DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 8-11 are pending in the application (claims 1-7 are withdrawn).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebert (20220347541) in view of Chen (20170354850).
Regarding claim 8, Gebert (Figures 1-5) teaches a ball, comprising: a single-piece seamless hollow spherical shell (14) (Para. 0012), defining a plurality of uniformly spaced holes (42) in a wall thereof (Para. 0012).
Gebert does not teach a ball manufactured via an additive manufacturing process, the internal reinforcement structure is integrally formed on the inner surface of the wall during the additive manufacturing process, an internal reinforcement structure disposed on an inner surface of the wall of the spherical shell and extending from the inner surface toward a center of the hollow spherical shell, the internal reinforcement structure configured to strengthen the wall of the hollow spherical shell.
It is noted that the claim recitations of “a ball manufactured via an additive manufacturing process” and “wherein the internal reinforcement structure is integrally formed on the inner surface of the wall during the additive manufacturing process” are directed to a product that is made by a process (a product-by-process claim). Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (See: In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). The combined teachings of the prior art of Gebert and Chen teach the final product as claimed and therefore meets the claim.
Chen (Figures 1-5) teaches an internal reinforcement structure (13) (Para. 0018) disposed on an inner surface of the wall of the spherical shell (See figures 1-5) and extending from the inner surface toward a center of the hollow spherical shell (See figures 1-5), the internal reinforcement structure configured to strengthen the wall of the hollow spherical shell (Para. 0018), wherein the internal reinforcement structure (13) (Para. 0018) is formed on the inner surface of the wall (Para. 0016-0017) (See figures 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Gebert with an internal reinforcement structure as taught by Chen as a means of providing an interior of a hollow ball with ribs to reinforce the structural strength of the ball to prevent the ball from being deformed or distorted due to hitting or treading (Chen: Para. 00018).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Gebert (Figures 1-5) teaches a ball, comprising: a single-piece seamless hollow spherical shell (14) (Para. 0012), defining a plurality of uniformly spaced holes (42) in a wall thereof (Para. 0012).
The modified Gebert does not teach the internal reinforcement structure is an internal rib structure of interconnected ribs, that form a web of ribs, protruding inward from the inner surface of the wall of the hollow spherical shell.
Chen (Figures 1-5) teaches the internal reinforcement structure is an internal rib structure of interconnected ribs (Fig. 4, Part No. 12, 13) (Para. 0018), that form a web of ribs (See fig. 4), protruding inward from the inner surface of the wall of the hollow spherical shell (Para. 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Gebert with the internal structure is an internal rib structure of interconnected ribs as taught by Chen as a means of providing an interior of a hollow ball with ribs to reinforce the structural strength of the ball to prevent the ball from being deformed or distorted due to hitting or treading (Chen: Para. 00018).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Gebert (Figures 1-5) teaches a ball, comprising: a single-piece seamless hollow spherical shell (14) (Para. 0012), defining a plurality of uniformly spaced holes (42) in a wall thereof (Para. 0012).
The modified Gebert does not teach the internal reinforcement structure is a plurality of rim ribs formed around an internal circumferential edge of each of the plurality of holes and extending inward from the inner surface of the wall of the of the spherical shell toward a center of the hollow spherical shell.
Chen (Figures 1-5) teaches the internal structure is a plurality of rim ribs (Fig. 1-4, Part No. 12, 13) (Para. 0018) formed around an internal circumferential edge of each of the plurality of holes (see fig. 1-5) and extending inward from the inner surface of the wall of the of the spherical shell toward a center of the hollow spherical shell (Para. 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Gebert with the internal reinforcement structure is a plurality of rim ribs as taught by Chen as a means of providing an interior of a hollow ball with ribs to reinforce the structural strength of the ball to prevent the ball from being deformed or distorted due to hitting or treading (Chen: Para. 00018).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Gebert (Figures 1-5) teaches the seamless hollow spherical shell has a smooth outer surface without any weld seams. (Para. 0012).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach the recitation in claim 8 of “a ball manufactured via an additive manufacturing process” and “wherein the internal reinforcement structure is integrally formed on the inner surface of the wall during the additive manufacturing process”, this is not found persuasive because the recited limitations of claim 8 are directed to a product that is made by a process (a product-by-process claim). Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (See: In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). The combined teachings of the prior art of Gebert and Chen teach the final product of a ball having internal reinforcement structure and therefore meets the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711