DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 06/23/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-20 has been considered and entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6, 7, 9, 12-13, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nagano et al. (US 20240284366 A1)hereinafter Nagano and further in view of Xiong et al. (US 20230224880 A1)hereinafter Xiong
As to claim 1 Nagano teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, being configured to ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, he controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
receive a configuration for a bandwidth part ([0079] UE receives dedicated downlink BWP)
the configuration comprises a BWP-DownlinkDedicated information element including a NonCellDefiningSSB information element indicating a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD- SSB) included in the BWP, ([0079][0155]Fig. 4, Fig. 12, the dedicated DL BWP and the dedicated UL BWP are configured based on BWP-Downlink and BWP-Uplink which are information elements included in SevingcellConfig in an RRC message which is dedicated signaling transmitted from the base station 200 to the UE 100; identification information is mandatorily provided may be a condition (NCD-SSB) in which the Non-CD-SSB 502 is transmitted in the separate initial DL BWP configured for the RedCap UE.)
and
Nagano does not teach the BWP overlapping with one or more frequency resources associated with a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB); perform, based at least in part on the configuration, a measurement using the NCD-SSB during an active state of the BWP
Xiong teaches the BWP overlapping with one or more frequency resources associated with a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB); ([0084][0085] UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB if the PDSCH resource allocation overlaps with PRBs containing SS/PBCH block transmission resource, a frequency domain resource of a SS/PBCH block )
and
perform, based at least in part on the configuration, a measurement using the NCD-SSB during an active state of the BWP([0087] the UE may also perform measurements using the NCD-SSB when the separate initial DL BWP is the active DL BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Nagano because Xiong teaches that a CD-SSB is a SSB that allow a user equipment (UE) to obtain physical cell ID and system information block 1 and to perform measurement on the CD-SSB, paging or system information reception in the frequency of CORESET #0 indicated by the MIB. (Xiong [0047])
Claim 7 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 13. Nagano teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, he controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
receive a configuration for a bandwidth part (BWP), ([0079] UE receives dedicated downlink BWP)
the configuration comprises a BWP-DownlinkDedicated information element including a NonCellDefiningSSB information element indicating a non-cell-defining synchronization signal block (NCD- SSB) included in the BWP, ([0079][0155]Fig. 4, Fig. 12, the dedicated DL BWP and the dedicated UL BWP are configured based on BWP-Downlink and BWP-Uplink which are information elements included in SevingcellConfig in an RRC message which is dedicated signaling transmitted from the base station 200 to the UE 100; identification information is mandatorily provided may be a condition (NCD-SSB) in which the Non-CD-SSB 502 is transmitted in the separate initial DL BWP configured for the RedCap UE.)
Nagano does not teach and the BWP overlapping with one or more frequency resources associated with a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB);
and perform a measurement using the NCD-SSB during an active state of the BWP
Xiong teaches the BWP overlapping with one or more frequency resources associated with a cell-defining synchronization signal block (CD-SSB); ([0084][0085] UE assumes SS/PBCH block transmission for NCD-SSB and/or CD-SSB if the PDSCH resource allocation overlaps with PRBs containing SS/PBCH block transmission resource, a frequency domain resource of a SS/PBCH block )
and
perform, based at least in part on the configuration, a measurement using the NCD-SSB during an active state of the BWP([0087] the UE may also perform measurements using the NCD-SSB when the separate initial DL BWP is the active DL BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Nagano because Xiong teaches that a CD-SSB is a SSB that allow a user equipment (UE) to obtain physical cell ID and system information block 1 and to perform measurement on the CD-SSB, paging or system information reception in the frequency of CORESET #0 indicated by the MIB. (Xiong [0047])
As to claim 3. the combination of Nagano and Xiong specifically Nagano teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, are configured to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, the controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
Nagano does not teach refrain from transmitting an uplink transmission based at least in part on resolving a collision between the uplink transmission and the NCD-SSB.
Xiong teaches refrain from transmitting an uplink transmission based at least in part on resolving a collision between the uplink transmission and the NCD-SSB. ([0048] when SSB is not present in a separate initial DL BWP or RRC-configured active DL BWP, if a semi-statically configured or dynamically scheduled UL transmission is collided with a CD-SSB that is not configured in the separate initial DL BWP or RRC-configured active DL BWP, the UL transmission is canceled.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xiong with the teaching of Nagano because Xiong teaches that a CD-SSB is a SSB that allow a user equipment (UE) to obtain physical cell ID and system information block 1 and to perform measurement on the CD-SSB, paging or system information reception in the frequency of CORESET #0 indicated by the MIB. (Xiong [0047])
Claims 9 and 15 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 6 the combination of Nagano and Xiong specifically Nagano teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, are configured to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, the controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
perform beam management using the NCD-SSB. ([0107] Fig. 5, controller 120 performs Beam control for the PUCCH transmission using a spatial domain filter used for reception of the CD-SSB 501; even in a case where the Non-CD-SSB 502 is transmitted in the cell (serving cell) in addition to the CD-SSB 501, it is possible to appropriately perform the beam control for the PUCCH transmission.)
Claims 12 and 18 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Claim(s) 2, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nagano, Xiong and further in view of Hou et al. (US 20250184803 A1)hereinafter Hou
As to claim 2 the combination of Nagano and Xiong specifically Nagano teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, are configured to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, the controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
the combination of Nagano and Xiong does not teach receive a downlink transmission based at least in part on resolving a collision between the downlink transmission and the NCD-SSB
Hou teaches receive a downlink transmission based at least in part on resolving a collision between the downlink transmission and the NCD-SSB. ([0209] a resource used to send a PDSCH, to resolve a problem that a PDSCH resource or a PUSCH resource overlaps or collides with resources of a plurality of NCD-SSBs configured in the first BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Hou with the teaching of Nagano and Xiong because Hou teaches that resolving overlapping between PDSCH or PUSCH with NCD-SSB would a CD-SSB would improve resource utilization, transmission efficiency. (Hou [0203])
Claims 8 and 14 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano Xiong and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250220532 A1)hereinafter Wang
As to claim 4. the combination of Nagano and Xiong specifically Nagano teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, are configured to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, the controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
the combination of Nagano and Xiong does not teach transmit a random access preamble based at least in part on
determining a random access occasion using the NCD-SSB.
Wang teaches transmit a random access preamble based at least in part on
determining a random access occasion using the NCD-SSB. ([0258] When the NCD-SSB corresponds to the random access preamble used for handover, the terminal device may send, to the first cell, the random access preamble corresponding to the NCD-SSB.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Wang with the teaching of Nagano and Xiong because Wang teaches that using random access preamble associated with the NCD-SSB would avoid a conflict between the random access preamble used for handover and a random access preamble used for initial access thus further improving a success rate of group handover.(Wang [0259])
Claims 10 and 16 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, Xiong and further in view of Jia et al. (US 20260012909 A1)hereinafter Jia
As to claim 5. the combination of Nagano and Xiong specifically Nagano teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, are configured to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, the controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
the combination of Nagano and Xiong does not teach transmit a random access preamble based at least in part on determining a random access occasion using the CD-SSB.
Jia teaches transmit a random access preamble based at least in part on determining a random access occasion using the CD-SSB. ([0118][0239][0240] random access preamble code information, used for indicating the terminal to perform a random access process to the cell of the second satellite; a time position, a frequency position, etc. of the synchronization signal block broadcasted by the gNB, where the synchronization signal block may be a CD-SSB or a NCD-SSB.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Jia with the teaching of Nagano and Xiong because Jia teaches that receiving random access preamble code information, allow terminal to perform a random access process to the cell of the second satellite(Jia [0034])
Claims 11 and 17 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claim(s) 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, Xiong and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20250184785 A1)hereinafter Yang
As to claim 19. the combination of Nagano and Xiong does not teach wherein the measurement comprises at least one of a layer 1 (L1) measurement or a layer 3 (L3) measurement.
Yang teaches wherein the measurement comprises at least one of a layer 1 (L1) measurement or a layer 3 ([0080][0081] layer 3 and layer 1 measurement based on the NCD-SSB)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yang with the teaching of Nagano and Xiong because Yang teaches that different measurement methods may be used for measurement according to actual needs, thus improving flexibility of the layer 1 measurement.(Yang [0102])
Claim(s), 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano, Xiong and further in view of Kazmi et al. (US 20250159706 A1)hereinafter Kazmi
As to claim 20. the combination of Nagano and Xiong specifically Nagano teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, are further configured to: ([0104][0105] Fig. 5, UE includes transmitter, controller, the controller 120 may include at least one processor capable of executing a program and a memory that stores the program. The processor may execute the program to perform the operation of the controller 120)
the combination of Nagano and Xiong does not teach receive an instruction to move the BWP into the active state.([0080] UE can be configured to switch the active BWP based on a timer (e.g. BWP inactivity timer such as bwp-InactivityTimer), by receiving a command or a message from another node (e.g. from the base station (BS)), or autonomously by the UE, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Kazmi ang with the teaching of Nagano and Xiong because Kazmi teaches that moving to active BWP by a command would improve the power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as extended battery lifetime.(Kazmi [0458])
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang; Zhixun et al. [US 20250039715 A1] Determining a Configuration, Sending a Report to a Network Node, and Receiving a Report from a User Equipment
MolavianJazi; Ebrahim et al. [US 20240057190 A1] RESOURCE ASSOCIATION AND LINK RECOVERY FOR REPEATERS
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413