entails processing an additional (second) image instance and producing a corresponding (second) mapping instance for that channel to achieve alignment of differently-coloured reconstructions, and further combining that with Takiguchi’s suppressing distortion based on, not just chromatic distortions, but also temperature change while suppressing delay (Takiguchi Par. 0006-0009; suppressing distortion in a phase distribution according to a temperature change in a spatial light modulator while suppressing a delay in operation), yielding predictable results in providing a suitable multiple image/configuration system that is affected by temperature factors.
Christmas in view of Takiguchi does not disclose multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the second array of two-dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector.
Wengierow discloses multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the second array of two-dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector (Par. 0054; The term “pre-processing” may be used to reflect that this processing or modifying step occurs before the hologram is calculated…The pre-processing may comprise processing the image using simple addition, subtraction, multiplication or division).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Wengierow’s arithmetic operations including multiplication into Christmas and Takiguchi’s multi-channel system. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that extending vector-based correction and coordinate update to the additional (second) image/channel is a predictable use of the same technique to maintain alignment of the differently coloured holographic reconstructions in the multi-channel system.
Regarding claim 10, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the mapping of the first calibrated map and the vectors of the first vector array have been determined for when a first wavelength is used in the holographic projection of the first target picture (Christmas Par. 0112; … array of light spots is holographically projected onto the replay plane using a first colour channel and a second light channel…Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image…).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the mapping of the second calibrated map and the vectors of the second vector array have been determined for when a second wavelength is used in the holographic projection of the second target picture (Christmas Par. 0112; … array of light spots is holographically projected onto the replay plane using a first colour channel and a second light channel…Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image…).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 9, and further discloses further comprising applying the second modified map to the second array of two-dimensional coordinates to output a second modified array of two-dimensional coordinates (Christmas Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image. Par. 0124; each pixel of the target image has an x-coordinate value and a y-coordinate value…a new x- and y-coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y to the corresponding x and y coordinate).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 9, and further discloses further comprising distorting the second target picture based on the second modified map (Christmas Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image. Par. 0122; images are distorted before hologram calculation. The input to this process is an undistorted, target/input image for projection and the output is a distorted/modified image…each image…comprises an array of image pixels).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Christmas in view of Takiguchi, and in further view of Wengierow discloses the method as clamed in claim 9, and further discloses further comprising calculating a second hologram of the distorted second target picture (Christmas Par. 0121; differently-coloured holographic reconstructions of the image. Par. 0112; The array of light spots of the second colour may be formed simultaneously using one hologram or formed one at a time using a plurality of holograms in a frame sequential scheme. Par. 0122; The distorted image is input to the hologram engine…a hologram of the distorted image is calculated).
The motivation to combine would’ve been the same as that set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is the system/device claim (Christmas Par. 0138; PGU 810. Pg. 20-22; Head-up display and system diagram) of method claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Christmas discloses a method of hologram calculation using a holographic projector, the method comprising: receiving a target picture comprising a plurality of image points; (Fig. 7a, Fig. 7b; displacement map, and Par. 0121-0123; fitted surfaces…Figures 7A and 7B…before hologram calculation…target/input image for projection and the output is distorted/modified…a hologram of the distorted image is calculated…each pixel of the input image is effectively displaced on the array of pixels of the display device…) and to compensate for changes in a current characteristic of the holographic projector (Par. 0122; compensate for any distortions, such as chromatic distortions, caused by e.g. optics),
providing an array of two-dimensional coordinates, each two-dimensional coordinate corresponding to one or more image points of the target picture (Par. 0113-0114; The first array of first displacement values may be represented by vectors on a x-y plane…The second array of second displacement values may be also represented by vectors on a x-y plane…A vector is associated with each blue light spot…represents △x);
receiving a calibrated map comprising a plurality of mappings (Fig. 7A, Fig. 7B, and Par. 0115; surface is fitted to the measured data…displacement map. Par. 0122; images are distorted before hologram calculation), each mapping for transforming a respective two-dimensional coordinate of an array of two-dimensional coordinates (Par. 0122; Each image, including the input image, comprises an array of image pixels) to compensate for distortion at (Par. 0113-0115; …surface is fitted…displacement map…the displacement map represents the distortion of the blue holographic image relative to the green holographic image… Par. 0122; compensate for any distortions, such as chromatic distortions, caused by e.g. optics)
receiving an array of vectors comprising a vector for each two-dimensional coordinate,
each vector representing a calibrated change of each respective two-dimensional coordinate
(Par. 0113-0114; The first array of first displacement values may be represented by vectors on a x-y plane…The second array of second displacement values may be also represented by vectors on a x-y plane…A vector is associated with each blue light spot…represents △x… A second array of vectors represent the measured values of △y),
calculating a modified map based on the (Par. 0114; determines a current temperature value Ts…The correction pattern reconstruction unit 29 reconstructs one correction pattern P1 from the coefficient value group), for each coordinate of the array of two-dimensional coordinates (Par. 0113; A first array of first displacement values is determined, wherein each first displacement value represents the positional offset between the second colour light spot and the corresponding first colour light spot in a first (e.g. x) direction. A second array of second displacement values is determined wherein each second displacement value represents the positional offset between the second colour light spot and the corresponding first colour light spot in a second (e.g. y) direction. Par. 0124; a new x- and y-coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y to the corresponding x and y coordinate),
applying the scaled vector to the respective mapping of the calibrated map (Fig. 7A, 7B and Par. 0114-0115),
outputting the modified map (Par. 0122; output is a distorted/modified image. Par. 0138; the hologram processor calculates and outputs the computer-generated holograms in real-time).
applying the modified map to the array of two-dimensional coordinates to output a modified array of two-dimensional coordinates (Par. 0124; a new x- and y-coordinate for each pixel is determined by adding △x and △y to the corresponding x and y coordinate);
pre-distorting the target picture based on the modified array of two-dimensional coordinates to provide a pre-distorted target picture (Par. 0122; images are distorted before hologram calculation…target/input image for projection and the output is a distorted/modified image. The distorted image is input to the hologram engine…); and
calculating a hologram of the pre-distorted target picture (Fig. 8A-8B and Par. 0122-126; a hologram of the distorted image is calculated...).
Christmas does not disclose to compensate for distortion at a predetermined temperature, over a predetermined temperature range, receiving a current temperature of the holographic projector, determining a scaling factor based on the difference between the current temperature and the predetermined temperature, calculating a modified map based on the current temperature, and multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the array of two- dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector.
In the same art holography, Takiguchi discloses to compensate for distortion at a predetermined temperature (Par. 0007-0009; spatial light modulation device…suppressing distortion in a phase distribution according toa temperature change in a spatial light modulator…N correction patterns…which are created so as to correspond to N temperature values of the spatial light modulator in order to correct phase distortion of the spatial light modulator…N temperature values), over a predetermined temperature range (Par. 0008-0011; N correction patterns…correspond to N temperature values. Par. 0114; two coefficient value groups corresponding to temperature values immediately higher and lower than the temperature value Ts from among the N coefficient value groups), receiving a current temperature of the holographic projector (Par. 0008; temperature value indicated by the temperature signal. Par. 0010; temperature acquisition step of acquiring a temperature signal. Par. 0114; determines a current temperature value Ts), determining a scaling factor based on the difference between the current temperature and the predetermined temperature (Par. 0114-0115; two coefficient value groups corresponding to temperature values immediately higher and lower than the temperature value Ts from among the N coefficient value groups…performing an interpolation calculation based on the two coefficient value groups…), calculating a modified map based on the current temperature (Par. 0114; determines a current temperature value Ts…The correction pattern reconstruction unit 29 reconstructs one correction pattern P1 from the coefficient value group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Takiguchi’s temperature-based correction into Christmas’s hologram distortion pipeline. Doing so allows suppressing distortion based on, not just chromatic distortions, but also by other characteristic of the holographic projector, such as temperature, while suppressing delay (Takiguchi Par. 0006-0009; suppressing distortion in a phase distribution according to a temperature change in a spatial light modulator while suppressing a delay in operation, yielding predictable results in providing a suitable system that is affected by multiple factors.
Christmas in view of Takiguchi does not disclose multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the array of two- dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector
In the same art of holography, Wengierow discloses multiplying the vector that relates to the respective coordinate of the second array of two-dimensional coordinates by the scaling factor to output a scaled vector (Par. 0054; The term “pre-processing” may be used to reflect that this processing or modifying step occurs before the hologram is calculated…The pre-processing may comprise processing the image using simple addition, subtraction, multiplication or division).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Wengierow’s arithmetic operations including multiplication into Christmas and Takiguchi’s system. Doing so allows efficient implementation of temperature-based scaling/interpolation computation within the hologram-generation workflow, yielding straightforward results in improved scaling operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615