DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an electric heating element” in claims 2-3, 6-7.
After reviewing the specification, electric heating element is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claim limitation “electric heating element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claim invokes 112f as it recites the functional language of “heating” and the generic placeholder of “element” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what structure constitutes the limitation and what is performing the functions of the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0309069).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a thermal circuit for a battery-electric motor vehicle (see Title, Abstract), the thermal circuit comprising:
a first partial circuit for a high-voltage battery (defined as the circuit indicated by 20, see 24, Fig. 1, paragraph [0060]);
a second partial circuit for a chiller (30, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0051], the partial circuit defined as the 30 is positioned on);
a third partial circuit (10, Fig. 1) for at least one electric drive machine (15, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0056]); and
a fourth partial circuit (40, Fig. 1, paragraph [0075]) for an air conditioner of a refrigerant circuit for a transport compartment (50, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0077]-[0078]),
wherein some of the partial circuits comprises a pump (14, 22, Fig. 1, paragraph [0062]) and a temperature control medium (see paragraph [0062]) which is configured to be circulated by the pump within a respective partial circuit sealed off from at least one of the other partial circuits (see Fig. 1), and
wherein at least two of the partial circuits can be connected to each other in a mixable manner by at least one mixing valve (V2, Fig. 1, paragraph [0060]).
Kim does not teach that each partial circuit comprises a pump. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Kim with each partial circuit having a pump, as it has been held that a mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein the partial circuits that can be connected to each other in a mixable manner share at least one of the following: the chiller of the second partial circuit, an air heat exchanger (12, Fig. 1, paragraph [0055]), an expansion tank (16, Fig. 1, paragraph [0071]), and an electric heating element (see 26, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first partial circuit or the second partial circuit or a connection section between the first partial circuit and the second partial circuit further comprises: an electric heating element (see 26, paragraph [0075]), and/or an on-board charger (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 4, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein the temperature control medium is a dielectric liquid and at least one of the following is immersion tempered: the at least one electric drive machine (see paragraph [0059] which notes the drive machine is cooled by coolant);
the high voltage battery, at least one pulse inverter for one of the at least one drive machines, an on-board charger, and a step-up converter (the following limitations are not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein the chiller interacts with the refrigerant circuit for the transport compartment, for retempering and the refrigerant circuit is in air-heat exchange with the fourth partial circuit for the air conditioner of the transport compartment (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein by a first of the at least one mixing valves, at least two of the following operating states and a mixing of the partial circuits according to the operating states can be set:
a closed first partial circuit exclusively via the high-voltage battery (see Fig. 4);
a closed first partial circuit exclusively via the high-voltage battery and an electric heating element (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative); and
a common circuit of the first partial circuit and the second partial circuit (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein by a second one of the at least one mixing valves, at least two of the following operating states and a mixing of the partial circuits according to the individual operating states can be set:
a closed second partial circuit exclusively via the chiller (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative);
a closed second partial circuit exclusively via the chiller and an electric heating element (see Fig. 4); and
a common circuit of the first partial circuit and the second partial circuit (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein, by a third one of the at least one mixing valves, at least two of the following operating conditions and a mixture of the partial circuits according to the individual operating conditions can be set:
a closed third partial circuit exclusively via the at least one electric drive machine (Fig. 7);
a closed third partial circuit exclusively via the at least one electric drive machine and an air heat exchanger (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative); and
a common circuit from the third partial circuit to the first partial circuit and/or the second partial circuit (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified teaches the thermal circuit according to claim 1, wherein by a fourth of the at least one mixing valves at least one of the following operating states and a mixing of the partial circuits according to the individual operating states can be set:
a closed fourth partial circuit exclusively via the air conditioner (see Fig. 3); and
a common circuit of the fourth partial circuit with the third partial circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified teaches a motor vehicle having an electrified drive (see at least paragraph [0003]), comprising a transport compartment and the thermal circuit according to claim 1 for tempering the electrified drive and the transport compartment (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrified engine comprises:
at least one electric drive machine (15, Fig. 1, see paragraph [0056]);
at least one high-voltage battery for supplying an electrical power current to the at least one electric drive machine (24, Fig. 1, paragraph [0051]); and
at least one propulsion wheel for propelling the motor vehicle using a torque output of the at least one electric drive machine (inherently required for a vehicular system).
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763