DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/03/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glier et al. (US7726234).
Regarding claim 1, Glier teaches a vessel holding device (well 40; Figure 1 and Figure 2) for holding a vessel (pot 60 in Figure 1 and Figure 2) of chocolate or like substances and enabling the chocolate or like substances to be melted therein (col 2 line 37-45; Examiner notes that chocolate or like substances are materials worked upon by the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim as discussed in MPEP 2115), the vessel holding device comprising:
a surface structure (cover plate 46 as shown in Figure 2 and col 4 line 9-11) configured to hold the vessel (col 4 line 62-65 and Figure 2); and
a hole in the surface structure (see hole of well 40 in Figure 1) configured to receive part of the vessel in a downward vertical direction through the hole (col 4 line 62-56; see Figure 2), wherein the surface structure has a horizontal length that is at least as large as a top opening of a hot water receptacle on which the surface structure is configured to be placed (see cover plate 46 extending over trough 20 in Figure 2) and in which the vessel is configured to be suspended when held by the surface structure (see pot 40 suspended in within thermal oil 80 of trough 20 in Figure 2; while Glier teaches the receptacle may hold water instead of thermal oil in col 5 line 6-12, Examiner notes that hot water is a material worked upon the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim as discussed in MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 2, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1 wherein the hole is configured to hold the vessel via the hole having a size or shape that prevents the vessel from being able to pass completely down through the hole (col 4 line 65- col 5 line 1; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1 wherein the surface structure is configured to hold the vessel via a support structure (floor 44; Figure 2) affixed under the surface structure that spans across the hole under the surface structure to prevent the vessel from being able to pass completely down through the hole (col 4 line 9-11).
Regarding claim 5, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1, further comprising: a gasket (gasket 48; Figure 2) affixed on a bottom of the surface structure configured to make a seal between the surface structure and the top opening of the hot water receptacle when the surface structure is placed on the top opening of the hot water receptacle (col 4 line 14-17).
Regarding claim 6, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1, further comprising:
the vessel in the hole, wherein:
the vessel rests on a perimeter of the hole and the vessel is held by the surface structure via the hole having a size or shape that prevents the vessel from being able to pass completely down through the hole (col 4 line 65- col 5 line 1; Figure 2);
a top portion of the vessel is vertically above the surface structure (see annular lip and portion above annular lip above cover plate 46 in Figure 2) and a bottom portion of the vessel is vertically below the surface structure (see portions of sidewall 62 and floor 64 of pot 60 below cover plat 46 in Figure 2); and
the vessel is non-porous such that it is able to hold liquid (no porous structure is shown on pot 60 in Figure 1 and Figure 2; Examiner notes that liquid is a material worked upon the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim as discussed in MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 7, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 6, further comprising:
the hot water receptacle, wherein:
the surface structure is removably placed on and at least partially covers the top opening of the hot water receptacle (col 4 line 45-54); and
the vessel is suspended in the hot water receptacle by being held by the surface structure that is placed on the top opening of the hot water receptacle (col 4 line 64- col 5 line 1).
Regarding claim 8, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1, wherein all or some of the surface structure is one or more of:
a circular shape, a symmetrical shape, a shape substantially corresponding to a shape of the top of the top opening of the hot water receptacle; a square shape, flat, and a planar surface (see cover plate 46 in Figure 1 and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1, wherein all or some of the surface structure is made of one or more of: metal (col 4 line 9-11), plastic, rubber (col 4 line 20-23), and other synthetic or natural solid material (the surface structure is a solid material that is made of either a natural or synthetic material).
Regarding claim 10, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1, wherein all or some of the vessel is made of one or more of: steel and other synthetic or natural solid material (col 4 line 57-58).
Regarding claim 11, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1, wherein all or some of the hot water receptacle is made of steel (col 3 line 11-14).
Regarding claim 12, Glier teaches a kit (cooker 10 in Figure 1 and Figure 2) for melting chocolate or like substances (col 2 line 37-45; Examiner notes that chocolate or like substances are materials worked upon by the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim as discussed in MPEP 2115), the kit comprising:
a vessel (pot 60; Figure 1 and Figure 2) for containing chocolate or like substances; and
a surface structure (cover plate 46; Figure 1 and Figure 2) configured to hold the vessel, the surface structure having a hole configured to receive part of the vessel in a downward vertical direction through the hole (col 4 line 65-col 1 line 1; see hole showing sidewall 42 in cover plate 46 in Figure 1 and hole receiving part of the vessel in Figure 2),
wherein the surface structure has a horizontal length that is at least as large as a top opening of a hot water receptacle on which the surface structure is configured to be placed and in which the vessel is configured to be suspended when held by the surface structure (see cover plate 46 extending over trough 20 in Figure 2 and see pot 40 suspended in within thermal oil 80 of trough 20 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Glier teaches the kit of claim 12, further comprising the hot water receptacle (trough 20; Figure 1 and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Glier teaches a kit (cooker 10 in Figure 1 and Figure 2) for melting chocolate or like substances (col 2 line 37-45; Examiner notes that chocolate or like substances are materials worked upon by the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim as discussed in MPEP 2115), the kit comprising:
a vessel (pot 60; Figure 1 and Figure 2) for containing chocolate or like substances; and
a hot water receptacle (trough 20; Figure 1 and Figure 2) for containing hot water Examiner notes that hot water is a material worked upon the apparatus and does not impart patentability to the claim as discussed in MPEP 2115), the hot water receptacle having a top opening configured to receive part of the vessel in a downward vertical direction through the top opening (col 4 line 65- col 5 line 12 and Figure 2),
wherein one or more of the top opening of the vessel and hot water receptacle includes a flange (cover plate 46; Figure 1 and Figure 2) that enables the vessel to fit within the top opening of the hot water receptacle and the flange prevents the vessel from being able to pass completely through the top opening (col 4 line 65- col 5 line 1).
Regarding claim 15, Glier teaches a vessel holding device (well 40; Figure 1) for holding a vessel (pot 60; Figure 1 and Figure 2) in an inner perimeter that is a perimeter of a hole in the device (see hole in well 40 in Figure 1 and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Glier teaches the vessel holding device according to claim 15, which comprises:
a gasket (gasket 48; Figure 2) under the vessel holding device to come in contact with a hot water receptacle (trough 20; Figure 2) on which the vessel holding device is placed (col 4 line 14-16).
Regarding claim 17, Glier teaches the vessel holding device according to claim 15 which has support struts underneath the device to cradle the vessel (see sidewall 42 and floor 44 holding pot 60 in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Glier teaches the vessel holding device according to claim 15 which has one of a plurality of shapes for the inner perimeter and one of a plurality of shapes for an outer perimeter of the device (see circular hole for inner perimeter and square outer perimeter of cover plate 46 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Glier teaches the vessel holding device according to claim 15 in which:
the device is formed from a lid of a hot water receptacle to make contact with the hot water receptacle (col 4 line 45-46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glier et al. (US7726234), and further in view of Boyden et al. (US20090065307).
Regarding claim 4, Glier teaches the vessel holding device of claim 1.
While Glier teaches a gasket (gasket 48; Figure 2) affixed on a bottom of the surface structure configured to make a seal between the surface structure and the top opening of the hot water receptacle when the surface structure is placed on the top opening of the hot water receptacle to prevent escape of heat and/or heating fluid from the receptacle (col 4 line 14-17), Glier fails to teach a gasket or seal affixed along a perimeter of the hole configured to make a seal between the surface structure and the vessel when the vessel is being held by the surface structure.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to a vessel holding device, Boyden teaches a gasket (gasket 708; Figure 8) affixed along a perimeter of a hole configured to make a seal between a surface structure (counter top 704; Figure 8) and a vessel (pan 702; Figure 8) when the vessel is being held by the surface structure ([0047] Each pan 702 includes a flange 706 and associated gasket 708 (See FIG. 8) that overhangs the counter top 704). The gasket over a surface structure provides an insulating heat barrier that slows heat transfer through the surface structure such that the vessel comprising hot foods may be transported while protecting a user’s fingers ([0010] The protective gasket over the flange serves various functions. First, it proves an insulating heat barrier over the flange, which greatly slows heat transfer through the flange. This permits hot steamy food items to be transported to and from a serving table in the pan while protecting the fingers of restaurant workers from heat), and provides an improved seal between the vessel and surface structure ([0011] Second, the protective gasket over the flange provides a better seal between the pan and the countertop of the serving table. Providing a better seal between the countertop and pan improves the retention of heat and cold within the interior portion of the serving table).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a gasket affixed along a perimeter of the hole of Glier configured to make a seal between the surface structure and the vessel when the vessel is being held by the surface structure, as taught by Boyden, for the benefit of providing an insulating heat barrier that slows heat transfer through the surface structure such that the vessel comprising hot foods may be transported while protecting a user’s fingers, and for the benefit of improving the seal between the vessel and surface structure.
Relevant Prior Art
The following is a list of relevant prior art not relied upon:
Hallock (US0917056A)
Hadaway (US0890857A)
Billadeau (US20140242240)
Wagner (US6100504A)
Schneider (DE102013108904A1)
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743