DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I(A), II(A), and III(A) in the reply filed on 11 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8, 11-13, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 March 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 November 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, “The motor drive control method according to claim 1, determining that” should be replaced by -- The motor drive control method according to claim 1, wherein determining that --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 5-6, “when the program instructions being executed” is not grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required. Also, the Examiner suggests making reference to the image-forming apparatus in the implementation of the method steps by, for example, amending the limitation to recite -- the program instructions, when executed, causing the image-forming apparatus to: -- (or any variation along those lines.)
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “a device” should be replaced by -- an image-forming device -- to avoid lack of clarity issues. Please note that the claim recites a motor drive control method of an image-forming apparatus, and further limits said image-forming apparatus, so it makes sense that the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is located in the image forming apparatus, and not a separate device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Both claims recite the limitation "motors" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the claims they depend on recite a single motor. Also note that the claims then recite “the motor” in line 6, further making the claims indefinite, since it is not clear if it’s referring to the “first motor” that is part of the “motors” as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kurita (US 2023/0072520.)
Regarding claim 1,
Kurita discloses a motor drive control method of an image-forming apparatus [100 in fig. 1], wherein the image-forming apparatus includes a medium-conveying part [10 / 20 / 30 / 40 in fig. 2; paragraphs 0019-0023] and a motor [62 in fig. 3] configured to provide a driving force for the medium-conveying part [paragraph 0032], the method comprising:
before the medium-conveying part conveys a medium, executing a first control strategy to control the motor to rotate at a target rotation speed [“first parameter control”; paragraph 0039-0040]; and
when the medium-conveying part conveys the medium, switching to execute a second control strategy to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium [“second parameter control”; paragraph 0041; also, please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 2,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
the first control strategy is configured to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed based on a first parameter, and the second control strategy is configured to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium based on a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is different from the second parameter [paragraphs 0039-0041.]
Regarding claim 4,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
the image-forming apparatus includes at least two medium-conveying parts [10 / 20 / 30 / 40 in fig. 2], and motors [see 112 Rejection above] include a first motor [62 in fig. 3] configured to provide a driving force for the at least two medium-conveying parts [paragraphs 0030-0032], and
executing the second control strategy to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium at the target rotation speed includes:
controlling the motor to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium at the target rotation speed based on a plurality of different second parameters [since there’s a plurality of rollers 10 / 20 / 30 / 40], wherein:
when each of the at least two medium-conveying parts starts conveying the medium, the motor is controlled to rotate at the target rotation speed based on different second parameters corresponding to different medium-conveying parts [please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 5,
Kurita further discloses the motor drive control method further including:
after determining that the medium-conveying part starts conveying the medium and a preset time has passed, switching to execute the first control strategy to control the motor to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium [paragraphs 0051-0054.]
Regarding claim 6,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
when types of medium-conveying parts are different, or medium sizes are different, corresponding preset time lengths are different [please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 9,
Kurita further discloses determining that the medium-conveying part starts conveying the medium includes:
determining that the medium-conveying part starts conveying the medium based on a medium conveying command sent by the image-forming apparatus [paragraphs 0050-0051.]
Regarding claim 10,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
the image-forming apparatus further includes a clutch part [65 66 in fig. 3] configured to transmit or cut off the driving force provided by the motor to the medium-conveying part [paragraphs 0033-0035]; and
determining that the medium-conveying part starts conveying the medium based on a medium conveying command includes determining that the medium-conveying part starts conveying the medium based on a clutch close signal [paragraphs 0033-0035 and 0051.]
Regarding claim 14,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
a type of the medium-conveying part includes at least one of a paper feeding roller [20 in fig. 2], a conveying roller [30 in fig. 2], a correction roller, a transferring roller, a fixing roller, and a discharging roller [please note that only one option is needed for the limitation to be met as written; also note that the different types of rollers claimed do not unambiguously differ from one another according to the claimed formulation (e.g. no clear difference can be identified between "a paper feeding roller" and "a conveying roller".)]
Regarding claim 15,
Kurita discloses a motor drive controller of an image-forming apparatus [100 in fig. 1], wherein the image-forming apparatus includes a medium-conveying part [10 / 20 / 30 / 40 in fig. 2; paragraphs 0019-0023], and a motor [62 in fig. 3] configured to provide a driving force for the medium-conveying part [paragraph 0032], comprising:
a memory storing program instructions [paragraph 0029]; and
a processor [60 in fig. 3] communicatively coupled to the memory [paragraph 0029] and, when the program instructions being executed, configured to:
before the medium-conveying part conveys a medium, execute a first control strategy to control the motor to rotate at a target rotation speed [“first parameter control”; paragraph 0039-0040]; and
when the medium-conveying part conveys the medium, switch to execute a second control strategy to control the motor to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium at the target rotation speed [“second parameter control”; paragraph 0041; also, please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 16,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
the first control strategy is configured to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed based on a first parameter, and the second control strategy is configured to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium based on a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is different from the second parameter [paragraphs 0039-0041.]
Regarding claim 18,
Kurita further discloses wherein:
the image-forming apparatus includes at least two medium-conveying parts [10 / 20 / 30 / 40 in fig. 2], and motors [see 112 Rejection above] include a first motor [62 in fig. 3] configured to provide a driving force for the at least two medium-conveying parts [paragraphs 0030-0032], and
the processor is further configured to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium at the target rotation speed based on a plurality of different second parameters [since there’s a plurality of rollers 10 / 20 / 30 / 40], wherein:
when each of the at least two medium-conveying parts starts conveying the medium, the motor is controlled to rotate at the target rotation speed based on different second parameters corresponding to different medium-conveying parts [please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.]
Regarding claim 20,
Kurita discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium containing a stored program [paragraph 0029], that when being executed, causes a device where the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is located to execute a motor drive control method of an image-forming apparatus [100 in fig. 1], wherein the image-forming apparatus includes a medium-conveying part [10 / 20 / 30 / 40 in fig. 2; paragraphs 0019-0023], and a motor [62 in fig. 3] configured to provide a driving force for the medium-conveying part [paragraph 0032], the method comprising:
before the medium-conveying part conveys a medium, executing a first control strategy to control the motor to rotate at a target rotation speed [“first parameter control”; paragraph 0039-0040]; and
when the medium-conveying part conveys the medium, switching to execute a second control strategy to control the motor to rotate at the target rotation speed to drive the medium-conveying part to convey the medium [“second parameter control”; paragraph 0041; also, please note that since the claim is defined by a conditional limitation (by "when”), the claim requirements are met at least when the condition is not satisfied.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita.
Regarding claims 3 and 17,
Kurita discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein:
a speed adjustment unit [60 in fig. 3] is disposed inside the image-forming apparatus and configured to eliminate a deviation between current rotation speed and the target rotation speed of the motor [paragraph 0030.]
Kurita fails to expressly disclose wherein:
an adjustment strength of the speed adjustment unit to the rotation speed of the motor under the first parameter is less than an adjustment strength of the speed adjustment unit to the rotation speed of the motor under the second parameter.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to having a lower adjustment strength of a motor speed adjusting unit under a first parameter compared to it under a second parameter, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One would have been motivated to optimize an adjustment strength of the speed adjustment unit for the purpose of ensure rotational stability and prevent speed oscillation.
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853