DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 08/13/2026. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 6-7 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 10 of Applicants remarks:
The Office Action indicates that Li does not disclose a processor configured to "receive an indication of allowed estimation SSBs, wherein the allowed estimation SSBs are a subset of the set of estimation SSBs that are allowed to be used for a RACH transmission" and instead relies on Abotabl. Specifically, the Office Action indicates that Abotabl discloses configuration information that indicates a PRACH configuration that indicates a respective subset of SSBs from a set of SSBs that are mapped to ROs associated with that PRACH configuration (see Office Action at pp. 6 and 7). As above, the claims state "receiv[ing] an indication of allowed estimation SSBs, wherein the allowed estimation SSBs are a subset of the set of estimation SSBs that are allowed to be used for a RACH transmission". Although Li is relied on for estimation SSBs, it is respectfully submitted that Abotabl cannot disclose an indication of allowed estimation SSBs as Abotabl does not discuss estimation SSBs at all. Instead, Abotabl discloses only SSBs that are actually transmitted and mapped to ROs associated with a PRACH configuration (see Abotabl at [0101]). Further, as all of the SSBs of Abotabl are allowed SSBs and are not estimation SSBs, Abotabl's SSBs are not a subset of the set of estimation SSBs that are allowed to be used for a RACH transmission either.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The primary reference Li teaches a network node transmitting configuration information to a UE indicating a first periodicity for narrow beam SSBs to be transmitted and a second periodicity of SSBs to be transmitted. The UE measures L1-RSRP values associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs and predict L1-RSRP values for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs that are at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs in which the first subset of SSBs are not transmitted. In other words, when there is an overlap of an SSB in the first subset and an SSB in the second subset at a temporal location, the SSB in the first subset is skipped, and an L1-RSRP value is predicted for the SSB in the first subset at the overlapping temporal location. As such, as indicated in the previous office action, SSBs in the first subset of SSBs that do not overlap the second subset are analogous to the actually transmitted SSBs, and SSBs in the first subset of SSBs that overlap the second subset and are skipped are analogous to estimation SSBs. However, both actually transmitted SSBs and skipped SSBs are defined to be within the set of SSBs configured using the first periodicity for the UE.
As disclosed in Abotabl in [0101], a network node sends configuration information to a UE indicate a plurality of PRACH configurations, each PRACH configuration indicating a respective subset of SSBs from a set of SSBs that are mapped to ROs associated with the PRACH configuration. Examiner notes that Abotabl does not explicitly indicate that the set of SSBs and the respective subset of SSBs are not only for actually transmitted SSBs. The set of SSBs and the respective subset of SSBs are indicative of just SSBs assigned to the UE. As such, the set of SSBs and respective subset of SSBs may include both SSBs that are actually transmitted and SSBs that are skipped. There is no indication in Abotabl that explicitly recites that the SSBs mapped to ROs are for actually transmitted SSBs only.
As such, examiner maintains that the combination of Li in view of Abotabl teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-14, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0301428 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”) in view of US 2025/0317973 A1 to Abotabl et al. (hereinafter “Abotabl”)
Regarding Claim 1 and 11, Li teaches A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) and method, the WTRU comprising a processor, the processor configured to: ([0007], discloses a UE including processor)
receive configuration information ([0092], discloses network entity 105-a may transmit configuration information 215) comprising an indication of a set of estimation synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) ([0092], discloses the configuration information 215 may indicates a first periodicity at which one or more narrow beam SSBs are to be transmitted (i.e. indication of a set of estimation SSBs), and a second periodicity at which one or more wide beam SSBs are to be transmitted. [0099], further discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 and the second subset of SSBs 315 in a SSB burst 305 at their expected locations, and the UE may predict L1-RSRPs, or one or more predicted top SSBs (e.g., Top-K-SSBs) in terms of L1-RSRPs, for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs 315 in which the first subset of SSBs 310 are not transmitted (i.e. SSBs in the first subset at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs are analogous to the set of estimation SSBs) and a set of random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs; ([0107], discloses RACH resources (e.g., RO/Preamble/PO) may be associated with one or more SSBs. RACH resources may be associated only with SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 410. [0004], further discloses RMSI can indicate presences of RACH resources for SSBs (i.e. RO configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs))
determine a reference signal received power (RSRP) value for each estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs; ([0099], discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 and the second subset of SSBs 315 in a SSB burst 305 at their expected locations, and the UE may predict L1-RSRPs, or one or more predicted top SSBs (e.g., Top-K-SSBs) in terms of L1-RSRPs, for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs 315 in which the first subset of SSBs 310 are not transmitted (i.e. determine RSRP value for each estimation SSB))
determine an estimation SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs for a RACH transmission based on the estimation SSB having the highest RSRP value of the set of estimation SSBs and a set of actually transmitted SSBs and based on the estimation SSB being part of the allowed estimation SSBs; ([0099], discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 (i.e. measure RSRP for set of actually transmitted SSBs) and the second subset of SSBs 315 in a SSB burst 305 at their expected locations, and the UE may predict L1-RSRPs, or one or more predicted top SSBs (e.g., Top-K-SSBs) in terms of L1-RSRPs, for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs 315 in which the first subset of SSBs 310 are not transmitted (i.e. determine predicted RSRP value for each estimation SSB). The UE may identify the preferred SSB among the SSB burst 305 (e.g., based on a highest L1-RSRP))
determine one or more ROs associated with the estimation SSB based on the ROs configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs; and ([0099], discloses The UE may identify CORESET (e.g., CORESET #0) resource, RMSI resources, or both, or may identify RACH resources (e.g., ROs/preambles/POs) (i.e. determine one or more Ros associated with the estimation SSB) for Msg1 or MsgA transmission, where the CORESET, RMSI, or RACH resources may be associated with the first subset of SSBs 310, the second subset of SSBs 315, or both)
transmit the RACH transmission on the one or more ROs associated with the estimation SSB. ([0099], discloses RACH resources (e.g., ROs/preambles/POs) for Msg1 or MsgA transmission (i.e. RACH transmission))
Li discloses estimation SSBs (see [0092]) does not explicitly teach receive an indication of allowed estimation SSBs, wherein the allowed estimation SSBs are a subset of the set of estimation SSBs that are allowed to be used for a RACH transmission;
However, the concept of configuring a subset of SSBs from a group of SSBs that are allowed for RACH transmission is well known in the art. For example, Abotabl discloses in Figure 5A and [0100], the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs. In some aspects, the network node 110 may transmit a plurality of SSBs in an SSB burst. The UE 120 may detect (e.g., receive) one or more of the SSBs transmitted by the network node 110. The UE 120 may measure a signal strength of each detected SSB, and the UE 120 may select an SSB based at least in part on the signal strength measurements of the one or more detected SSBs. [0101], further discloses As further shown in FIG. 5A, and by reference number 510, the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. That configuration information may indicate a plurality of PRACH configurations, and each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, may indicate a respective subset of SSBs (i.e. allowed SSBs are a sub set of the set of SSBs to be used for RACH transmissions), from a set of SSBs, that are mapped to ROs associated with that PRACH configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the above limitations as suggested by Abotabl, such that the network can better manage spatial domain adaptation as indicated in [0029] of Abotabl.
Regarding Claim 2, Li/Abotabl teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein the processor configured to
Li further teaches determine the estimation SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs for the RACH transmission comprises the processor being configured to determine the estimation SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs based on one or more of an artificial intelligence machine learning (AIML) model index, an AIML model accuracy, a periodicity of the set of SSBs, a number of SSBs in the subset of SSBs, or a priority. ([0050], disclose A UE may predict narrow beam measurements (e.g., using an artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) model) at occasions of the wide beam SSBs that do not include the narrow beam SSBs. [0052], discloses In some aspects, AI/ML models may be selected at the UE based on indicated model IDs (i.e. AIML model index) (e.g., indicated via PSS, SSS, PBCH, or RMSI), or actually transmitted SSBs in the first and second subsets of SSBs)
Regarding Claim 3, Li/Abotabl teaches The WTRU of claim 2, wherein Li further teaches the processor configured to determine the estimation SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs based on the estimation SSB having the highest RSRP value of the set of estimation SSBs and the set of actually transmitted SSBs further comprises the processor being configured to select the estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs using an AIML model indicated by the AIML model index. ([0050], disclose A UE may predict narrow beam measurements (e.g., using an artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) model) at occasions of the wide beam SSBs that do not include the narrow beam SSBs. [0052], discloses In some aspects, AI/ML models may be selected at the UE based on indicated model IDs (i.e. AIML model index) (e.g., indicated via PSS, SSS, PBCH, or RMSI), or actually transmitted SSBs in the first and second subsets of SSBs)
Regarding Claim 4, Li/Abotabl teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein
the processor is further configured to: determine an RSRP value for each actually transmitted SSB of the set of actually transmitted SSBs; and ([0099], discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs (i.e. determine RSRP for each actually transmitted SSB) associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 (i.e. actually transmitted SSB set) and the second subset of SSBs 315 in a SSB burst 305 at their expected locations, and the UE may predict L1-RSRPs, or one or more predicted top SSBs (e.g., Top-K-SSBs) in terms of L1-RSRPs, for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs 315 in which the first subset of SSBs 310 are not transmitted (i.e. set of estimation SSBs))
wherein the processor configured to receive the configuration information comprises the processor being configured to receive an indication of a set of actually transmitted SSBs ([0092], discloses the configuration information 215 may indicates a first periodicity at which one or more narrow beam SSBs are to be transmitted (i.e. indication of a set of SSBs including actually transmitted SSBs), and a second periodicity at which one or more wide beam SSBs are to be transmitted. Examiner notes that SSBs in the first subset that are not at temporal locations of the second subset are analogous to the set of actually transmitted SSBs) and a set of ROs configurations associated with the set of actually transmitted SSBs. ([0099], discloses The UE may identify CORESET (e.g., CORESET #0) resource, RMSI resources, or both, or may identify RACH resources (e.g., ROs/preambles/POs) (i.e. determine one or more Ros associated with the estimation SSB) for Msg1 or MsgA transmission, where the CORESET, RMSI, or RACH resources may be associated with the first subset of SSBs 310, the second subset of SSBs 315, or both)
Regarding Claim 5, Li/Abotabl teaches The WTRU of claim 4, wherein Li further teaches the processor configured to determine the RSRP value for each estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs comprises the processor being configured to determine the RSRP value for each estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs based on one or more RSRP values for one or more of the actually transmitted SSBs of the set of actually transmitted SSBs. ([0094], discloses the UE 115-a may measure the transmitted SSBs of the first subset of SSBs 230, and their RSRPs may be used as AI/ML inputs, to predict all narrow-beam RSRPs of SSB cycles in which the first subset of SSBs 230 are not transmitted (i.e. determine RSRP value for each estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs based on one or more RSRP values for one or more of the actually transmitted SSBs of the set of actually transmitted SSBs))
Regarding Claim 6, Li/Abotabl teaches The WTRU of claim 4, wherein Li further teaches the processor configured to determine the actually transmitted SSB out of the set of actually transmitted SSBs for the RACH transmission comprises the processor being configured to determine the actually transmitted SSB out of the set of actually transmitted SSBs for the RACH transmission when the actually transmitted SSB has the highest RSRP value of the SSBs of the set of estimation SSBs and of the SSBs of the set of actually transmitted SSBs. ([0099], discloses the preferred SSB among the SSB burst 305 (e.g., based on a highest L1-RSRP). Examiner notes the SSB burst includes both actually transmitted SSBs and the estimation SSBs)
Regarding Claim 9, Li/Abotabl teaches The WTRU of claim 1, wherein Li further teaches the processor configured to determine the estimation SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs for the RACH transmission comprises the processor being configured to determine the estimation SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs for the RACH transmission based on a periodicity of the estimation SSB. ([0010], discloses the first subset of SSBs may be transmitted at a first periodicity)
Claims 12-14, 16, is rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2, 4, 5, and 9, respectively, except the claims are in method format.
Regarding Claim 17, Li/Abotabl teaches The method of claim 11, wherein Abotabl further teaches determining the one or more ROs associated with the estimation SSB further comprises determining the one or more ROs associated with the estimation SSB based on the subset of the set of estimation SSBs that are allowed to be used for the RACH transmission. ([0101], discloses As further shown in FIG. 5A, and by reference number 510, the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. That configuration information may indicate a plurality of PRACH configurations, and each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, may indicate a respective subset of SSBs (i.e. allowed SSBs are a sub set of the set of SSBs to be used for RACH transmissions), from a set of SSBs, that are mapped to ROs associated with that PRACH configuration)
Examiner maintains same motivation to combine as indicated in Claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 10, Li teaches A method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: ([0007], discloses a UE)
receiving configuration information ([0092], discloses network entity 105-a may transmit configuration information 215) comprising an indication of a set of estimation synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) ([0092], discloses the configuration information 215 may indicates a first periodicity at which one or more narrow beam SSBs are to be transmitted (i.e. indication of a set of SSBs including estimation SSBs), and a second periodicity at which one or more wide beam SSBs are to be transmitted. [0099], further discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 and the second subset of SSBs 315 in a SSB burst 305 at their expected locations, and the UE may predict L1-RSRPs, or one or more predicted top SSBs (e.g., Top-K-SSBs) in terms of L1-RSRPs, for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs 315 in which the first subset of SSBs 310 are not transmitted (i.e. SSBs in the first subset at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs are analogous to the set of estimation SSBs)
a set of random access channel (RACH) occasions (ROs) configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs, ([0107], discloses RACH resources (e.g., RO/Preamble/PO) may be associated with one or more SSBs. RACH resources may be associated only with SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 410. [0004], further discloses RMSI can indicate presences of RACH resources for SSBs (i.e. RO configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs))
an indication of a set of actually transmitted SSBs, and ([0092], discloses the configuration information 215 may indicates a first periodicity at which one or more narrow beam SSBs are to be transmitted (i.e. indication of a set of estimation SSBs), and a second periodicity at which one or more wide beam SSBs are to be transmitted. Examiner notes that SSBs of the first subset at the first periodicity in non-temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs at the second periodicity are analogous to the set of actually transmitted SSBs, and the SSBs of the first subset at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs are analogous to the estimated SSBs)
a set of ROs configurations associated with the set of actually transmitted SSBs; ([0107], discloses RACH resources (e.g., RO/Preamble/PO) may be associated with one or more SSBs. RACH resources may be associated only with SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 410. [0004], further discloses RMSI can indicate presences of RACH resources for SSBs (i.e. RO configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs))
determining an RSRP value for each actually transmitted SSB of the set of actually transmitted SSBs; ([0099], discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 (i.e. measure RSRP for set of actually transmitted SSBs)
determining a reference signal received power (RSRP) value for each estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs based on the RSRP values for each actually transmitted SSB of the set of actually transmitted SSBs; ([0094], discloses the UE 115-a may measure the transmitted SSBs of the first subset of SSBs 230, and their RSRPs may be used as AI/ML inputs, to predict all narrow-beam RSRPs of SSB cycles in which the first subset of SSBs 230 are not transmitted (i.e. determine RSRP value for each estimation SSB of the set of estimation SSBs based on one or more RSRP values for one or more of the actually transmitted SSBs of the set of actually transmitted SSBs))
determining an SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs or the set of actually transmitted SSBs ([0099], discloses the preferred SSB among the SSB burst 305 (e.g., based on a highest L1-RSRP). Examiner notes the SSB burst includes both actually transmitted SSBs and the estimation SSBs) for a RACH transmission, ([0099], discloses RACH resources (e.g., ROs/preambles/POs) for Msg1 or MsgA transmission (i.e. RACH transmission))
wherein determining the SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs or the set of actually transmitted SSBs for the RACH transmission comprises: determining the SSB to be an SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs when the estimation SSB has the highest RSRP value of the set of estimation SSBs and of the set of actually transmitted SSBs and when the estimation SSB is part of the allowed estimation SSBs; ([0099], discloses The UE may measure L1-RSRPs associated with the SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 (i.e. measure RSRP for set of actually transmitted SSBs) and the second subset of SSBs 315 in a SSB burst 305 at their expected locations, and the UE may predict L1-RSRPs, or one or more predicted top SSBs (e.g., Top-K-SSBs) in terms of L1-RSRPs, for SSBs in the first subset of SSBs 310 at temporal locations of the second subset of SSBs 315 in which the first subset of SSBs 310 are not transmitted (i.e. determine predicted RSRP value for each estimation SSB). The UE may identify the preferred SSB among the SSB burst 305 (e.g., based on a highest L1-RSRP))
determining one or more ROs associated with the SSB based on the ROs configurations associated with the set of estimation SSBs or the ROs configurations associated with the set of actually transmitted SSBs; ([0099], discloses The UE may identify CORESET (e.g., CORESET #0) resource, RMSI resources, or both, or may identify RACH resources (e.g., ROs/preambles/POs) (i.e. determine one or more Ros associated with the estimation SSB) for Msg1 or MsgA transmission, where the CORESET, RMSI, or RACH resources may be associated with the first subset of SSBs 310, the second subset of SSBs 315, or both) and
transmitting the RACH transmission on the one or more ROs associated with the SSB. ([0099], discloses RACH resources (e.g., ROs/preambles/POs) for Msg1 or MsgA transmission (i.e. RACH transmission))
Li discloses estimation SSBs (see [0092]) does not explicitly teach receive an indication of allowed estimation SSBs, wherein the allowed estimation SSBs are a subset of the set of estimation SSBs that are allowed to be used for a RACH transmission;
However, the concept of configuring a subset of SSBs from a group of SSBs that are allowed for RACH transmission is well known in the art. For example, Abotabl discloses in Figure 5A and [0100], the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs. In some aspects, the network node 110 may transmit a plurality of SSBs in an SSB burst. The UE 120 may detect (e.g., receive) one or more of the SSBs transmitted by the network node 110. The UE 120 may measure a signal strength of each detected SSB, and the UE 120 may select an SSB based at least in part on the signal strength measurements of the one or more detected SSBs. [0101], further discloses As further shown in FIG. 5A, and by reference number 510, the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, configuration information. That configuration information may indicate a plurality of PRACH configurations, and each PRACH configuration, of the plurality of PRACH configurations, may indicate a respective subset of SSBs (i.e. allowed SSBs are a sub set of the set of SSBs to be used for RACH transmissions), from a set of SSBs, that are mapped to ROs associated with that PRACH configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the above limitations as suggested by Abotabl, such that the network can better manage spatial domain adaptation as indicated in [0029] of Abotabl.
Regarding Claim 19, Li/Abotabl teaches The method of claim 18, wherein Li further teaches determining the SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs or the set of actually transmitted SSBs further comprises determining the SSB out of the set of estimation SSBs or the set of actually transmitted SSBs based on one or more of an artificial intelligence machine learning (AIML) model index, an AIML model accuracy, a periodicity of the set of SSBs, a number of SSBs in the subset of SSBs, or a priority. ([0050], disclose A UE may predict narrow beam measurements (e.g., using an artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) model) at occasions of the wide beam SSBs that do not include the narrow beam SSBs. [0052], discloses In some aspects, AI/ML models may be selected at the UE based on indicated model IDs (i.e. AIML model index) (e.g., indicated via PSS, SSS, PBCH, or RMSI), or actually transmitted SSBs in the first and second subsets of SSBs)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 15, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477