DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenyon et al (US 2012/0199129), hereinafter Kenyon in view of Mebasser et al (US 2014/0069432), hereinafter Mebasser.
Regarding claim 1, Kenyon teaches a continuous airway pressure (CPAP) device for sending air suctioned into the CPAP device to an airway of a user (paragraph 68, paragraph 112), the CPAP device comprising:
an air blower (Fig. 5: 210, paragraph 144); and
a housing (Fig. 5: 205) in which an air blower chamber is provided to accommodate the air blower (Fig. 5: interior of housing 205) , wherein
the air blower includes an impeller rotatable about a rotation axis (Fig.5: impeller 260 rotates about central axis), a drive unit that drives to rotate the impeller (paragraph 144, a motor positioned within stationary component 230 and adapted to drive a rotatable shaft or rotor), and a casing surrounding the impeller (Fig. 5, paragraph 144, housing 220 with first and second housing parts 222, 224),
the casing is provided with a suction port for suctioning air inside the air blower chamber into the casing (Fig. 5: inlet 226, paragraph 145), and a discharge port for discharging the air inside the casing to outside of the casing (Fig. 5: 228, paragraph 145),
the suction port is located at a top plate portion overlapping with the rotation axis (Fig. 5: top plate 222), the top plate portion being one of a pair of wall portions of the casing (Fig. 5: 222 and 224), the pair of wall portions sandwiching the impeller in a direction in which the rotation axis extends (Fig. 5),
wall portions defining the air blower chamber include a wall portion that is located at a portion not overlapping with the top portion when seen along the direction in which the rotation axis extends and that is provided with an introduction port for introducing air outside the housing in the air blower chamber (Fig. 5: see below, wall portion has introduction port 208, paragraph 148),
the air blower chamber includes a facing wall portion facing the top plate portion with a distance between the facing wall portion and the top plate portion (Fig. 5: top of outer housing 207) and
the introduction port is provided at a position separated by the casing when viewed from the suction port. (See Fig. 5: the introduction port is provided at a position separated by the casing when viewed from the suction port).
Kenyon does not teach a flow adjustment portion that partitions at least a portion of the space into a plurality of flow paths.
However, Mebasser teaches a blower for a cpap device (Fig. 1) which has in a space between the facing wall portion and the top plate portion (Figs. 28, 29, 103-107), a flow adjustment portion that partitions at least a portion of the space into a plurality of flow paths arranged side by side around the rotation axis is provided (paragraph 164, vanes 206, located above inlet 206 are structured to direct airflow towards the inlet 123. The vanes are coupled to the outer surface of the top cover 120 of the blower casing), and
an outer end portion and an inner end portion of each of the plurality of flow paths in a direction orthogonal to the rotation axis include respectively a first open end and a second open end, the first open end and the second open end being open along the direction orthogonal to the rotation axis. (Fig. 103-104, both ends of the flow path between vanes 206 is open and is orthogonal to the axis through the center of the inlet opening.)
It would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to have modified the blower of Kenyon to include the flow adjustment portion of Mebasser, since Mebasser teaches that the vanes (flow adjustment portion) may assist in reducing the radiated noise from inlet 123 and increase efficiency of the blower. (paragraph 164)
Regarding claim 8, Kenyon in view of Mebasser teaches the CPAP device according to claim 1, and Mebasser further teaches wherein the flow adjustment portion is provided on the top plate portion to protrude toward the facing wall portion. (paragraph 164, located on top plate 120)
Regarding claim 9, Kenyon in view of Mebasser teaches the CPAP device according to claim 1, and Mebasser further teaches wherein the flow adjustment portion is provided on the facing wall portion to protrude toward the top plate portion. (See Figs. 103-107)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,612, hereinafter Pat No. ‘612 in view of Kenyon.
Regarding claim 1, Pat. No ‘612 teaches all of the limitations of the claims except the introduction port is provided at a position separated by the casing when viewed from the suction port. (Claims 1 and 8 teach all of the limitations of the claims)
However, Kenyon teaches a blower for a cpap device which has the introduction port is provided at a position separated by the casing when viewed from the suction port.
(See Fig. 5: the introduction port is provided at a position separated by the casing when viewed from the suction port).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the introduction port provided at a position separated by the casing as taught by Kenyon in order to reduce a portion of the noise from the blower radiated to the inlet. (paragraph 148)
Regarding claim 2, the limitations are taught by claim 2 of the patent.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations are taught by claim 3 of the patent.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations are taught by claim 4 of the patent.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations are taught by claim 5 of the patent.
Regarding claim 6, the limitations are taught by claim 6 of the patent.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations are taught by claim 7 of the patent.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations are taught by claim 1 of the patent.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of claim 9 are taught by claim 8 of the patent.
Conclusion
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785