Claim Objections
Claim 12 recites “wherein the identified transformation matrix”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation, and it appears that it refers to the “instance transformation matrix” identified earlier. Therefore, the examiner suggests the following amendment: “wherein the identified instance transformation matrix”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a module configured to...” in claim 15.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure(s) described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: the GPU 1210 in Fig. 12, which is a specialized GPU when it executes the algorithm illustrated in Fig. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woop et al. ("Exploiting Local Orientation Similarity for Efficient Ray Traversal of Hair and Fur", 2014), in view of Wald et al. (Pub. No. 2017/0287202).
Regarding claim 1, Woop discloses a computer-implemented method of constructing a ray tracing acceleration structure for a scene defined with respect to an overall coordinate system (Section 3.1, 2nd paragraph: “we utilize a bounding volume hierarchy that combines both axis-aligned and oriented bounding boxes, and spatial and object splits. This mixed BVH is able to adapt to the local orientation of individual hairs, and exploit similarity in the orientation of neighboring hairs to minimize overlap between bounding boxes, while reducing the memory and compute overhead associated with a BVH built solely from OBBs”. Section AABB and OBB tests further discloses: “we test if the node is a leaf or an OBB node; in the latter case we use the respective node’s four affine transformation matrices - already stored in SIMD-friendly structure-of-array layout - and use SIMD instructions to transform the ray’s origin and direction into the respective four spaces (in parallel)”. This suggests that an initial ray in the overall coordinate system can be transformed into a local coordinate system), the scene comprising a model defined with respect to a local coordinate system for the model (See section 3.3.1. The hair space could be viewed as a local coordinate system for hair strands),
accessing a plurality of local transformation matrices for a bounding volume hierarchy (BVH) for the model, wherein each node of the BVH is associated with a first bounding volume, and one of the plurality of local transformation matrices that maps between the first bounding volume and a second bounding volume, in the local coordinate system (Page 4, column 2, 3rd par: “OBB nodes. For nodes with non-axis aligned bounds we store, for each node, the affine transformation matrix that transforms the respective OBB to the unit AABB ((0,0,0); (1,1,1))”. See also sections 3.3.1 and 3.3.2. The transformation from an OBB node to an AABB node is performed in the hair space, which is a local coordinate system)
.
Woop, however, does not disclose the above lined-through limitations. That is, Woop does not disclose object instancing and updating the plurality of local transformation matrices to become a set of instance transformation matrices.
In the same field of ray tracing, Wald teaches object instancing where each instance of a base model is associated with a transformation matrix (See par. 24. In particular, the transformation that transforms an instance of a base model from the model space into world space could be viewed as a model transformation matrix (also known as object-to-world transformation matrix in the art)).
In light of Wald’s teaching of object instancing for ray tracing, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporating Wald’s object-instancing technique into Woop by updating the plurality of local transformation matrices of the BVH to become a set of instance transformation matrices by combining each individual local transformation matrix with the model transformation matrix, such that the plurality of nodes of the instance of the model each become associated with one of the instance transformation matrices. The motivation would have been to allow for storage of a model (e.g. a hair strand) only once, with multiple (e.g., transformed) references being used for placing the model(s) at different positions in a scene hierarchy (Wald, par. 23).
Regarding claim 2, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the BVH comprises a plurality of nodes, each associated with one of the plurality of local transformation matrices by an index referencing one of the one of the local transformation matrices, and wherein the index is preserved when the plurality of local transformation matrices is updated to become a set of instance transformation matrices (Wald, par. 32: “each leaf-primitive in the top-level BVH would be a pair of (instance ID (Identifier), subtree ID), where the instance ID allows for determining the transformation that the object BVH should undergo, as well as the object BVH to which the second parameter (the sub-tree ID) refers”. The instance ID could be interpreted as an index. When modified by Wald, the local transformation matrices become the instance transformation matrices).
Regarding claim 3, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the model is instanced in the scene multiple times, each time by applying a different model transformation matrix for positioning that respective instance of the model in the overall coordinate system, wherein the updating of each of the local transformation matrices is performed for each instance to produce a different set of instance transformation matrices (See Wald, par. 23).
Regarding claim 4, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of local transformation matrices are a fixed set of matrices for the model that are predetermined before defining the BVH, or a fixed set of matrices for the model that are determined, at least in part, based on an analysis of the plurality of BVH nodes, wherein optionally the plurality of local transformation matrices each represent a different, optionally affine, mapping (Woop, page 6, col. 2, 3rd par: “we use the respective node’s four affine transformation matrices — already stored in SIMD-friendly structure-of-array layout — and use SIMD instructions to transform the ray’s origin and direction into the respective four spaces (in parallel)).
Regarding claim 5, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each first bounding volume is selected from a set of candidate bounding volumes (Woop, page 4, col. 1, last par: “BVH Data Layout. To eventually allow for fast single-ray SIMD traversal we follow the data layouts of the original Embree kernels as closely as possible. In particular, we use a BVH with a branching factor of four that will allow for always intersecting four child-bounds in parallel (Section 3.4). This data-parallel intersection in particular requires that every group of four sibling nodes have to be of the same type: If only one prefers OBBs, all four nodes have to be OBB nodes”).
Regarding claim 6, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein each candidate bounding volume is associated with a different one of the plurality of local transformation matrices (Woop, page 4, column 2, 3rd par: “OBB nodes. For nodes with non-axis aligned bounds we store, for each node, the affine transformation matrix that transforms the respective OBB to the unit AABB ((0,0,0); (1,1,1))).
Regarding claim 7, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein selecting comprises comparing the set of candidate bounding volumes and selecting the optimal bounding volume according to a predefined heuristic, and optionally wherein the predefined heuristic is to select the candidate bounding volume with one of: the smallest volume, the smallest surface area, or smallest cross-sectional area in a specified direction (Woop, page 5, col. 1, last par: “To construct the tree we use a top-down surface area heuristic (SAH) based approach that automatically selects the proper node type based on the lowest cost. In particular, the cost function we use has different cost factors for both AABB and OBB splits to properly reflect the higher cost of traversing OBB nodes”).
Regarding claim 8, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein associating each node with one of the plurality of local transformations matrices comprises storing an indication of the respective local transformation matrix for the node, and optionally wherein storing an indication comprises storing an index identifying the particular local transformation matrix (Woop, page 4, col. 2, 3rd par: “The four OBB nodes’ transformations are stored in a SIMD friendly SOA layout, requiring a total of 192 bytes. Together with the 4 node references this makes a total of 224 bytes for an OBB node”).
Regarding claim 9, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first bounding volume is an oriented bounding volume, and the second bounding volume is an axis-aligned bounding volume, or wherein the first bounding volume is an oriented bounding box and the second bounding volume is an axis-aligned bounding box, or wherein the first bounding volume is an oriented ellipsoid and the second bounding volume is a sphere or an axis-aligned ellipsoid (Woop, page 4, col. 2, 3rd par: “OBB nodes. For nodes with non-axis aligned bounds we store, for each node, the affine transformation matrix that transforms the respective OBB to the unit AABB ((0,0,0); (1,1,1))).
Regarding claim 10, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the ray tracing system supports model instancing (As pointed out in the rejection of claim 1, Wald teaches a ray tracing system that supports model instancing).
Regarding claim 11, Woop in view of Wald teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the number of local transformation matrices is fewer than the number of nodes (In Woop, only OBB nodes have transformation matrices associated with them while AABB nodes do not. Thus, the number of local transformation matrices could be fewer than the number of nodes).
Claim 13 recites similar limitations as claim 1, and therefore could be rejected using the same rationale set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Woop in view of Wald and Chen teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the model comprises one or more instances of another model (Wald, par. 31: “In an embodiment, in the case of spatially overlapping instances, the overlap is significantly reduced. Rather than sequentially traversing entire hierarchies, such braided top-level BVH is able to skip (all or most) nodes in instances that would have previously overlapped, and to directly traverse to appropriate sub-trees that do not overlap (or at least, significantly less). This yields significantly higher performance in particular for models that heavily use instancing, such as when many such instances overlap”).
Claims 15 and 16 recite similar limitations as claim 1, but are directed to a ray tracing system comprising a module configured to execute the steps recited in claim 1. Since Woop in view of Wald also teaches such a system (See Fig. 1 of Wald as an example), claims 15 and 16 could be rejected under the same rationale set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations as claim 1, but is directed to a computer readable storage medium storing computer readable code programmed to execute the steps recited in claim 1. Since Woop in view of Wald also teaches such a computer readable storage medium (See claims 23-25 of Wald as an example), claim 17 could be rejected under the same rationale set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woop, in view of Wald, and further in view of Chen ("Enable Ray Tracing: Ray Traversal", April 8, 2020; available online at https://handmade.network/p/75/monter/blog/p/7256-enable_ray_tracing__ray_traversal. A PDF version of this literature is being included for convenience).
Claim 12 can be rejected using the same rationale set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Furthermore, Chen teaches using an inverse of a model transformation matrix to transform a ray from a world space into model space (See section Two-Level Ray Traversal).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Woop by representing an instance transformation matrix by combining an inverse model transformation matrix with a local transformation matrix that maps between a first bounding volume for a node and a second bounding volume in the local coordinate system. The motivation would have been because a transformation from world space to model space is known to be an inverse of the transformation from model space to world space.
Conclusion
/PHONG X NGUYEN/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617