DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanclon et al. (US 2019/0077083 A1), in view of at least one of Reinhardt et al. (US 2024/0181703 A1 – of record), or Andrews et al. (US 2022/0134668 A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Chanclon discloses an apparatus for unpacking objects built using build material in an additive manufacturing process, to include a material management station 106 – (construed as a fluid management system, and thusly a fluid management system within an additive manufacturing system), see at least abstract, [0035], [0055]. The apparatus is configured as an additive manufacturing system 100; having a conduit network as a plurality of conduit pathways, i.e. a first conduit, second conduit, third conduit, see at least [0055] – (construed as at least one fluid circuit, each fluid circuit comprising a plurality of fluid pathways). The conduit pathways are accessed through controller 295 controlled valves, see [0062] – (construed as at least one actuating valve) and material is transported by pressure provided with a pump 204, see at least [0055] – (construed as a pump; and at least a portion of each of the plurality of fluid pathways are fluidly connected to the pump; the pump is operable to provide a fluid to each of the plurality of fluid pathways).
Chanclon does not explicitly disclose the use of a flow-regulating valve.
Reinhardt teaches an additive apparatus. The apparatus being configured to have at least one connecting channel – (construed as a fluid pathway), subchannels and closure means – (construed as a plurality of flow-regulating valve) for each channel and subchannel; wherein the closure means uses a needle valve to effect precise control of the flow of material through the opening, see [0015], [0016] – (construed as the fluid has a flowrate within each of the plurality of fluid pathways; and each flow-regulating valve is adjustable to increase or decrease the flowrate of each of a corresponding fluid pathway).
It being considered, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the use of such a scheme to regulate the flow of material in the system. And as such, would at least as a part of routine experimentation adjust the valves to have the flowrates of the fluid within each of the plurality of fluid pathways are substantially the same. This being beneficial for having the ability to establish a predetermined volume of flow within the system as suggested, see at least [0028].
Andrews discloses a fluid management system within an additive manufacturing system, see at least Fig. 9, [0002]. The fluid management system to include a cleaning fluid pathway to include a regulating means by example a throttling valve, see [0156] – (construed as a flow-regulating valve) and a valve 813 by example a pinch valve, see [0184] – (construed as an actuating valve). The binder fluid pathway to include a valve 815 as a pinch valve, see [0177] – (construed as an actuating valve). And further the cleaning/binder pathways includes additional components such as valves, pumps and control mechanisms to adjust the fluids in the pathways, see [0186]. The additional components/pumps are disposed to be located in any of a variety of locations within the fluid management system, see at least [0186], [0128], [0175]. And the additional components/pumps are further configured to allow for control of the pathway flowrate, wherein the flow rate is tunable, see at least [0188].
It being considered, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the use of such a scheme to regulate the flow of material in the system. And as such, would at least as a part of routine experimentation adjust the valves to have the flowrates of the fluid within each of the plurality of fluid pathways are substantially the same. This being beneficial for having the ability to control the level of fluid within the system as suggested, see at least [0156].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chanclon’s plurality of conduit pathways to include a flow-regulating valve; wherein the fluid has a flowrate within each of the plurality of fluid pathways; and each flow-regulating valve is adjustable to increase or decrease the flowrate of each of a corresponding fluid pathway such that flowrates of the fluid within each of the plurality of fluid pathways are substantially the same; as reasonably suggested by Reinhardt or Andrews to provide Chanclon’s system with a means for regulating flow of material within the system.
Regarding claim 2, modified Chanclon discloses the fluid is a cleaning fluid, see at least Andrews [0171].
Regarding claim 3, modified Chanclon discloses the plurality of fluid pathways are fluidly coupled to a cleaning station 110, the cleaning station comprising a wet cleaning member 310 comprising a fluid channel 408 containing a volume of the cleaning fluid therein, see at least Andrews FIG. 7A.
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Chanclon discloses a wet cleaning member pathway is fluidly coupled to the wet cleaning member 310 by a cleaning manifold 414 and a cleaning fluid reservoir such that the cleaning manifold receives the cleaning fluid from the cleaning fluid reservoir through the wet cleaning member pathway and supplies the cleaning fluid to the fluid channel, see at least Andrews [0109], [0145], FIG 7A. And the cleaning station comprises a purge wiper section 303.
Regarding claim 6, modified Chanclon discloses a cleaning fluid drain pathway is fluidly coupled to a main cleaning vessel drain 320 of the cleaning station and a cleaning fluid reservoir such that the cleaning fluid reservoir receives cleaning fluid from the main drain of the cleaning station through the cleaning fluid drain pathway, see at least Andrews [0109].
Regarding claim 7, modified Chanclon discloses the fluid is a binder material, see at least Andrews [0171].
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Chanclon discloses the plurality of fluid pathways are fluidly coupled to the additive manufacturing apparatus, the additive manufacturing apparatus comprising an ink delivery system 804 – (construed as a print head manifold) fluidly coupled to a print head, the ink delivery system/print head manifold containing a volume of the binder material therein, see at least Andrews [0174]. The ink delivery system enables the separation of storage of the binder material from the print head and allows for the binder material to be replaced or refilled while the additive manufacturing apparatus is actively printing – (construed as a print head fill pathway is fluidly coupled to the print head manifold such that the print head manifold receives the binder material from the print head fill pathway and supplies the binder material to the print head).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chanclon discloses the binder material return pathway is fluidly coupled to an active drain of the additive manufacturing apparatus and a binder material reservoir such that the binder material reservoir receives binder material from the active drain of the additive manufacturing apparatus through the binder material return pathway, see at least Andrews [0172], [0175] – [0176]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749