DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 07/09/2026.
3. All the pending claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15-17 are examined herein.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Altman (US 2006/0005151 ).
Altman is directed to Graphical Interface For Adjustment Of Text Selections
As per claim 1, Altman discloses a file editing processing method (flowcharts of Figs. 13 and 14) , comprising:
displaying a target interface, wherein the target interface comprises at least one target object and at least one functional control, and the functional control corresponds to at least one function ([0015] FIG. 1 shows a screen shot 100 of an example embodiment of starting a selection of a block of text data from text data 110 presented in a window of a text application, such as a word processor on a computer display screen of a computer system. Also shown in the screen shot 100, is a pair of drag handles in the form of a downward pointing arrow handle 120 and an upward pointing arrow handle 122, respectively, and a cursor 124 presented in the window of the text application).
receiving a first input for a first control in the at least one functional control ([0016] Further, the pair of drag handles 120 and 122 can be selected and manipulated using a user input device, such as a mouse, joystick, digitizing tablet, electronic stylus, touch screen, voice activated device, trackball and the like);
in response to the first input, displaying a target icon and continuously updating a display position of the target[0018] Referring now to FIG. 2, there is illustrated a screen shot 200 of selecting the placed downward pointing arrow handle 122 and repositioning the downward pointing arrow handle 122 to left of the first endpoint 126. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that while repositioning the downward pointing arrow handle 122 to the left of the first end point 126, the selected block of text data 210 is displayed in a first contrasting highlight; also see Figs. 3-12). and
in a case that the target icon at least partially overlaps with a first object in the at least one target object while the dragging input continues, setting the first object according to the function corresponding to the target icon ([0021] Referring now to FIG. 5, there is illustrated a screen shot 500 of selecting the upward pointing arrow handle 122 using the text selection cursor 330 placed at the upward pointing arrow handle 122 to start the process of repositioning the upward pointing arrow handle 122 to make a new block of text data selection. It can be seen that the selected block of text data 310 changes to the first contrasting highlight, in this case white-on-black, to indicate that the selected block of text data is being changed by repositioning of the upward pointing arrow handle 122 upon positioning the text selection cursor 330 at the upward pointing arrow handle 122 and selecting the upward pointing arrow handle 122. also see Figs. 2-4 and 6-12).
wherein the first control corresponds to a marking function, and after the updating a display position of the target icon ([0017] As shown in the screen shot 100, the selection of the block of text data is started by positioning the cursor 124 at a first endpoint 126 of the block of text data to be selected and selecting the cursor position at the first endpoint 126 using the user input device to place the downward pointing arrow handle 120 and the upward pointing arrow handle 122 at the first endpoint 126 of the block of text data to be selected; also see Figs. 2-12), the method further comprises:
in a case that the display position of the target icon is at a target position of the target object upon release of the dragging input, displaying a persistent marker at the target position; ([0018] Referring now to FIG. 2, there is illustrated a screen shot 200 of selecting the placed downward pointing arrow handle 122 and repositioning the downward pointing arrow handle 122 to left of the first endpoint 126. It can be seen in FIG. 2 that while repositioning the downward pointing arrow handle 122 to the left of the first end point 126, the selected block of text data 210 is displayed in a first contrasting highlight. Also see the highlighted or marked block of text data in Figs. 3-12 ); wherein
the persistent marker is used to divide context, and the persistent marker is also used to indicate at least one of the following information: time of inserting the persistent marker; a position of inserting the persistent marker; or a position of the persistent marker in the target interface (see the highlighted or marked positions 210, 310, 1010, or 1110 of block of text data in Figs. 2-12).
As per claim 2, Altman further discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the target object comprises N objects, the target interface further comprises N identifiers corresponding respectively to the N objects, and after the displaying a target interface (0016] It can be envisioned that the pair of drag handles 120 and 122 can be any pointing symbols that provides a cue to a computer user that they can be individually manipulated. As explained above, the pair of drag handles 120 and 122 is interface adjustment elements that can be displayed on the computer display screen of the computer system. Further, the pair of drag handles 120 and 122 can be selected and manipulated using a user input device, such as a mouse, joystick, digitizing tablet, electronic stylus, touch screen, voice activated device, trackball and the like, the method further comprises:
receiving a second input for a target identifier in the N identifiers (e.g., selecting drag handle 120 in Figs. 1-12) and in response to the second input, adjusting an object corresponding to the target identifier to be in a target state; wherein in a case that the object is in the target state, the object is editable ([0029] From the above screen shots 1-12 it can be clearly seen that the pair of drag handles 120 and 122 placed at first and second endpoints, 124 and 126, respectively, can be individually manipulated by using the text control cursor 330 to adjust the selected block of text data 310 to new blocks of text data 610 and 1110. Also, it can be seen from the screen shots shown in FIGS. 8-11 that the selected block of text data 610 can be adjusted by repositioning just the first endpoint 126 to a new position 1120 without having to manipulate the second endpoint 620)
.
As per claim 3, Altman further discloses that the method according to claim 2, wherein after the adjusting an object corresponding to the target identifier to be in a target state (for example as shown in Fig. 3 it can be seen that the selected block of text data 310 changes to the first contrasting highlight, in this case white-on-black, to indicate that the selected block of text data is being changed by repositioning of the upward pointing arrow handle 122 upon positioning the text selection cursor 330 at the upward pointing arrow handle 122 and selecting the upward pointing arrow handle 122), the method further comprises:
receiving a third input for the target identifier; and in response to the third input, displaying related information of the object corresponding to the target identifier (Fig. 1 illustrated the first input and Fig. 2 illustrates the second dragging input from the user , and Fig. 3 illustrated the third dragging input applied on the portion of the displayed object or target object. Also see [0019]).
As per electronic device claims 6-8, Kotler further discloses electronic device (computing device 800, Fig. 8), the limitations of the electronic device claims are similar to that of method claims 1-3, respectively, thus clams 6-8, are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims.
As per non-transitory readable storage medium claims 11-13, Kotler further discloses electronic device (computing device 800, with system memory 604, Fig.8), the limitations of the storage medium claims are similar to that of method claims 1-3, respectively, thus clams 11-13 are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims.
As per claim 16, Kotler further discloses electronic device a chip (which includes at least one processing unit 802 and system memory 804. Fig. 8) , wherein the chip comprises a processor (processing unit 802) and a communication interface (communication connection(s) 818) , the communication interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to execute a program or instructions to implement the steps of the file editing processing method according to claim 1 (see Fig. 8).
As per claim 17, Kotler further discloses a computer program product (program modules, application, context menu module and detection module, stored in system memory of Fig. 8) wherein the computer program product is stored in a non-transient storage medium (Fig. 8) , and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the file editing processing method according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 5, 10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174