DETAILED ACTION
2. The RCE application amendment filed on March 03, 2026, has been received and made of record. In response to RCE Non-Final Office Action mailed on November 06, 2025, applicant amended independent claim 1 and dependent claim 3. Dependent claims 2, 4-6, 8-18 and 20-22 are maintained. Claims 7 and 19 are cancelled as before the RCE Non-Final Office Action and claim 23 is cancelled after the RCE Non-Final Office Action. NO claim has been added as new claim. Therefore, claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20-22 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(IDS) submitted on November 13, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the RCE amendment on March 03, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments in “Remarks” submitted on March 03, 2026, with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection as necessitated by the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 6, 13-15, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2015/0185942 A1) (herein after KIM) in view of JEON et al.(US 2021/0335986 A1) (herein after JEON).
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a touch display device(Para-3: an organic light emitting diode display device with a touch screen) comprising:
a display panel(display panel 102, figs.2-3, Para-28) comprising an active area(display area AA, figs.2-3, Para-28) and a non-active area(non-display area NA, figs.2-3, Para-28) surrounding the active area(AA), the display panel(102) including:
a substrate(first substrate 110, figs.2-3, Para-32);
a transistor(transistor DTr, figs.2-3, Para-29) disposed on the substrate(110);
an electroluminescent device(organic light emitting layer 155, figs.2-3, Para-50) disposed on the transistor(DTr); and
an encapsulation portion(encapsulation film 160, figs.2-3, Para-29) disposed on the electroluminescent device(155),
a touch panel(touch screen 180, figs.2-3, 5, Para-29) attached on the encapsulation portion(encapsulation film 160), the touch panel(180) including:
a first insulating layer(second substrate 181, fig.3, Para-67) disposed on the display panel(102);
a second insulating layer(insulating layer 185, fig.3, Para-71) disposed on the first insulating layer(181);
a third insulating layer(second adhesive layer 190, or polarizing film 193, figs.2-3, Para-30, 190), disposed on the second insulating layer(185);
a fourth insulating layer(first adhesive layer 173, figs.3, Para-29, 67) disposed between the display panel(1052) and the first insulating layer(181);
a plurality of first touch electrodes(first touch electrodes 183, figs.2-3, Para-66/67)disposed between the first insulating layer(181) and the second insulating layer(185, fgi.3);
a plurality of second touch electrodes(second touch electrodes 186, figs.2-3, Para-66/67) disposed between the second insulating layer(185) and the third insulating layer(190 or 193, fig.3),
a first touch pad electrode(touch pads 184, fig.3, Para-66) is disposed between the first insulating layer(181) and second insulating layer(185); and
a second touch pad electrode(touch pads 187, fig.3, Para-66) disposed between the second insulating layer(185) and the third insulating layer(190 or 193, figs.2-3),
wherein the touch panel(180) is attached on the encapsulation portion(160) through the fourth insulating layer(173) having an adhesive property(first adhesive layer 173, Para-67), and
wherein the fourth insulating layer(173) is disposed between the first touch pad(184) electrode and the display panel(102, fig.3).
Nevertheless, KIM is not found to teach expressly the display device, wherein the first touch pad electrode is electrically connected to the second touch pad electrode through a first hole in the second insulating layer, wherein a portion of the second touch pad electrode is exposed through a second hole of the third insulating layer to a circuit board having touch driving circuit mounted thereon, wherein a surface of the third insulating layer is substantially coplanar with an exposed surface of the exposed portion of the second touch pad electrode, with no step difference from the exposed portion of the second pad electrode.
However, JEON teaches a touch sensing display device(fig.1), comprising:
a first touch pad electrode(first conductive layer CL1, fig.5A) is disposed between the first insulating layer(gate insulating layer 203, Para-150) and second insulating layer(first inorganic insulating layer IIL1, fig.5A, Para-152); and
a second touch pad electrode(second conductive layer CL2, third conductive layer CL3, fig.5A, Para-151) disposed between the second insulating layer(IIL1) and the third insulating layer (insulating layer IL, fig.5A, Para-154),
wherein the first touch pad electrode(CL1) is electrically connected to the second touch pad electrode(CL2, CL3, P) through a first hole(first contact hole CNT1, fig.5A, Para-152) in the second insulating layer(IIL1, fig.5A), and
wherein a portion of the second touch pad electrode(second conductive layer CL2, CL3, fig.5A, Para-151) is exposed through a second hole(second contact hole CNT2, fig.5A, Para-154) of the third insulating layer(IL) to a circuit board(printed circuit board PCB, Para-154) having touch driving circuit mounted thereon(obvious to have touch driving circuit on the PCB),
wherein a surface of the third insulating layer(IL) is substantially coplanar with an exposed surface of the exposed portion of the second touch pad electrode(CL2 and CL3, fig.5A, Para-154), with no step difference from the exposed portion of the second pad electrode(fig.5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM with the teaching of JEON to include the feature in order to provide a display apparatus having touch capability in which reliability in a pad area could be improved.
Regarding claim 6, KIM as modified by JEON teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a touch pad area(figs.2-3, KIM; fig.3B, JEON) overlapped with the non-active area(non-display area NA),
wherein the first touch pad electrode(184, KIM) and the second touch pad electrode(187, KIM) are disposed in the touch pad area(figs.2-3, KIM; fig.5A, JEON), and
wherein the first touch pad electrode(184, fig.3, KIM) is disposed on the same layer as the plurality of first touch electrodes(183, figs.2-3, KIM), and the second touch pad electrode(187, figs.2-3, KIM) is disposed on the same layer as the plurality of second touch electrodes(186, figs.2-3, KIM).
Regarding claim 13, KIM as modified by JEON teaches the touch display device of claim 1, wherein a first surface and a second opposite surface of the first insulating layer(181, fig.3, KIM) in contact with the plurality of first touch electrodes(183) have a flat shape(fig.3, KIM), and a first surface and a second opposite surface of the second insulating layer(185, fig.3, KIM) in contact with the plurality of second touch electrodes(186) have a flat shape(fig.3, KIM).
Regarding claim 14, KIM as modified by JEON teaches the touch display device of claim 1, wherein the first hole overlaps with the second hole(figs.5&6E, KIM; fig.5A, JEON).
Regarding claim 15, KIM as modified by JEON teaches the touch display device of claim 1, further comprising a third touch pad electrode(187a or 184b, figs.2-3) disposed in the touch pad area, wherein the third touch pad electrode(187a or 184b) is disposed between first touch pad electrode(184a) and the second touch pad electrode(187b, fig.3, KIM).
Regarding claim 20, KIM as modified by JEON is not found to teach expressly the touch display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes include a mesh shape.
However, mesh electrodes or grid electrodes are not novel and well-known in the art. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified KIM further with the common knowledge in the art to make electrodes having mesh patterns using known method and known technology in the art. Such modification is desirable as it improves touch sensitivity.
Regarding claim 21, KIM as modified by JEON teaches the touch display device of claim 1,
further comprising a bank(150, fig.3, Para-52, KIM) between the emission area(pixel regions P) and the non-emission area(other than the pixel region)of the active area(AA) of the display panel,
wherein one or more of the plurality of first touch electrodes or the plurality of second touch electrodes overlap with the bank(figs.2-3, KIM).
Regarding claim 22, KIM as modified by JEON teaches the touch display device of claim 1,
further comprising a sensing electrode line(connector 99a or 99b, fig.1, KIM) electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of first touch electrodes or the plurality of second touch electrodes(Para-13, KIM; Para-96, JEON).
9. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2015/0185942 A1) in view of JEON et al.(US 2021/0335986 A1) and further in view of Poliakov et al. (US 2015/0123911 A1)(herein after Poliakov).
Regarding claim 2, KIM as modified by JEON is not found to teach expressly the display device of claim 1, wherein a refractive index of each of the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer corresponds to each other(claim should define “corresponds to each other”, the examiner interprets the “corresponds to each other” as “same refractive index value” of three layers).
However, Poliakov teaches a touch sensing display panel stack(900, fig.9) where a refractive index(n) of each of the first insulating layer(first RI matching layer 920), the second insulating layer(second RI matching layer 930) and the third insulating layer(third RI matching layer 940) corresponds to each other(1.6~1.8).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM further with the teaching of Poliakov to include the feature in order to provide a touch sensitive display panel where a refractive index of the refractive index matching layers is intelligently selected so as to mitigate light losses in the stack through Fresnel reflections and also to reduce transparent conductor grid visibility, including complete obscuration.
Regarding claim 3, KIM as modified by JEON and Poliakov teaches the touch display device of claim 2,
wherein a refractive index of the fourth insulating layer(910 or 915) corresponds to the refractive index of each of the first to third insulating layers, or lower(1.5) than the refractive index(1.6~1.8) of each of the first(920), second (930) and third (940) insulating layers.
Regarding claim 4, KIM as modified by JEON and Poliakov teaches the touch display device of claim 3, wherein the first, second, third and fourth insulating layers comprise organic insulating material(organic or inorganic polymer solution, Para-56, Poliakov).
10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2015/0185942 A1) in view of JEON et al.(US 2021/ 0335986 A1) and further in view of Choi et al.(US 2021/0126227 A1) (herein after Choi).
Regarding claim 5, KIM as modified by JEON is not found to teach expressly the touch display device of claim 1, wherein the active area of the display panel comprises an emission area and a non-emission area, wherein the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes overlap with the non-emission area.
However, Choi teaches a display device having touch sensing property, wherein the active area of the display panel comprises an emission area(emission region PXA-R, PXA-G, PXA-B, fig.5A) and a non-emission area(non-emission region NPXA-R, NPXA-G, NPXA-B, fig.5A),
wherein the plurality of first touch electrodes and the plurality of second touch electrodes overlap with the non-emission area(Para-172).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM further with the teaching of Choi to include the feature in order to improve viewing angle, color-difference issue and angle characteristics, and avoids unnecessarily obscuring and redundancy.
11. Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2015/0185942 A1), JEON et al.(US 2021/0335986 A1), Poliakov et al.(US 2015/0123911 A1) and further in view of Kwak et al.(US 2019/0377456 A1)(herein after Kwak).
Regarding claim 8, KIM as modified by JEON and Poliakov teaches the touch display device of claim 2, further comprising a fifth insulating layer(1040 top layer, strain resistant coating, fig.10, Poliakov), wherein a refractive index of the fifth insulating layer(1040) is the same as the refractive index of each of the first, second and third insulating layers, or the refractive index(n) of the fifth insulating layer(1040) is lower(n~1.5) than the refractive index of each of the first, second and third insulating layers(1.6~1.8, Poliakov) but fails to disclose that the fifth insulating layer disposed between the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer.
However, Kwak teaches a flexible nanowire touch screen, wherein the fifth insulating layer(film layer 210, fig.2(A), Para-36) disposed between the second insulating layer(222) and the third insulating layer(222).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM further with the teaching of Kwak to include the feature in order to provide a touch screen having
increased efficiency and detection limits for the touch sensor.
Regarding claim 9, KIM as modified by JEON, Poliakov and Kwak teaches the touch display device of claim 8, wherein the first, second and third insulating layers comprise an organic insulating material, and the fifth insulating layer comprises an inorganic insulating material(Para-37, Kwak; organic or inorganic polymer solution, Para-56, Poliakov).
Regarding claim 10, KIM as modified by JEON, Poliakov and Kwak teaches the touch display device of claim 8, further comprising a sixth insulating layer(film layer 214, fig.2(A), Para-37, Kwak) disposed between the first insulating layer(222) and the second insulating layer(222),
wherein a refractive index of the sixth insulating layer corresponds to the refractive index of each of the first, second and third insulating layers, or the refractive index(n6) of the sixth insulating layer is lower(1.5) than the refractive index of each of the first, second and third insulating layers(1.6~1.8, Poliakov)(it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace film layer 214 with the material of hard coat layer 910 using known method and known technology to make the refractive index lower than layer 920, layer 930 or layer 940 to reduce manufacturing cost).
Regarding claim 11, KIM as modified by JEON, Poliakov and Kwak teaches the touch display device of claim 10, wherein the sixth insulating layer comprises an inorganic insulating material(Para-37, Kwak; organic or inorganic polymer solution, Para-56, Poliakov), and the refractive index of the fifth insulating layer and the sixth insulating layer corresponds to each other(since fifth and sixth insulating layers comprise an inorganic insulating material, it is obvious to have same refractive index for the fifth and sixth insulating layers).
12. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2015/0185942 A1) in view of JEON et al.(US 2021/ 0335986 A1) and further in view of Wu et al.(US 2018/0039352 A1) (herein after Wu).
Regarding claim 12, KIM as modified by JEON is not found to teach expressly the touch display device of claim 1, wherein first and second touch electrodes overlapping each other cross at least twice with other adjacent first and second touch electrodes, wherein an opening is provided between crossing points of the first and second touch electrodes and the other adjacent first and second touch electrodes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches a touch display device, wherein first and second touch electrodes overlapping each other cross at least twice with other adjacent first and second touch electrodes, wherein an opening is provided between crossing points of the first and second touch electrodes and the other adjacent first and second touch electrodes(see at least figs.12,15&16 of Wu illustrating the first touch electrode(1520), second touch electrode(1550) overlap each other and opening provided between crossing points and plurality of depressions(1242) overlaps at least one opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, use electrodes of Wu with the device of KIM in order to provide good reliability of touch sensing function in display device.
13. Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al.(US 2015/0185942 A1) in view of JEON et al.(US 2021/0335986 A1) and further in view of KIM et al.(US 2021/0028241 A1) (herein after KIM’241).
Regarding claim 16, KIM as modified by JEON is not found to teach expressly the touch display device of claim 15, further comprising a fifth insulating layer disposed between the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer, wherein the third touch pad electrode is disposed between the second insulating layer and the fifth insulating layer, and the second touch pad electrode is disposed between the fifth insulating layer and the third insulating layer.
However, KIM’241 teaches a touch sensing display device, further comprising a fifth insulating layer(inorganic layer 162, figs.5&17, Para-111) disposed between the second insulating layer(third insulation layer 150, fig.5, Para-76) and the third insulating layer (lower passivation layer 312, fig.5, Para-81),
wherein the third touch pad electrode(CP1b, or CP2b) is disposed between the second insulating layer(150) and the fifth insulating layer(162), and the second touch pad electrode is disposed between the fifth insulating layer(162) and the third insulating layer(312).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified KIM further with the teaching of KIM’241 to include the feature in order to improve reliability of the touch sensing display device.
Regarding claim 17, KIM as modified by JEON and KIM’241 teaches the touch display device of claim 16, wherein the second touch pad electrode is electrically connected to the third touch pad electrode through a third hole(CP1b) in the fifth insulating layer(162, KIM’241).
Regarding claim 18, KIM as modified by JEON and KIM’241 teaches the touch display device of claim 17, wherein the first hole overlaps with the second hole and the third hole(figs.5&17, KIM’241).
Terminal Disclaimer
14. The terminal disclaimer filed on June 12, 2025, disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patents NO. US 11,995,279 B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Note
16. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and
are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply.
In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicants fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as
taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626