Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 8-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bellamkonda et al. hereinafter “Bellamkonda” (US 2022/0408300 in view of Stein et al. hereinafter “Stein” (US 2010/0142514), and further in view of Kushnir et al. hereinafter “Kushnir” (US 2016/0162346).
Regarding claim 1, Bellamkonda discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a network device, a key performance indicator (KPI) metric associated with a media resource function (MRF), (receiving key performance indicator (KPI) metric associated signal quality measures using a RAN that is the network device (signal quality measurement is a media resource function), Bellamkonda, [0022]; [0012]) , wherein the media resource function is wherein the MRF is associated with a virtualized telephone application service ( Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) providing a virtualize network function to telephone system service where Long Term Evolution is associated signal quality measurement ),Bellamkonda, [0012]; [0080]; [0001]);
comparing, by the network device, the KPI metric associated with the MRF to a threshold (a determination being made if a key performance indicator (KPI) exceeds a threshold, by making this determination a comparison is made using a RAN that is the network device, Bellamkonda, [0030];[0069]; [0012]; comparison is explicitly disclosed in [0069]);
generating, by the network device, an internal event based on the KPI metric associated with the MRF satisfying the threshold ( a higher threshold is generated using highest-scoring MRU models that generates the higher threshold that satisfies a KPI metrics values a description that is in accord of the specification that describes an internal event is generated when a defined threshold is crossed and replaced by a higher threshold ( by selecting a particular quantity of highest-scoring MRU models the threshold is satisfied) ,Bellamkonda, [0030]; [0012]);
Bellamkonda does not disclose correlating, by the network device, the internal event and an external event, wherein the external event is based on external system formulated data, and correlation results include an indication of non-matching data or matched data between the internal event and the external event; identifying, by the network device, a blocked voice traffic flow based on the correlation results; and transmitting, by the network device, a notification that indicates the blocked voice traffic flow, wherein the notification includes a recommendation to resolve the blocked voice traffic flow.
Stein discloses correlating, by the network device, the internal event and an external event (correlating collected call data and SIP signaling data using correlation engine 110 that is equated to network device (where collected call data is external event and SIP signaling data is internal event), Stein, [0023]; based on the specification [0021] external data is associated with audio call), wherein the external event is based on external system formulated data ( collected call data is external, Stein, [0023]), and correlation results include an indication of non-matching data or matched data between the internal event and the external event ( data associated with call for with the SIP call signal patterns are abnormal, (an abnormal data is equated to a mismatched call) Stein, [0023]);
identifying, by the network device, a blocked voice traffic flow based on the correlation results ( a blocked call being identified based on correlated defect CDR and the SIP signaling and the call data using correlation engine 110 that is equated to network device, Stein, [0024]); and
transmitting, by the network device, a notification that indicates the blocked voice traffic flow (output an alert report about the blocked VoIP calls, Stein, [0025]; (VoIP calls are equated to voice traffic flow containing more than one call).
Bellamkonda in view of Stein does not disclose, wherein the notification includes a recommendation to resolve the blocked voice traffic flow, and wherein the recommendation to resolve the blocked voice traffic flow is based on consolidated data associated with one or more of the following: the KPI metric: the threshold; an actual value of the KPI metric; a delta value between the threshold and the actual value of the KPI metric; the indication of non-matching data or matched data; media resource function data and associated virtualized telephone application service inventory data; and last specified KPIs trend data.
Kushnir explicitly discloses a central analytics platform that aggregates and consolidates KPI metrics from multiple network interfaces, detects specific degradations (such as failed or blocked voice sessions), executes root cause analysis, and triggers a resolution action/recommendation. See Kushnir, Paragraphs [0005] and [0017] - [0022].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kushnir’s teachings with the teachings of Bellamkonda and Stein, with the motivation to accurately infer the causes and offer efficient recommendations.
Regarding claim 2, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the threshold is one or more of a region-based threshold configured for a region associated with the KPI metric or a time zone based threshold configured for a time zone associated with the KPI metric ( the threshold that is associated KPI metric is respective to a given sector (where sector is a region), Bellamkonda, [0027]; [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the external system formulated data is associated with the region ( signal is received from a device near sector 101 ( signal received from near sector is equated to external system formulate data) , Bellamkonda, [0043]), and the external system formulated data is within a defined time range from a timestamp associated with the KPI metric (( signal having performance indicators is received from a device near sector 101, where the signal has a time slot associated with the signal has a timestamp associated with ( signal received from near sector is equated to external system formulate data), Bellamkonda, [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, by the network device and for the internal event, one or more of: an event occurrence timestamp, the threshold, the actual value of the KPI metric, region data, or media resource function application data (threshold is associate quality signal measurement , Bellamkonda, [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1
Bellamkonda does not disclose further comprising: storing, by the network device, a record of the recommendation and the consolidation data in a data repository for blocked voice traffic flow predictions (storing data of recommendation that resolves the blocked calls issue using correlation engine 110 that is equated to network device, Stein, [0030];[0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the virtualized telephone application service is configured to provide a voice over Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) service (Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) providing telephone system service where Long Term Evolution (telephone system provide mostly calls), Bellamkonda, [0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the KPI metric is associated with a voice call (the threshold that is associated KPI metric is respective to a sector of a cellular phone network (where sector is a region), Bellamkonda, [0027]; [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Bellamkonda discloses a network device, comprising: one or more processors (processors are disclosed, Bellamkonda, [0104]; in addition, claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 1; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is substantially similar to the combination of claims 2 and 3; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 8; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 9; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 16, Bellamkonda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions (a memory storing instructions executed by processors are disclosed, Bellamkonda, [0104])). In addition, claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 1; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 12; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 14; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 15; thus, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is substantially similar to claim 12; thus, the same rationale applies.
5. Claims 5-7, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamkonda in view of Stein in view of Kushnir and further on view of Macieira et al. hereinafter “Macieira” (US 2018/0091374).
Regarding claim 5, Bellamkonda in view of Stein and in view of Kushnir does not disclose further comprising: calculating, by the network device, the delta value between the threshold and the actual value of the KPI metric, wherein the delta value indicates a performance level of a media resource function KPI; and storing, by the network device, a record of the delta value.
Macieira discloses further comprising: calculating, by the network device, the delta value between the threshold and the actual value of the KPI metric ( a delta value of a metric is disclosed being a fraction of a metric, Macieira, [0057])), wherein the delta value indicates a performance level of a media resource function KPI ( a delta value of a metric is disclosed being a fraction of a service related a metric ( the examiner is taken the position that the metric include KPI metric and the performance level is equated to the quality service level, Macieira, [0057])); and storing, by the network device, a record of the delta value (a medium is storing data related to the metric including the delta value of a metric that is a fraction of a metric, Macieira, [0057])).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Macieira’s teachings with Bellamkonda’s, Stein’s and Kushnir’s teachings in order to effectively indicate the performance level of a service by using a delta value of a performance metric.
Regarding claim 6, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: collecting, by the network device, the media resource function data and associated virtualized telephone application service inventory data ( Long Term Evolution (VoLTE) providing a virtualize network function to a telephone system service where Long Term Evolution is associated signal quality measurement data that are received from a RAN that is the network device), Bellamkonda, [0012]; [0080]; [0001].
Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir do not disclose collecting, by the network device, the last specified KPIs trend data.
Macieira discloses collecting, by the network device, the last specified KPIs trend data (a medium is storing data related to the metric including the previous metric value that is considered when comparing delta value to a threshold metric value that includes KPI metric value, Macieira, [0057]; here previous carried the meaning of specified because the previous metric is specified)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Macieira’s teachings with Bellamkonda’s, Stein’s and Kushnir’s teachings in order to effectively indicate the performance level of a service by using a delta value of a performance metric.
Regarding claim 7, Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir disclose the method of claim 1. further comprising: consolidating, by the network device, the one or more of the KPI metric, the threshold, the actual value of the KPI metric, the indication of non-matching data or matched data, the media resource function data and associated virtualized telephone application service inventory data (aggregation traffic of a key performance indicator (KPI), a threshold, using a RAN that is the network device, Bellamkonda, [0082] [0030]; [0012]; aggregation is equated to consolidation).
Bellamkonda, Stein, and Kushnir do not disclose consolidating, by the network device, the delta value between the threshold and the actual value of the KPI metric, and the last specified KPIs trend data, to form the consolidated data; and transmitting, by the network device, the consolidated data as part of the notification.
Macieira discloses consolidating, by the network device, the delta value between the threshold and the actual value of the KPI metric, and the last specified KPIs trend data, to form the consolidated data; and transmitting, by the network device, the consolidated data as part of the notification (an additional service related metric data is included in the network service alert that is generated, when additional service data is added to a previous serve data the previous service data is consolidated , Macieira, [0057]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Macieira’s teachings with Bellamkonda’s, Stein’s and Kushnir’s teachings in order to effectively indicate the performance level of a service by using a delta value of a performance metric.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is substantially similar to the combination of claims 4, 5, 6, 7; thus, the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 13; thus, the same rationale applies.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EMMANUEL L MOISE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2455