DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kornet et al. (US PGPUB 2011/0105926).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kornet discloses a data processing system and method for planning neurostimulation programming of a patient, comprising: at least one memory device (e.g. 82) configured to store patient data corresponding to multiple characteristics of an autonomic condition of the patient (e.g. ¶ 48, 55); at least one processor configured to: identify neural targets of the patient corresponding to respective leads and electrodes of a neurostimulation system (e.g. ¶ 31 – 34); generate, neurostimulation programming settings for use at the neural targets (e.g. ¶ 37); and output programming data, based on the neurostimulation programming settings, for controlling neurostimulation with the neurostimulation system (e.g. ¶ 34), but fails to explicitly recite determining, based on the patient data, respective severity scores corresponding to the multiple characteristics of the autonomic condition. However, using “severity scores” are well known in the art. As described in the specification of the present application, severity scores could be determined from a symptom questionnaire given to the patient. User input/feedback would read on such a questionnaire. Kornet teaches in ¶ 34 that the user may interact with the programmer including adjusting operational parameters to adjust therapy. This would be a form of user feedback that could be considered to indicate a severity score.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kornet discloses the neural targets of the patient include spinal neural targets, and wherein the neurostimulation includes spinal cord stimulation (SCS) to be provided via the respective leads and electrodes to the spinal neural targets (e.g. ¶ 29).
Regarding claims 3 – 8 and 13 – 18, Kornet teaches the severity scores are well known as described above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kornet discloses interacting with a programmer to input data of multiple characteristics (e.g. ¶ 34). Displaying the inputs on the programmer would require only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Kornet discloses the neurostimulation programming settings includes information for: one or more spatial targets, one or more frequencies, and one or more pulse-widths used for the neurostimulation; and wherein the neurostimulation programming settings are generated based on a configuration of the respective leads and electrodes of the neurostimulation system used for the patient, wherein the configuration provides specifications for: a type of implantable pulse generator, a type of lead, a number of leads, and a number of electrodes on respective leads (e.g. ¶ 31-40).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kornet discloses communication circuitry configured to provide programming instructions for an electrostimulator of the neurostimulation system, the programming instructions corresponding to the neurostimulation programming settings to control stimulation of at respective neural targets of the patient via the respective leads and electrodes; wherein the programming instructions includes one or more stimulation parameters including: an electrode configuration; one or more stimulation pulse parameters including a pulse amplitude, a pulse width, or a stimulation frequency; a stimulation pulse waveform; an ON-OFF cycling scheme comprising an ON period for delivering stimulation pulses and a subsequent stimulation-free OFF period; or a charge per second (CPS) or a charge per hour (CPH) delivered to a respective neural target (e.g. ¶ 31-40).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796