DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimamoto (US 2021/0013847 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0216457 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Shimamoto, fig. 1, fig. 2, discloses a limiter circuit comprising (clamp circuit 300), which suppresses the amplitude of RF1 and therefore performs as a limiter circuit, (paragraph [0088] lines 1-2): one or more first diodes (fig. 2. (301)) connected in series, each first diode (3012) having an anode electrically connected to a signal line (203) through which a high-frequency signal (RF1) passes, and a cathode electrically connected to a node (303/304); a transistor (302) having a source-drain path or an emitter-collector path electrically connected between a reference potential (304) and the node and a gate or a base (3021) to which a control voltage or a control current (Va) is input.
However, Shimamoto does not disclose a first constant current source configured to output a first constant current to the node.
Liu discloses a bias circuit configured to provide a bias voltage. The bias circuit includes current source (IREF 524) electrically connected between VBATT and the base of transistor (526) as part of the disclosed bias network (paragraph [0074], lines 4-9). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that current source IREF524 serves as the reference current source for the disclosed bias circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Shimamoto’s limiter circuit to include Liu’s disclosed current-source bias circuit in order to provide a stable reference current for the bias network, to provide a stable bias current for the transistor while maintaining reliable operation of the limiter circuit.
Regarding claim 2: Shimamoto discloses one or more second diodes (301) connected in series, each second diode having an anode electrically connected to the node (303/304), and a cathode electrically connected to the signal line (203) (paragraph [0046], lines 1-2); [0048], lines 6-8; [0054].l lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3: Shimamoto does not disclose a control circuit configured to output
the control voltage or the control current to the transistor (526), and to output
a first control signal for adjusting the first constant current to the first constant current source.
Liu does disclose a control circuit (bias circuit 504) configured to output the control voltage or the control current to the transistor (526), and to output a first control signal for adjusting the first constant current to the first constant current source (IREF 524).
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Shimamoto’s limiter circuit using Liu’s bias control circuit in order to provide adaptive control of the amplifier bias/current, thereby improving amplifier operation under varying operating conditions, including robustness while maintaining amplifier performance.
Regarding claim 4: Shimamoto does not disclose a control circuit configured to output the control voltage or the control current to the transistor, and to output a first control signal for adjusting the first constant current to the first constant current source.
Liu does disclose a control circuit (bias circuit 504) configured to output the control voltage or the control current to the transistor (526), and to output a first control signal for adjusting the first constant current to the first constant current source (IREF 524).
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Shimamoto’s limiter circuit, including the diode arrangement of claim 2, to incorporate Liu’s adaptive control circuitry in order to improve amplifier robustness and operating performance through adaptive bias/current control.
Regarding claim 6: Shimamoto, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, discloses A matching network comprising (matching circuit 402): The limiter circuit (clamp circuit 300), wherein the matching network (402) is configured to match an output impedance of a first circuit (first amplifier 201) and an input impedance of a second circuit (second amplifier 202), wherein the first circuit (first amplifier 201) is configured to amplify a high-frequency signal (RF1), and wherein the second circuit (second amplifier 202) is configured to amplify the high-frequency signal (RF1) amplified by the first circuit (first amplifier 201).
Claim 7: Shimamoto, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, discloses power amplifier circuit comprising: a first circuit (first amplifier 201) configured to amplify a high-frequency signal (RF1); a second circuit (second amplifier 202) configured to amplify the high-frequency signal (RF1) amplified by the first circuit (first amplifier 201); and a matching network (matching circuit 402) configured to match an output impedance of the first circuit and an input impedance of the second circuit, wherein the matching network comprises the limiter circuit (clamp circuit 300)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, none of the references teaches a second constant current source configured to output a second constant current to the node, wherein the control circuit is further configured to output a second control signal for adjusting the second constant current to the second constant current source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record, including:
Araki (US 5384549 A) discloses an amplifier including a current-limiting protection circuit.
Zhu (WO 2022226935 A1) discloses an RF amplifier including a clipping (limiting) circuit associated with the amplifier.
/Jessica Han/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843
NATASHA Y. MARANO
Examiner
Art Unit 2843