DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 19 includes a sentence missing a period near the middle of the page before “A vent 250”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2-14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Each of claims 2-7 and 9-13 should add a comma at the end of their preamble to separate the claim dependency from the body of the claim
Claim 2, Ln. 2 recites “the undertaking” which should read “an undertaking” as it is a first introduction
Claim 2, Ln. 2 recites “while present therein said room” which should read “while present in said room”
Claim 2, Ln. 2-3 recites “said room” which should read “said sealable and enclosable room” for consistency with claims 1 and 2
Claim 2, Ln. 3 recites “oxygen enriched” which should read “oxygen-enriched” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 4, Ln. 1-2 recites “an oxygen-enriched atmosphere” which should read “the oxygen-enriched atmosphere” following after claim 1
Claim 4, Ln. 2 recites “said partial pressure” which should read “said partial pressure of oxygen” following after claim 1
Claims 5-6 each begin “The room” which should read “The sealable and enclosable room” for consistency with claim 1
Claim 8, Ln. 4 recites “the flow of oxygen” which should read “a flow of oxygen” as it is a first introduction
Claim 8, Ln. 7 recites “the oxygen level” which should read “an oxygen level” as it is a first introduction
Claim 8, Ln. 8 recites “the partial pressure of oxygen” which should read “a partial pressure of oxygen” as it is a first introduction
Claim 11, Ln. 2 recites “the other gases” which should read “other gases” as it is a first introduction
Claim 14, Ln. 11-12 recites “said sealed oxygen-enriched atmosphere exercise room” which should read “said sealed exercise room” for consistency
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lacks a transitional phrase to separate the preamble of the claim from the body of the claim. The metes and bounds of the claim are thus unclear as the claim fails to clearly define how the breadth of the claim should be interpreted as either open, semi-open or closed (see MPEP 2111.02). Applicant is suggested to add a transitional phrase which suitably captures the intended scope of the claim (e.g. “comprising”).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “filled and maintained with an oxygen-enriched atmosphere through controlled operation of oxygen concentration” in Ln. 1-2 which deems the claim indefinite. The claim recites a function, i.e. maintaining a particular oxygen concentration, without reciting any structure to perform the function. An apparatus claim is improper when it attempts to define the apparatus by what it does rather than what it is (see MPEP 2173.05(g)). It appears the claim should be amended to add at least an oxygen concentrator and possibly also a sensor to detect a current oxygen concentration. The claim will be interpreted as presented for the time being.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “an oxygen enriched atmosphere of at least said partial pressure level at sea level” in Ln. 3 which deems the claim indefinite. It is initially unclear why the limitation does not begin “the oxygen-enriched atmosphere” when following after claim 1. Additionally, the limitation recites “said partial pressure level at sea level” without indicating what gas the partial pressure is in relation to. The terminology “partial pressure” must refer to a singular type of gas. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the oxygen-enriched atmosphere of at least said partial pressure of oxygen at sea level”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the subject room” in Ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “the exercise room” for consistency with claim 8. The same change should also be made in Ln. 3 of the claim.
In claim 12 the phrasing “excessive leakage of oxygen or entrance of outside air” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “excessive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The claim will generally be examined as presenting a barrier to oxygen leakage or outside air entrance, but the degree of that barrier cannot be specifically considered to be limited by the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “operating said oxygen concentrator … at a partial pressure of oxygen at a level higher than 21.2 kPa” in Ln. 5-6 which deems the claim indefinite. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation “a partial pressure of oxygen at a level higher than 21.2 kPa” and claim 8 also recites “the partial pressure of oxygen in said exercise room is controlled to be more than 25 kPa and less than 200 kPa” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. While recognizing that claims 8 and 14 are drawn to different statutory categories the broader oxygen partial pressure range recited by claim 14 renders the claim indefinite as it appears to indicate the system should be operated outside of the bounds established of the system recited in claim 8. It is suggested to amend claim 14 to be consistent with the oxygen partial pressure range recited in claim 8.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “said at least one an oxygen sensor” in Ln. 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 has recited at least one sensor but not expressly recited that sensor(s) as an oxygen sensor. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “said at least one sensor” for consistency with claim 8. The same change should also be made in Ln. 3 of the claim.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “device for controlled delivery of an oxygen-enriched atmosphere exhibiting said partial pressure greater than 21.2 kPa at sea level” in claim 4 and “system to mix the oxygen with other gases within said exercise room” in claim 11.
The corresponding structure for the “device for controlled delivery of an oxygen-enriched atmosphere exhibiting said partial pressure greater than 21.2 kPa at sea level” is best understood from the specification as at least: oxygen concentrator 180.
The corresponding structure for the “means for entering and exiting said exercise room” is best understood from the specification as at least: curtains or other soft air-blocking materials which can be pushed aside to enter (e.g. ¶0042 of the PGPub copy of the instant application).
The corresponding structure for the “system to mix the oxygen with other gases within said exercise room” is best understood from the specification as at least: a fan or blower (e.g. ¶0037 of the PGPub copy of the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kutt et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0035927).
Regarding claim 1, Kutt discloses a sealable and enclosable room (Fig. 4 #50; ¶¶0045, 0181-0226) filled and maintained with an oxygen-enriched atmosphere through controlled operation of oxygen concentration therein at a partial pressure of oxygen gas greater than 21.2 kPa at sea level (¶0226 – 25% oxygen is greater than sea level).
Regarding claim 2, Kutt discloses a method utilizing said sealable and enclosable room of claim 1 (see above) by at least one individual (¶0034 – for athletic training), said method including an undertaking of physical exertion activity while present in said room with the oxygen-enriched atmosphere of at least said partial pressure of oxygen gas at sea level (¶0034 – for athletic training at low altitude).
Regarding claim 3, Kutt discloses physical exertion by at least two people individually or in tandem within said sealable and enclosable room (¶0331 – multiple occupants).
Regarding claim 4, Kutt discloses a device (Fig. 4 oxygen concentrator; ¶¶0036, 0183) for controlled delivery of an oxygen-enriched atmosphere exhibiting said partial pressure greater than 21.2 kPa at sea level (¶0226 – 25% oxygen is greater than sea level), wherein said oxygen-enriched atmosphere is controlled through manual operation or automatically through oxygen sensor-controlled operation (e.g. ¶¶0206, 0211 – operation of oxygen concentrator regulated based on O2 level).
Regarding claim 6, Kutt discloses at least two manners of ingress/egress (¶0172 – multiple hoses for ingress/egress of different gases).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutt et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0035927) in view of Fukushima (U.S. Pub. 2011/0146687).
Regarding claim 5, Kutt is silent as to exercise equipment. Kutt is silent as to what type of exercise is performed by the athlete training in the CMR 50.
Fukushima teaches an exercise facility (Fig. 1 #100) in which oxygen delivery is supplied (¶0034) and which includes exercise equipment (Fig. 1 #210; ¶0037) for users. Fukushima teaches exercise equipment as allowing a user to perform particular physical training activity while receiving an oxygen supply (¶0008). Further, it is noted that Kutt discusses an interest in the training regimen of cyclists which would have obviously suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art placing a riding cycle within the CMR 50 of Kutt.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Kutt exercise equipment in order to provide the benefit of allowing a user to perform particular physical training activity while receiving an oxygen supply in view of Fukushima. Alternately, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Kutt exercise equipment in order to provide the benefit of assisting in the training regimen of cyclists as a suggested interest of Kutt.
Claim(s) 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutt et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0035927).
Regarding claim 7, Kutt fails to explicitly disclose the partial pressure of oxygen is more than 25 kPa and less than 100 kPa.
However, Kutt teaches providing oxygen at 25% in high oxygen mode (¶0226). At sea level 25% oxygen corresponds to 25.3 kPa, which satisfies the claimed requirements of being more than 25 kPa.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Kutt the partial pressure of oxygen is more than 25 kPa and less than 100 kPa as operation of the room of Kutt in its high oxygen mode of 25% oxygen when used at sea level equipment will correspond to the partial pressure of oxygen being 25.3 kPa.
Regarding claim 8, Kutt discloses a system (Fig. 4 #50; ¶¶0045, 0181-0226) for delivering and controlling an oxygen-enriched atmosphere within an exercise room (Fig. 4 #50; ¶¶0045, 0181-0226) suitable for exercise comprising: an oxygen concentrator (Fig. 4; ¶¶0036, 0183); a valve (¶¶0098, 0117-0118 – solenoid switch operates as a valve) to control a flow of oxygen from the oxygen concentrator to said exercise room; a distribution system (Fig. 4 fan; ¶¶0042, 0098-0099 – fan or blower), to distribute oxygen to various parts of said exercise room; at least one door (¶0337) or other means for entering and exiting said exercise room; and at least one sensor (¶0039) in said exercise room to determine an oxygen level therein, wherein a partial pressure of oxygen in said exercise room is controlled (¶0226 – 25% oxygen in high oxygen mode)
Kutt fails to explicitly disclose the partial pressure of oxygen is controlled to be more than 25 kPa and less than 200 kPa.
However, Kutt teaches providing oxygen at 25% in high oxygen mode (¶0226). At sea level 25% oxygen corresponds to 25.3 kPa, which satisfies the claimed requirements of being more than 25 kPa.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have specified in Kutt the partial pressure of oxygen is more than 25 kPa and less than 200 kPa as operation of the room of Kutt in its high oxygen mode of 25% oxygen when used at sea level equipment will correspond to the partial pressure of oxygen being 25.3 kPa.
Regarding claim 9, Kutt further teaches said oxygen concentrator utilizes a pressure swing adsorption process for production of a stream of oxygen rich gas and a stream of nitrogen rich gas (¶0090).
Regarding claim 10, Kutt further teaches said valve to control the flow of oxygen from the oxygen concentrator to the exercise room also includes a valve to control the flow of nitrogen from the oxygen concentrator to the exercise room (¶0090 – removes nitrogen in high oxygen mode). One of ordinary skill in the art would have obviously expected that the teaching of a solenoid to regulate flow into the CMR 50 would also suggest a solenoid to regulate flow out of the CMR 50, such as the intended outflow of nitrogen during high oxygen mode.
Regarding claim 11, Kutt further teaches said distribution system comprises a system to mix the oxygen with other gases within said exercise room (Fig. 4 fan; ¶¶0042, 0098-0099 – fan or blower). A fan or blower is a match to the disclosed “system to mix …,” as noted in the above 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation section.
Regarding claim 12, Kutt further teaches said at least one door or other means for entering and exiting the room exhibits adequate sealing to prevent excessive leakage of oxygen or entrance of outside air (¶0337 – various door seals).
Regarding claim 13, Kutt further teaches multiple sensors to determine the oxygen level within said exercise room are present (¶0180 – more than one oxygen sensor can be provided).
Regarding claim 14, Kutt further teaches a process for undertaking exercise or other physical exertion activity within the exercise room (¶0034 – for athletic training) provided within the system of claim 8 (see above), comprising the steps of: providing said exercise room (Fig. 4); sealing said exercise room to prevent gas ingress and egress upon sealing (¶¶0034, 0337); operating said oxygen concentrator to generate said oxygen-enriched atmosphere within said exercise room at a partial pressure of oxygen at a level higher than 21.2 kPa through operation of said valve (¶¶0117-0118, 0226 – 25% oxygen is greater than sea level); monitoring said at least one sensor for ensuring said oxygen-enriched atmosphere is retained within said sealed exercise room (¶¶0100-0105, 0180); and undertaking exercise or other physical exertion activity within said sealed exercise room (¶0034 – for athletic training).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references. Particular note is additionally drawn to the following references:
Paul (FR 2660548 A1; Figs. 1 & 3) which teaches exercise equipment within a hyperbaric cabin provided with oxygen – oxygen within a hyperbaric environment will result in the oxygen being provided at a partial pressure above sea level
Wasastjerna et al. (U.S. Patent 5860857; Fig. 1) which teaches oxygen supplied to a sports/exercise facility in certain situations at 30-40% (Col. 2, Ln. 17-20)
Spiegel et al. (EP 1574195 A2; Figs. 1-3) which teaches closed room 1 provided with oxygen-enriched atmosphere of 24-28% by volume %
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785