DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-11, and 14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites a plate ramp with a shape that corresponds to a shape of the feeding device and a feed trough, wherein the plate ramp is configured to vibrate and cause thicker feed to travel down the plate ramp and onto a feed ramp of the feeding device and a vibrator cone with a vibrator cone mounting plate to which the vibrator cone is mounted, wherein the vibrator cone mounting plate is mounted on a bottom portion of the vibrator housing mounting plate (and as similarly recited in independent claim 10). Applicant’s Remarks at page 9 state that the amendments regarding the plate ramp element is supported in at least paragraph [0045] and Figures 5A, 5B, 7A, and 7B, which show the plate ramp at element 520. However, paragraph [0049] of the instant specification states “Similar to FIGURE 5B, FIGURE 8A depicts a plate ramp that is shaped as a square pyramid, corresponding to the shape of a feed ramp. FIGURE 8B depicts a view of a vibration feed system with a vibrator cone extending from a vibrator housing mounting plate. FIGURE 8C depicts another view of the vibration feed system [AltContent: textbox (Figures 5A and 8C of the instant specification.)]with vibrator cone 1 extending from vibrator
housing mounting plate 5.”
Paragraph [0049] appears to state that Figure 5A and Figure 8C are different embodiments, and the plate ramp 520 appears to be the functionally same component as vibration cone 1. In view of claims 1 and 10, it is unclear how the system can have a plate ramp and a vibration cone? The disclosure does not discuss an embodiment with both of these components together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a plate ramp with a shape that corresponds to a shape of the feeding device and a feed trough, wherein the plate ramp is configured to vibrate and cause thicker feed to travel down the plate ramp and onto a feed ramp of the feeding device and a vibrator cone with a vibrator cone mounting plate to which the vibrator cone is mounted, wherein the vibrator cone mounting plate is mounted on a bottom portion of the vibrator housing mounting plate (and as similarly recited in independent claim 10). It is unclear what this limitation is requiring in view of applicant’s disclosure. Paragraph [0045] and Figures 5A, 5B, 7A, and 7B, which show the plate ramp at element 520. However, paragraph [0049] of the instant specification states “Similar to FIGURE 5B, FIGURE 8A depicts a plate ramp that is shaped as a square pyramid, corresponding to the shape of a feed ramp. FIGURE 8B depicts a view of a vibration feed system with a vibrator cone extending from a vibrator housing mounting plate. FIGURE 8C depicts another view of the vibration feed system with vibrator cone 1 extending from vibrator housing mounting plate 5.” Paragraph [0049] appears to state that Figure 5A and Figure 8C are different embodiments, and plate ramp 520 appears to be the functionally same component as vibration cone 1. Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood. Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 11, and 14, depending on one or more of the rejected claims above, are rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6-7, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (KR 20210136756 A), hereafter referred to as “Song”, in view of Walker et al. (US 4722300 A), hereafter referred to as “Walker”.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a vibration feed system for a feeding device for dispensing feed for animal consumption (figs. 1-8), the vibration feed system comprising:
a vibrator housing (200);
a vibrator housing mounting plate (220) on a top portion of the vibrator housing (fig. 6a-6b), the vibrator housing mounting plate having a plate ramp (220; figs. 6a-6b) with a shape that corresponds to a shape of the feeding device and a feed trough (figs. 6a-6b), wherein the plate ramp is configured to vibrate and cause thicker feed to travel down the plate ramp and onto a feed ramp of the feeding device (machine translation, paragraph [0035], teaching that the vibrating mechanism in combination with element 400 would allow a thicker feed to move down);
a vibrator cone (400); and
a vibrator cone mounting plate (300) to which the vibrator cone is mounted (figs. 6a-6b), wherein the vibrator cone mounting plate is mounted on a top portion of the vibrator housing mounting plate (figs. 1, 3, and 6).
Song further appears to teach a motor within the vibrator housing (machine translation, paragraphs [0077]-[0078]), wherein the vibration housing mounting plate is configured to vibrate from motion of the motor to move feed through the feeding device and disperse the feed (machine translation, paragraphs [0077]-[0078]), but does not explicitly teach the above limitation.
Walker teaches a vibration feed system (figs. 1-8) including a motor (32) within a vibrator housing (27; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration feed system of Song to include a motor within the vibrator housing, as taught by Walker, in order to provide automated feeding (machine translation of Song at paragraph [0077] and Walker at col. 7, line 51-col. 8, line 15).
The combined teachings would result in wherein the vibration housing mounting plate is configured to vibrate from motion of the motor to move feed through the feeding device and disperse the feed.
Regarding claim 2, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 1, and Song further teaches that the vibration feed system is removable from a hopper (100) for storing the feed (fig. 6, e.g., showing that 100 is removable from the vibration system via 211).
Regarding claim 5, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the vibration feed system is operable with a timer, one or more solar panels, and/or a battery.
Walker further teaches that the vibration feed system is operable with a timer (73) and/or a battery (51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration feed system of Song in view of Walker, such that the vibration feed system is operable with a timer and/or a battery, as further taught by Walker, in order to automate the feeding system and power the system without the need for a plug.
Regarding claim 6, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 5, and Walker further teaches that the timer (73) is connected to the motor (32) and configured to send signals to the motor to start and stop (col. 7, line 12-col. 8, line 15).
Regarding claim 7, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 5, and Walker further teaches that the timer (73) stores one or more predetermined feeding times and activates the motor (32) at the one or more predetermined feeding times (col. 7, line 12-col. 8, line 15).
Regarding claim 9, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 1, and Song further teaches that the vibrator housing (110) further comprising: a vibrator housing door (spaces formed on 200; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches a vibration feed system for a feeding device for dispensing feed for animal consumption (figs. 1-8), the vibration feed system comprising:
a vibrator housing (200);
a vibrator housing mounting plate (110, 230) on a top portion of the vibrator housing (fig. 6a-6b showing 110 above 200), the vibrator housing mounting plate having a plate ramp (230; fig. 7), wherein the plate ramp is configured to vibrate and cause thicker feed to travel down the plate ramp and onto a feed ramp of the feeding device (machine translation, paragraph [0035], teaching that the vibrating mechanism would allow a thicker feed to move down);
a vibrator cone (400);
a vibrator cone mounting plate (300) to which the vibrator cone is mounted (figs. 6a-6b), wherein the vibrator cone mounting plate is mounted on a bottom portion of the vibrator housing mounting plate (300 mounted on a region below 110; fig. 7); and
wherein the vibration feed system is configured to use vibration to move feed through the feeding device and disperse the feed (see attached machine translation, paragraph [0001]).
Song further appears to teach a motor within the vibrator housing (machine translation, paragraphs [0077]-[0078]), but does not explicitly teach the above limitation. In addition, Song teaches that element 230 has a cone-like shape (fig. 7), but does not explicitly teach a square-pyramid shape.
It is well settled, however, that merely changing the size or shape of a prior art device is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular size or shape was significant (MPEP 2144, citing In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).) In this case, applicant has not shown patentable significance of the plate ramp having a square-pyramid shape (see, e.g., the instant specification at paragraph [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Song in view of Walker, such that the plate ramp is a square-pyramid shape, in order to accommodate the size and shape of the feeder.
Walker teaches a vibration feed system (figs. 1-8) including a motor (32) within a vibrator housing (27; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration feed system of Song to include a motor within the vibrator housing, as taught by Walker, in order to provide automated feeding (machine translation of Song at paragraph [0077] and Walker at col. 7, line 51-col. 8, line 15).
Regarding claim 11, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 10, and Song further teaches wherein the vibration feed system is removable from a hopper (100) for storing the feed (fig. 7, e.g., showing that 100 is removable from the vibration system via 211).
Regarding claim 14, Song in view of Walker teaches the vibration feed system of claim 10, and Song further teaches that the vibrator housing (110) further comprising: a vibrator housing door (spaces formed on 200; fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As shown in the above rejections, Song in view of Walker teaches each and every element of independent claims 1 and 10, as best understood (please see 112(a) and 112(b) rejections above). Song teaches both the plate ramp and vibrator cone elements as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643