DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, readable on Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 4/7/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, readable on Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 4/7/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species A and B are generic to all of the pending claims. This is not found persuasive because the species are each directed towards a retroflexion device that’s incorporated with a different surgical tool at the end and although Species A and B are generic to claims 1-10, there would still be an undue search burden on the examiner if during prosecution claims were submitted directed towards each specific surgical tool configuration in Species A and B.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shikhman et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0389784, hereinafter Shikhman).
In regard to claim 1, Shikhman discloses a retroflexion device (300, Figs. 12,14) for retroflexing a flexible elongate member (322) of a medical device (Figs. 12,14), said retroflexion device comprising:
a distal mount (332) configured to be mounted with respect to the distal end of the flexible elongate member (Figs. 12,14);
a pivot mount (341) configured to be mounted with respect to the flexible elongate member proximal to the distal mount (Figs. 12,14); and
an elongated actuation component (372) having a proximal end and a distal end with a length extended therebetween selected to extend along the length of the flexible elongate member (Figs. 12,14);
wherein:
a proximal end of said actuation component is controllable along a proximal end of the flexible elongate member (via slider (376), Fig. 14);
a distal end of said actuation component is operatively associated with a distal end of the flexible elongate member via said distal mount (Figs. 12,14); and
an actuation region of said actuation component pivots with respect to said pivot mount when said actuation component is pulled proximally to cause the flexible elongate member to retroflex (Figs. 12,14, actuation of slider (376) backward causes the flexible elongate member to flex away from the longitudinal axis which is being considered as retroflex).
In regard to claim 2, Shikhman teaches further comprising a flexible tubular elongate member (374) having at least one lumen extending therethrough through which said actuation component extends (Figs. 12,14).
In regard to claim 3, Shikhman teaches wherein said flexible tubular elongate member is configured to be mounted along the flexible elongate member (Figs. 12,14).
In regard to claim 4, Shikhman teaches wherein: said flexible tubular elongate member has a proximal end and a distal end defining a length therebetween selected to be less than the length of the flexible elongate member; said flexible tubular elongate member is configured to be mounted with respect to the flexible elongate member with the distal end of the flexible tubular elongate member proximal to the distal end of the flexible elongate member; and the distal end of said flexible tubular elongate member forms said pivot mount for said actuation component (Fig. 14 shows the distal end of the flexible tubular elongate member forming said pivot mount for said actuation component).
In regard to claim 5, Shikhman teaches wherein said flexible tubular elongate member (the pivot mount (341) can be considered the flexible tubular elongate member) has more than one lumen (via lumen for an endoscope and lumens for cables) extending therethrough to allow additional devices to be extended through said flexible tubular elongate member (Figs. 12,14).
In regard to claim 6, Shikhman teaches wherein: said flexible tubular elongate member has a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 12,14); and said retroflexion device further comprises a proximal mount (352) provided along the proximal end of said flexible tubular elongate member; and the proximal end of said actuation component is operatively associated with said proximal mount (Figs. 12,14).
In regard to claim 7, Shikhman teaches further comprising a proximal mount (352), the proximal end of said actuation component being operatively associated with said proximal mount (Figs. 12,14).
In regard to claim 8, Shikhman teaches further comprising a pull handle (376) on the proximal end of said actuation component (Figs. 12,14).
In regard to claim 9, Shikhman teaches wherein said proximal mount includes a pull handle mount (Figs. 12, 14 illustrate the slider (376) mounted on the proximal mount).
In regard to claim 10, Shikham teaches further comprising a locking system (376) mounted on said proximal mount and configured to temporarily retain said actuation component under tension to retroflex said flexible elongate member (movement and/or holding of the slider (376) maintains the actuation component under tension).
Conclusion
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 April 18, 2026