Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/21/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 10/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7 filed 1/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11 16 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 1, Iraj Sodagar: "Technologies under Consideration for Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP 23009, Parts 1, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 8", ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 03 MPEG SYSTEMS; JULY 2021 (hereinafter, “Sodagar”) is considered the most relevant art of record. Sodagar discloses a method for media processing, comprising: performing a conversion between a media file of a media and a media presentation of the media wherein some media samples in an external stream representation (ESR) in the media presentation corresponds to media samples in a main stream representation (MSR) in the media presentation.
Sodagar fails to explicitly disclose wherein each media sample in an external stream representation (ESR) in the media presentation corresponds to a media sample in a main stream representation (MSR) in the media presentation, and/or a presentation time of the media sample in the ESR being the same as a presentation time of the corresponding media sample in the MSR.
Therefor the prior art of record, as a single reference, or as a combination, does not teach all the limitations of claim 1. The same reasoning applies to independent claims 11 and 16. Thus, claims 1-19 are found to be novel and unobvious over prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20030033331 A1 to Sena et al.
Consider claim 20, Sena et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a media presentation of a media which is generated by a method performed by a media processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises: performing a conversion between a media file of the media and the media presentation, wherein each media sample in an external stream representation (ESR) in the media presentation corresponds to a media sample in a main stream representation (MSR) in the media presentation, a presentation time of the media sample in the ESR being the same as a presentation time of the corresponding media sample in the MSR (Sena discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium for storing a media presentation (Par. [0063]: “In step 948 this digital media output is placed in the system server 492 for access by the user or other third parties”; Par. [0069]: “data storage 492”. Note, claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a media presentation, which is non-functional descriptive material, in other words the claimed media presentation is passively stored and therefore the specific contents of the media file is not given patentable weight. Therefore, the storage media Sena et al. meets all the limitations of the claim that are given patentable weight).
Conclusion
STEPHEN R. SMITH
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484