DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 10 “calcined” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 10 “catalyst particles” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5 states that the titania containing binder is formed from titania, silica and alumina precursors, but it is unclear how titania could be made from a silica or alumina precursor. It is suggested to amend this. For examination purposes, it is assumed that the binder can also include silica or alumina precursors.
Alternatively, Claim 5 is rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of titania, silica and alumina precursors is improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: the titania does not share anything in common with just silica or alumina.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu (US Pub.:2022/0234033) and in view of Wang (RU 2656598) and in view of Takagi (CN 112585090), EPO translation.
Koseoglu describes a catalyst (para. 2) that can include a USY zeolite (para. 36) where some of the aluminum atoms in the zeolite framework are substituted with zirconium atoms and/or titanium atoms and/or hafnium atoms (para. 16). The produced USY zeolite is then combined with an inorganic oxide and then coextruded (para. 38) and formed into particles (para. 58). The inorganic oxide can be titania (para. 39). The catalyst is then impregnated with active components, which can include a metal (para. 31). The metals can be chosen from a wide range of metals, to include a platinum group metal, or other metals, such as nickel, molybdenum (para. 41). The process of adding the metal can be any known method (para. 42).
Koseoglu does not teach kneading and then heating the zeolite with the titania binder.
As to the kneading and heating steps, Wang teaches a catalyst composition (title) and a method of making the composition (abstract). In their process of making the catalyst, Wang teaches mixing a zeolite with a binder (example 1, step 4). The compound is then mixed and kneaded and pressed into masses before extruding it to form the final product (example 1, step 4). As to heating, Wang teaches that the extruded product (see example 1, step 4) is then dried and calcinated (example 1, step 5) and then impregnated with a metal (example 1, steps 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to knead the binder and zeolite mixture prior to extruding, as taught by Wang for use with the catalyst of Koseoglu because Wang explains that kneading facilitates formation of masses, which are known to be used to then extrude the mixture into a final shape.
As to the heating step, followed by adding a metal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat and then modify the composite with a metal after kneading and extruding zeolite-blended binder composite, as taught by Wang for use with the catalyst of Koseoglu because this would lead to predictable results.
The references do not describe adding a phosphorous component after the thermal heating step.
Takagi describes a method of manufacturing a Cu-P loaded zeolite (page 1, lines 1-2). The process first produces a zeolite (para. 82), which is then hydrothermally treated (para. 83). After synthesis, Takagi explains that depending on the need, the zeolite may be dried (para. 120).
The zeolite is then modified with a metal and phosphate (para. 136). Takagi explains that co-loading the metal and P makes the catalyst more thermally durable for a variety of applications (para. 136). Although Takagi teaches that the metal used is Cu, Takagi explains that other metals can be used, such as Fe or W (para. 127) or a platinum group metal (para. 129). The composite may be modified with a binder as needed (para. 156).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to co-load a metal and phosphate on the zeolite of Koseoglu, as taught by Takagi because Takagi teaches that co-loading phosphate with the catalytic metal makes the catalyst more thermally durable for a variety of applications.
As to the composite having an outer surface and pores which definer an inner surface, the shaped product would have an outer surface since all structures have an outer surface. As for the pores that define an inner surface, although the references do not state this feature, since the process sof making the product is the same, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same process used would produce the same results.
As to Claim 2, Wang teaches that after calcination, the catalyst is then modified with active metal and then calcinated again (see example 1, steps 6 and 7). Takagi explains that their method loads a transition metal ion into the pores of the aluminosilicate (para. 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to load the metal into the pores of the zeolite, as taught by Takagi for use with the heating step of Wang because heating after loading is known in Wang and would lead to predictable and expected catalytic results.
As to Claim 3, Koseoglu teaches mixing the zeolite with the titania binder (see above) and then adding the composite with an active metal (para. 31). Wang teaches that after adding the metals, the composite may be thermally treated (see above). Although the references do not state that the active components (the active metal) are loaded on the outer surfaces and/ore the pore inner surfaces of the titania-containing binder, since the process of making uses the same compounds and process steps, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same process used with the same compounds would produce the same characteristics.
As to Claim 4, Koseoglu teaches mixing the zeolite with the titania binder (see above) and then adding the composite with an active metal (para. 31). Wang teaches that after adding the metals, the composite may be thermally treated (see above). Although the references do not state that the active components (the active metal) are loaded on the outer surfaces and/ore the pore inner surfaces of both tie post-framework modified USY zeolite and the titania-containing binder, since the process of making uses the same compounds and process steps, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same process used with the same compounds would produce the same characteristics.
As to Claim 5, Koseoglu teaches that the titanium precursor can include titanium sulfate (para. 52).
As to Claims 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11, Koseoglu teaches combining the titania binder with the USY zeolite (see para. 38) and producing particles of the mixture (para. 58). The combined material is then impregnated with an active metal component (para. 31). Koseoglu explains that any known method of adding the metal can be employed, which includes immersion and incipient wetness (para. 42). According to the specification of this application, effective methods of adding the metal includes immersion and incipient wetness (see published specification, para. 76).
As to the method of adding the phosphorous, Tagaki explains that the phosphorous component may be added by immersion (para. 142) and the metal may also be added immersion (para. 129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that use of the same process to make the same product would have the same characteristics.
The active metal component of Koseoglu can be considered a hydrocracking metal active component.
As to Claim 15, Takagi teaches that the amount of phosphate is 2.2mass% (para. 169).
As to Claim 18, Koseoglu teaches that the zeolite with inorganic component has a specific surface area of 150-500 m2/g (para. 19) and a pore volume of 0.4-0.75 ml/g (para. 40).
Takagi teaches that the amount of phosphate is 2.2mass% (para. 169).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add phosphate in an amount of 2.2 wt%, as taught by Takagi for use with the process of Koseoglu because adding this amount of phosphate would be effect for thermal durability.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu, Wang and Takagi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Prada (US Pat.: 5384297).
Koseoglu teaches use of a titania-based binder, which can include alumina-titania, silica-alumina-titania, to name a few (para. 39).
Koseoglu does not teach how much TiO2 is in the binder.
Prada describes a catalyst useable in processing hydrocarbons (abstract). The catalyst can include a titania-alumina support, which uses 5-30wt% titania (abstract) and is combined with an active metal phase and a zeolite (abstract).
Since Koseoglu teaches use of an alumina-titania binder, but does not describe the amount of each, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a titania-alumina binder, such that the titania is in the binder from 5-30wt%, as taught by Prada for use with the alumina-titania binder of Koseoglu, Wang and Takagi because this amount is known to be effective for use when combined with a catalyst.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koseoglu, Wang, Takagi and Prada as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Mayer (US Pat.: 4495061).
The references do not teach that the binder comprises an amorphous binary composite, as required by Claim 13.
Mayer describes a catalyst for use in hydrocarbon processing (title and abstract). The catalyst employs a zeolite component (col. 1, line 67) modified with a metal component (col. 2, lines 5-7). The catalyst is modified a porous amorphous matrix, that can include alumina-silica-titania (col. 1, lines 43-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an amorphous alumina-silica-titania, as taught by Mayer Koseoglu, Wang, Takagi and Prada, which would lead to predictable and expected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Koseoglu (US Pub.:2022/0234033) describes a binder and the binder can include silica or alumina, but the reference does not teach a binder with 5-10wt% titania (claim 12, where Claim 14 depends from ), 80-90wt% alumina an d5-10wt% silica.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 19, 2026