DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/6/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
“The report quantity is associated with: a single reference signal resource indicator; and a plurality of measurement metrics corresponding to the single reference signal resource indicator”
Khan Beigi “[0103] The CSI report configuration may be associated with one or more CSI resource settings (e.g., CSI-ResourceConfig) for channel/interference measurement. A resource setting may include a list of CSI Resource Sets, where the list may comprise references to one or more CSI-RS resource sets and/or SS/PBCH block (SSB) sets. The WTRU may perform measurements on one or more CSI-RS resources and derive one or more CSI parameters. [0207] As shown in FIG. 3, the WTRU may report CSI parameters for the CSI-RS resources in FR1 that are linked with the determined CRIs. The WTRU may derive CSI parameters (e.g., any combination of LI, CQI, PMI, RSRP, SINR, RI, etc.) in FR1 for one or more of the CSI-RS resources.”
Fig. 3 shows a single CRI to be reported at 318 or N CRIs to be reported and with CSI per CRI.
It is clear from Khan Beigi that a single reference signal resource indicator is associated with a report quantity, and a plurality of measurement metrics (CSI) correspond to the single reference resource indicator (CRI); therefore the rejection to the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-10, 12, 14, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khan Beigi et al. (US20260019124A1).
As to claims 1, 19, and 20, Khan Beigi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (abstract A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor configured to receive configuration information,)
one or more memories; and ([0032] Fig. 1b non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132)
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: ([0032] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102. As shown in FIG. 1B, the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132 )
receive first information indicative of at least a first reference signal resource set, the first reference signal resource set comprising a set of reference signal resources; ([0082] Channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RS) is used whereby a WTRU may measure and report the CSI, wherein the CSI for each connection mode may include or be configured with one or more of (2) CSI-RS Resource Set [0093] A Beam/CSI report configuration (e.g., CSI-ReportConfigs) may be associated with a single BWP (e.g., indicated by BWP-Id), wherein one or more of the following parameters are configured: (1) CSI-RS resources and/or CSI-RS resource sets for channel and interference measurement;)
receive second information indicative of a report quantity associated with at least the first reference signal resource set, wherein the report quantity is associated with a single reference signal resource indicator and a plurality of measurement metrics corresponding to the single reference signal resource indicator; and ([0082] and [0102] A WTRU may receive one or more CSI report configurations (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig). A CSI report configuration may include a CSI report quantity that may indicate the CSI parameters that may be required to be measured (e.g., estimated or derived) and reported. As an example, CSI report quantity could be one or more of the Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), Layer Indicator (LI), Signal-to-Noise and Interference Ratio (SINR), Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), and so forth.) [0103] The CSI report configuration may be associated with one or more CSI resource settings (e.g., CSI-ResourceConfig) for channel/interference measurement. A resource setting may include a list of CSI Resource Sets, where the list may comprise references to one or more CSI-RS resource sets and/or SS/PBCH block (SSB) sets. The WTRU may perform measurements on one or more CSI-RS resources and derive one or more CSI parameters. [0207] As shown in FIG. 3, the WTRU may report CSI parameters for the CSI-RS resources in FR1 that are linked with the determined CRIs. The WTRU may derive CSI parameters (e.g., any combination of LI, CQI, PMI, RSRP, SINR, RI, etc.) in FR1 for one or more of the CSI-RS resources.) Fig. 3 shows a single CRI to be reported at 318 or N CRIs to be reported and with CSI per CRI.
transmit, in accordance with the report quantity, a report comprising an indication of a first reference signal resource indicator associated with a reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources and a first plurality of measurement metrics associated with the reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources. ([0082], [0102] and [0219]-[0223] At 402, the WTRU may receive a CSI reporting configuration with more than one (e.g., Ks>1) CSI-RS resources (e.g., FR1). Fig.4 step 412 gNB process received FR1 CSI reports for further procedures)
As to claim 2, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information, an indication that a repetition associated with the set of reference signal resources is enabled, wherein transmitting the report is in association with the repetition being enabled. ([0095] RS resource set configuration may be defined by a WTRU configured with one or more RS resource sets: (1) RS resource set ID, (2) one or more RS resources for the RS resource set, (3) repetition (i.e., on or off), (4) aperiodic triggering offset (e.g., one of 0-6 slots), and TRS info (e.g., true or not).)
As to claim 8, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information, an indication of a respective set of quasi-co-location reference signals associated with each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources. ([0078] At least when the first and second signals are reference signals, such association may exist when the WTRU is configured with a quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption type D between corresponding antenna ports. Such association may be configured as a TCI (transmission configuration indicator) state. A WTRU may be indicated an association between a CSI-RS or SS block and a DM-RS by an index to a set of TCI states configured by RRC and/or signaled by MAC CE. Such indications may also be referred to as a “beam indication.”)
As to claim 9, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein: a quantity of the respective set of quasi-co-location reference signals associated with each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is less than or equal to a respective quantity of ports associated with that reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources; and the reference signal resource is associated with a plurality of quasi-co-location reference signals of a second quantity, and wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is based at least in part on the second quantity. ([0078] At least when the first and second signals are reference signals, such association may exist when the WTRU is configured with a quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption type D between corresponding antenna ports. Such association may be configured as a TCI (transmission configuration indicator) state. A WTRU may be indicated an association between a CSI-RS or SS block and a DM-RS by an index to a set of TCI states configured by RRC and/or signaled by MAC CE. Such indications may also be referred to as a “beam indication.”)
As to claim 10, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information, an indication of a same quantity of ports associated with each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources, wherein the same quantity of ports is greater than two. ([0094] A CSI-RS Resource Set (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) may include one or more of CSI-RS resources (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS-Resource and CSI-ResourceConfig), wherein a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following in a CSI-RS Resource: (2) CSI-RS resource mapping to define the number of CSI-RS ports [0099] Further. the reference signal (RS) term may be interchangeably used with one or more of the RS resource, RS resource set, RS port, and RS port group. RS may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DM-RS, TRS, PRS, and PTRS.)
As to claim 12, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, via the report or a second report associated with the reference signal resource, an indication of a precoding matrix indicator and an indication of a channel quality indicator associated with the reference signal resource. ([0102] A WTRU may receive one or more CSI report configurations (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig). A CSI report configuration may include a CSI report quantity that may indicate the CSI parameters that may be required to be measured (e.g., estimated or derived) and reported. As an example, CSI report quantity could be one or more of the Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), Layer Indicator (LI), Signal-to-Noise and Interference Ratio (SINR), Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), and so forth.)
As to claim 14, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each measurement metric of the first plurality of measurement metrics is associated with a respective multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layer at the UE. ([0021] the base station 114a may employ multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) technology and may utilize multiple transceivers for each sector of the cell. [0035] Although the transmit/receive element 122 is depicted in FIG. 1B as a single element, the WTRU 102 may include any number of transmit/receive elements 122. More specifically, the WTRU 102 may employ MIMO technology. [0102] A WTRU may receive one or more CSI report configurations (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig). A CSI report configuration may include a CSI report quantity that may indicate the CSI parameters that may be required to be measured (e.g., estimated or derived) and reported. As an example, CSI report quantity could be one or more of the Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), Layer Indicator (LI), Signal-to-Noise and Interference Ratio (SINR), Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), and so forth.)
As to claim 15, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive third information indicative of a channel measurement resource, wherein the third information comprises an indication of the reference signal resource as a quasi-co-location reference signal for the channel measurement resource in accordance with the report, and (([0078] At least when the first and second signals are reference signals, such association may exist when the WTRU is configured with a quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption type D between corresponding antenna ports. Such association may be configured as a TCI (transmission configuration indicator) state. A WTRU may be indicated an association between a CSI-RS or SS block and a DM-RS by an index to a set of TCI states configured by RRC and/or signaled by MAC CE. Such indications may also be referred to as a “beam indication.”))
wherein the reference signal resource is associated with a plurality of ports in accordance with the first information; and ([0094] A CSI-RS Resource Set (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) may include one or more of CSI-RS resources (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS-Resource and CSI-ResourceConfig), wherein a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following in a CSI-RS Resource: (2) CSI-RS resource mapping to define the number of CSI-RS ports [0099] Further. the reference signal (RS) term may be interchangeably used with one or more of the RS resource, RS resource set, RS port, and RS port group. RS may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DM-RS, TRS, PRS, and PTRS.)
transmit, in accordance with the third information, a second report comprising at least a portion of channel state information associated with the channel measurement resource. ([0093] A Beam/CSI report configuration (e.g., CSI-ReportConfigs) may be associated with a single BWP (e.g., indicated by BWP-Id), wherein one or more of the following parameters are configured: (1) CSI-RS resources and/or CSI-RS resource sets for channel and interference measurement;)
As to claim 18, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first information is associated with a beam management between the UE and a network entity; and the first plurality of measurement metrics comprises a plurality of reference signal receive power (RSRP) metrics, a plurality of signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) metrics, or a plurality of channel quality indicator (CQI) metrics. ([0093] A Beam/CSI report configuration (e.g., CSI-ReportConfigs) may be associated with a single BWP (e.g., indicated by BWP-Id), wherein one or more of the following parameters are configured: (1) CSI-RS resources and/or CSI-RS resource sets for channel and interference measurement; (2) CSI-RS report configuration type including the periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic, (3) CSI-RS transmission periodicity for periodic and semi-persistent CSI reports, (4) CSI-RS transmission slot offset for periodic, semi-persistent and aperiodic CSI reports, (5) CSI-RS transmission slot offset list for semi-persistent and aperiodic CSI reports (6) time restrictions for channel and interference measurements, (7) report frequency band configuration (wideband/sub band CQI, PMI. and so forth), (8) thresholds and modes of calculations for the reporting quantities (CQI, RSRP, SINR, LI, RI, etc.), (9) codebook configuration, (10) group based beam reporting, (11) CQI table, (12) sub band size, (13) non-PMI port indication, and (14) port Index.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan Beigi in view of Faxer et al. (US20210336660A1).
As to claim 3, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information or the second information, an indication of a rank hypothesis associated with the set of reference signal resources, wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is equal to a value of the rank hypothesis.
However Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information or the second information, an indication of a rank hypothesis associated with the set of reference signal resources, ([0011] More particularly, the wireless device under some circumstances may be configured (e.g., via downlink control signaling) with a so-called port indication parameter. The port indication parameter indicates for, a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, which sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks.)
wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is equal to a value of the rank hypothesis. ([0006] The CSI feedback may include for instance a channel quality indicator (CQI) and a transmission rank, where the transmission rank represents the number of transmission layers (or information-carrying signals) that can be transmitted in parallel given the current channel conditions. [0062] Also as shown in FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the method may further include receiving from the radio network node 12 a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback 18 and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated by default with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback 18 (Block 230).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
As to claim 4, Khan Beigi in view of Faxer teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is less than or equal to a second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource. (Faxer [0006] The CSI feedback may include for instance a channel quality indicator (CQI) and a transmission rank, where the transmission rank represents the number of transmission layers (or information-carrying signals) that can be transmitted in parallel given the current channel conditions. [0062] Also as shown in FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the method may further include receiving from the radio network node 12 a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback 18 and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated by default with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback 18 (Block 230). [0058] In some embodiments, the number of CSI-RS ports that is associated with the highest transmission rank v is N=v, i.e., there are v CSI-RS ports associated with rank v.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
As to claim 5, Khan Beigi in view of Faxer teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the indication of the rank hypothesis indicates a mode of operation for communication between the UE and a network entity, wherein the mode of operation comprises single user (SU) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) operation with a rank greater than two, and (Faxer [0006] The CSI feedback may include for instance a channel quality indicator (CQI) and a transmission rank, where the transmission rank represents the number of transmission layers (or information-carrying signals) that can be transmitted in parallel given the current channel conditions. [0062] Also as shown in FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the method may further include receiving from the radio network node 12 a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback 18 and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated by default with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback 18 (Block 230).)
wherein transmitting the report is in accordance with the mode of operation. (Khan Beigi [0021] the base station 114a may employ multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) technology and may utilize multiple transceivers for each sector of the cell. [0035] More specifically, the WTRU 102 may employ MIMO technology. [0099] Further. the reference signal (RS) term may be interchangeably used with one or more of the RS resource, RS resource set, RS port, and RS port group. RS may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DM-RS, TRS, PRS, and PTRS.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
As to claim 6, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information, an indication of a mode of operation for communication between the UE and a network entity, wherein the mode of operation comprises single user (SU) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) operation with a rank greater than two, and wherein transmitting the report is in accordance with the mode of operation.
However Faxer teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information, an indication of a mode of operation for communication between the UE and a network entity, wherein the mode of operation comprises single user (SU) multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) operation with a rank greater than two, and (Faxer [0006] The CSI feedback may include for instance a channel quality indicator (CQI) and a transmission rank, where the transmission rank represents the number of transmission layers (or information-carrying signals) that can be transmitted in parallel given the current channel conditions. [0062] Also as shown in FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the method may further include receiving from the radio network node 12 a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback 18 and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated by default with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback 18 (Block 230).)
wherein transmitting the report is in accordance with the mode of operation. (Khan Beigi [0021] the base station 114a may employ multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) technology and may utilize multiple transceivers for each sector of the cell. [0035] More specifically, the WTRU 102 may employ MIMO technology. [0099] Further. the reference signal (RS) term may be interchangeably used with one or more of the RS resource, RS resource set, RS port, and RS port group. RS may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DM-RS, TRS, PRS, and PTRS.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
As to claim 7, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is based at least in part on a second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: input, into a function, the second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource; and obtain, as an output of the function, the first quantity.
However Faxer teaches wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is based at least in part on a second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: input, into a function, the second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource; and obtain, as an output of the function, the first quantity. (Faxer [0006] The CSI feedback may include for instance a channel quality indicator (CQI) and a transmission rank, where the transmission rank represents the number of transmission layers (or information-carrying signals) that can be transmitted in parallel given the current channel conditions. [0062] Also as shown in FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the method may further include receiving from the radio network node 12 a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback 18 and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated by default with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback 18 (Block 230). [0058] In some embodiments, the number of CSI-RS ports that is associated with the highest transmission rank v is N=v, i.e., there are v CSI-RS ports associated with rank v.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
As to claim 11, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the first information, an indication of a respective quantity of ports associated with each reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources, wherein: the reference signal resource is associated with a first quantity of ports; ([0094] A CSI-RS Resource Set (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet) may include one or more of CSI-RS resources (e.g., NZP-CSI-RS-Resource and CSI-ResourceConfig), wherein a WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following in a CSI-RS Resource: (2) CSI-RS resource mapping to define the number of CSI-RS ports [0099] Further. the reference signal (RS) term may be interchangeably used with one or more of the RS resource, RS resource set, RS port, and RS port group. RS may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DM-RS, TRS, PRS, and PTRS.)
But does not specifically teach:
a second reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a second quantity of ports different than the first quantity of ports; and at least the first quantity of ports is greater than two.
However Faxer teaches a second reference signal resource of the set of reference signal resources is associated with a second quantity of ports different than the first quantity of ports; and at least the first quantity of ports is greater than two. ([0012] Under other circumstances, though, such as where CSI-RS resources need not be shared between wireless devices and where rank-nested precoding is used, the wireless device may not be configured with the port indication parameter. Instead, the wireless device may advantageously assume that, for a given CSI-RS resource, certain sets of one or more CSI-port indices are associated (e.g., by default) with certain transmission ranks [0013] that a set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of the set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with a higher supported transmission rank. Alternatively or additionally, assuming this may comprise assuming, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks, that a set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0, . . . , v−1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
As to claim 13, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the second information, an indication that the report quantity is further associated with a rank indication; and transmit, via the report, a first rank indication associated with the reference signal resource, ([0102] A WTRU may receive one or more CSI report configurations (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig). A CSI report configuration may include a CSI report quantity that may indicate the CSI parameters that may be required to be measured (e.g., estimated or derived) and reported. As an example, CSI report quantity could be one or more of the Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), Layer Indicator (LI), Signal-to-Noise and Interference Ratio (SINR), Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), and so forth.)
But does not specifically teach:
wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is equal to a value of the first rank indication, and wherein the value of the first rank indication is less than or equal to a second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource.
However Faxer teaches wherein a first quantity of the first plurality of measurement metrics is equal to a value of the first rank indication, and wherein the value of the first rank indication is less than or equal to a second quantity of ports associated with the reference signal resource. ([0006] The CSI feedback may include for instance a channel quality indicator (CQI) and a transmission rank, where the transmission rank represents the number of transmission layers (or information-carrying signals) that can be transmitted in parallel given the current channel conditions. [0062] Also as shown in FIG. 2, in some embodiments, the method may further include receiving from the radio network node 12 a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback 18 and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated by default with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback 18 (Block 230). [0058] In some embodiments, the number of CSI-RS ports that is associated with the highest transmission rank v is N=v, i.e., there are v CSI-RS ports associated with rank v.))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI report of Khan Beigi with the transmission rank of Faxer in order to determine how many information carrying signals that can be transmitted in parallel.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan Beigi in view of Wei et al. (US20170126299A1).
As to claim 16, Khan Beigi teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: buffer channel state information associated with the reference signal resource in association with a measurement of the reference signal resource; receive a request for the channel state information associated with the reference signal resource; and transmit, in accordance with the request, a second report comprising the channel state information associated with the reference signal resource.
However Wei teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: buffer channel state information associated with the reference signal resource in association with a measurement of the reference signal resource; receive a request for the channel state information associated with the reference signal resource; and transmit, in accordance with the request, a second report comprising the channel state information associated with the reference signal resource. ([0076] Accordingly, a UE may store/buffer CSI measurement samples from subframe #0 (e.g., first available DI, subframe/lowest indexed DL subframe), and in response to an A-CSI request/trigger for the first CSI subframe set (Set 0) received in subframe #3 of the second CSI subframe set, the UE may report the stored/buffered CSI measurement samples in the subsequent subframe #7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CSI reporting of Khan Beigi with the CSI reporting of Wei in order to provide CSI measurement results to the base station for channel estimation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465