DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in responsive to communication(s): original application filed on 05/06/2024, said application claims a priority filing date of 05/06/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lehmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2023/0206216; hereinafter “Lehmann”).
In regard to independent claims 1, 8 and 15, Lehmann teaches a method for displaying non-fungible tokens in a virtual environment, the method comprising:
receiving a request for a user to access the virtual environment, wherein the virtual environment includes at least one non-fungible token, wherein the request includes at least one access credential associated with the user; determining the user is authenticated to access the virtual environment based on the at least one access credential (paragraph 0073), wherein the at least one access credential indicates the user has viewing, buying, and selling privileges of non-fungible tokens in the virtual environment (paragraph 0078; “Note: shopping cart implies buys and selling”);
in response to determining the user is authenticated, displaying the at least one non-fungible token in the virtual environment; detecting the user has selected the at least one non-fungible token; and displaying information associated with the at least one non-fungible token for the user to view (Figure 5, paragraph 0075 and 0083; “Note: NFTs are displayed to user”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearie (U.S. Publication 2024/0330882; hereinafter “Dearie”) in view of Madhusudan et al. (U.S. Publication 2023/0071093; hereinafter “Madhu”).
In regard to independent claims 1, 8 and 15, Dearie teaches a method for displaying non-fungible tokens in a virtual environment, the method comprising:
receiving a request for a user to access the virtual environment, wherein the virtual environment includes at least one non-fungible token, wherein the request includes at least one access credential associated with the user; determining the user is authenticated to access the virtual environment based on the at least one access credential, wherein the at least one access credential indicates the user has viewing privileges of non-fungible tokens in the virtual environment;
in response to determining the user is authenticated, displaying the at least one non-fungible token in the virtual environment; detecting the user has selected the at least one non-fungible token; and displaying information associated with the at least one non-fungible token for the user to view (Figure 1 and Figure 3; paragraph 0049-0050; “Note: work collaboratively by two users implies user needs to authenticate and get privilege to view the digital content”).
Dearie teaches viewing privilege of NFT but Dearie is silent on user has buying, and selling privileges of non-fungible tokens in the virtual environment;
Mahdu teaches a system related with displaying NFT in virtual environment wherein said system teaches user has buying, and selling privileges of non-fungible tokens in the virtual environment (Madhu, figure 6, paragraph 0088);
Dearie and Madhu are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system associated with displaying NFT assets in virtual environment.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Madhu, doing buying or selling of NFT assets in the marketplace, to Dearie. Motivation for doing so would have been to increase the opportunity to monetize the creative work of artists and make the system more useful.
In regard to dependent claims 2, 9 and 16, Dearie modified by Madhu as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches in response to the user selecting the at least one non-fungible token, determining the user is purchasing the at least one non-fungible token; collecting payment from the user; and sending the at least one non-fungible token to a digital wallet of the user (Dearie, paragraph 0061, lines 7-15)
In regard to dependent claims 3, 10 and 17, Dearie modified by Madhu as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches in response to detecting the at least one non-fungible token is added to the virtual environment, sending a notification to the user, wherein the notification includes the information associated with the at least one non-fungible token (Dearie, paragraph 0061, lines 7-15; “Note: ‘instruct’ implies send notification”)
In regard to dependent claims 4, 11 and 18, Dearie modified by Madhu as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches in response to detecting the user has selected the at least one non-fungible token, displaying a comparison of the information associated with the at least one non-fungible token to information associated with one or more different non-fungible tokens available in the virtual environment (Mahdu, figure 6-7; “Note: different NFT assets are shown”).
In regard to dependent claims 5 and 12, Dearie modified by Madhu as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches the at least one non-fungible token is displayed on a digital frame, and wherein the digital frame displays non-fungible tokens owned by the user (Dearie, figure 1; paragraph 0061, lines 1-6).
In regard to dependent claims 6, 13 and 20, Dearie modified by Madhu as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches user activity in the virtual environment is analyzed and the at least one non-fungible token is selected by at least one machine-learning algorithm, wherein the at least one machine-learning algorithm is trained based on at least one dataset associated with previously analyzed user activity and selected non-fungible tokens (Madhu, paragraph 0072 and 0089).
In regard to dependent claims 7, 14 and 19, Dearie modified by Madhu as applied above using the same motivation to combine, teaches the information associated with the at least one non-fungible token includes one or more of a price, artist information, creation date, number of owners, duration the at least one non-fungible token is for sale, or a description of an art item associated with the at least one non-fungible token (Madhu, figure 6 and 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andresen, JR. U.S. Publication 2024/0378592 - Teaches system to view NFT assets in a virtual environment.
/Reza Nabi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174