Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claim 1-9 and 17-31 in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 17-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2016/0317999) in view of Kapralou et al. (US 2022/0048008 in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a product comprising 9 wt. % - 90 wt. % diatomaceous earth, wherein the diatomaceous earth includes flux- calcined diatomaceous earth or calcined diatomaceous earth; 9 wt. % - 90 wt. % clay; and 1 wt. % - 5 wt. % dispersant (“blend of the first and second minerals may range from about 0.25 parts to about 1.5 parts of aqueous solution to one part blend” with binder/dispersant ranging from 1-40% of the solution), wherein a portion of the clay and a portion of the diatomaceous earth are agglomerated to form a plurality of composite particles, each composite particle in the plurality comprised of one or more clay particles attached to an outer surface of a diatomite particle or disposed inside a pore of the diatomite particle, wherein the composite particle is the composite particles are at least partially surface treated with the dispersant, wherein the product has a particle size distribution having a d50 of 5 - 40 microns, and a d10 of 1 - 15 microns, and wherein the product has a median pore diameter of 2 - 10 microns, a pore volume of 1 - 4 mL/g2 and a bulk density of 50 - 300 kg/m3 (bulk density of 7 lbs/ft3 to about 14 lbs/ft3 converts to 112-224 kg/m3) ([0018]-[0020], [0029], [0077]-[0079] and [0106]-[0107]).
It is noted that Wang generically teaches the second mineral portion being clay/smectite. Wang does not explicitly teach sepiolite or attapulgite as the specific species of clay and later references sepiolite as a filter aid and not as the second mineral portion. Kapralou teaches a similar product having similar components of diatomaceous earth and a mineral wherein the mineral is clay based with sepiolite or attapulgite being specific examples of clay type minerals used ([0035]-[0049). As such, one skilled in the art would have found that the broad clay teaching in Wang would include species sepiolite and attapulgite as the clay species with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 2-7, the claims are directed to a product and how the product is used and the effects of the using are not given patentable weight when all claimed structure of the product is taught in the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the product has a particle size distribution d90 overlapping the 30 - 120 microns size claimed ([0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches that the binder/dispersant is sodium silicate ([0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches a product comprising 9 wt. % - 90 wt. % diatomaceous earth, wherein the diatomaceous earth includes flux- calcined diatomaceous earth or calcined diatomaceous earth; 9 wt. % - 90 wt. % clay; and 1 wt. % - 5 wt. % dispersant (“blend of the first and second minerals may range from about 0.25 parts to about 1.5 parts of aqueous solution to one part blend” with binder/dispersant ranging from 1-40% of the solution), wherein a portion of the clay and a portion of the diatomaceous earth are agglomerated to form a plurality of composite particles, each composite particle in the plurality comprised of one or more clay particles attached to an outer surface of a diatomite particle or disposed inside a pore of the diatomite particle, wherein the composite particle is the composite particles are at least partially surface treated with the dispersant, wherein the product has a particle size distribution having a d50 of 5 - 40 microns, and a d10 of 1 - 15 microns, and wherein the product has a median pore diameter of 2 - 10 microns, a pore volume of 1 - 4 mL/g2, a bulk density of 50 - 300 kg/m3 (bulk density of 7 lbs/ft3 to about 14 lbs/ft3 converts to 112-224 kg/m3), and a surface are of 5-50 m2/g ([0018]-[0020], [0029], [0077]-[0079] and [0106]-[0107]).
It is noted that Wang generically teaches the second mineral portion being clay/smectite. Wang does not explicitly teach sepiolite or attapulgite as the specific species of clay and later references sepiolite as a filter aid and not as the second mineral portion. Kapralou teaches a similar product having similar components of diatomaceous earth and a mineral wherein the mineral is clay based with sepiolite or attapulgite being specific examples of clay type minerals used ([0035]-[0049). As such, one skilled in the art would have found that the broad clay teaching in Wang would include species sepiolite and attapulgite as the clay species with a reasonable expectation of success.
As discussed in claims 2-7 above, the specific uses and effects of usage are not given patentable weight for the product claim.
Regarding claims 18-19 and 22-24, see claims 2-7 above.
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches that the binder/dispersant is sodium silicate ([0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches the diatomaceous earth is flux-calcined diatomaceous earth ([0029]).
Regarding claims 25 and 29-30, Wang teaches the d50 and d10 overlapping the claimed range ([0020]).
Regarding claim 26, Wang teaches the surface area being 5-50 m2/g ([0019]).
Regarding claims 27-28 and 31, Wang teaches the d90 overlapping the claimed range ([0020]).
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776