Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112, the amendments were not successful in overcoming the rejections. For claims 7 and 9, the wording is a little clearer but the issue remains as restated below. The claim is unnecessarily wordy and makes the intentions confusing. The examiner recommends more succinct language such as: “further comprising determining a polynomial regression function through regression analysis as the computer implemented regression function”. For claim 16, the extra limitation is not helpful in clarifying the limitation.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments regarding Sevick-Muraca failing to disclose a time-dependent measurement, the examiner disagrees. Sevick-Muraca U.S. Patent #5,818,583 discloses over and over again in the specification details regarding a modulated intensity (Col.4, l 23-27, Col.6, l 12-23, l 60-65), wherein modulation implies a time component, and refers to time-dependent or time-varying light measurement (Col.9, l 5-9, Col.4, l 14-18, Col.15, l 33-36, l 39-45, Claim 1).
The applicant argues on page 9 that although Sevick-Muraca discloses using a time-varying intensity, the scattering signal is not measured “over a period of time”. The examiner disagrees. Sevick-Muraca as disclosed above and below discloses a time varying intensity, modulated light, and measured values as a function of time. Beginning at the bottom of Col.16 into Col.17 or Sevick-Muraca, taking many measurements over the course of time as the modulation frequencies change is discussed in detail. Although, Sevick-Muraca fails to use the phrase “over a period of time” it is clear that the measurements performed are in fact “over a period of time”. Figure 4 of Sevick-Muraca discloses data collected at various modulation frequencies, inherently over a period of time as all the modulation frequencies cannot be present at the same time since Sevick-Muraca discloses that the modulation frequencies change over time.
Furthermore, on page 11, applicant argues that the reference fails to disclose obtaining a frequency-distribution of a time-dependent light signal and is not the same as detecting the frequency of the signal. The examiner agrees that the two things are different but disagrees that Sevick-Muraca does not disclose the former.
Col.3, l 56-58 discloses “particle size distribution…is determined from the measurement of multiply scattered light”, Figures 6-8 disclose size distributions based on the light signal measurements, Col.17, l 46-51 discloses the particle size distribution is represented by function f(x), and Col.13,l 53-59 discloses determining size distribution from the parameters, with the parameters described above as the scattering values of the modulated light.
On page 13, the applicant argues that Sevick-Muraca fails to disclose a computer implemented regression function for determining the size or concentration of particles. The examiner disagrees. The applicant’s definition of regression might be too narrow. Regression is simply a statistical method to model a relationship. Applicant argues that Sevick-Muraca uses an iterative approach. Iterative measurements are often used to solve regression functions since they result in applicable data for modeling the change between variables. The optical coefficients that Sevick-Muraca use from the regression analysis do then result in creating the functions that map the size of the particles (Col.4, l 65- Col.5, l 3).
For these reasons, the rejection stands as previously presented with the additional claim language amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 7 and 9, the limitations “obtaining the computer implemented regression function by means of a regression analysis to determine a polynomial regression function” is unclear. A regression analysis often involves polynomial functions, those polynomial function actually being the regression function claimed. However, determining a regression function by means of a regression analysis to determine a polynomial regression function doesn’t make sense. The regression function could be a polynomial function and determined through regression analysis, but the phrasing is unclear as to if the computer implemented regression function is used to determine a further polynomial regression function or if the regression analysis determines a polynomial regression function and how that then relates to the computer implemented regression function. Correction is required.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation “the at least one nozzle is configured to at least partially form the at least two differently sized measurement volumes” is unclear. It is unclear if the nozzle is forming the measurement volumes by virtue of just inputting the material that makes up the volumes, or if the nozzle forms a boundary of the volumes, or the nozzle is somehow responsible for making the two volumes differently sized. Since there are several interpretations of the claim language it is considered indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim to mean that the nozzle forms the measurement volumes by inputting the dispersion material.
Any claim which depend upon the above claims are likewise rejected for failing to correct the deficiencies in the claims upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being SEVICK-MURACA U.S. Patent #5,818,583.
With respect to claim 1, Sevick-Muraca discloses a characterization of luminescence in a scattering medium comprising:
A method for measuring at least one of the size and the concentration of particles in a dispersion (abstract)
Illuminating at least one measurement volume of a dispersion with at least one light source, wherein light beams of the at least one light source are scattered by particles of the dispersion in the at least one measurement volume (Figure 1, one light source= laser 21, Col.4, l 13-18, Col.5, l 67-Col.6, l 5)
Performing a time-dependent measurement of at least one scattered light signal of the at least one measurement volume of the dispersion by at least one photodetector (Figure 1, photodetector = sensor 38, Col.6, l 49-56)
Measuring the at least one scattered light signal by at least one photodetector over a period of time to determine a time-dependent scattered light signal from the at least one scattered light signal (Col.4, l 14-18, Col.4, l 29-34)
Obtaining a frequency distribution of the time-dependent scattered light signal of the at least one scattered light signal, wherein the frequency distribution is a distribution of measured values of the time-dependent scattered light signal (Figure 1, photodetector = sensor 38, Col.4, l 14-18, Col.6, l 57-65, Col.9, l 4-9)
Determining at least one of the size and concentration of the particles of the dispersion in the at least one measurement volume by means of a computer implemented regression function from the obtained frequency distribution of the time-dependent scattered light signal (Col.7, l 31-37, Col.10, l 38-53, Col.13, l 51-53, wherein f(x) = particle size distribution = size and Φ = volume fraction = concentration)
With respect to claim 8, SEVICK-MURACA discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, SEVICK-MURACA discloses:
Performing the time dependent measurement of the at least one scattered light signal comprises measuring the at least one scattered light signal by the at least one photodetector at an angle in the range of 10° to 170° from non-scattered light beams of the at least one light source penetrating the at least one measurement volume (Figure 1, wherein 30 is the input fiber for the light source such that the non-scattered light beams penetrate “down” according to the figure, and the detection of scattered light is in the direction of 90° from there at the collection fiber 36)
With respect to claim 10, SEVICK-MURACA discloses a characterization of luminescence in a scattering medium comprising:
A device for measuring at least one of the size and the concentration of particles in a dispersion (abstract)
At least one light source configured to illuminate at least one measurement volume of the dispersion in the measuring cell to form at least one scattered light signal (Figure 1, one light source= laser 21, Col.4, l 13-18, Col.5, l 67-Col.6, l 5)
At least one photodetector configured to measure the at least one scattered light signal from the at least one measurement volume when illuminated by the at least one light source over a period of time to determine a time-dependent scattered light signal from the at least one scattered light signal (Figure 1, photodetector = sensor 38, Col.4, l 14-18, Col.6, l 57-65, Col.9, l 4-9)
A data processing unit comprising a processor configured to determine a distribution of measured values of the time-dependent scattered light signal and determine at least one of the size and concentration of particles of the dispersion in the at least one measurement volume via a regression function from the determined distribution of the measured values of the time dependent scattered light signal (Col.7, l 31-37, Col.10, l 38-53, Col.13, l 51-53, wherein f(x) = particle size distribution = size and Φ = volume fraction = concentration)
With respect to claim 11, SEVICK-MURACA discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, SEVICK-MURACA discloses:
Wherein the at least one photodetector is arranged at an angle in the range of 10° to 170° to the optical axis of the at least one light source (Figure 1, wherein 30 is the input fiber for the light source such that the optical axis of the light source is “down” according to the figure, and the photodetector is 90° from there at the collection fiber 36)
With respect to claim 20, SEVICK-MURACA discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1. In addition, SEVICK-MURACA discloses:
A computer readable medium readable by one or more processing unit and storing instruction for execution by one or more processor for performing a method of measuring at least one of the size and the concentration of particles of a dispersion (Col.7, l 31-37)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEVICK-MURACA U.S. Patent #5,818,583 in view of SEVICK-MURACA2 U.S. Patent #7,054,002 (herein after referred to as Sevick-Muraca2).
With respect to claims 2 and 12, SEVICK-MURACA discloses all of the limitations as applied to claims 1 and 10. SEVICK-MURACA fails to disclose illuminating at least one measurement volume comprises illuminating at least two differently sized measurement volumes of the at least one measurement volume of the dispersion with the at least one light source.
Sevick-Muraca2 discloses characterization of a scattering medium comprising:
Illuminating at least two differently sized measurement volumes of the at least one measurement volume of the dispersion with the at least one light source (Figure 1, Col.4, l 13-22, wherein the first volume has radius r1 and the second volume has radius r2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a second measurement volume as in Sevick-Muraca2 since the different volumes allow greater information to be garnered, specifically related to photon migration through the medium without requiring a known reference fluorophore or a non-scattering solution for the particles(Col.2, l 41-46, Col.1, l 43-52). And it would follow from that combination that instead of one time dependent scattered light signal as determined in Sevick-Muraca, two time dependent scattered light signals from the two measurement volumes would be determined.
With respect to claim 3, 4, 13, 14, 15, 17 and 19, SEVICK-MURACA in view of Sevick-Muraca2 discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1, 2, 10, and 12 above. In addition, Sevick-Muraca2 discloses:
3, 17- At least two differently sized measurement volumes are spatially separated (Figure 1, next to each other, Col.4, l 19-23)
4- Performing time dependent measurement comprises performing a time-dependent measurement of at least two scattered light signals of the at least two differently sized measurement volumes of the dispersions (Col.6, l 2-11, 47-51, wherein modulation of light source requires a time dependency)
13- the data processing unit is configured to determined distribution values of the at least two time-dependent scattered light signal and determine at least one of the size and concentration of particles of the dispersion in the at least two measurement volumes via a regression function from a frequency distribution of a time dependent scattered light signal (as disclosed in claim 10 above, obvious to perform in the same way for both sensors)
14- at least two light sources (Figure 1, laser diode λx 24 and laser diode λm 26)
15- at least two photodetectors (Figure 1, sensor 58a and sensor 58b)
19- at least one color filter configured such that only the scattered light form the at least one light source is transmitted to the at least one photodetector (Col.2, l 63-67)
With respect to claims 5 and 18, SEVICK-MURACA in view of Sevick-Muraca2 disclose all of the limitations as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 10, and 12 above. However, SEVICK-MURACA and Sevick-Muraca2 fail to disclose the ratio between the measurement volumes is in the range of 1:2 to 1:1,000.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine a result effective variable such as a measurement volume based upon the size of particles being considered, the noise in the system, the power of the light source and sensor, and other factors. The range of potential ratios between the measurement volumes is broad, implying no specific reasoning or surprising result when a particular ratio is selected within that range.
With respect to claim 6, SEVICK-MURACA in view of Sevick-Muraca2 discloses all of the limitations as applied to claims 1, 2, and 5 above. In addition, SEVICK-MURACA discloses the limitations as applied to claim 8 above.
With respect to claim 7, 9, SEVICK-MURACA in view of Sevick-Muraca2 discloses all of the limitations as applied to claims 1 and 6 above. In addition, SEVICK-MURACA discloses:
Obtaining the computer implemented regression function by means of regression analysis to determine polynomial regression function (Col.11, l 6-12, wherein µ is a polynomial)
With respect to claim 16, SEVICK-MURACA in view of Sevick-Muraca2 discloses all of the limitations as applied to claims 10, 12, and 13 above. However, SEVICK-MURACA and Sevick-Muraca2 fail to disclose at least one nozzle at an inlet of the dispersion. SEVICK-MURACA and Sevick-Muraca2 are silent with respect to how the dispersion enters the sample tank or sample container.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a nozzle to input the sample into the container since nozzles are effective at conveying samples in a controlled manner, especially of small sizes like considered in the references. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that nozzles are well known in the art for inputting samples. Additionally, accepting that the nozzle forms at least partially the measurement volume by inputting the material responsible for making up the volume (see rejection under 35 USC 112 above for clarification issue and interpretation) is common sense for an input chamber of particles and physically doesn’t actually change the device itself but only the interpretation and labels of the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA C BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877