Status of Claims
2. This communication is responsive to the amendment filed on December 05, 2025. Claims 6-14 were previously withdrawn. Claims 1 and 4-5 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
3. The IDSs submitted on 09/18/25 and 12/18/25 have been entered and considered by the Examiner.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
4. With respect to the objections and rejections (112b) of the previous Office Action, mailed on 09/05/25, have been withdrawn due to proper amendments and/or persuasive arguments.
In response to Applicant’s arguments (103 rejections), see pages 9-14, with regard to independent claims and their dependent claims filed on 12/05/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to Applicant's argument that the reference fails to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “simultaneous operating data links”, “a data links refers to a transmission connection between a transmitter output interface and a receiver” and “parallel structure and cross-coupling”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that the filter (540) of the Beyer reference is not coupled to a second output interface as claimed because there is no second output interface. Examiner respectfully disagrees because as pointed out in the previous rejection Beyer’s Lowpass Filter (Figure 5, Block 540) couped to a second output interface Up-converter (Figure 5, Block 575).
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive as the cited references disclose all the limitations as claimed in claims 1-3, thus the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beyer (US 2006/0067429 A1 –Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 1, Beyer teaches a transmission system (Figure 5) comprising: a first transmitter (Figure 5: 500 “OFDM Baseband Transmitter Unit”) coupled to a first output interface for a first data link (Figure 5: 525 “Up-converter (10MHz)”); a second transmitter (Figure 5: 545 “CCK Baseband Transmitter Unit”) coupled to a second output interface for a second data link (Figure 5: 575 “Up-converter (7MHz/8MHz)”); and a multiplexer circuit (Figure 5: 530 “Multiplexer”) configured to switch a signal derived from a first data signal generated by the first transmitter (Paragraph 55: the multiplexer 530 forwards either the signal provided by the upconverter 525 or the signal provided by the upconverter 575) to a filter circuit (Figure 5: 540 “Lowpass Filter”), the filter circuit being coupled to the second output interface (Figure 5: 540 “Lowpass Filter” & 575 “Up-converter (7MHz/8MHz)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
I. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
II. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
III. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
IV. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
9. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer and in view of Song (US 2016/0065395 A1 –Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 2, although Beyer teaches the transmission system of claim 1, Beyer does not explicitly disclose wherein the filter circuit comprises a variable filter characteristic. In a related field of endeavor, Song discloses wherein the filter circuit comprises a variable filter characteristic (Figure 2A: 205, Figure 3: 305 “OMUX”, 310 “Per-bit switcher” & Paragraph 53: if the central filter 215 is a high-pass filter, then the composite filter 205 will be a low-pass filter, and if the central filter 215 is a low-pass filter, then the composite filter 205 will be a high-pass filter, and if the central filter is a low-pass filter with a lowest-frequency pole at a frequency fp, then the composite filter will be a band-pass filter). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beyer’s filter to include a variable filter as in Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide equalization, Paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Beyer and Song teaches the transmission system of claim 2. In addition, Song discloses wherein the filter circuit comprises a high pass characteristic (Figure 2A: 205, Figure 3: 305 “OMUX”, 310 “Per-bit switcher” & Paragraph 53: if the central filter 215 is a high-pass filter, then the composite filter 205 will be a low-pass filter, and if the central filter 215 is a low-pass filter, then the composite filter 205 will be a high-pass filter, and if the central filter is a low-pass filter with a lowest-frequency pole at a frequency fp, then the composite filter will be a band-pass filter).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, SAM K. AHN can be reached on (571) 272-3044. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SHAWKAT M ALI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633