DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202411032460, filed on 04/24/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “multiple branches above the ground plane to achieve wideband frequencies.” as shown in claim 1, “impedance matching network” shown in claim 2, “a second plastic substrate that controls an antenna radiation performance variation for mass manufacturing of the antenna” shown in claim 4. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al [US 6,992,627 B1] in view of Yang et al [US 2010/0225551 A1]
In regards to claim 1. Honda discloses an antenna assembly (Fig. 4, 10), comprising:
a ground plane (Fig. 5, 20 & Column 5, lines 15-45) on a printed circuit board (Fig. 4, 20);
a dielectric substrate (Fig. 4, 56) that supports an antenna (Fig. 4, 54);
a metal radiating element (Fig. 4, 54) mounted to the dielectric substrate (Fig. 4, 56); and
a radiating element (Fig. 4, 54) mounted above the ground plane and including multiple branches (Fig. 5, see branches) above the ground plane (Fig. 5, 20 & Column 5, lines 15-45) to achieve wideband frequencies (Column 2, in lines 61-67).
[AltContent: textbox (multiple branches)][AltContent: arrow]
Honda does not specify a plastic substrate
Yang discloses a plastic substrate (Paragraph [0016] “The multi-band antenna 100 is made of metallic material and disposed on a dielectric substrate 8 such as a printed circuit board or a plastic plate. Furthermore, the multi-band antenna 100 can make of a metallic foil and stamping into a cubing shape”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Honda with a plastic substrate for purpose of reducing cost and simple fabrication and the ground portion and the tuning conductor cause a capacitance effect to shift the second high frequency band to be close to the first high frequency band. It can cover various wireless communication frequency bands as disclosed by Yang (Abstract).
In regards to claim 3. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 further comprising a ground leg (Fig. 5, 144) supporting a second branch (Fig. 5, see branches) of the radiating element (Fig. 5, 54) above the ground plane (Fig. 5, 20 & Column 5, lines 15-45) and electrically coupling the second branch (Fig. 5, see branches) to the ground plane (Fig. 5, 20 & Column 5, lines 15-45).
In regards to claim 4. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 further comprising a second plastic (Yang Paragraph [0016]) substrate (Fig. 4, 40) that controls an antenna radiation performance variation (Fig. 4, 14) for mass manufacturing of the antenna (Column 3, in lines 1-15).
In regards to claim 5. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 wherein the antenna comprises an antenna metal structure (Yang: Paragraph [0016]).
In regards to claim 6. Honda in view of Egorov discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 wherein the antenna (Fig. 5, 54) comprises a quarter wavelength antenna structure/pattern bent (Fig. 142) to fit in a limited area (Fig. 5, 56) and in proximity to a plurality of metal components (Yang: Paragraph [0016]) and slotted to achieve wideband band frequencies (Yang: Abstract).
In regards to claim 9. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 wherein the antenna (Fig. 1, 14) is partially potted (Fig. 1, 22).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al [US 6,992,627 B1] in view of Yang et al [US 2010/0225551 A1] and further in view of He et al [US 2011/0309985 A1]
In regards to claim 2. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 further comprising a feeding leg (Fig. 5, 150) supporting a first branch (Fig. 5, see branches) of the radiating element (Fig. 5, 54) above the ground plane (Fig. 5, 20 & Column 5, lines 15-45) and electrically coupling the first branch (Fig. 5, see branches) to an RF feeding port (Fig. 5, 148) and
Honda in view of Yang does not specify impedance matching network.
He discloses impedance matching network (11. The PCB-printed antenna of claim 10, further comprising: an impedance matching circuit electrically connected to the feed port.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Honda with impedance matching network for purpose of improved wideband performance as disclosed by He (paragraph [0041])
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al [US 6,992,627 B1] in view of Yang et al [US 2010/0225551 A1] and further in view of Ramachandran et al [US 8648752 B2]
In regards to claim 7. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 wherein the antenna is configured with two-point (Fig. 5, 150 and 148)
Honda in view of Yang does not specify soldering and a press fit.
Ramachandran discloses soldering and a press fit (Column 14, in lines 65-67 to Column 15, in lines 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Honda with soldering and a press fit for purpose of securing the electrical connection as disclosed by Ramachandran (Column 14, in lines 65-67 to Column 15, in lines 1-3).
In regards to claim 8. Honda in view of Yang discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 wherein the antenna is directly to an RF feeding port.
Honda in view of Yang does not specify Solderable
Ramachandran discloses Solderable (Column 14, in lines 65-67 to Column 15, in lines 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Honda with soldering and a press fit for purpose of securing the electrical connection as disclosed by Ramachandran (Column 14, in lines 65-67 to Column 15, in lines 1-3).
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844