Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jaramillo et al. (US 20090273901 A1).
Re claim 1: Jaramillo discloses a server chassis (200 in fig 2a) configured for an expansion assembly (enclosure 400 in fig 5c) to be mounted thereon, the server chassis comprising:
a housing, comprising a bottom plate (208 in fig 2a), a first side plate (202 in fig 2a) and a second side plate (204 in fig 2a), wherein the first side plate and the second side plate are respectively connected to two opposite sides of the bottom plate, and the first side plate has a top side away from the bottom plate; and
at least one mounting assembly, each of the mounting assembly comprising:
a fixed bracket (i.e., portion of sidewall 202 on which cam member 222 is mounted as shown in fig 2b), fixed to the first side plate; and
a mounting bracket (cam member 222 in fig 2b), configured for (i.e., functional language) the expansion assembly to be mounted thereon and movably disposed on the fixed bracket.
Re claim 2: Jaramillo discloses the server chassis, wherein the mounting bracket (cam member 222) has at least one first guiding structure (first cam member channel 228 in fig 2b), and the at least one first guiding structure selectively protrudes out of the top side and is configured for (i.e., functional language) at least one second guiding structure (cam follower 420 in fig 4a) of the expansion assembly to be mounted thereon.
Re claim 9: Jaramillo discloses the server chassis, wherein the at least one first guiding structure (228 in fig 2b) and the at least one second guiding structure (420 in fig 4a) are respectively a guiding groove and a guiding pin, and there is a plurality of guiding surfaces (a pair of second cam member channels 230 in fig 2b) on a side of the mounting bracket away from the bottom plate.
Re claim 10: Jaramillo discloses the server chassis, wherein each of the at least one mounting assembly further comprises at least one elastic component (spring 232 in fig 2b and paragraph 27; herein, a spring 232 is coupled to the chassis side wall 202 and the cam member 222 and resiliently biases the cam member 222 into a receiving position A), and two opposite ends of the at least one elastic component are respectively fixed to the fixed bracket and the mounting bracket.
Re claim 11: Jaramillo discloses a server comprising:
a housing (200 in fig 2a and paragraph 26), comprising a bottom plate (208 in fig 2a), a first side plate (202 in fig 2a) and a second side plate (204 in fig 2a) together forming an accommodation space (207 in fig 2a), wherein the first side plate and the second side plate are respectively connected to two opposite sides of the bottom plate, and the first side plate has a top side;
a substrate assembly (see paragraph 26; herein, chassis floor 208 includes a circuit board located in the chassis housing 207 and may extend between the chassis side walls 202 and 204 and the chassis front wall 206), disposed in the accommodation space;
an expansion assembly, comprising an assembling bracket (enclosure 400 + handle member 414 in figs 4a-4b, 5c and paragraph 29) and a circuit board assembly (board 422 in fig 4b), wherein the circuit board assembly is disposed on the assembling bracket and electrically connected to the substrate assembly (see fig 5j and paragraph 32); and
at least one mounting assembly, each of the mounting assembly comprising:
a fixed bracket (i.e., inner portion of sidewall 202 on which cam member 222 is mounted as shown in fig 2b), fixed to the first side plate; and
a mounting bracket (cam member 222 in fig 2b), configured for (i.e., functional language) the expansion assembly to be mounted thereon and movably disposed on the fixed bracket.
Re claim 12: Jaramillo discloses the server, wherein the mounting bracket (cam member 222) has at least one first guiding structure (first cam member channel 228 in fig 2b), the expansion assembly has at least one second guiding structure (cam follower 420 in fig 4a), the at least one second guiding structure is located on the assembling bracket (400+414), and the at least one first guiding structure selectively protrudes out of the top side and is configured for (i.e., functional language) the at least one second guiding structure of the expansion assembly to be mounted thereon.
Re claim 19: Jaramillo discloses the server, wherein the at least one first guiding structure (228 in fig 2b) and the at least one second guiding structure (420 in fig 4a) are respectively a guiding groove and a guiding pin, and there is a plurality of guiding surfaces (a pair of second cam member channels 230 in fig 2b) on a side of the mounting bracket away from the bottom plate.
Re claim 20: Jaramillo discloses the server, wherein each of the at least one mounting assembly further comprises at least one elastic component (spring 232 in fig 2b and paragraph 27; herein, a spring 232 is coupled to the chassis side wall 202 and the cam member 222 and resiliently biases the cam member 222 into a receiving position A), and two opposite ends of the at least one elastic component are respectively fixed to the fixed bracket and the mounting bracket.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a server chassis configured for an expansion assembly to be mounted thereon including, along with other limitations, the housing further comprises a top plate disposed on the first side plate and the second side plate, each of the at least one mounting assembly further comprises a pushed bracket, the pushed bracket is movably disposed on the mounting bracket, and the pushed bracket comprises a body portion, at least one first pushed portion and a second pushed portion, the at least one first pushed portion protrudes from a side of the body portion away from the bottom plate and is configured to be pressed by the top plate, and the second pushed portion protrudes from a side of the body portion away from the first side plate and is configured to be pressed by an assembling pin of the expansion assembly as set forth in the claim.
Claims 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The best prior art of record, taken alone or in combination thereof, fails to teach a server including, along with other limitations, the housing further comprises a top plate disposed on the first side plate and the second side plate, each of the at least one mounting assembly further comprises a pushed bracket, the pushed bracket comprises a body portion, at least one first pushed portion and a second pushed portion, the body portion is movably disposed on the mounting bracket, the at least one first pushed portion protrudes from a side of the body portion away from the bottom plate and is configured to be pressed by the top plate, and the second pushed portion protrudes from a side of the body portion away from the first side plate and is configured to be pressed by an assembling pin of the expansion assembly as set forth in the claim.
Conclusion
/NIDHI THAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841