DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered. In the Response, Group I, claims 1-7, was elected with traverse. In response to Applicant’s arguments, a new restriction is herein presented. As the newly presented Restriction maintains the Grouping of the pending claims, the election of Group I, claims 1-7, is maintained.
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-7, drawn to per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) removal system, classified in C02F 2101/30.
II. Claims 8-14, drawn to per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) removal process, classified in C01B 2203/06.
III. Claims 15-20, drawn to torch reactor, classified in B01J 19/0053.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case, the system of Group I can be used to practice another and materially different process, since the system of Group I does not require any reaction between the claimed organic compound stream, hydrogen stream, oxygen stream, hot waste stream and/or flue gas stream (It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.). Thus, the system of Group I may practice another and materially different process, such as the zone may be a storage zone for one or more of the claimed streams. Whereas the process of Group II requires reacting the organic compound stream, the hydrogen stream, and the oxygen stream in the torch reaction zone to form a hydrogen-organic compound torch
Inventions I and III are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the combination (i.e., the system) does not require 1) a reactor being a cylinder, 2) a reactor having a closed end and an open end, 3) an organic compound entry port extending through the closed end, 4) a hydrogen injection port positioned along the circumference of the cylinder, 5) an oxygen entry port along the circumference of the cylinder, and/or 6) a hot waste port, along the circumference of the cylinder. The subcombination has separate utility because a torch reactor can be used to produce hydrogen, generate energy, heavy fuel oil cracking/upgrading, generate biofuels or synthesis gas.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Inventions II and III are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, the product of Group III can be used in a materially different process of using that product, such as produce hydrogen, generate energy, heavy fuel oil cracking/upgrading, generate biofuels or synthesis gas.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
Groups I-III have separate classification in the art. Groups I-III require different searching in different fields of search, using different search engines and/or electronic resources. Groups I-III require different search classifications and/or text searching.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
During a telephone conversation with Attorney Dunne on October 13, 2026 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-7. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 8-20 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “114” has been used to designate both a hydrogen stream and a hydrocarbon stream. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objection
Claim 2, which depends on claim 1, recites “the waste stream includes gas, liquid, and organics”. For sake of consistency, Applicant is respectfully requested to amend claim 2 to recite “the hot waste stream”. Similarly, it is respectfully requested that claim 3 be amended as follows: “the the organic compound stream comprises PFAs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) removal system”. Claim 1 is deemed indefinite because claim 1 does not recite the presence of per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) being a component of the claimed system. That is, it is unclear how the system is removing an element that does not exist in the system. It is unclear what or where the PFA is being removed from. That is, it is unclear what component, i.e. organic compound, hydrogen stream, oxygen stream, hot waste stream or flue gas stream, comprises PFA.
Claims 2-7 are also rejected by virtue of the claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 2021/0009412 (hereinafter US 412) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2021/0009412 (hereinafter US 412) in view of US 11339337 B1 (hereinafter US 337). (It is noted that US 412 was filed on July 9, 2019 and was published on January 14, 2021. US 412 and the present application have more than one inventor in common. US 412 is available as prior art under either 102(a)(1).).
As noted above, claim 1 is deemed indefinite. Herein, claim 1 is rendered anticipated under the interpretation that per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) is not a component of the claimed system.
Regarding claim 1, US 412 discloses a removal system (see US 412 – torch reforming system – claims 1 & 11; abstract; figures 1-2; and paragraphs 0014-0026).
US 412 discloses a torch reaction zone (see US 412 – torch reactor – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0014, 00015, 023, 0039, 0043-0045, 0047-0052).
US 412 discloses an organic compound stream, the organic compound stream injected into the torch reaction zone (see US 412 – input / feedstock – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0002, 0059).
The action of “injected into” is understood to be manner of operating the claimed system or is understood as the organic compound stream being worked. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.).
US 412 discloses a hydrogen stream, the hydrogen stream injected into the torch reaction zone (see US 412 – hydrogen and/or methane feed – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0023, 0045, 0062). The action of “injected into” is understood to be manner of operating the claimed system or is understood as the hydrogen stream being worked. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.).
US 412 discloses an oxygen stream the oxygen stream injected into the torch reaction zone (see US 412 – oxygen feed – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0044, 0048, 0062). The action of “injected into” is understood to be manner of operating the claimed system or is understood as the oxygen stream being worked. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.).
US 412 discloses a hot waste stream, the hot waste stream injected into the torch reaction zone (see US 412 – steam – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0018-0019, 0023, 0046, 0051, 0060). The action of “injected into” is understood to be manner of operating the claimed system or is understood as the hot waste stream being worked. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.).
US 412 discloses a flue gas stream, the flue gas stream discharged from the torch reaction zone (see US 412 – output – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0039-0040, 0052, 0054). The action of “discharged from” is understood to be manner of operating the claimed system or is understood as the flue gas being worked. It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.).
As noted above, claim 1 is deemed indefinite. Herein, claim 1 is rendered obvious under the interpretation that per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) is a component of the claimed system.
As established above, US 412 discloses each element of the claimed system but does not disclose a removal system that is a per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) removal system. That is, the input / feedstock of US 412 does not comprise PFAS.
US 412 discloses that the input / feedstock includes “various materials, including but not limited to carbonaceous materials and materials including some percentage of hydrocarbons, and in particular to reform various materials with a high percentage of volatiles (… biomass, municipal solid waste …) into other useful forms, such as synthesis gas or syngas” (see US 412 paragraph 0002). US 412 does not disclose the removal system and method is directed towards the removal of PFAS.
US 337 discloses apparatus and methods to eliminate PFAS from wastewater biosolids using a gasification process and which will produce syngas (see US 337 abstract, figures 1-2, col 1 line 55 col 2 line 4; col 5 lines 56-63; col 6 lines 11-23). US 337 discloses feedstock for a gasification/pyrolysis process includes wastewater comprising biosolids comprising PFAS (see US 337 col 1 lines 40-52 & 55-57; col 3 lines 3-9; col 5 lines 56-63; col 6 lines 11-23).
US 337 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. gasification/pyrolysis process/apparatus and/or wastewater process.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify US 412 by using the feedstock, as disclosed in US 337, which includes PFAS, as the feedstock/input of US 412, because US 412 does not disclose the contaminants/impurities decomposed by the torch reactor zone and US 337 discloses that wastewater comprising PFAS can be used in a gasification/pyrolysis process to reduce/remove PFAS and/or to produce syngas and/or because US 412 does not disclose specific examples of the biomass or municipal solid waste material that can be used as the feedstock/input for the torch reactor zone and US 337 discloses that wastewater comprising PFAS can be used in a gasification/pyrolysis process to reduce/remove PFAS and/or to produce syngas.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the feedstock/input of US 412 with the feedstock, as disclosed in US 337, which includes PFAS, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution yield the predictable result of producing syngas and/or decomposing PFAS.
Hence, US 412 in view of US 337 discloses a per- and polyfluoroalkyls (PFA) removal system comprising a torch reaction zone; an organic compound stream, the organic compound stream injected into the torch reaction zone; a hydrogen stream, the hydrogen stream injected into the torch reaction zone; an oxygen stream the oxygen stream injected into the torch reaction zone; a hot waste stream, the hot waste stream injected into the torch reaction zone; and a flue gas stream, the flue gas stream discharged from the torch reaction zone.
Regarding claim 2, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the waste stream includes gas, liquid, and/or organics (see rejection of claim 1; see also US 412 paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 4, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the flue gas stream includes syngas (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses a heat exchanger, the heat exchanger adapted to cool the flue gas stream to form a cooled flue gas stream using a cold waste stream to form the hot waste stream (see US 412 – heat exchanger, output 110; steam – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0039, 0046).
It is understood that “a cooled flue gas stream” and “a cold waste stream” are not elements of the claimed system. Nevertheless, US 412 discloses output 14, which is understood to be a cooled flue output and input feedstock 154, which is understood to be a cold waste stream.
Additionally, regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). Herein, the structure of US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, is substantially identical to the claimed heat exchanger of the present application, and therefore, the structure of US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, is presumed inherently capable of cooling the flue gas stream to form a cooled flue gas stream using a cold waste stream to form the hot waste stream.
Regarding claim 6, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 5. Further, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses a condenser, the condenser adapted to cool the cooled flue gas stream to form a wet flue gas stream (see US 412 – cooler – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0040, 0052, 0054-0056).
It is understood that “the cooled flue gas stream” and “a wet flue gas stream” are not elements of the claimed system. Nevertheless, US 412 discloses output 14, which is understood to be a cooled flue output and output 118, which is understood to be a wet flue gas stream.
Additionally, regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). Herein, the structure of US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, is substantially identical to the claimed condenser of the present application, and therefore, the structure of US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, is presumed inherently capable of cooling the cooled flue gas stream to form a wet flue gas stream.
Regarding claim 7, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, discloses a vapor liquid separator, the vapor liquid separator adapted to separate the wet flue gas stream to a syngas stream and a condensate stream (see US 412 – separator – figures 1-2 and paragraphs 0040-0041, 0043, 0052, 0054).
It is understood that “wet flue gas stream”, “a syngas stream” and “a condensate stream” are not elements of the claimed system. Nevertheless, US 412 discloses output 118, which is understood to be a wet flue gas stream; syngas 122, which is understood to be a syngas stream and output 124, which is understood to be a condensate stream (see US 412 paragraph 0040).
Additionally, regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). Herein, the structure of US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, is substantially identical to the claimed vapor liquid separator of the present application, and therefore, the structure of US 412, or in the alternative, US 412 in view of US 337, is presumed inherently capable of separating the wet flue gas stream to a syngas stream and a condensate stream.
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2021/0009412 (hereinafter US 412) in view of US 11339337 B1 (hereinafter US 337).
Regarding claim 3, US 412 in view of US 337 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, US 412 in view of US 337 discloses the organics include PFAs (see rejection of claim 1).
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Conclusion
/BERNADETTE KAREN MCGANN/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773