DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application with claims 1 amended, claims 11-20 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saadat et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0065397, hereinafter Saadat).
In regard to claim 1, Saadat discloses a retroflexion device (30, Fig. 1) for retroflexing a flexible elongate member (34,36) of a medical device (40, Figs. 2,6), said retroflexion device comprising:
a distal mount (distal tip of bending section (34)) configured to be mounted with respect to the distal end of the flexible elongate member (Fig. 2 illustrates tool (48) mounted to the tip of the bending section (34));
a pivot mount (distal end of shaft (36)) configured to be mounted with respect to the flexible elongate member proximal to the distal mount (Figs. 1-2 illustrate the shaft (46) of the medical device disposed within the (36)); and
an elongated actuation component (96) having a proximal end and a distal end with a length extended therebetween selected to extend along the length of the flexible elongate member (Figs. 1, 11,12A,12B);
wherein:
a proximal end of said actuation component is controllable along a proximal end of the flexible elongate member (via steering cuff (35), Fig. 1);
a distal end of said actuation component is operatively associated with a distal end of the flexible elongate member via said distal mount (Figs. 12A,12B); and
an actuation region of said actuation component pivots with respect to said pivot mount when said actuation component is pulled proximally to cause the flexible elongate member to retroflex beyond 90° from its initial direction (Figs. 6, 12A,12B).
In regard to claim 2, Saadat teaches further comprising a flexible tubular elongate member (34) having at least one lumen extending therethrough through which said actuation component extends (Figs. 27A,27B illustrate lumens through which pull wires (96) extend).
In regard to claim 3, Saadat teaches wherein said flexible tubular elongate member is configured to be mounted along the flexible elongate member (the flexible elongate member is disposed within the flexible tubular elongate member, Figs. 27A,27B).
In regard to claim 4, Saadat teaches wherein:
said flexible tubular elongate member has a proximal end and a distal end defining a length therebetween selected to be less than the length of the flexible elongate member (Fig. 2);
said flexible tubular elongate member is configured to be mounted with respect to the flexible elongate member with the distal end of the flexible tubular elongate member proximal to the distal end of the flexible elongate member (Fig. 2); and
the distal end of said flexible tubular elongate member forms said pivot mount for said actuation component (the distal end of flexible tubular elongate member (34) is considered the pivot mount since the bending section (36) pivots with respect to the pivot mount).
In regard to claim 5, Saadat teaches wherein said flexible tubular elongate member has more than one lumen extending therethrough to allow additional devices to be extended through said flexible tubular elongate member (via a plurality of pull wires lumens and central lumen for insertion of an instrument therethrough, Figs. 27A-27B).
In regard to claim 6, Saadat teaches wherein:
said flexible tubular elongate member has a proximal end and a distal end; and said retroflexion device further comprises a proximal mount (35) provided along the proximal end of said flexible tubular elongate member (Figs. 25A-25B); and the proximal end of said actuation component is operatively associated with said proximal mount (manipulation of the proximal mount (35) causes corresponding actuation of the actuation components).
In regard to claim 7, Saadat teaches further comprising a proximal mount (35), the proximal end of said actuation component being operatively associated with said proximal mount (Figs. 1, 27A,27B).
In regard to claim 8, Saadat teaches further comprising a pull handle (44) on the proximal end of said actuation component (Figs. 1, 27A,27B).
In regard to claim 9, Saadat teaches wherein said proximal mount includes a pull handle mount (44, Figs. 1,27A,27B).
In regard to claim 10, Saadat teaches further comprising a locking system (170) mounted on said proximal mount and configured to temporarily retain said actuation component under tension to retroflex said flexible elongate member (Par. 107, Figs. 25A-25B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 August 27, 2026