Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al., United States Patent Publication 2024/0153441 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Claim 1:
Kim discloses:
An analysis method for an image data under pressure, comprising:
inputting an image (see paragraph [0053]). Kim teaches inputting an image;
transforming the image into a grayscale image (see paragraphs [0055]-[0058], [0063]). Kim teaches transforming the image into grayscale;
clustering each pixel of the grayscale image to obtain a plurality of image data groups (see paragraphs [0007], [0063] and [0086]). Kim teaches clustering the pixels into groups;
determining a pressure state of the image according to the plurality of image data groups (see paragraph [0007] and [0086]). Kim teaches determining the pressure of the image groups; and
determining an area under pressure of the image according to the pressure state of the image (see paragraph [0007] and [0090]-[0091]). Kim teaches determining the pressure values for each group to determine value represents under stress.
Claim 4:
Kim discloses:
wherein each pixel of the grayscale image respectively belongs to an image data group of the plurality of image data groups (see paragraph [0007). Kim teaches each pixel belongs to a pixel group.
Claims 6, 9:
Although Claim 6 and 9 are system claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claims 1 and 4, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Doppler et al., United States Patent Publication 2015/0262367 (hereinafter “Doppler”).
Claim 2:
Kim fails to expressly determining centerpoints of image groups and adjusting.
Doppler discloses:
wherein the step of clustering each pixel of the grayscale image to obtain a plurality of image data groups comprises:
randomly determining a first center point of the plurality of image data groups (see paragraph [0027]). Doppler teaches determining the pixel as the center and later correcting;
determining center points of other image data groups of the plurality of image data groups according to a plurality of distances between the first center point and other pixels of the image (see paragraph [0028]). Doppler teaches determining center points in the image groups based on the distances;
updating the center point of each group of the plurality of image data groups (see paragraph [0028]). Doppler teaches updating the center points based on the calculated centers;
determining whether the center point of each group converges or not (see paragraph [0028]). Doppler teaches determining whether the center point converges; and
determining the plurality of image data groups when the center point of each group conforms to a convergence condition (see paragraph [0028]). Doppler teaches updates repeatedly until the error converges between the center and the adjusted center.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include determining and adjusting a center pixel of a pixel group for the purpose of efficiently processing images and pixels, as taught by Doppler.
Claim 3:
Kim fails to expressly determining centerpoints of image groups and adjusting.
Doppler discloses:
wherein the center point of each group of the plurality of image data groups is updated according to an iteration method (see paragraph [0028]). Doppler teaches updates repeatedly until the error converges between the center and the adjusted center.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include determining and adjusting a center pixel of a pixel group for the purpose of efficiently processing images and pixels, as taught by Doppler.
Claim 5:
Kim fails to expressly determining centerpoints of image groups and adjusting.
Doppler discloses:
wherein the convergence condition is when the center point of each cluster stays unchanged or when a maximal iteration amount is satisfied, wherein the maximal iteration amount relates to a sum of squared distances between each pixel of the grayscale image and corresponding center point (see paragraph [0028]). Doppler teaches updates repeatedly until the error converges between the center and the adjusted center. When the error converges equates to the center of the cluster being unchanged.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Kim to include determining and adjusting a center pixel of a pixel group for the purpose of efficiently processing images and pixels, as taught by Doppler.
Claims 7, 8, 10:
Although Claims 7, 8 and 10 are system claims, they are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as the method of Claims 2, 3, 5, respectively.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 5/30/26