DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to a preliminary amendment filed on 7/29/2024. As directed by the preliminary amendment, claims 19-20, 22-30 and 32 were canceled, claims 15 and 18 were amended, and no new claims were added. Thus, claims 1-18, 21, and 31 are pending for this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “elongate tension element” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the corresponding structures of the “elongate tension element” in claim 1 as described in paragraph [0006] of the specification include: a cable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-18, 21, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doyle (US 2020/0253770).
Regarding claim 1, Doyle discloses (Figs. 13A-14D) a system for supporting an arm of a user (Abstract), comprising:
a harness (harness 510) configured to be worn on a body of a user (see Fig. 13A);
an arm support (arm support assembly 505) coupled to the harness comprising a first end coupled to a connection bracket (end of support 505 connected to cable anchor 558) at a pivot joint (pivot 584) and a second end comprising an arm rest (end connected to armrest 600) for receiving an upper arm of the user (paragraph [0126]), the arm support configured to pivot about the pivot joint to accommodate and follow the user raising and lower the arm (paragraph [0112] and Figs. 14C-14D);
one or more compensation elements (spring 636) coupled to the arm support to apply an offset force to at least partially offset a gravitational force acting on the arm as the user raises and lowers the arm (paragraph [0136]), the one or more compensation elements comprising: a spring (spring 636) including a first end mounted to the arm support (see Fig. 14A-14B);
an elongate tension element (cable 634) comprising a first end coupled to a connection post (end coupled to pulley pivot 572) on the connection bracket and a second end coupled to a second end of the spring (end coupled to spring 636, se Fig. 14C), thereby defining an axis extending along a segment of the tension element from the second end of the arm support towards the first end of the arm support (see axis formed by section of cable 634 extending from support 600 to spring 640 in direction of second to first ends in Annotated Fig. 14C-14D below);
one or more pulleys (pulleys 564 and 630) mounted on the arm support (see Fig. 14C) such that the tension element wraps at least partially around the one or more pulleys to modify the offset force as the user raises and lowers the arm (paragraph [0126]); and
a feature (pulley 570) mounted adjacent the connection post (see Fig. 14c) such that, when the arm support is rotated about the pivot joint above a predetermined angle, the feature offsets the axis away from the pivot joint and (feature moves axis away from pivot joint 584 when moving above horizontal angle, see Fig. 14C), when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle, the axis moves closer to the pivot joint to reduce the offset force (feature mores axis toward pivot joint 584 when moving from position in Fig. 14C toward horizontal angle).
Regarding claim 3, Doyle discloses the arm support comprises one or more plates (see one or more plates forming arm support 505 in Fig. 14A) extending between the first and second ends of the arm support (see Fig. 14A), and wherein the one or more pulleys are mounted to the one or more plates (see Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 4, Doyle discloses a cover (cover 576) mounted to the one or more plates to at least partially contain the spring and the tension element (at least partially covering in Fig 14B).
Regarding claim 5, Doyle discloses wherein the one or more pulleys comprise a first pulley (pulley 630) mounted to the arm support adjacent the second end of the arm support (see Fig. 14C) and wherein the tension element extends partially around the first pulley (see Fig. 14C).
Regarding claim 6, Doyle discloses a second pulley (pulley 564) mounted to the arm support adjacent the connection bracket (adjacent first end and thus adjacent to connection bracket as shown in Annotated Fig. 14C) and wherein the tension element extends partially around the second pulley to modify the offset force as the arm support rotates about the pivot joint (see Figs. 14C-14D).
Regarding claim 7, Doyle discloses wherein the axis is aligned along a segment of the tension element extending between the second pulley towards the second end of the arm support (shown in Annotated Fig. 14C above).
Regarding claim 8, Doyle discloses the first end of the spring is mounted to the arm support adjacent the first end of the arm support (see Annotated Fig. 14C) and the tension element extends from the second end of the spring around the first pulley and back towards the first end of the arm support to the connection post (see Annotated Fig. 14C).
Regarding claim 9, Doyle discloses the arm support is configured to extend partially along an upper arm of the user (see Fig. 20C), and wherein the system further comprises a shoulder bracket (shoulder bracket 552,554) coupled to the harness adjacent the shoulder of the user and to the connection bracket such that the shoulder bracket rotates about a vertical pivot joint (paragraph [0112] and (Figs. 14A-14B).
Regarding claim 10, Doyle discloses the shoulder bracket comprises a first end mounted to the harness above the user's shoulder (see portion of bracket 552,554 mounted above shoulder in Fig. 14B) and a second end coupled to the connection bracket (see portion of bracket 552,554 coupled to bracket 558 in Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 11, Doyle discloses the connection bracket is removably connectable to the second end of the shoulder bracket (bracket 558 releasably connected to shoulder bracket 552,554, paragraph [0125]).
Regarding claim 12, Doyle discloses wherein the connection bracket is permanently connected to the second end of the shoulder bracket (bracket 558 fixedly connected to shoulder bracket 552,554, paragraph [0125]).
Regarding claim 13, Doyle discloses the predetermined angle is substantially horizontal (see Figs. 14C-14D).
Regarding claim 14, Doyle discloses the connection post (572) is pivotably mounted to the connector bracket (558, see Figs. 14C-14D) to allow the tension element to extend from the connection bracket towards the second end of the arm support (see Figs. 14C-14D and paragraph [0125]).
Regarding claim 15, Doyle discloses the feature (pulley 570) comprise a wrap feature mounted on the connection bracket (pulley 570 mounted on chassis 580, which is mounted on bracket 558, and thus pulley 570 is mounted on bracket 558) adjacent the connection post such that the cable wraps partially around the wrap feature when the arm support is rotated above the predetermined angle (see Fig. 14C compared to Fig. 14D).
Regarding claim 16, Doyle discloses the tension element is released from wrapping around wrap feature when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle (see Fig. 14D compared to Fig. 14C).
Regarding claim 17, Doyle discloses a segment of the tension element is aligned with the connection post when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle (portion of cable 634 aligned with post 572 when below horizontal, see Fig. 14D).
Regarding claim 18, Doyle discloses wherein the connection post comprises a pivoting cable link (post 572 is a pivoting link that pulley 570 rotates about, paragraph [0131]), and wherein the feature comprises one or more pivot features (feature in form of pulley 570 that pivots about post 572) mounted on the connection bracket (pulley 570 mounted on chassis 580, which is mounted on bracket 558, and thus pulley 570 is mounted on bracket 558) and coupled to the cable link to allow the cable link to translate relative to the pivot joint when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle such that the axis moves closer to the pivot joint to reduce the offset force (see Figs. 14C-14D).
Regarding claim 21, Doyle discloses (Figs. 13A-14D) a system for supporting an arm of a user, comprising:
a harness (harness 510) configured to be worn on a body of a user;
an arm support (arm support assembly 505) coupled to the harness comprising a first end coupled to a connection bracket (end of support 505 connected to cable anchor 558) at a pivot joint (pivot 584) and a second end comprising an arm rest (end connected to armrest 600) for receiving an upper arm of the user (paragraph [0126]), the arm support configured to pivot about the pivot joint to accommodate and follow the user raising and lower the arm (paragraph [0112] and Figs. 14C-14D);
one or more compensation elements (spring 636) coupled to the arm support to apply an offset force to at least partially offset a gravitational force acting on the arm as the user raises and lowers the arm (paragraph [0136]), the one or more compensation elements comprising: a spring (spring 636) including a first end mounted to the arm support (see Fig. 14A-14B);
an elongate tension element (cable 634) comprising a first end coupled to a connection post (end coupled to pulley pivot 572) on the connection bracket and a second end coupled to a second end of the spring (end coupled to spring 636, se Fig. 14C), thereby defining an axis extending along a segment of the tension element from the second end of the arm support towards the first end of the arm support (see axis formed by section of cable 634 extending from support 600 to spring 640 in direction of second to first ends in Annotated Fig. 14C-14D below);
a first pulley (pulley 630) mounted to the arm support adjacent the second end of the arm support (see Fig. 14C);
a second pulley (pulley 564) mounted to the arm support adjacent the connection bracket (adjacent first end and thus adjacent to connection bracket as shown in Annotated Fig. 14C) and wherein the tension element extends partially around the second pulley to modify the offset force as the arm support rotates about the pivot joint (see Figs. 14C-14D); and
a feature (pulley 570) mounted adjacent the connection post (see Fig. 14c) such that, when the arm support is rotated about the pivot joint above a predetermined angle, the feature offsets the axis away from the pivot joint and (feature moves axis away from pivot joint 584 when moving above horizontal angle, see Fig. 14C), and when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle, the axis moves closer to the pivot joint to reduce the offset force (feature mores axis toward pivot joint 584 when moving from position in Fig. 14C toward horizontal angle).
Regarding claim 31, Doyle discloses (Figs. 13A-14D) a system for supporting an arm of a user, comprising:
a harness (harness 510) configured to be worn on a body of a user (see Fig. 13A);
an arm support (arm support assembly 505) coupled to the harness comprising a first end coupled to a connection bracket (end of support 505 connected to cable anchor 558) at a pivot joint (pivot 584) and a second end comprising an arm rest (end connected to armrest 600) for receiving an upper arm of the user (paragraph [0126]), the arm support configured to pivot about the pivot joint to accommodate and follow the user raising and lower the arm (paragraph [0112] and Figs. 14C-14D);
one or more compensation elements (spring 636) coupled to the arm support to apply an offset force to at least partially offset a gravitational force acting on the arm as the user raises and lowers the arm (paragraph [0136]), the one or more compensation elements comprising: a spring (spring 636) including a first end mounted to the arm support (see Fig. 14A-14B);
an elongate tension element (cable 634) comprising a first end coupled to a connection post (end coupled to pulley pivot 572) on the connection bracket and a second end coupled to a second end of the spring (end coupled to spring 636, se Fig. 14C), thereby defining an axis extending along a segment of the tension element from the second end of the arm support towards the first end of the arm support (see axis formed by section of cable 634 extending from support 600 to spring 640 in direction of second to first ends in Annotated Fig. 14C-14D below);
a first pulley (pulley 630) mounted to the arm support adjacent the second end of the arm support (see Fig. 14C);
a second pulley (pulley 564) mounted to the arm support adjacent the connection bracket (adjacent first end and thus adjacent to connection bracket as shown in Annotated Fig. 14C) and wherein the tension element extends partially around the second pulley to modify the offset force as the arm support rotates about the pivot joint (see Figs. 14C-14D); and
wherein the connection post comprises a pivoting cable link, and wherein one or more pivot features are mounted on the connection bracket and coupled to the cable link to allow the cable link to translate relative to the pivot joint when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle to reduce the offset force as the arm support moves towards a substantially vertically downward orientation.
wherein the connection post comprises a pivoting cable link (post 572 is a pivoting link that pulley 570 rotates about, paragraph [0131]), and wherein the feature comprises one or more pivot features (feature in form of pulley 570 that pivots about post 572) mounted on the connection bracket (pulley 570 mounted on chassis 580, which is mounted on bracket 558, and thus pulley 570 is mounted on bracket 558) and coupled to the cable link to allow the cable link to translate relative to the pivot joint when the arm support is rotated below the predetermined angle to reduce the offset force as the arm support moves towards a substantially vertically downward orientation (see Figs. 14C-14D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doyle (US 2020/0253770, hereinafter Doyle ‘770) in view of Doyle (US 2017/0224517, hereinafter Doyle ‘517).
Regarding claim 2, Doyle ‘770 discloses the arm support is configured to move to a substantially vertically downward position (see Figs. 14C-14D), but does not disclose the axis intersects the pivot joint when the arm support is oriented substantially vertically downward.
However, Doyle ‘517 teaches (Figs. 17A-18B) an elongate tension element (cable 566) comprising a second end coupled to a second end of the spring (end coupled to spring 560, see Figs. 18A-18B), thereby defining an axis extending along a segment of the tension element from the second end of the arm support towards the first end of the arm support (see Fig. 18B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arm support of Doyle ‘770 such that the axis intersects the pivot joint when the arm support is oriented substantially vertically downward, as taught by Doyle ‘517, for the purpose of providing lift force to an arm thereby allowing users with weakened arms to lift heavier and provide for better rehabilitation (paragraph [0084] and [0089] Doyle ‘517).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Doyle (US 2014/0158839) discloses an arm support having a similar mechanism as claimed.
Angold (US 2017/0173783) discloses an upper body exoskeleton with a similar structure as claimed.
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785