Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-25,27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masao (JP2021025102A) in view of Philipp (US 10,584,001) and Hoffmeister (US 7,988,398).
Re claims 15,29, Masao teaches an apparatus VM and inherent method of use for transporting a (wafer) substrate Sw (Sw1,Sw2) to/from a substrate processing chamber Pc1-3 in which substrate processing is performed, the apparatus comprising: a substrate transport chamber (Tc,Ac,Mc,61,62,33 outside of Pc1-3) connected to the substrate processing chamber, and including a movement surface (not numbered, see figures, [0024]) that includes at least one bottom surface and at least one side surface to which first magnets are provided, respectively; and at least one substrate transport module Ca (Ca1,Ca2) accommodated in the substrate transport chamber to hold the substrate, including a second magnet to which a magnetic force that is at least one of a repulsive force or an attractive force acting between the first magnet and the second magnet is applied, and configured to be movable along the movement surface 61,62 in a state of floating from the movement surface using the magnetic force (figures, [0024]). Masao teaches the at least one wafer transport module comprising a wafer support surface on which the wafer is retained during transport thereof, such that a principal surface of the wafer is parallel to the wafer support surface, and at least one protrusion (see figures 2a, 2b, 3 show the wafer Sw, Sw1 on carrier Ca,Ca1 with at least one protrusion (not numbered) adjacent the wafer as claimed) extending normally from the wafer support surface. Masao states the movement is by known means of magnetic levitation with contactless power supply, which infers first and second magnets as claimed as the examiner has only encountered that type. However, to avoid any ambiguity, Philipp teaches (figure 2) movement of substrate transport modules 10,110 with second magnets 111 via magnetic levitation with contactless power supply with magnets 111,121 to move substrates 50 in a controllable manner with bottom and sidewalls with first magnets 121, as well as moving along surfaces in vertical and/or horizontal state. Masao does not use the term “wafer” but wafer is a common term and is generally not limited to being round. For clarity it is noted that Hofmeister (abstract, figures) is in the same classification as Masao (H01L21/677 relates to handling of semiconductor substrate wafers) and shows magnetic levitation transport of semiconductor substrates and flat panels, which are understood to include wafers or any other type of substrates (column 5, 2nd paragraph, substrates 148), are already understood in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Masao as claimed for greater versatility of uses and in order to move wafer substrates or any other type through the system in a controllable manner.
Re claim 16, Masao teaches an angle adjusting mechanism Ac provided in the substrate transport chamber to switch an angle of the bottom surface between a first angle and a second angle which is closer to a vertical state than the first angle.
Re claim 17, Masao teaches (figures 1,4) the substrate transport chamber includes: an opening (Po,33) through which carry-in/out of the substrate to/from the substrate processing chamber (32, PC1-3) is performed; and a transport passage 33,61,62 including the side surface.
Re claim 18, Masao teaches the first angle is horizontal, and the second angle is an angle at which an inclination with respect to a horizontal direction is in a range of 45 to 90 degrees.
Re claim 19, Masao teaches the substrate transport chamber is configured such that the carry-in/out of the substrate to/from the substrate processing chamber is performed using the substrate transport module that moves along the bottom surface at the [first] angle, and wherein the angle adjusting mechanism is provided in a region between the transport passage and the opening. Masao appears to move into/out of the process chamber in a more vertical / second angle rather than the less vertical / first angle. However, reversal of parts and changes in shape are obvious modifications (MPEP 2144; In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) ). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to have modified Masao as claimed in order to be installed in varied shaped available spaces and handle varied shaped / orientated processing types and devices.
Re claim 20, Masao teaches the substrate transport chamber is configured to transport the substrate under a vacuum atmosphere, wherein a load-lock chamber (Lc1,Lc2,[0024]) in which the substrate that is carried-in to or carried-out from the substrate transport chamber is temporarily arranged, is configured to be capable of switching an internal pressure of the load-lock chamber between a normal pressure and a vacuum and is connected to a position different from a position of the opening of the substrate transport chamber, and wherein the substrate transport chamber is configured such that the substrate is delivered to or from the load lock chamber using the substrate transport module that moves along the bottom surface at the first angle, and the angle adjusting mechanism Ac of the substrate transport chamber is provided in a region between the load-lock chamber and the transport passage 33,61,62.
Re claims 21,27, Masao teaches (see figures 1-4) the at least one side surface includes a plurality of side surfaces and the at least one bottom surface includes a plurality of bottom surfaces, wherein, in the transport passage, the plurality of side surfaces are disposed to face each other, and wherein the angle adjusting mechanism switches angles of the plurality of bottom surfaces to be connected respectively to the plurality of side surfaces in the transport passage.
Re claim 22, Masao teaches (see figures 1-4) the at least one substrate transport module includes a plurality of substrate transport modules, and wherein the plurality of side surfaces of the transport passage are disposed with a gap (see figures, not numbered) therebetween through which the plurality of substrate transport modules moving along the plurality of side surfaces, respectively, pass by each other.
Re claims 23,24, Masao teaches (see figures 1-4) between the plurality of side surfaces, a partition member (31, various unnumbered in figures 1-4) is provided to partition a space through which the substrate transport modules move along the plurality of side surfaces, respectively.
Re claim 25, Masao teaches (see figures 1-4) the substrate transport chamber further includes (Ac 1a or Ac 1b) at least one vertical surface that is capable of being switched between a third angle, at which the vertical surface is connected to the side surface, and a fourth angle, which is different from the third angle, and wherein the substrate transport chamber is configured such that the carry-in/out of the substrate to/from the substrate processing chamber is performed using the substrate transport module that moves along the vertical surface at the fourth angle.
Re claim 28, Masao teaches (see figures 1-4) system for processing a substrate, the system comprising: an apparatus for transporting the substrate of Claim 15; and a plurality of substrate processing chambers Pc1-3 connected to the substrate transport chamber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shindo (abstract, figures, claims) teaches it is known for linear magnetic conveyance of wafer/ substrate/ transport modules with magnets in bottom and side walls & a protrusion on a wafer transport module.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the references do not teach the newly claimed protrusion limitation. However as shown above, Masao teaches the at least one wafer transport module comprising a wafer support surface on which the wafer is retained during transport thereof, such that a principal surface of the wafer is parallel to the wafer support surface, and at least one protrusion (see figures 2a, 2b, 3 show the wafer Sw, Sw1 on carrier Ca,Ca1 with at least one protrusion (not numbered) adjacent the wafer as claimed) extending normally from the wafer support surface. And thus Masao as modified teaches the claims.
MICHAEL S. LOWE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/MICHAEL S LOWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652