DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species A in the reply filed on 9/25/25 is acknowledged. The applicant has cancelled the non-elected claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 50 is objected to because of the following: “and wherein and at least composite layer” should be changed to “and wherein one composite layer” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26, 27, 30, 32-35, 39-41, 43, 44 and 46-51, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kismarton (US 2007/0080481).
As to claim 26, Kismarton discloses a method comprising: enclosing a portion of a composite structure (uncured composite material, para 23) in a constraining container (container shown in fig 3); holding a cover 202 of the constraining container against the composite structure (fig 2-3); expanding an expandable medium 205/217 disposed within an interior volume (“internal volume” para 21/ fig 3) formed by the cover and the composite structure (fig 3); and curing the composite structure (figs 2-5, para 21-31).
As to claim 50, Kismarton discloses a method comprising: enclosing a portion of a composite structure (uncured composite material, para 23) in a constraining container (fig 3), wherein the composite structure comprises a plurality of composite layers, and wherein at least composite layer of the plurality of composite layers (para 21, “layers”) is uncured or partially cured (see above); holding a cover of the constraining container against the composite structure (see claim 26 discussion above); expanding an expandable medium disposed within an interior volume formed by the cover and the composite structure (see claim 26 discussion above); selectively varying the interior volume formed by the cover and the composite structure (steps 408/412); and curing the composite structure (figs 2-5, para 21-31).
As to claim 27, Kismarton discloses the method further comprising moving the cover relative to the composite structure (fig 4, 404, 416).
As to claim 30, Kismarton discloses the method changing an attribute of the expandable medium to expand the expandable medium to a predetermine volume (fig 3-5, 408, para 23-28); and applying positive pressure 412 to the composite structure and the cover (para 23-28).
As to claim 32, Kismarton discloses the method wherein: the composite structure comprises a plurality of composite layers; and at least a portion of the plurality of composite layers is uncured or partially cured (see claim 50 discussion above).
As to claim 33, Kismarton discloses the method wherein at least one of the plurality of composite layers is a composite patch configured to repair a portion of a composite surface of the composite structure (para 21).
As to claim 34, Kismarton discloses the method further comprising selectively varying the interior volume formed by the cover and the composite structure (see claim 50 discussion above).
As to claim 35, Kismarton disclose the method further comprising: applying a casting (para 21) between the expandable medium and a composite surface of the composite structure; and hardening the casting (para 28, fig 2-5).
As to claim 39-40, Kismarton discloses supporting at least the portion of the composite structure on a base 208, wherein the cover is coupled to the base (fig 3).
As to claim 41 Kismarton disclose increasing a temperature of the expandable medium to at least an activation temperature (para 24).
As to claims 43-44, Kismarton disclose the method wherein the cover comprises a plurality of walls (fig 3) and moving at least one wall of the plurality of walls to modify the interior volume of the cover (fig 4, 404/416 para 20-23,).
As to claims 46-47, Kismarton disclose the method wherein the cover of the constraining container is held against the composite structure by a retainer clamp 214 (para 23, fig 3)
As to claim 48, Kismarton discloses the composite structure comprises polymer materials and fiber reinforcement materials (para 21).
As to claims 49 and 51, Kismarton discloses the method wherein the curing the composite structure comprises heating the composite structure (para 28-29, fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kismarton, as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Davis et al. (US 2012/0084999).
Kismarton does not disclose the cover is thermally reflective. Para 64 of Davis discloses a thermally reflective cover to provide the cover with insulating properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kismarton such that the cover is thermally reflective as taught by Davis above as such achieves the advantages detailed above.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kismarton, as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Rachal et al. (US 4915896).
Kismarton does not disclose the cover comprises an overlay that flexible and non-expandable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kismarton such that the cover comprises an overlay that flexible and non-expandable as taught by Rachal (C8, L67 – C9, L9) as such has a reasonable expectation of success and reduces warping.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746