DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2025, 11/04/2024, 11/01/2024 and 05/06/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a support member” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tietig (US Patent 1,992,335).
With respect to claim 1, Tietig teaches a vacuum tube support structure comprising (see Figs. 1-3; whole document): a vacuum tube (12); a cover (11) configured to cover the vacuum tube (12) (see Fig. 1);
and a support member (10) configured to support the vacuum tube (12) and the cover (11), wherein the cover (11) includes a fluid introduction port (36) configured to allow a fluid to pass through the cover (11) to introduce the fluid inside the cover (11) and a fluid discharge port configured to allow the fluid to pass through the cover (11) to discharge the fluid from inside the cover (11), and the fluid introduced through the fluid introduction port contacts the vacuum tube (12) and is discharged through the fluid discharge port (36) (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
With respect to claim 2, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid discharge port (36) is configured to allow wiring (24) of the vacuum tube to pass through the fluid discharge port (36) (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 3, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), further comprising a fluid supply apparatus (31), wherein the fluid supply apparatus (31) is configured to supply the fluid to the fluid introduction port (36) (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
With respect to claim 4, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 3 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid supply apparatus (31) includes piping (see Fig.1) configured to connect to the fluid introduction port (36), and the piping is configured to supply the fluid to the fluid introduction port (36) (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
With respect to claim 5, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 3 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid supply apparatus (31) includes a fan (37) configured to send the fluid (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
With respect to claim 6, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 3 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid supply apparatus includes a cooling apparatus capable of cooling the fluid (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13). In addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense.
With respect to claim 7, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 3 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid supply apparatus includes a temperature adjustment apparatus capable of adjusting a temperature of the fluid (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13). In addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense.
With respect to claim 8, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), further comprising a fluid discharge apparatus (31), wherein the fluid discharge apparatus (31) is configured to discharge the fluid from the fluid discharge port (36) (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
With respect to claim 9, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 8 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid discharge apparatus (31) includes piping configured to connect to the fluid discharge port, and the piping is configured to discharge the fluid from the fluid discharge port (36) (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
With respect to claim 10, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 8 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13), wherein the fluid discharge apparatus includes a fan (37) configured to send the fluid (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tietig (US Patent 1,992,335) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gruchatka et al. (US PAP 2015/0270092 A1).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Tietig teaches the vacuum tube support structure according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1; text page 1, column 1, line 3 – text page 2, column 1, line 13) but fail to explicitly mention a sensor that is configured to measure a physical quantity of a measurement target by receiving electromagnetic waves irradiated from the vacuum tube toward the measurement target and a movement apparatus configured to move the sensor in a direction intersecting a direction of movement of the measurement target.
Gruchatka et al. discloses a CT system (1) comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-3)
a fluid cooled X-ray tube (3) (see abstract; Figs. 1-3; paragraphs 0029, 0034, 0036 and 0042; claim 1) which explicitly teaches a sensor as an X-ray radiation detector (10) (see Fig. 1) that is configured to measure a physical quantity of a measurement target (a patient) by receiving electromagnetic waves irradiated from the X-ray tube (3) toward the measurement target and a movement apparatus (2) configured to move the sensor (10) in a direction intersecting a direction of movement of the measurement target (se Figs. 2 and 3; paragraphs 0029, 0034, 0036 and 0042; claim 1) in order to provide user with the capabilities to generate the X-ray images with apparatus comprising the X-ray tube cooled by a cooling fluid (see paragraph 0007).
Tietig and Gruchatka et al. disclose related apparatuses comprising the X-ray tube cooled by cooling fluid.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide teachings of the sensor that is configured to measure a physical quantity of a measurement target by receiving electromagnetic waves irradiated from the vacuum tube toward the measurement target and the movement apparatus configured to move the sensor in a direction intersecting a direction of movement of the measurement target as suggested by Gruchatka et al. in the apparatus of Tietig, since such a modification would provide user with the capabilities to user with the capabilities to generate the X-ray images.
It would have been obvious to treat Tietig and Gruchatka et al. as related art whereby an improvement on one of the systems/methods would readily be apparent as an improvement on either of the systems.
The Examiner’s conclusion that claims 11 and 12 would have been obvious is based on the fact that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, that one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and that the combination teaches nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Conclusion
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ December 7, 2025