DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 9/8/2026. Claims 16-20, 29, and 35 remain pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 17, 20, 29, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mok et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0275303 A1) (hereinafter Mok).
Regarding claim 16, Mok discloses a transceiver for a wireless communication system (Figure 4 and paragraph 0072 disclose an operation method of a terminal (e.g., the terminal 121, the terminal 123, the terminal 125, or the terminal 127) operating as a transmitter),
wherein the transceiver is configured to communicate with at least one other transceiver of the wireless communication system (Figure 1 and paragraph 0050 disclose each of the terminals 121, 123, 125, 127, and 129 is a device used by a user and communicates with the base stations 101 and 102 via wireless channels),
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit a data packet on a component carrier to the other transceiver of the wireless communication system (Paragraph 0015 discloses an apparatus and a method according to various embodiments of the disclosure enable efficient transmission and reception of data packets in a wireless communication system. Figure 4 and paragraph 0075 disclose two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers),
wherein the transceiver is configured to, if a PPPR value associated with said data packet or with data contained in said data packet indicates a high reliability, to re-transmit said data packet at least once on at least one other component carrier (Figure 4 and paragraphs 0073-0075 disclose the second information may be determined based on a required error rate, and may indicate a level of reliability required for each radio bearer or packet. The lower the required error rate of the packet, the higher the level of reliability. Thus, the second information may be determined to be higher. The second information may be referred to as “ProSe reliability per packet (PRPP)”. If the second information is greater than or equal to a specific threshold, the transmitter may determine to perform packet duplication. In step 405, if the transmitter determines to perform packet duplication, the transmitter duplicates one packet and transmits two or more duplicated packets to a receiver. Two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Mok further discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to retransmit said data packet at least once, if the PPPR value indicates a reliability that is equal to or higher than a predefined reliability or threshold (Figure 4 and paragraphs 0073-0075 disclose the second information may be determined based on a required error rate, and may indicate a level of reliability required for each radio bearer or packet. The lower the required error rate of the packet, the higher the level of reliability. Thus, the second information may be determined to be higher. The second information may be referred to as “ProSe reliability per packet (PRPP)”. If the second information is greater than or equal to a specific threshold, the transmitter may determine to perform packet duplication. In step 405, if the transmitter determines to perform packet duplication, the transmitter duplicates one packet and transmits two or more duplicated packets to a receiver. Two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 16 above, Mok further discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to operate using carrier aggregation (Figure 4 and paragraph 0075 disclose two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers).
Regarding claim 29, Mok discloses a method for transmitting data packets in a wireless communication system between at least two transceivers communicating with each other (Figure 1 and paragraph 0050 disclose each of the terminals 121, 123, 125, 127, and 129 is a device used by a user and communicates with the base stations 101 and 102 via wireless channels. Paragraph 0015 discloses an apparatus and a method according to various embodiments of the disclosure enable efficient transmission and reception of data packets in a wireless communication system. Figure 4 and paragraph 0072 disclose an operation method of a terminal (e.g., the terminal 121, the terminal 123, the terminal 125, or the terminal 127) operating as a transmitter), the method comprising:
transmitting a data packet on a component carrier from the transceiver to the other transceiver of the wireless communication system (Paragraph 0015 discloses an apparatus and a method according to various embodiments of the disclosure enable efficient transmission and reception of data packets in a wireless communication system. Figure 4 and paragraph 0075 disclose two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers),
re-transmitting said data packet at least once on at least one other component carrier, if a PPPR value associated with said data packet or with data contained in said data packet indicates a high reliability (Figure 4 and paragraphs 0073-0075 disclose the second information may be determined based on a required error rate, and may indicate a level of reliability required for each radio bearer or packet. The lower the required error rate of the packet, the higher the level of reliability. Thus, the second information may be determined to be higher. The second information may be referred to as “ProSe reliability per packet (PRPP)”. If the second information is greater than or equal to a specific threshold, the transmitter may determine to perform packet duplication. In step 405, if the transmitter determines to perform packet duplication, the transmitter duplicates one packet and transmits two or more duplicated packets to a receiver. Two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers).
Regarding claim 35, as applied to claim 29 above, Mok further discloses non-transitory digital storage medium having stored thereon a computer program for performing the method for transmitting data packets in a wireless communication system according to claim 29, when running on a computer or microprocessor (Paragraph 0238 disclose when the methods are implemented by software, a computer-readable storage medium for storing one or more programs (software modules) may be provided. The one or more programs stored in the computer-readable storage medium may be configured for execution by one or more processors within the electronic device. The at least one program may include instructions that cause the electronic device to perform the methods according to various embodiments of the disclosure as defined by the appended claims and/or disclosed herein).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok in view of Loehr et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0124015 A1) (as disclosed on Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Loehr).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Mok discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the transceiver is served by a central transceiver, for example, a base station, of the wireless communication system, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in LTE V2X mode 3, NR V2X mode 1 or D2D mode 1 in which scheduling of resources for the communication with the at least one other transceiver is performed by the central transceiver.
In analogous art, Loehr discloses wherein the transceiver is served by a central transceiver, for example, a base station, of the wireless communication system, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in LTE V2X mode 3, NR V2X mode 1 or D2D mode 1 in which scheduling of resources for the communication with the at least one other transceiver is performed by the central transceiver (Paragraph 0104 discloses Mode 1 refers to the eNB-scheduled resource allocation mode, where the UE requests transmission resources from the eNB (or Release-10 relay node), and the eNodeB (or Release-10 relay node) in turn schedules the resources used by a UE to transmit direct data and direct control information (e.g. Scheduling Assignment). Figure 11 and paragraph 0262 discloses the transmission layer is responsible for determining whether to use the Mode 1 or Mode 2 resource allocation based on the V2X data; e.g. based on a suitable mapping. In consequence, the transmission layer would then perform the corresponding Mode 1 or Mode 2 resource allocation as determined before, and then proceeds to transmit the V2X data according to the transmission parameters obtained by the resource allocation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate V2X mode 1, where the UE requests transmission resources from the eNB (or Release-10 relay node), and the eNodeB (or Release-10 relay node) in turn schedules the resources used by a UE to transmit, as described in Loehr, with a terminal transmitting packets, as described in Mok, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining V2X mode 1, where the UE requests transmission resources from the eNB (or Release-10 relay node), and the eNodeB (or Release-10 relay node) in turn schedules the resources used by a UE to transmit of Loehr with a terminal transmitting packets of Mok was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Loehr.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Mok and Loehr to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 16 above, Mok discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in V2X Mode 4, NR V2X mode 2 or D2D mode 2, wherein the transceiver is configured to schedule resources for the sidelink communication autonomously.
In analogous art, Loehr discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in V2X Mode 4, NR V2X mode 2 or D2D mode 2, wherein the transceiver is configured to schedule resources for the sidelink communication autonomously (Paragraph 0105 discloses Mode 2 refers to the UE-autonomous resource selection mode, where a UE on its own selects resources (time and frequency) from resource pool(s) to transmit direct data and direct control information (i.e. SA). Figure 11 and paragraph 0262 discloses the transmission layer is responsible for determining whether to use the Mode 1 or Mode 2 resource allocation based on the V2X data; e.g. based on a suitable mapping. In consequence, the transmission layer would then perform the corresponding Mode 1 or Mode 2 resource allocation as determined before, and then proceeds to transmit the V2X data according to the transmission parameters obtained by the resource allocation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate V2X mode 2, where a UE on its own selects resources (time and frequency) from resource pool(s) to transmit, as described in Loehr, with a terminal transmitting packets, as described in Mok, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining V2X mode 2, where a UE on its own selects resources (time and frequency) from resource pool(s) to transmit of Loehr with a terminal transmitting packets of Mok was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Loehr.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Mok and Loehr to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4 and 5 in the Remarks, Applicant argues that Mok does not disclose “the transceiver is configured to, if a PPPR value associated with said data packet or with data contained in said data packet indicates a high reliability, to re-transmit said data packet at least once on at least one other component carrier” of claim 1. Packet duplication and packet re-transmission as defined by claim 1 are technically distinct. This is also confirmed by Mok, which explicitly mentions the difference in the description of Fig. 28, for example, in par. [0212] mentioning a time gap between initial transmission and retransmission.
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Mok does not distinguish between packet duplication and packet re-transmission. In fact, paragraphs 0139-0140 and 0206-0216 of Mok suggest retransmission and duplication are the same. Specifically, paragraph 0140 references “the RLC retransmission method” where the previous paragraph discusses a packet duplication method and no prior reference was made using any variation of the word “retransmission”. Likewise, paragraphs 0206 and 0207 discuss a configuration for packet duplication illustrated in table 1 and paragraphs 0208-0216 using retransmission information. Furthermore, Applicant’s own specification in Figure 5b and at paragraphs 0140-0142 describe packet duplication by retransmitting packets. Therefore, the re-transmitting of data packets in Applicants claims is interpreted to include the packet duplication of Mok.
Mok discloses wherein the transceiver is configured to, if a PPPR value associated with said data packet or with data contained in said data packet indicates a high reliability, to re-transmit said data packet at least once on at least one other component carrier (Figure 4 and paragraphs 0073-0075 disclose the second information may be determined based on a required error rate, and may indicate a level of reliability required for each radio bearer or packet. The lower the required error rate of the packet, the higher the level of reliability. Thus, the second information may be determined to be higher. The second information may be referred to as “ProSe reliability per packet (PRPP)”. If the second information is greater than or equal to a specific threshold, the transmitter may determine to perform packet duplication. In step 405, if the transmitter determines to perform packet duplication, the transmitter duplicates one packet and transmits two or more duplicated packets to a receiver. Two or more duplicated packets may be transmitted through two or more component carriers that perform carrier aggregation (CA). That is, the respective duplicated packets may be transmitted to the receiver through different component carriers).
Consequently, in view of the above reasons and having addressed each of Applicant’s arguments, the previous rejection is maintained and made FINAL by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642